petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand

HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand

High quality flight bird cage is a perfect home for your feathered friendsSolid wrought iron construction provides excellent durabilityBird flight cage assembles in as little as 15 minutesIncludes two plastic trough feeders, two wooden perches and an easy-rolling cart standTwo front doors fitted with cam locks keep birds secure yet accessible to pet parents
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Review 1 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage, bad directions

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
birdyaddict
great cage! nice and roomy for more than one bird. came with hardly any directions and put it together inside out lol. but once put together right I am happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect cage for two budgies

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveMyBudgies
from Arvada, CO
I am very happy with this cage. I found it pretty easy to assemble by myself. Just needed my husband to help lift the cage onto the stand. It is heavy and well constructed. Moves around easily on the rollers. My two birds have plenty of room to fly around and seem to be content with the new home. Access and cleaning is easy. Great cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Cage

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
BertTheBird
I ordered this cage for my male parakeet. I adore it. The instructions weren't that nice, I'll admit, but it's easy to assemble. The cage is much bigger then I was expecting so I have not moved him in yet since the cage is mainly empty. I like the fact that [at least on the green one] there are doors for nesting boxes, even if I will not be using them. I wish that was shown in the picture though. The green is very pretty and is nice in my room. When I move him in, he'll have so much more space to fly around in. One of my best purchases ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beeps
from Gulf Breeze, FL
We rescued a baby Starling that feel out of the nest. We fully intended to turn the bird over to wildlife to re-integrate....but as a European Starling he is not protected. Did a lot of research bought this cage via internet and could not be happier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
bigred1952
from Holbrook, MA
I love my new cage as do my 2 parakeets. Plenty of room to fly and jump around. They don't seem to get on each others nerves as much either. Easy to clean and having the wheels on the cart is great when I have to move them to vacuum. I wish the plastic feeders had a cover to them but I bought those ceramic ones and place them on one piece of gravel paper. The plastic feeders I now use for water. They got used to it! This cage has 2 doors which I love.It is a little taller than me but I manage to put a sheet over them at night. I did have to buy more things, another swing and a new branch and those corner perches which they are always on. All in all I would recommend this cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice, larger cage for smaller birds

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Batmick
from Carlsbad, CA
We have a total of 9 birds so we have learned a thing or two about cages over time. We were looking for a big cage to house 2 cockatiels, 3 parakeets and eventually also a red rump parakeet. This cage looked nice in the picture and the dimensions fit so we ordered it and it was delivered quite quickly.
Assembly was easy. The instructions were minimal but after sorting the different panels and making sure I knew which side went where, putting it together was straightforward. The workmanship and fit were quite good and I did not have to bend or force anything.
We got the platinum finish which in reality is more like a dark silver and looks pretty snazzy. The cage comes with only two simple wood perches but we have plenty so we managed to get it decorated in no time. It came with two double water/seed dishes that we did not use because we prefer easier to clean stainless steel dishes. There are two main doors on the front with secured latches and two smaller doors on the top on either side. Those latter ones are only friction locked and I bent the latches a bit to secure them. I doubt the little birds will be able to open those doors but will probably still drill a hole in the latch to be able to add a carabiner or something similar to lock them.
Access to the inside and the cleaning tray are easy and feeding and cleaning have been a breeze.
The cart moves easily and the storage shelf under the cage comes in handy. The entire setup is light enough so that we can carry it outside with us to hang out in the yard.
Overall we are very happy with our purchase. I don't think it is possible to get a better deal on a cage like this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Cage

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
msmigrane
from Littleton, CO
We ordered this cage for our 2 Green Cheek Conures not thinking it would be so big. The good thing is there is plenty of room for toys and their new Hamster Wheel. They seem pretty happy in their new digs. This cage was a nightmare to put together and the directions that came in the box are a joke! which is why I didn't give it 5 paws.
The cage itself is large enough for up to 8 Green Cheeks, or 4 Sun Conures, or 4 Indian Ring Necks, or 4 Alexandrine Parakeets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NIce cage!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
BirdFan
from Warrenton, VA
My two parakeets are very happy in their new cage. They have room to fly around and stretch their wings. The cage is sturdy and attractive. I am very pleased with the quality. Best price I have found. Shipping was fast and the cage was easy to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Cage

