petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals

Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals

Stylish ranch top adds fun and flair to your pet's homeEasy to climb mesh rampsSafe and secure spring lockEasy access top doorChew proof coated wireConverts most 10-gallon tanks (not included) into a high rise habitat
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Review 1 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tank Topper is Perfect!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
MRVIC
from Bethel Park, PA
This tank topper is well built and perfect to expand my daughter's gerbils' habitat. It adds a large second level and even a small third level. It is a must have if you're going to get gerbils. This and a cheap 10 gallon aquarium make a great home for two gerbils. It clamps easily to an aquarium and gives a well vented hangout of the gerbils. It's also a nice place for them to get their sunflower seed treats and chew up their toilet paper rolls. It's also perfect to mount their water bottle on. I couldn't be happier with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tim92
from Albuquerque, NMR
This cafe fits nicely and tightly on standard 10-gallon aquariums creating a very nice 3-level "condo" for my daughter's two gerbils. The aquarium level is used for sleeping and burying themselves in layers of stuff. The 2nd level has their water, exercise wheel, and other items unimpeded by all the material below. The penthouse is where their food dish is. The two gerbils love running up and down all of the levels and really seem to enjoy this setup. Highly recommend this product. Very we'll built.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Penthouse Suite

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Keoki67
from Seattle,Wa
My gerbils love this little high-rise. I did have it on a 10 gallon aquarium but felt it was still to small for 2 gerbils. I have since placed it on top of a 20 gallon aquarium with simple alterations.The gerbils love running up and down. They really enjoy the penthouse as they can get fresh air and with the large door on top it makes it really easy to pet them and give them treats. Love their little penthouse suite!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really good for the money!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hamsterrific
from Portland, OR
I bought 2 of the high-rises for my two 10 gallon tanks that I have my hamsters in. My two are Syrian,and love it! They get their exercise going up and down the ramps.
It was so easy to put together! I love the idea of the mesh bottom, so that my fur babies won't get hurt. It fits comfortably on top of the 10 gallon tanks, and I'm not worried about them escaping.
We did have to crimp the ramps and second level to make sure that the babies didn't get hurt, but that was all. It was an easy fix.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Topper for 10 gal. tank

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hammielover2
from Florida
This is a great addition to a 10 gallon tank.
Easy to use and my Dwarf Hamster loves it.
Bars are close enough together, so you don't have to worry about escapes!
Quality is excellent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way to small

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jess32247
A ten gallon aquarium is MUCH to small for any hamster. The reason I gave the rating a two is because it does give slightly more space to a otherwise extremely overcrowded 10 gallon tank. I bought this 10g tank topper a couple years back to give my Syrian more room, but was still much to small. I later upgraded to a 110 quart bin cage (which is the smallest size bin you can use for a hamster) and added this on top. As you can see in the pictures, the bin is about TWICE as big as the tank topper. The TT fits the bare essentials, I can't imagine someone only use a ten gallon aquarium.
The price of the TT is insane. $40 for a piece of poorly made metal? Worse money I've spent in a long time, I do not recommend it. I've seen them selling for even more then that. The bin I bought costed me $15 and is twice the size.
Any who, my hamster enjoys the extra space it gives for her little penthouse/loft. It leaves me room in the bottom of the bin to fill it up with 5/6 inches of bedding for her to barrow and dig like a real hamster (which isn't pictured, forgot to add her extra bedding when i took the picture!)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-2points
10of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Djungian hamsters

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
masslady
from North Adams,Ma
I purchased this to see if my djungian hamsters would be ok. Perfect size for the 2 of them.Their feet do not go through the wire as its small squares. I love it. Will be getting another for my other 2
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!!!

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elle716
from Taunton, ma
I bought this topper for my two dwarf hamsters. They absolutely loved it! It gives plenty of extra room and ventilation. I like the looks of this one more than any other and the fact that there are no tubes. I also love that it has a full mesh floor instead of just a section. The whole thing is wonderful. I really wish they would make this exact one for a 20 long. I usually line the flooring with fleece so the mesh won't hurt their little feet. I only use it because these two don't eat or chew it which could be harmful.
I did move them out of it and into a 20long to change things up. My only issue with the topper was if I wanted to get them out from the tank I had to remove the whole topper.
I do have a Syrian now And I am adding the topper to her tank tonight. I am considering getting a second 10 gallon tank and topper and putting the dwarfs back in one too.
Love it for hamsters!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great upgrade for a baby to adult hamster

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
yiptastic
from Tacoma, WA
Bought it as an addition to her "baby stage cage" and she loves it do much that she rarely goes down (: she's a white russian
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My hamster loves it

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Long Island, NY
I bought this for my hamster and she loves it! It took a while for her to get used to it but it was so worth it, I woke up in the middle of the night hearing the cage banging and when I went to look I saw her climbing all over the roof and walls, such a great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for rats...

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
IheartAK
from holyoke, ma
my two rats like this, and enjoy it, but the little ledge is always falling down. now, my rats live in a rabbit cage. my hammy has taken over. she loves it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

high rise habitat

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
JulieShane51002
from Fulton, ny
I just got my high rise habitat today... it fits my 10 gallon tank perfect.... & my baby rat's love it. This is the perfect topper to get it gave my little ones so much more room to move around.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Definitely a GOOD BUY!

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alycatsj
from Gainesville, FL
My husband and I bought this product to give our two gerbils extra room. The topper add almost the same amount of space as adding another 10 gal. tank on top of the one we have, would have. I am definitely satisfied with the purchase.
Pros: More space for you small critters, easy to use ramps, water bottles and wheels attach easily.
Cons: Bedding, food, etc gets pushed through the bars real easily (just like with any cage with bars), the only opening is at the top of the topper, making it difficult to allow your critters the ability to come out on their own.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My gerbils love it!

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
pink516
from Palm Beach Gardens, FL
I felt like my 2 gerbils needed a little more space than a ten gallon aquarium. I don't have a lot of space so this was the perfect solution. It also solved the problem of my gerbils moving their wheel around the tank and banging it on the glass. The wheel easily attached to the cage and is noise free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petco Premium High-Rise Habitat Expander for Small Animals

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
tatertots2000
from brunswick,oh
it is nice because it will make the cages bigger and easy to climb
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.