petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter

Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter

100% natural cat litter made with walnut shellsProvides superior odor controlMulticat cat litter great for households with multiple catsVirtually no dust and low trackingClumping cat litter creates harder clumps faster for easier scooping
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
11
1 star
10
53 out of 78(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Review 1 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Litter

PostedApril 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Have 2 cats.Didn't like World's Best Litter (my 10yo said it stank). Even Arm&Hammer stank and was super dusty. Yesterday's News was pretty good. But Blue Naturally Fresh tops them all. Best odor control, minimal dust, lasts forever and environmentally friendly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No odor control

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Roanoke, VA
We adopted a cat and were given a coupon book that included a 50% off coupon for this litter. I've had experience with cats before and always used something else, but it's been years and the lady at the pet store strongly recommended this particular litter. The entire downstairs of my house smells like a dirty cat box now! And I scoop it daily (sometimes twice). I even got a black light to make sure kitty hasn't been spraying or urinating outside of the cat box. It's the litter. Zero odor control.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not So Great

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
If you're looking for a litter that clumps.. keep looking. We have two cats so there is a lot of peeing going on and this litter doesn't clump very well at all. It will hold the liquid spots together if you are very quick at scooping and don't even think about shaking your scoop (it will all break apart and drop back into the litter box and then you just have wet litter everywhere that you can't pick up!). Its also very dusty. Our cats dig around for a bit and they come out with a fine layer of litter dust on them. Who wants that!? Absolutely zero odor control also. We had to buy extra deodorizers to dump on top of the litter after each cleaning.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

stains white paws

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
this litter was very dusty, had decent clumping, but didn't control odor very well. The worst part about it is the color, it is a dark rust color, which stained my cat's white paws AND it tracked and stained my couch. NEVER again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY DUSTY

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from PA WASH.
Clumps fairly well. Good odor control,but really dusty.Have to dust room every other day.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No smell, and easy to clean........

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sayre PA
Worried about trying it as it was so different than anything I had used before........ but boy what a difference. Picks up easily.... cats love it, so we are all happy....... Would definitely recommend to anyone.
Also........free shipping helps too. Always buy a few bags at a time........
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best litter

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Louisville, KY
I have been wanting to transition our household to use as many green products as possible, and we've developed some bad habits due to our dislike of cleaning the litter box. This product delivers! Here are my favorite aspects about this litter:
-all-natural
-not dusty
-clumps really well
-the clumps are not as heavy; the litter itself is so easy to scoop because it's so light
-clumps don't break apart unless they are fresh, and it only takes a little time to dry
-the odor control is amazing! we live in a tiny apartment, and again, have some bad habits, and only one cat, and this litter does the job.
-the odor of the litter itself is pleasant.
some other cat owners were complaining about cat paw tracks from the walnuts; we have not had that issue, but our kitty also has a habit of licking her paws off periodically, which was why I wanted to get away from clay litter in the first place. This litter is totally worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from branson, MO
This is the best cat litter ever. NO dust and NO smell use less doesnt track all over house Buddy loves it. Wont use the other when I forgot to take litter along got cheap stuff from store. He just looked at me like what is this (spoiled) yes I know.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does not control urine odor

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South windsor ct
I bought this walnut cat litter at petco because there was a lady there selling it and it was half off ($7). I usually stick with Everclean cat litter because of it's odor control and it doesn't have a perfume smell to it. I asked the sale representative what was so great about using walnut shells for cat litter and she it was because it absorbs the smells. It does do a good job with controlling the number 2 smell but not urine. I scoop it daily and the whole box stinks like cat urine, even after I dumped the whole box and bleached it and replaced it with new litter. What a disappointment. Back to Everclean I go!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Covers Smells

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from USA
I love this. It looks like coffee grounds, and has minimal dust. But I only have one cat that has even tried it, and she only tried it twice. they prefer their SwheatScoop. It does clump well and is light weight and flushable. Doesn't have a strong odor (original clumping formula). But my cats just won't use it, so we won't be buying it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dorchester,MA
My cats took to it right away.
Room where the litter box is located stays much more litter dust free than when using other brands.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This products stains!

