petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand

HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand

High quality flight bird cage is a perfect home for your feathered friendsSolid wrought iron construction provides excellent durabilityBird flight cage assembles in as little as 15 minutesIncludes two plastic trough feeders, two wooden perches and an easy-rolling cart standTwo front doors fitted with cam locks keep birds secure yet accessible to pet parents
Average Customer Rating:
4.844 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 32(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Review 1 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage!

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
I bought this cage to give my three parakeets more room to fly and play. It is the perfect size. The side doors have changed from the photo, but they work. I agree with everyone who said the assembly directions were confusing. When I wasn't sure about something, I pulled up the photo online and everything fit into place perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice cage

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from South San Francisco, CA
This cage is perfect for 2 pairs of Lady Gouldian finches. Breeding boxes can be attached to the outside easily. Plenty of flight room. Looks nice in any room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bird cage fulfilled all my expectations!

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Branson, MO
I purchased this large HQ cage because I had added to my parakeet community to six birds. I had read in one of the reviews that it would hold six comfortably. It does and I am tempted to home one more. It is quality construction (heavy, sturdy, straight and painted with a durable safe coating). The directions are weak, in fact I had to pull up a picture of the cage on line to see how it came together. After that no problem. The small side doors are not secure so I added clamps to keep them shut. The front doors are great (big, strong with a sturdy handle lock). My keets can fly around now and there are enough horizontal bars along with the sturdy painted coating for sliding that my birds can climb to their hearts content. I purchased the beige /brass, it is a soft tan. I am honestly and thoroughly thrilled with this cage!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Horrible instructions

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from SE Texas
I really like the cage - once I got it assembled. There are no written instructions! I received an 8x10" sheet with approx 8 drawings with little detail. None of the parts or drawings were labeled. There is no way to securely attach the cage to the base stand. I wound up using electric ties, which worked very well. There was no list of tools needed. Why make the process harder than it needs to be?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome cage!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Redding, CA
Very well constructed, quite easy to put together, lots of space for toys and flight. I have two budgies that weren't quite sure what to think at first, but now they love flying from one side of the cage to the other and playing chase. I would definitely recommend this cage. Best for the price in my opinion. It is easy to clean, but now that they are actually flying around in there they lose more feathers around the cage, so have to vacuum more frequently. All in all it's worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Bird Cage!

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I currently have 2 finches and a canary and was looking to get a larger, nice looking cage at a fair price -which many of you know is easier said than done!
Well, I found all of that with this cage. I got lucky and was able to scoop it up at a really great sale price!
I am looking to get 4 more finches, for a total of 6 finches and 1 canary. I was able to find some good branches in the trees in my yard and my husband cut them to size and made notches on the ends so that they are a perfect fit for inside the cage. With this cage we now basically have a small aviary in our spare bedroom, and the matching cart with wheels is perfect because I can just push it out of the way to vacuum around and under it on a daily basis.
The two front doors are a very nice practical size and allow access to pretty much every area inside the cage, and the pull-out bottom pan (a durable plastic) and pull-out wire grate that sits above the pan, make cleaning a snap. I haven't had a need to use the two tiny doors at the top on the left and right sides of the cage, but it's nice having them there in case I do.
Assembly was "comfortably challenging". Yes the instruction sheet left a lot to be desired, but anyone with any kind of puzzle or problem solving ability can pretty much get it figured out, and use the instructions as more of a general guideline as opposed to a step-by-step of how to put it together. I was able to get most of the cage together on my own (and could have if I had to) in about an hour and 15 minutes. Fortunately my husband was home and he wanted to help put it together =)
Our birds really love the cage! Since they're small, they have room to fly around in it and they seem so much happier than they were in their old cage. This cage is about three times bigger than their old one!
Delivery was good, arrived 5-6 days after being ordered. It was delivered by UPS and the driver brought it right up to our front door without being asked. It weighs 55 lbs, which isn't outrageous, and will be manageable for many people by themselves to get the package into their house, and definitely doable for two people for those who will need help getting it inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Alanta, GA
I breed and raise Gouldian finches, and own 3 of these flight cages (in beige). They are a great size, very sturdy, and easy to put together. For my two newest cages., the small side doors at the top of each side of the cage are different than pictured. Instead, it is more of a one piece door with slots. I am guessing this is a slight design change, which I think makes the little doors more sturdy. The cage is very easy to clean. The bottom grate is removable. The plastic tray is very easy to clean and additional trays can often be purchased from bird supply stores. Having two nice sized doors on the front makes the inside of the cage easier to access and the door lock feels well made. The cage comes with a stand on casters, making it easy to move around, and the shelf is great to use to store supplies. When assembled correctly, the stand has guards which prevents the cage from sliding off, and makes the cage feel very secure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this cage

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, TX
I have had this cage for months now and it is still as good as when I got it. No breaking, rusting, or bending. I use it for my Sugar gliders and it has more than enough room. I love that it is flat so I can stack it if I want too. And it is not horrible to look at.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cage exceeded my expectations.