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lemon
from Minneapolis, MN
Lemon and his Keet friend Morty love this cage!
They highly recommend it to all their bird friends.
And they are happy to let their Cockatiel cousins
know there is room for them to visit them in their new home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent cage for the pricie!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
KCJohn
from Kansas City, MO
I have owned several of these cages over the years and theymake excellent cages for finches, parakeets, lovebirds, cockatiels, etc. The cages are easy to assemble once you get the hang of it, are spacious and easy to clean. The only issue I had with this cage was one hole was not lined up exactly right and I had a hard time getting the screw to fit but the rest of the cage was perfect. I'm not a big fan of the new doors for nest boxes because I don't feel they close as securely as the previous versions but they will work. I'm very impressed with the quality of this cage for the price and will continue to use it for smaller birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HQ Flight Cage

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
cpcats
from CA
Great, durable, well made cage. Extremely spacious for small birds. Only drawback is it isn't as human accessible as I would like. There are 2 front doors, but I think 1 really wide door or side by side double doors would be soooo much more easy. Also, there are 2 very small doors up at the top left and right sides of the cage which could be improved as there is no locking mechanism on them and they should be wider and lower.
However, given that the cage is so very affordable ( I got it on sale too)for the quality, I would definitely buy another if need be.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Cage

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
indyminx77
from Indiana
This cage is very easy to assemble. There is plenty of your bird to move around and for any toys you want to add.
Perfect height to keep them off the floor and away from curious pets-
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value and size

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Parrotlet1mom
from Port Huron, MI
I'm really pleased with this cage & my parrotlet loves it. He actually did a "wiggle dance" a few minutes after I put him inside, taking to it right away, & I thought he'd be a bit frightened for awhile. He had been in a 24" wide, 24" deep, 34" tall cage w/an epoxy coating, & this cage is actually easier to clean. Even though there aren't many horizontal bars, he can move around well climbing walls sideways, flying, and using perches. The space beneath the cage is perfect for a few baskets. Ikea has some square woven baskets that are perfectly sized for the shelf underneathe for bird supplies. This cage is made in China, but I couldn't find an American made cage for < $1,000. The research I did before buying indicated this brand has a good reputation for quality and safety. It was a great buying experience with Petco, too. Shipping was prompt. My tracking info did not work with UPS, but when I called customer service they explained it was actually shipping with Fed Ex & I was able to track it that way. This item went on sale with a larger discount the week after I received it, & Petco refunded me the difference, when I called to check if I could get the lower price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
BecomingNocturnal
from Northern Ky
My sugar gliders love this cage! It was very easy to assemble and is very sturdy. Gives them a lot of space and has plenty of room for toys, wheel and their cage set. Love the big doors and slide-out tray. Was a great deal and I'll definitely get another when we expand our glider community.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A nice sized cage

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
IDgal
from Seattle, WA
Just received this cage today, and have put it together. As stated in other comments, the instructions aren't that helpful, but it wasn't difficult to assemble; took adding some washers for the bolts (preference), a screwdriver, and a socket wrench to tighten the bolts a little more. All hardware arrived, even though one of the bags of screws/bolts was open at delivery. Was about an hour for two of us to assemble; we put the cart together, first, then the cage.
This cage is really large (over 5 feet tall when on stand) and really dominates a small room. That being said, the cage is more than big enough for our two budgies. Lots of room for flight, their toys and perches. I think the birds will be very happy in this cage, once they're more used to it. The cart is amply sized, with a fair amount of room to put all the supplies (I have them in a wicker basket, and it fits just fine underneath) below the cage. The casters on the cart make it easy to move--would have liked to have locking casters, but for this price, no big deal.
The cage is built pretty sturdily, considering the price. The welds are solid. The only issue I had was that the frame on one side was a bit bent, as was one of the bars, probably something that occurred from shipment--this has also previously been mentioned in other reviews. We were able to slightly bend the frame back so that the sides would fit together again.
We ordered the "beige" cage, having had a black wire cage previously. The beige really is more of a tan color, but it blends in well with the house decor and is less jarring than a black wire cage of this size would have been.
Overall, very happy with the cage and the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely wonderful product

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sweetpuppylover119
from Surprise, az
I bought this cage for my two parakeets. They love it. I am so glad I bought it for them. They have started playing games with each other,and are very happy, singing, and talking a lot. They also enjoy walking upside down, holding on to the bars. This product is well built, sturdy, and a beautiful green color.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aviary Flight Cage With Stand

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
cmarsh
from Searcy, Ar
I bought one cage for my Finches and I love it ( So do they). I have now gotten a Second one for my Parakeets. I will get more of these they are great a good deal for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage!

