petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter

Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter

100% natural walnut-based cat litterProvides superior odor controlVirtually no dust and low trackingFaster & harder clumping for easier scooping
Average Customer Rating:
3.918 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
7
43 out of 61(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Review 1 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The cost is worth it

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Franceen
from Rathdrum, ID
I've been using now for a few months, and this is the most fabulous cat litter I have ever used. No more digging out concrete that the clay creates. No more little bits of clay digging into your feet when you get up in the middle of the night. No more smell, am not embarrassed to have someone walk though my utility room any longer. I use the extra deep Clever Top entry box, so have had less issues with the cats throwing the litter out of the box, and no issues with dust. I know its expensive, but I use less of it - but wouldn't matter anyway, its worth every penny. Oh, and I forgot - the weight! So much less than the clay, so helps this mature lady when moving it around. Just give it a try and know you'll be convinced. Obviously, I'm sold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I really wanted to like this

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
jmc0423
from Williamsport, PA
As someone who uses mostly natural products themselves, I wanted to try it out for my cats as well. When comparing the different natural types, this seemed like a good place to start. When I first poured it into my litter box, it did seem to have less dust. However, upon refilling later I did notice dust, but I guess walnut dust is still much better than whatever regular litter dust is.
Anyway, the litter clumps up really well for my cats. I was thrilled that the clumps didn't build off of each other and make giant bricks like traditional litter does. It also didn't stick to the sides of the litter box. I didn't mind the smell of the litter itself, as other people have mentioned. However, I noticed it wasn't very good at masking the smell of feces right after the cats went. I also kept getting whiffs of urine, but it wasn't a lingering scent so I thought it was in my head.
After about a month of using this, I'm going to give something else a try.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't scoop

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
katzmom
from Los Angeles, CA
I am looking for a natural kitty litter that produces less dust. This is definitely dust free and the cats seemed to really enjoy it. But after a couple of days the smell gagged me. The urine just sunk to the bottom and created a goopy mess that wouldn't scoop (had to be scraped) The small amount that did clump broke apart when I scooped. I had to changed the box every week. I added baking soda which helped the odor but not the cleaning.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not that great

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Knitty619
from Dallas, TX
If you like your litterbox area to smell like a wet barn, then this is the litter for you. Looks like dry coffee grounds. I did not find the clump performance to be that great as it would just be soggy damp clumps that would fall apart when attempting to scoop with a standard slotted litter scoop - leaving damp smelly wet litter still in the box. On emptying the litterbox entirely, the entire bottom was covered in wet grounds - I ended up just pitching out the litterbox and giving the cats a fresh new one. My cats didn't like it and I didn't either; everyone was much happier when I switched back to normal clay scoopable multi-cat litter. Would totally NOT recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's ok

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Otherproducts
from Philadelpia, PA
I like this product, the quality of the quick clumping is great. But i have a white Persian cat and with it been brown it cause the cat paws to get dirty and when he gets off the litter it cause a mess. I will like to try a different product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best so Far

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
redcaw
from Baltimore, MD
After deciding I wanted to use a litter with no binding chemicals that my cats could ingest, I tried different all-natural litters. Most of them were hard to keep clean (I found myself trying to scoop them out 3 or 4 times a day because of the smell). This is the first brand I have found that actually clumps. Maybe not like the ones with chemicals, but enough to be able to keep the litter clean and odor-free much longer than the others. I am back to a normal schedule of cleaning the box out. I just scoop out the dirty litter and add some fresh to replenish it, and it lasts a long time. And the cats seem to like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good odor control

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
MilkyCookie
from Davis, CA
This pricy product works well with my 2 cats. The litter itself smells like used ground coffee, but it does a good job to control the odor after 3-day use for 2 cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Blue Naturally Fresh Multi Cat Clumping Litter

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Timber519
from Tillamook Oregon
I really like this litter. There is very minimal dust when pouring it into litter box and I like the smell it has, not a litter smell, but an outdoor like smell. It doesn't track all over he house, we have tiles in the the lower lever of our tri-level house and the room the box is in leads into the kitchen and you can't smell the box or see litter on the floor in the kitchen. It is so nice . Also, It's more natural which I believe is better for my cats health and mine. We have 3 cats using the box, but guest always say they can't smell the box, (Thank God!). I also like how the litter clumps, It makes it so nice for cleaning out, and It can be flushed into the septic tank so no more plastic grocery bags in land fill. Because we have 3 cats, I purchased a a plastic tote with snap on lid and then cut a hole in front as an entrance to make a littler box. 2 Bags of this litter will last us abut 3 months! Also, Petco only charges me $5.99 shipping for 2 of the largest bags. I live 2 hours from a Petco so $5.99 for 2 bags is WAY cheaper than going and getting it, and I love the savings I get on auto ship, plus Petco includes a small sample food in the shipment I use as treats for my cats or dogs. A lot of times, I have the UPS driver wait while I rip a box open so I can give him the sample treat bag for his delivery route dogs. I Give Petco 5 "paws" but the litter 4 paws because the litter have these weird holes in them on one side so litter slightly leaks out of bag. If it wasn't for the holes I would give it a 5!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible stains

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
ColdNozes
from MN
brown dust everywhere and it has turned my cat's paws brown, doesn't even clump that well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No smell

