petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop

Stainless steel construction for durabilityRust proofWon't bend or flickPolished finish & easy to clean
Average Customer Rating:
1.4 / 5
1.4
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
9
1 out of 10(10%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop
Review 1 for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great idea, bad product

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
attackcat
I had this scoop for one week (fourteen uses) and the handle is already bent away from the scoop. Maybe if used with a crystal or non-clumping litter it would last longer, but I won't be buying another to find out. I will definitely look at other steel scoops, but this is not the one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

They broke

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carolinacat67
from NY
I should have read the reviews, I bought one and loved it because it was lightweight and got right to the botton on the box, so I bought 3 more and gave away my other scoopers. Then they started breaking one by one, now I am down to the last one. They broke because they only have one spot weld on them and being that the metal is so thin, my friend doesn't recommend trying to fix them. So now I am off to return them, even the one that didn't break, because I'm sure it will soon. And of course I will have to buy scoopers AGAIN, but not from Petco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWFUL.

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bowserzmom
from Brooklyn, NY
I really need to start reading reviews before buying things...
This scoop is AWFUL.
The first time I used it I was very impressed. It felt much more controllable and comfortable than the plastic scoop I had previously been using.
However, the scoop's handle is NOT attached to the scooper properly at all.
In the middle of my 3rd use, the handle broke off of the scooper part.
NOT DURABLE AT ALL.
AVOID THIS SCOOP.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
5cat5
It broke the second time I used it. The scooper broke right off the handle.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The handle broke off the first time I used it

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
cheesesandwine
from Annapolis, MD
The fastener between the scoop and the handle is of poor quality. If you use the scoop without the handle, it works great (but kinda messy)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Complete ripoff

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DISAPPOINTEDx999
from Mesa, AZ
Another case of the "weld" breaking shortly after purchase. Bad design, questionable honesty on type of metal, If I had a welding torch I would fix it right just to make sure I didn't have to buy another. Instead, heading to the store for plastic replacement.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bent first use.

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
eklein
from Seattle, WA
Junk. Bent on its first use, expect it to snap on its second. Wish I had read the reviews before I purchased, but I bought in the store, and well... I didn't do my research.
It's a good idea, but has terrible execution. The handle and scoop are two pieces and are tack welded only. Terrible. You can't get any leverage to get any of the really sticky stuff out of the box (I have a cat with kidney disease, so the box is often saturated).
SAVE YOUR MONEY! $15 for one use? No thank you! Buy a garden trowel and cut holes in it, or get a slotted spoon.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Skip This Scooper

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
kcmtntop
from Springfield, MA
Payed $15 for this at the Petco store. The handle weld broke on the first use. Not much else to say. I will be returning it tomorrow for a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mel777
from PA
The handle broke off this scoop within the first week of using. It is very poor construction. I have had plastic scoops that lasted longer than this one. Very disappointed that Petco would sell this to their customers.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter scoop for scoopable (clumping) cat litter!

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
StevenFromTexas
from Lubbock, TX
I just bought the best litter scoop. Thank the heavens for the Internet, as the local stores have nothing but cheap litter scoops that can't and won't last. The Petco Stainless Steel Cat Litter Scoop is a high quality, sturdy product that should last decades. It isn't going to fall apart or break.
You can quit looking for THE litter scoop. You've just found what your looking for. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.