petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds

Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds

Unique design offers 3 options for configuring the playgroundIncludes a ladder, swing and dangling toy for your pet's entertainmentFun bird play gym made with china-fir wood and cotton rope Portable and lightweight bird play tray designIdeal for small to medium birds
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Review 1 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent playground

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
griffdog
from Medford Oregon
at first I was not so sure to buy it the reviews said it was flimsy and didn't fit in the holes so im like I don't want this and so earlier today I got it and put it together not flimsy just the bars didn't fit in the holes so easy solution put toothpicks in the missing fit and snapped the extras off and wallah! it worked my birds are satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best if NOT used as intended

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
FeathersNFur
from Peoria, IL
The reviews stating this is flimsy and doesn't stay together are right... if you use it as intended. The instructions list three different configurations of the pieces, and if you configure it any of these three ways it is a little wobbly... but that's because it can be taken apart and re-configured to change things up!
So, really, you have two options to get around the wobbly problem: Pick one configuration and add some wood glue to solve the problem, or make up your own! I placed the pieces differently than the directions said, making sure they had each other for support, and this minimized the wobbling. Eventually, I will probably glue the pieces down, but for now this worked fine.
If you're okay with adding some glue, or dealing with some wobble, or being creative, then this is TRULY the best that you can get for the price!
The only REAL problem is the treat cup really is useless without clue... it just wobbles TOO MUCH.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not get

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bobbi1960
from Huntsville, AL
Bought this and as putting it together, it fell apart.. Very flimsy. Not worth the money
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy1054
from Kenosha, WI.
My Birds Love playing on This Playground every day!! I'm very happy with this, Glad I bought it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it <3!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gris
from New York
At first I was hesitant to purchase this product because of all the negative reviews but I'm really glad that I went ahead and purchased it anyway! It arrived fairly quickly and was very easy to assemble. I do agree that it is a little flimsy but it really isn't that bad. All the pieces fit and it looks great. My budgie is in love with it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Price

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
BirdiesInTX
from Kingsville, TX
I initially bought this for my little bourke and scarlet chested parakeets. They took to it right away.
I've recently aquired a golden mantled rosella and it works great for him too!
I configured it to the design that basically uses all the pieces, except for one of the ladder. But, I was able to add it anyway. ;)
I also switched out the swing that comes with it for one that I have. It works much better!
There are many possibilities with this little bird playground. It was definitely worth the money. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cockatiel loves it!

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
dmarie100
I recently bought this for my cockatiel and let me just say this highly exceeded my expectations. It is the perfect size for him, the wood is strong, but I will admit I did have to hammer two of the wood posts to the side of the playground and some of the perches were a bit crooked but other than that, it is pretty sturdy. The swing is small, but it does fit him. He loves to perch on the rope (which is shockingly sturdy and big) and sing all day. The toy, even though simple, he loves it more than all of the others in his cage lol. The little treat cup is adorable(: Also, I can take the swing down and put some of his original toys and hang them there. It keeps him busy and active, and for only 16 bucks, you really can't go wrong. I will DEFINITELY recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not just for birds!

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
askfortrouble
from Contra Costa County, CA
I actually picked this up on a whim to see if my two rats would enjoy climbing and balancing on this in their 'playground' container since I wanted them to have a space to run around in other than their cage. I'd let them free roam but I have roommates with a 4 year old so not such a good idea. Anyhow, I MacGuyver'd their play area using a 45 gallon storage container, which this fits in just fine! I may even buy a second one just to make more use of the vertical space.
The only thing is that at least one of the configurations isn't really able to bear the weight of even one of the rats on it, and they're still only 5 months old. As I'm thinking of getting a second one, I may just use wood glue to better secure the pieces and bear their weight better. I'm pretty sure this is not a problem at all though with the intended avian pets. =)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bird feature

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pugpuppie
from Lake City, AR
My birds love this playground. It gives them something to look forward to besides sitting in a cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a decent playset

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Goldenstars
from Warrenton, OR
I bought this for my Jenday Conure and Parakeet to play on; My parakeet without question loves it! My conure is a little bit big for it but it gives him a nice place to sit and play with a few toys while I am busy doing other things.
Unboxing this set it looked fairly straight forward. I followed the directions to put it together in each of the three different setups. Right away something caught my attention; None of the setups use all of the wooden parts; or more so both of the ladders. Though not using the setup guilde lines I managed to get all the parts on it without any trouble.
I have noticed some people complain that some of the parts are wobbly; I too agree Though twisting some of the sticks and placing newspaper into the holes helps keep it in place if it's too wobbly; fortunately I didn't need to do that.
There is honestly only one thing about this product I do not like however; and that is the swing and the placement of some of the pegs. On the picture on the box it shows the pegs in various good locations but the holes are drilled in none of this places; The swing too is smaller and the rope is done differently then in the picture; an issue since when I bought this I wanted to make sure my conure could get into the swing; but sadly only my parakeet can.
But they enjoy it and it's a decent play set 4/5; would highly recommend for parakeet owners; and folks who own smaller conures.
One thing I can suggest to the makers of this set it to make sure that a picture of the final product is on the box so people can see exactly what they are getting; but also work on making sure all the parts on used on the example setups rather then having extra parts laying around being unused.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My bird loves this!

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
EllaW
from Midwest
The first one of these I got had missing parts and fell apart when I put it together, but the replacement is great! I have a parrotlet and he loves climbing around on this. I use this also as a safe place to put him when I need to put him down for a second. It's pretty easy to clean too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice!

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bird68
from LAX, CA
This is an awesome play ground, well made, nice finished wood. Birds love to play around. I recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT product, GREAT price!!!

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
LittleFishBigPond
from Florida
GREAT product, GREAT price!!! I keep two Budgies on this when they are out with me, easy cleanup, lots of perch area and different ways to set it up, plus it is SO very affordable! yay!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Playstand

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
DJN35
My bird loves this playstand! My bird, Eli, flys right to the playstand when i stake him out of his cage.It has things that your bird might like. Some toys include: ladder, swing, and im not sure what the last toy is, it has 2 balls with a rope attached to it. Oh ya, i wouldnt recommend this for any bird bigger than a conure, my bird is a cockatiel.There is also a food bowl that connects to a perch that my bird loves so he can eat while he is on it. Also there is a rope perch that my bird like to perch on. Hope u liked my review.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap

PostedApril 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
BirdOwner123
Normally Petco has great stuff, but this item is extremely cheap. The wood is incredibly weak and snaps with the slightest pressure. Many of the parts do not fit into their holes resulting in a very wobbly structure or the holes are not drilled enough and you can't even put the piece in without sanding it down.
The directions are also bad. I do not recommended this product at all. I wish I could return it but it broke apart while putting it together.
All they had to do was use better quality wood and finer drilled holes and this would have been great, but this is what happens when you go cheap.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Premium 3-in-1 Playground for Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the price

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
EricaE
from Allentown, PA
This item is very nice for the price. Its cheap and you get what you pay for. It serves its purpose and is wood as well. I didn't think much of the plastic ones. The only drawback is that the pieces don't stay together very well. They hold the birds weight and haven't fallen over yet but they are pretty wobbily. I thought of gluing it in place but there are different options for how to set it up, 3 in 1 and all that, so if you glue it, then you won't ever be able to change the setup. Overall I'm very happy for the price paid, who knows, the $40 one in the store could be wobbily too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.