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Stockton illinois
Loved the odor control. I have 4 cats using 1 litter box and never smelled a thing! Doesn't clump very good though . But the reason I can't buy this again is because it stains my cats feet. I have a pure white cat and 1 with white feet and it has stained both of their feet a reddish brown color. To bad because the odor control was fabulous!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Natural Fresh Multi-Cat Litter

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Olcott ny
Great Product. I had switched over from SwheatScoop, a product I've used for many years.
It does everything it says and my cats prefer it to anything else
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No tracking and no smell

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
I just bought this last night and so far it's been fantastic. This is the third litter I've tried since I brought my cats home a few weeks ago. No smell, no tracking, and no dust so far. I thought the clumps this morning were somewhat loose, so I will see how it holds up over the next few days. For now, I'm hopeful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL.
We have always enjoyed the great quality of Blue Dog and Cat food for our pets. We rescued an adult cat to add to our family. We were using Scoop Away with our one cat and it worked great. But with the new cat it could not handle the extra urine. I figured give Blue a try. What a disappointment for a premium Cat Litter. We bought the clumping kind. It works great the first week but after that it clumps but when you try to pick it up it falls apart. After two weeks of attempting to remove the cat's waste the whole litter box smells like urine. Our cats also track the litter outside their box even thou it states how well the cat litter is supposed to stay in the box. Time to try another brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Think I Found My Favorite Litter

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Williamsville, NY
Let me start off by saying that I have worked in the vet field for many years and have owned cats for longer. I have used just about every litter there is out their; regular clay, scoopable clay, pine chips, shredded paper, and yesterday's news. Many had heavy perfumes to mask odors. Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter tops them all.
The consistency and color is much like instant coffee mix (do not mix these up). It is very light in weight compared to the same amount of Arm & Hammer Litter. It is virtually dust free, and even the small amount of dust that is present is barely noticeable. It scoops nicely, with the urine clumping well. My cat has a favorite spot in the box and it comes out clean every time. It does not stick to the cat's paws, unless you have one of those that likes to play in the box. I have a Clever Cat Top Entry box and don't notice tracking.
Now for the piece de resistance, the odor is not there. I actually don't mind cleaning the box now. It does not smell like heavy perfume, air fresheners, or urine. It has a mild dirt/melon smell, and I just stuck my head into the used box to verify that. My cat loves to run and jump in my lap right after using the box. This used to be very easy to determine by the smell, not anymore. For those that complain about the smell of the freshly passed feces, remember that your own probably don't smell springtime fresh.
I really think I can stop looking for the best litter, because I found it in Blue Natural. The only thing that would make it better would be if it cleaned itself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Eliminates litter box/room odors

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Columbia, TX
Not as messy as traditional litters. Love it. Works well with Littermaid system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The cost is worth it

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rathdrum, ID
I've been using now for a few months, and this is the most fabulous cat litter I have ever used. No more digging out concrete that the clay creates. No more little bits of clay digging into your feet when you get up in the middle of the night. No more smell, am not embarrassed to have someone walk though my utility room any longer. I use the extra deep Clever Top entry box, so have had less issues with the cats throwing the litter out of the box, and no issues with dust. I know its expensive, but I use less of it - but wouldn't matter anyway, its worth every penny. Oh, and I forgot - the weight! So much less than the clay, so helps this mature lady when moving it around. Just give it a try and know you'll be convinced. Obviously, I'm sold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I really wanted to like this

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Williamsport, PA
As someone who uses mostly natural products themselves, I wanted to try it out for my cats as well. When comparing the different natural types, this seemed like a good place to start. When I first poured it into my litter box, it did seem to have less dust. However, upon refilling later I did notice dust, but I guess walnut dust is still much better than whatever regular litter dust is.
Anyway, the litter clumps up really well for my cats. I was thrilled that the clumps didn't build off of each other and make giant bricks like traditional litter does. It also didn't stick to the sides of the litter box. I didn't mind the smell of the litter itself, as other people have mentioned. However, I noticed it wasn't very good at masking the smell of feces right after the cats went. I also kept getting whiffs of urine, but it wasn't a lingering scent so I thought it was in my head.
After about a month of using this, I'm going to give something else a try.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Naturally Fresh Multi-Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't scoop

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I am looking for a natural kitty litter that produces less dust. This is definitely dust free and the cats seemed to really enjoy it. But after a couple of days the smell gagged me. The urine just sunk to the bottom and created a goopy mess that wouldn't scoop (had to be scraped) The small amount that did clump broke apart when I scooped. I had to changed the box every week. I added baking soda which helped the odor but not the cleaning.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>