petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank

Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank

Curved glass aquarium with bowed front and rounded cornersGreat for saltwater or freshwater setupsBioCube kit features LED replaceable bars and expansion slotsUpgraded cooling system for better temperature control - ideal for tropical tanksEasy-to-maintain mechanical and chemical filtrationBioCube aquarium system includes biological media and return pump
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
11 out of 15(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Review 1 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

what a product

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from colorado springs, colorado
This thing is awesome. I was new in the salt water game but the biocube made ot so much easier. So far I have had no issues with it. It's quick to set up and get ready. Has cool light, filtration system, and just over all great. Considering selling my other tank and buying another biocube.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cracks appear overnight

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from tallahassee fl
After having my tank set up for nearly 2 months a crack appeared over night on front of the tank and started leaking. I lost a lot of livestock. when I called them they said it was my fault because I didn't buy their stand. When I googled biocube, I found many different complaints on the tank cracking.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fort Lauderdale
The hood fan is EXTREMELY LOUD. It is not an issue with just my tank. After reading online there have been MANY complaints about the same issue that the company refuses to do anything about. I returned the tank after 2 days. HORRIBLE!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great out of the box tank

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bend, OR
I've had this Coralife Biocube 14 running for a few days now. It's the easiest tank I've ever had considering it's basically plug-n-play. I really like the ease of accessing the filter media without taking it apart or getting wet. I'm setting up a planted freshwater tank with it based on reviews I've read and it's lighting. I'm not too sure about how I'll like the bioballs and I'm guessing I may end up removing them and replacing with another filter media type.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
I wish I would have bought this myself. I have an Aqua Pod, 28 gallon with very similar features. It is a great tank but I paid about $150 more for it. $299 delivered for a BioCube 29 gallon is just about unheard of.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor quality parts

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cerritos, CA
The tank is decent for the price, but the power head is very weak. The accessories that I got along side the tank, don't fit very well and a lot of modifications had to be made (i.e protein skimmer leaves no room for traditional filter, UV filter barely fits the power head, water evaporates very quickly)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
13of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved so much, bought a second one!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nashville, TN
This tank couldn't be easier to setup. Looks great, works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
Very nice unit. Ordered the matching stand that has not arrived yet. Look forward to stocking it up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great complete tank set up-almost perfect.

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Santa Rosa, CA
This is an awesome tank. Super easy to set up and maintain. The lighting is phenomenal. My only complaint is that the motor for the filter pump is loud. I was hoping it would quite down over time but it's still louder than I'd like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice setup for the money

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from PA
The biocube is a perfect complete setup for the money. I made a few modifications to mine after i added the skimmer to improve the water flow and it helped alot!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
10of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet Tank

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Woodland Hills, CA
Works perfectly. Lighting is excellent. Bought on sale and am loving me decision. Compact size is perfect for bedroom or office. Its a great way to begin a salt water tank.
All around great tank and great investment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nice tank... if it didn't leak!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Colorado Springs, CO
I purchased two of these through Petco (BTW Petco is awesome about returns). Both were returned upon testing the tank. Each tank had poor silicone placement in the back filter area. They both allowed water to leak underneath the vertical dividers between chambers 1,2, and 3. This would be easy to miss if you don't fully understand how the filtration process works; basically this will allow some water to completely bypass the filters altogether. This may not be a huge deal because most of the water would still be filtered (I think). However, this leaking will allow the water level to drop in all chambers and DT at the same rates; so unless you have an ATO your DT level will vary with evaporation. I thought about resealing myself but the back chambers are so small that I thought I would just botch the job.
Disappointed for sure because I think the overall package is quite nice. One other problem is lack of space for a decent skimmer (Oceanic one looked like a joke). The lights looked good, moonlights too. Separate switches, clean look, and will put together (except for silicone)! Cost me $50-$75 in lost shipping in returning the stand and all the peripherals I bought (new pump, inTank media rack, etc).
So before you buy any supporting equipment, be sure to test the tank by putting water in the bottom of chamber 1 (rear right) and seeing if it creeps over to chambers 2 and 3 without going over divider between 1 and 2.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+43points
61of 79voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this tank . . .

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Plano, TX
Easy set up. Able to make great mods for a salt water reef tank. Upgraded lighting, pump and fans work fine if you're just starting in the nano reef hobby, IMO.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tank for saltwater/reef use!

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
The biocube 14 is a great all-in-one tank for use as saltwater/reef tank. This biocube 14 is a redesign. It now has stronger lighting (48 watts). It has 1- 24w actinic (blue) & 1- 24 10000K light. It now has 4 different switches to control lighting. Individual switches for the actinic, 10000k, 3-led nightlight, and optional led strip. This is great because you can put everything on separate timers. The hood now stays propped open when performing maintenance. The stock pump is pretty strong and you may not need an additional circulation pump if only keeping soft corals and fish. The cooling fans seem to work well. The 3 led nightlight is nice...it is bright and produces the shimmer effect of the moon. Overall, the tank is built to last. The company, Coralife, is the same as Oceanic. They have great customer service if you need any assistance or parts. Very satisfied with this aspect of my purchase. Also, the customer service at Petco.com is amazing. They quickly shipped my tank. I had it on the 4th business day. Ordered Sunday, got it Thursday. Highly recommend the Biocube 14 now more than ever with the Coralife re-design/makeover.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
22of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Coralife BioCube PC/LED Fish Tank
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product!!!

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mansfield, TX
This is a better product than other cube systems. The overflow and filtration setup does a better and faster job especiallly during filter media and water changes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
19of 27voted this as helpful.