petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sentry FIPROGUARD MAX Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment

Sentry FIPROGUARD MAX Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment

Contains Fipronil -- the active ingredient used in FRONTLINE Top Spot (R)Starts killing fleas and ticks in as little as one hourKills fleas, ticks and chewing licePrevents and controls reinfestationsKeeps killing fleas and ticks for up to a month
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
5 out of 8(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sentry FIPROGUARD MAX Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Review 1 for Sentry FIPROGUARD MAX Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No side-effects on our ferrets

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
silentearth3
from Boscawen, NH
I bought this for my cat and 2 ferrets. By day 2-3 I didn't notice any live fleas on them. It says it starts killing fleas in one hour, but to fully treat the problem it takes a few days. If you have ferrets, I've tested this product on our sable and silver mitt breed successfully with no side-effects. (Use 1 vial per 2 ferrets divided by size. Ex. if you have one large ferret and one small, give the larger a little more than half of the vial and give the smaller the remainder less than half)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sentry FIPROGUARD MAX Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flea med

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tiffers413
from CT
I used this product for the first time, I usually use others like Advantage and Frontline, but I have 3 cats and they all have different weights so in order to use the flea repellent on all the animals I'd have to buy two different sets which could have been ALOT of money.
I saw this and it said for all weights, figured I'd give it a try and I really liked it. The cats didn't act strange or "freak out" like they usually do when using the other brands. They were calm and it instantly worked.
My advice for the people complaining is you have to keep using it. If you're already infested with fleas, you're going to have to use it more than just that one month and once you get the fleas under control you can get the non-max kind.
Right after we used the it, my family saw a difference and a lot of dead fleas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sentry FIPROGUARD MAX Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is the only product for ticks for cats

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Jonestown,PA
I have tried other products and this is the only one that seems to work.I have used it before and it works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sentry FIPROGUARD MAX Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compared to other flea meds this is great

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
8jenn
from Wv
Two of my cats generally have a reaction of lethargy when giving them the other two medications I have tried before. This time they were fine and this brand has lasted longer than any others. I have 8 cats and sometimes I have To stretch it out due to cost. I would totally get this brand over others it has worked fabulously for us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sentry FIPROGUARD MAX Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not Work!

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rati
from new york
Sentry Fipro guard Max for Cats did not work to eliminate the fleas on my cat. After 20 hrs. I decided to use the flea comb and live fleas were popping everywhere, even on me. Within minutes I had 10 in a hydrogen peroxide jar and they just started climbing out and popping out. This cost me $49.96 - A lot of money wasted and now what do I do about the fleas. Never had a problem with Front Guard. But you can't remedicate so what do I do.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sentry FIPROGUARD MAX Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DONT USE NOT GOOD PRODUCT

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
BLS035
Not only did my cat have a reaction to the product, which hasnt ever with any other product. but it didnt even work.... still has fleas and now ive thrown money down the drain plus the money to buy frontline and products to treat the house because it got worse
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sentry FIPROGUARD MAX Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no more fleas

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
melaniesav
from Baltimore, MD
I've used Frontline on my 4 cats, despite the high cost. When I saw that this product was the generic equivalent to Frontline, and less expensive,I decided to try it. I used it for the first time 3 weeks ago, and my 3 indoor cats were flea-free in less than a day. They have stayed flea-free since. Then I decided to try it on Yard Kitty, a neighborhood stray who has adopted me, but who has to remain outside. She too was flea-free a day later, and remains uninfested .I no longer get bitten by fleas when she rubs up on my ankles. I'm staying with this product from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sentry FIPROGUARD MAX Cat & Kitten Topical Flea & Tick Treatment
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sentry is not a good product

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bob02
I would not recommend this product to anyone. I put it on my cat and it did not even touch the first flea. I was very disappointed because it says on the box "startes killing the first flea within an hour." He has just as many as he did before I put Sentry on him. What a waste of $$$ down the drain. DO NOT USE SENTRY.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.