petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit

6 gallon aquarium features a space-saving desktop fish tank designHidden 3-stage filtration system with BIO-Wheel for a clean and healthy aquatic environmentDiscreet LED lighting system -bright white and blue LEDs show off the aquarium with daylight and moonlight settingsEnergy efficient, low voltage setupSingle consolidated power supply for light and filter systems
Average Customer Rating:
3.267 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
8 out of 15(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit
Review 1 for Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no longer a marineland fan

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Reno, NV
Everything about this tank screams cheap and shoddy. The led lights will not stay attached to the hood, the backplate for the wires does not sit well on the tank, the filter is loose in its seating on the side of the aquarium. This is DEFINITELY not acceptable as a desktop tank as it is claimed since inability to access crucial parts is a problem when backed up against the wall. I am extremely dissatisfied with this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never again

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
I was so excited about this tank, but right after the warranty expired (About six months) the lights and the filter went out, and because the lights and the filter are hooked together I couldn't get a replacement. I really wish I read the reviews before I got this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Again

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bay Area
I bought this tank (online) for my handicapped sister-in-law and she was so excited! After all the work of putting it together for her, taking her shopping for tank accessories, filling it with colorful gravel and her special decoration, adding water, conditioning the water, etc etc her excitement quickly turned into disappointment. Why? Because the pump was defective! What am going to do? Empty the water? Pack it all up and ship it back? No way! What a complete waste of time and I felt so bad for her. Never again shopping Petco Online. The box obviously had been previously opened and returned before it was shipped to us. Never again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
7of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

wouldnt recommend

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Reading,Pa
As stated I wouldn't recomend this product due to 1 and one fact alone the hidden lights stop working after about 6 months so either you need to buy a replacement top, or new aquiruim.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

REALLY Nice Tank

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Beaverton, OR
I love the Bio-Filter. It had the new tank clear in just a few hours instead of days. It is a very attractive addition to my room ... easy to keep clean. The curved glass magnifies everything so if you want a conservative tank, keep you ornaments on the small side. The lights are pretty cool .. the blue for night and the white for day. Can't say enough about this tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great at First but....

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CO
I got this little tank last year and loved it, the lighting is wonderful, the design is beautiful and simple but after a year, I noticed small puddles of water around the tank. Over the next few days, it become worse and I started to loose several inches of water in the tank. After further examining, I found that the biowheel was splashing water so hard against the lid, the wires that connect the combo LED light/hood was dripping with the evaporation and creating quiet the mess. I tried raising and lowering my water level but it hasn't stopped. The problem here is the LED lights are connected to the inside bottom of the lid so there was no separating the two expect by unplugging the LED light wires and hanging them up around the lid. So now the fish sit in the dark, not quiet what I was hoping for. Something Marineland needs to look into for future designs like this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product!

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oakland City, IN
I ordered this product after I got some Ramshorn Snails that decided to multiply. I've had the tank for almost 2 months now and have not had to do a single water change. I recently got Ghost shrimp to go with my Ramshorn Snails and my Mystery Snails. I have multiple plants in the tank that were becoming very unhealthy before I purchased this tank. Now that I have the tank I almost want to slow down the plant growth. All of my plants and invertebrates are flourishing in this tank and the setup was surprisingly easy. The only downside to the set up, for me, was when I received the tank, the plastic foot on the filter that keeps it sitting level on the tank had broken in the process of shipping, but it was easily fixed with some super glue. This is a wonderful tank and I would recommend it to anyone who wants an easy-to-care-for desktop aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love the day and night led

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wonderful tank but it takes up some room in the back. I wish that that the light had its own plug so I could put it on a timer. Besides that it is wonderful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Pillar 6 Gallon Hidden LED Desktop Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice little tank

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from attleboro, mass.
Once set up this is an eye catching tank. hooking the wiring together was very simple. The wire cover plate and the filter tower was a little more difficult. If you can have some one hold the plate in place while you insert the tower, do so or you will become very frustated. The cruves in the tower are very narrow and hard to slide down onto the plate without it moving. The led lighting is very nice. It shimmers inside the tank in both the daytime and nighttime mode. The bio filter is a very good design. The bio wheel is pretty noisey at first. By the second day, once the wheel is saturated it gets quieter. The trickling of the water into the tank is relaxing to hear and reasures you the filter is working properly. The tank water is very clear with lots of little oxygen bubbles floating around. An oxygen rich tank is a must for healthy fish and good water quality. All in all this is a nice tank. I rated it good instead of excellent just because when ever you may want to break down the tank to clean it, redecorate or to just clean the filter plus it's tubes, you will have to unplug and replug everything and have to do a little wrestling with the wire cover plate and the filter tower. Once past those little problems though, listening to the trickling water and watching your fish swim around in the shimmering water will relax you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.