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
This cage is very solidly built and well painted. The beige color was just as it looked in the picture. It's large, spacious cage for my 2 cockatiels. The pullout tray is very easy to clean, and with 2 large doors in the front, there is easy access to both top and bottom. I was worried that the little screws would be missing, but they had the smaller ones loosely fitting in the holes so that all you had to do was to tighten them. I don't usually assemble things myself, so it took about 2 hrs. The instructions are mostly drawings, so make sure to study the drawings carefully so that you know which screw is which and which direction things should go, I only messed up in the direction of the 2 bars that hold the cage from the bottom, so make sure to look at the drawing to see that the little tab sticking out goes up. Would highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Huge cage!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fayetteville, Pa
I now have two love birds, with plenty of room for them to fly and get plenty of exercise! It is a great cage, and really meant for bigger birds. I may get something else to keep my birds company.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand-EXCELLENT

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
We bought this cage for our growing family of Society Finches. Very easy to put together and cleaning is a breeze! We roll this cage out morning and evening for outside time on the porch. If I had to make a suggestion for better design, I would like to see the upper food and water doors be more secure. After much research, this was the best quality and value for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous cage!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Albany NY
Absolutely love this cage I bought this for my sugar gliders and they have a ball. This was simple to assemble. ( I did put the bars backwards at first on the bottom) but after that was fixed this was put together. Great product would recomment this to anyone!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage, bad directions

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
great cage! nice and roomy for more than one bird. came with hardly any directions and put it together inside out lol. but once put together right I am happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect cage for two budgies

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arvada, CO
I am very happy with this cage. I found it pretty easy to assemble by myself. Just needed my husband to help lift the cage onto the stand. It is heavy and well constructed. Moves around easily on the rollers. My two birds have plenty of room to fly around and seem to be content with the new home. Access and cleaning is easy. Great cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Cage

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
I ordered this cage for my male parakeet. I adore it. The instructions weren't that nice, I'll admit, but it's easy to assemble. The cage is much bigger then I was expecting so I have not moved him in yet since the cage is mainly empty. I like the fact that [at least on the green one] there are doors for nesting boxes, even if I will not be using them. I wish that was shown in the picture though. The green is very pretty and is nice in my room. When I move him in, he'll have so much more space to fly around in. One of my best purchases ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gulf Breeze, FL
We rescued a baby Starling that feel out of the nest. We fully intended to turn the bird over to wildlife to re-integrate....but as a European Starling he is not protected. Did a lot of research bought this cage via internet and could not be happier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Holbrook, MA
I love my new cage as do my 2 parakeets. Plenty of room to fly and jump around. They don't seem to get on each others nerves as much either. Easy to clean and having the wheels on the cart is great when I have to move them to vacuum. I wish the plastic feeders had a cover to them but I bought those ceramic ones and place them on one piece of gravel paper. The plastic feeders I now use for water. They got used to it! This cage has 2 doors which I love.It is a little taller than me but I manage to put a sheet over them at night. I did have to buy more things, another swing and a new branch and those corner perches which they are always on. All in all I would recommend this cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice, larger cage for smaller birds

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Carlsbad, CA
We have a total of 9 birds so we have learned a thing or two about cages over time. We were looking for a big cage to house 2 cockatiels, 3 parakeets and eventually also a red rump parakeet. This cage looked nice in the picture and the dimensions fit so we ordered it and it was delivered quite quickly.
Assembly was easy. The instructions were minimal but after sorting the different panels and making sure I knew which side went where, putting it together was straightforward. The workmanship and fit were quite good and I did not have to bend or force anything.
We got the platinum finish which in reality is more like a dark silver and looks pretty snazzy. The cage comes with only two simple wood perches but we have plenty so we managed to get it decorated in no time. It came with two double water/seed dishes that we did not use because we prefer easier to clean stainless steel dishes. There are two main doors on the front with secured latches and two smaller doors on the top on either side. Those latter ones are only friction locked and I bent the latches a bit to secure them. I doubt the little birds will be able to open those doors but will probably still drill a hole in the latch to be able to add a carabiner or something similar to lock them.
Access to the inside and the cleaning tray are easy and feeding and cleaning have been a breeze.
The cart moves easily and the storage shelf under the cage comes in handy. The entire setup is light enough so that we can carry it outside with us to hang out in the yard.
Overall we are very happy with our purchase. I don't think it is possible to get a better deal on a cage like this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Cage

PostedApril 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Littleton, CO
We ordered this cage for our 2 Green Cheek Conures not thinking it would be so big. The good thing is there is plenty of room for toys and their new Hamster Wheel. They seem pretty happy in their new digs. This cage was a nightmare to put together and the directions that came in the box are a joke! which is why I didn't give it 5 paws.
The cage itself is large enough for up to 8 Green Cheeks, or 4 Sun Conures, or 4 Indian Ring Necks, or 4 Alexandrine Parakeets.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HQ Aviary Flight Cage with Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NIce cage!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Warrenton, VA
My two parakeets are very happy in their new cage. They have room to fly around and stretch their wings. The cage is sturdy and attractive. I am very pleased with the quality. Best price I have found. Shipping was fast and the cage was easy to assemble.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>