petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter

Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter

100% natural cat litter made with walnut shellsProvides superior odor controlMulticat cat litter great for households with multiple catsVirtually no dust and low trackingClumping cat litter creates harder clumps faster for easier scooping
Average Customer Rating:
3.957 / 5
4
 / 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 star
7
49 out of 69(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Review 1 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Covers Smells

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from USA
I love this. It looks like coffee grounds, and has minimal dust. But I only have one cat that has even tried it, and she only tried it twice. they prefer their SwheatScoop. It does clump well and is light weight and flushable. Doesn't have a strong odor (original clumping formula). But my cats just won't use it, so we won't be buying it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dorchester,MA
My cats took to it right away.
Room where the litter box is located stays much more litter dust free than when using other brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This products stains!

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Stockton illinois
Loved the odor control. I have 4 cats using 1 litter box and never smelled a thing! Doesn't clump very good though . But the reason I can't buy this again is because it stains my cats feet. I have a pure white cat and 1 with white feet and it has stained both of their feet a reddish brown color. To bad because the odor control was fabulous!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Natural Fresh Multi-Cat Litter

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Olcott ny
Great Product. I had switched over from SwheatScoop, a product I've used for many years.
It does everything it says and my cats prefer it to anything else
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No tracking and no smell

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
I just bought this last night and so far it's been fantastic. This is the third litter I've tried since I brought my cats home a few weeks ago. No smell, no tracking, and no dust so far. I thought the clumps this morning were somewhat loose, so I will see how it holds up over the next few days. For now, I'm hopeful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL.
We have always enjoyed the great quality of Blue Dog and Cat food for our pets. We rescued an adult cat to add to our family. We were using Scoop Away with our one cat and it worked great. But with the new cat it could not handle the extra urine. I figured give Blue a try. What a disappointment for a premium Cat Litter. We bought the clumping kind. It works great the first week but after that it clumps but when you try to pick it up it falls apart. After two weeks of attempting to remove the cat's waste the whole litter box smells like urine. Our cats also track the litter outside their box even thou it states how well the cat litter is supposed to stay in the box. Time to try another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Think I Found My Favorite Litter

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Williamsville, NY
Let me start off by saying that I have worked in the vet field for many years and have owned cats for longer. I have used just about every litter there is out their; regular clay, scoopable clay, pine chips, shredded paper, and yesterday's news. Many had heavy perfumes to mask odors. Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter tops them all.
The consistency and color is much like instant coffee mix (do not mix these up). It is very light in weight compared to the same amount of Arm & Hammer Litter. It is virtually dust free, and even the small amount of dust that is present is barely noticeable. It scoops nicely, with the urine clumping well. My cat has a favorite spot in the box and it comes out clean every time. It does not stick to the cat's paws, unless you have one of those that likes to play in the box. I have a Clever Cat Top Entry box and don't notice tracking.
Now for the piece de resistance, the odor is not there. I actually don't mind cleaning the box now. It does not smell like heavy perfume, air fresheners, or urine. It has a mild dirt/melon smell, and I just stuck my head into the used box to verify that. My cat loves to run and jump in my lap right after using the box. This used to be very easy to determine by the smell, not anymore. For those that complain about the smell of the freshly passed feces, remember that your own probably don't smell springtime fresh.
I really think I can stop looking for the best litter, because I found it in Blue Natural. The only thing that would make it better would be if it cleaned itself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Eliminates litter box/room odors

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Columbia, TX
Not as messy as traditional litters. Love it. Works well with Littermaid system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The cost is worth it

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rathdrum, ID
I've been using now for a few months, and this is the most fabulous cat litter I have ever used. No more digging out concrete that the clay creates. No more little bits of clay digging into your feet when you get up in the middle of the night. No more smell, am not embarrassed to have someone walk though my utility room any longer. I use the extra deep Clever Top entry box, so have had less issues with the cats throwing the litter out of the box, and no issues with dust. I know its expensive, but I use less of it - but wouldn't matter anyway, its worth every penny. Oh, and I forgot - the weight! So much less than the clay, so helps this mature lady when moving it around. Just give it a try and know you'll be convinced. Obviously, I'm sold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I really wanted to like this

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Williamsport, PA
As someone who uses mostly natural products themselves, I wanted to try it out for my cats as well. When comparing the different natural types, this seemed like a good place to start. When I first poured it into my litter box, it did seem to have less dust. However, upon refilling later I did notice dust, but I guess walnut dust is still much better than whatever regular litter dust is.
Anyway, the litter clumps up really well for my cats. I was thrilled that the clumps didn't build off of each other and make giant bricks like traditional litter does. It also didn't stick to the sides of the litter box. I didn't mind the smell of the litter itself, as other people have mentioned. However, I noticed it wasn't very good at masking the smell of feces right after the cats went. I also kept getting whiffs of urine, but it wasn't a lingering scent so I thought it was in my head.
After about a month of using this, I'm going to give something else a try.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't scoop