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
iLoveDaBirds
I purchased this cage online for my cockatiel . It arrived in 6 days. It comes in a huge flat box, weighing about 50lbs.
It took me 2 hrs to put it together. I didn't have help and am disabled. The instructions aren't great, but you can figure it out. Part of why it took so long was that there was dirt inside the box. I had to wipe down every part of the cage and dry it before assembly.
My cockatiel went in after a little coaxing and seemed to love it right away. I wanted him to have a lot of room , and room for different size perches, toys, etc... to give him mental stimulation.
My bird likes to run around on the cage floor and forage through dropped seeds, so I put wax paper on top of the grate. Easy to clean up and the grate stays cleaner. I also put wax paper in the plastic tray to catch what falls through.
The cage is really well made-- sturdy, solid-construction. The nest-box doors at the top don't close very well-- really flimsy. You wouldn't want to use them often as they already open too easily. (A cockatiel can't open them, but a stronger bird could. You could easily lock them shut with a dog leash type of lock.) The door locks are very well made and close tightly. (My 55 lb dog cannot open them.) The cage comes with a few extra bolts and screws in case you lose some down the road, but they are all standard sizes and would be easy to replace.
I ordered the cage in Platinum color, which doesn't look anything like the image. It's actually battleship grey. Looks okay with my all yellow cockatiel but a grey cockatiel would be hard to see! The stand is huge-- big space on the shelf. (To give you an idea of the size, a 7 yr old child could curl up for a nap on it.)
The only thing that would make this cage better is if the bars on the sides ran horizontally instead of vertically. It's easier for a bird to climb and you'd have so many more choices for where to hang toys. The cage I was using (17"x28"x22") had the horizontal bars on the sides. I guess these larger cages don't do that.
Also note that Petco does sales back to back. They had a 40% off sale for this cage, immediately followed by a 20% off sale, and then another 40% one. I bought mine during the 20% sale and the next day it went on sale for 40% off. I called Petco and they refunded me the difference. They have a policy about that.
All in all I'm thrilled with this product and buying it through Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great space for my conure

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Silvester
from Verplanck, NY
I've had this cage for a few months now and I am VERY happy with it.
I have a Pineapple Green Cheek Conure and this cage may seem like it is too much space, but once you get in a few ladders, perches and swings it is perfect!!!
The large surfaces are great for a bird to climb and hang from and mine makes good use of all of them! The cross bars are close enough together that even my smallish bird can cling to one and still reach the next with her beak for climbing and exploring
The large flat top surface has plenty of space for a play gym, extra water and food dishes, a bath dish and there is still area for a bird to walk around and play with small toys.
The two doors make it easy to reach in to access the food and water dishes, perches, toys, etc no matter where you put them, but individually they are still big enough for a larger bird. There is also a small door at the top of one of the side wall that is great for a smaller bird to access to roof for play or to do tricks from - my bird likes to hang upside down by one foot from it!
The slide out plastic trat makes routine cleaning SOO easy!! I use grocery store flyiers to line it and they fit almost perfectly! They bottom surface of the cage also slides out and that makes the major cage cleaning a breeze!
The shelf under the cage is a great space to store food, papers for lining, an extra cage for grooming trips and extra toys.
The ovwerall assembly was really easy, just a couple dozen screws for the cage and stand - the cage alone is just 12 screws. The cage rests on top of the stand and could be used without it, but is very stable on the stand when used together.
My bird is VERY happy in this cage!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All is good

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
RJay
from Midwest
Received very quickly and was easy to assemble. No problems at all with assembly. This replaces similar cage that was over ten years old and is same brand. Since other one is still in great shape, this one should last long as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.