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
jjc1183
from RIchmond, VA
My single cat can make it seem like I have the litter mess of many cats. The Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat litter take care of this. He adjusted to it with no problem whatsoever and there is no smell. You do still have to clean the box on a regular basis but no more frequent than what is recommended.
The only negative is that he seems to track it everywhere even though I have a litter mat outside his litter box. You may need a really good mat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What a purrfect litter!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katshouse
from Burlington Wi
I recently purchased a bag of the Blue cat litter. All I can say is WOW!!!!! Best stuff I ever had. Its a little pricey but worth it. No smells at all. Cuddos to Blue!!
Now I can really enjoy my7 cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
ReesieCup
from Tulsa, OK
I was so excited that a Blue Buffalo representative was in Petco the day I stopped by for cat litter. We've tried EVERY kind and every time find that our female cat pees outside the litter box if we miss one day of scooping. The smell is horrible when we scoop and I thought there was no answer.
She was so helpful at explainig that the Blue Buffalo litter is made of wal nut shells, has no added perfume and has extreme clumping but won't stick to the sides of the box like the clay litters do. We can also go 6 weeks in between changing the entire box. Our cats LOVE it. We haven't had a single problem since switching. I don't mind scooping the litter anymore. LOVE Blue Buffalo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great odor control

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
pjefferson
from Ma
I really like this litter. It has the best odor control of any litter I've used. It's also nontoxic and only has a little dust.
I wish it clumped better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
catladyuponthehill
from Vermont
I have three cats and this product works awesome for me. It helps with odor and cleans up easy. No more heavy garbage bags with the old scoop away. I would recommend this to everyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Horrible dust

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vinsjewel
from McMinnville, OR
Because PetCo decided to stop selling Nature's Miracle anywhere in my area without warning, I was forced to try this (I am allergic to clay dust, so that wasn't an option, and many of the other alternates were FAR more expensive).
On the good side, it clumps very well. I thought that might make up for the added expense of it.
However, on the bad side, while it says it's "virtually dust free," it actually spews a horrendous amount of dust, not only when you pour it in the box, but every time you scoop the box. The dust is dark brown and manages to cover everything in a short period of time.
The litter also tends to smell exactly what it is when wet -- wet walnut shells. It's really not a great smell. Also, I find that the litter tends to get saturated faster that Natures Miracle did, which means it needs to be changed more often because it smells and no longer clumps. Extra changing means extra expense.
I am sorely disappointed with this litter, and with PetCo for making such a bad decision.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Blue cat litter...

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
TLough1974
from San Diego, CA
I like it because it absorbs smell better, my 1 cat is picky so I have to add another kind that he likes or he won't use it. But I like it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Won't use anything different now!

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
BJohnson
from Killeen, TX
This litter is a life saver! Myself and my 2 cats were suffering from bad allergies from their old Fresh-Step litter. Dust was in abundance. I decided to give this a try - and I won't be using anything different now! This stuff is seriously the best. Hardly ANY dust but still powerful enough to cover up the odor. I didn't even have to adjust them to it - they just jumped right in. I love how it's the same feel as their clay litter but without all of the "bad" stuff. Love, love, love!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great alternative cat litter

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
chiy3
from Sacramento
This stuff is excellent, a little bit messy but well worth it. We have two cats and you scoop out once a day and then add some new and will last for a month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cats Love It

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
cluley2013
from Cape Canaveral, FL
My cats love to use this stuff... they always choose the box with this litter over the pellet litter I use in the other box. I think it's the cleanest and easiest litter I've ever used, clumping very cleanly and NO DUST fuming upwards when scoop! This is absolutely dust free. It does track more than the pellet litter and since it's a dark color, you can see it everywhere. You just have to sweep once in awhile. It is a dark color and this can be surprising at first but it works so well it just doesn't really matter. Try it. You will be pleasantly surprised.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best litter i've ever found

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
CTBunnyGal
I have 9 indoor cats. Crazy... perhaps - but I wouldn't have it any other way. For the past 15 years I have tried every brand of cat litter and every formula there is, including specialty brands and some that cost more per month than my mortgage! - 9 cats needs a LOT of litter. I scoop daily (who doesn't?) but with every other litter I tried - odor was still a problem. Not only odor between scoopings, but some brands just developed a horrible smell after a few days of use causing me to change the entire contents of the litter box. For me , a brand that advertises to be the -world's best- litter for cats was the absolute WORST - after 4 or 5 days of a fresh litterbox fill, it would smell sour - best described as vomit (gross, I know). I read other reviews that said the same of the product. I just could not seem to find a quality litter. Those that controlled odor didn't clump, those that clumped stunk horribly, those that controlled odor and clumped contained more dust per bag than litter. I even tried the robotic (self-cleaning) litterboxes and spent big $$$ getting the *cat genie* installed. This is a litterbox that hooks into your toilets water supply line and self-cleans, with water, and the soiled material goes down the sewer. That was the worst of them all!
While in my local pet store buying wild bird food, I spotted the Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter. Since I was still searching for a litter that worked well, I opted to try it - that was 18 months ago and I will never use anything else, ever again.
The bag says it controls odor "4-6 times better than other brands" and it does - more like 10 times! People walk in my house have no clue I have a cat, let alone 9 because there is ZERO odor and I can go MONTHS between a full litterbox changes. I scoop daily and add a bit of fresh litter and it lasts a really long time. The litter is made of walnut shells, so its earth friendly and has no scent. Don't worry - its ground fine so cats aren't walking on sharp shells, it looks the same as any other litter. The clumps are ROCK hard. Even though I have multiple litter boxes, there are a couple my cats favor and all 9 cats will use one of the boxes during the day. Despite 9 cats using it, no clumps are broken - when I scoop - everything is hard and solid so it’s easy to scoop and clean; no worry about breaking clumps while scooping. The dust is low and the tracking is almost none.
Finally - a litter that does what it says and what litter is designed to do! As far as price - well it is higher than some other litters, but given how well it works, it’s more than worth the price - even when buying for 9 indoor cats. I rarely write reviews, but this is a product that deserves one. Try it and you won’t use any other brand again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>