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I am looking for a natural kitty litter that produces less dust. This is definitely dust free and the cats seemed to really enjoy it. But after a couple of days the smell gagged me. The urine just sunk to the bottom and created a goopy mess that wouldn't scoop (had to be scraped) The small amount that did clump broke apart when I scooped. I had to changed the box every week. I added baking soda which helped the odor but not the cleaning.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not that great

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
If you like your litterbox area to smell like a wet barn, then this is the litter for you. Looks like dry coffee grounds. I did not find the clump performance to be that great as it would just be soggy damp clumps that would fall apart when attempting to scoop with a standard slotted litter scoop - leaving damp smelly wet litter still in the box. On emptying the litterbox entirely, the entire bottom was covered in wet grounds - I ended up just pitching out the litterbox and giving the cats a fresh new one. My cats didn't like it and I didn't either; everyone was much happier when I switched back to normal clay scoopable multi-cat litter. Would totally NOT recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's ok

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelpia, PA
I like this product, the quality of the quick clumping is great. But i have a white Persian cat and with it been brown it cause the cat paws to get dirty and when he gets off the litter it cause a mess. I will like to try a different product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best so Far

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
After deciding I wanted to use a litter with no binding chemicals that my cats could ingest, I tried different all-natural litters. Most of them were hard to keep clean (I found myself trying to scoop them out 3 or 4 times a day because of the smell). This is the first brand I have found that actually clumps. Maybe not like the ones with chemicals, but enough to be able to keep the litter clean and odor-free much longer than the others. I am back to a normal schedule of cleaning the box out. I just scoop out the dirty litter and add some fresh to replenish it, and it lasts a long time. And the cats seem to like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good odor control

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Davis, CA
This pricy product works well with my 2 cats. The litter itself smells like used ground coffee, but it does a good job to control the odor after 3-day use for 2 cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Blue Naturally Fresh Multi Cat Clumping Litter

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tillamook Oregon
I really like this litter. There is very minimal dust when pouring it into litter box and I like the smell it has, not a litter smell, but an outdoor like smell. It doesn't track all over he house, we have tiles in the the lower lever of our tri-level house and the room the box is in leads into the kitchen and you can't smell the box or see litter on the floor in the kitchen. It is so nice . Also, It's more natural which I believe is better for my cats health and mine. We have 3 cats using the box, but guest always say they can't smell the box, (Thank God!). I also like how the litter clumps, It makes it so nice for cleaning out, and It can be flushed into the septic tank so no more plastic grocery bags in land fill. Because we have 3 cats, I purchased a a plastic tote with snap on lid and then cut a hole in front as an entrance to make a littler box. 2 Bags of this litter will last us abut 3 months! Also, Petco only charges me $5.99 shipping for 2 of the largest bags. I live 2 hours from a Petco so $5.99 for 2 bags is WAY cheaper than going and getting it, and I love the savings I get on auto ship, plus Petco includes a small sample food in the shipment I use as treats for my cats or dogs. A lot of times, I have the UPS driver wait while I rip a box open so I can give him the sample treat bag for his delivery route dogs. I Give Petco 5 "paws" but the litter 4 paws because the litter have these weird holes in them on one side so litter slightly leaks out of bag. If it wasn't for the holes I would give it a 5!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

horrible stains

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MN
brown dust everywhere and it has turned my cat's paws brown, doesn't even clump that well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No smell

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from RIchmond, VA
My single cat can make it seem like I have the litter mess of many cats. The Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat litter take care of this. He adjusted to it with no problem whatsoever and there is no smell. You do still have to clean the box on a regular basis but no more frequent than what is recommended.
The only negative is that he seems to track it everywhere even though I have a litter mat outside his litter box. You may need a really good mat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What a purrfect litter!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Burlington Wi
I recently purchased a bag of the Blue cat litter. All I can say is WOW!!!!! Best stuff I ever had. Its a little pricey but worth it. No smells at all. Cuddos to Blue!!
Now I can really enjoy my7 cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tulsa, OK
I was so excited that a Blue Buffalo representative was in Petco the day I stopped by for cat litter. We've tried EVERY kind and every time find that our female cat pees outside the litter box if we miss one day of scooping. The smell is horrible when we scoop and I thought there was no answer.
She was so helpful at explainig that the Blue Buffalo litter is made of wal nut shells, has no added perfume and has extreme clumping but won't stick to the sides of the box like the clay litters do. We can also go 6 weeks in between changing the entire box. Our cats LOVE it. We haven't had a single problem since switching. I don't mind scooping the litter anymore. LOVE Blue Buffalo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>