petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter

Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter

100% natural walnut-based cat litterProvides superior odor controlVirtually no dust and low trackingFlushable for easy disposal
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
15 out of 22(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Review 1 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-clumping

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Delipoo18
from Missouri City, TX
I don't like the ltter above. Itried for the first time, its fresh, but like clumping litter better. This item was expensive and everytime I clean litter box I just throw away. Wasting money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wet pellets grow mold

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
LoveCatDog
from Hawaii
The dark brown pellets turn light brown after a while. So when I also noticed gray pellets, I thought these were just older pellets. What I realized after close inspection was that the gray pellets were actually furry moldy pellets.
We were loyal to the Feline Pine pellets for years until they added baking soda. Now it doesn't absorb.
Back to the hunt for another pellet litter. I heard that standard animal pellets work just as well and are cheaper.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Litter

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
SherryKS
from Hemet, CA
I have always perfered litter like the Blue Buffalo Pellet litter. Its easier to clean up and isn't so easily tracked outside the llitter box. This litter does disinegrate when it gets wet.. Blue's litter definitely kept the cat odor down. I'd buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good clay litter alternative

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
RussianBlueMommy
from East SF Bay, CA
Absorbs odor and moisture better than other natural litters I have tried. Pellets stay firmer than pine litter and is less messy. Easy to clean with a once-a-day scoop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It Stains

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lorinzo
from St. Louis, Missouri
It looks like sawdust when the cats use the litter box. I don't know if the urine goes through the plastic, but with the pellet cat litter, I've been seeing puddles of urine underneath the litter box. This walnut based litter, seems more absorbent than the Scented Yesterday's News brand, which is my favorite so far. There does seem to be a reduction of a cat urine odor with the walnut based brand, but it has a very serious flaw. It makes a dark stain on my floor that doesn't leave with soap and water. I'm not sure what people's idea of tracking is, because I sweep the floor everyday from the scattered pellets. If it were not for the stain problem, I would give it a 4 or 5 paw rating.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWEFUL!!!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Only1Bunny
from Concord Ca.,
This litter is absolutely awful! I could smell the urine in the box and so could my cats. They would walk up to the box to use it and smell the urine and turn and walk away. Cleaning the box was a terrible! All the wet stuff on the bottom was stuck to the box and I had to scrape it off and there was MILDEW which really made me mad! I'm going back to the pine pellets that I buy from the feed store. They're easy to clean and never smell like urine or have mildew. I will NEVER buy this stuff again!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
lckva
from Winchester, VA
I have never encountered a litter that works so well in controlling odor. I have been a cat owner my entire life, and am so impressed with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smelly

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lavalamps
from North Carolina
I bought this to try since my local store was out of feline pine, and this is one of the worst litter i've tried. I scoop out his poo and shake the litter daily, but it hasn't been a week and I can smell the ammonia. It was good for the first few days, but I don't plan on buying litter every week!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Buffalo non-clumping walnut litter pellets

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
siberianwoman
from Warrenton Oregon
This product is my favorite. I run a small cat rescue and have tried all there is out there for odor control practicality, cost effectiveness, and low allergen effect.This one has it all. It is the ONLY litter to use in small spaces as there is almost no tracking and no dust when pouring. It has long lasting odor control with an earthy aroma.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rabbit litter

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
srrees
from Nebraska
Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter is the best litter I've found for rabbits. Since it is made of walnuts it is heavier and doesn't go all over the place when my rabbit jumps out of the litter box. I change his litter only once every other week and sometimes every 3 weeks. It does not create the dust that other pet covers make (pine chips, for example) and, therefore, is healthier for my rabbit. It is not carried in the stores in my area and Petco has the best price I've found on the internet. I wish it came in larger bags though so I wouldn't have to order so often. I would definitely recommend it for rabbit owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Litter

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
havesomekids
from Maine
This is the best litter I have ever used. There is no smell of cat urine at all. I change the whole box every 2 to 3 weeks it says once a month but I like fresh litter for my kitty. He had no problem with the transition at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
emilee
this litter is amazing. I used to use other litter and it smelled a lot, but with this litter you don't smell a thing! The litter does not make anything smell at all
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cat Litter

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gene54
from Texas
Hands down...THE best cat litter ever made! I have to hunt for it a little, so it was great to order from Petco!!! It came quickly to my door. Thanks so much!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Changed over and never changing back

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
sakura87231
from san antonio, tx
I was using this when I was using the litter kwiter and now we use it exclusivley we have three cats and don't have to change it for a month. I do dispose of it in my toilet and with the great coupons that blue buffalo gives out in the store I don't pay a whole heck of a lot at all. I was using the tidy cat instant action which is a great litter but I recommend this to all of my customers as I am also a petco employee. I LOVE THIS LITTER!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
AlbuquerqueSue
from Albuquerque
I was using the clumping litter by this same company and had to switch to pellets because of my cat's paw injury. I love the pellet version. My cat doesn't track hard pieces of litter like with the clumping kind. And it costs about half the price :-)
Also, with the clumping version, my white cat's paws would temporarily be brown from the litter after he used it. With the pellet version, that doesn't happen
The litter lasted a full month without any noticeable odor. And I love how natural it is.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very affordable, but smelly and moldy!

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
mrsKclean
from Roseburg, Or
I have two indoor cats. I have used every litter under the sun and saw the inexpensive price of this and decided to give it a try. I think the litter itself stinks. It does not block odor since the poo stays on top of the litter it smells a great deal until you scoop it. My cat box is scooped daily and after just one week I went to scoop and the litter was moldy from the cat urine. Nasty, very nasty. I have never had cat litter mold after just one week even with two cats. This forced me to change the entire litter after just one week. The fine dust does not track at all. the pellets do pop out but not very much and they can be easily picked up and thrown in. Overall im going back to pine pellets they don't track at all with my top entry cat box
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It does what they say it does!

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ksull72487
As an employee at PETCO. A cat lover and aquarist, I'm always exploring new options. I tried this litter because Blue Buffalo is a great company and my cat is on their diet. My cat took to it in about five hrs. I didn't mix his old litter as my cat is pretty forgiving but I'd recommend using a 50/50 mix of the pellet litter and old litter before switching for everyone else. After one week I had to vacuum. I have a hooded litter box but I was shocked virtually no Tracking. The smell is there but barely and probably the best odor control I have ever seen for pellets. It does create a bit of dust when the pellets dissolve but is easy to maintain. You will need to be diligent about scooping daily as well. But over all if your look for a virtually no tracking litter, something healthy for you and your cat as the other stuff can cause problems. Or something that just won't stick to your cats fur. THIS IS IT! I may try the clumping version next but as its not a pellet I feel it may track more. Another great product from blue!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Surgeries

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
LovesDolphins
from Schaumburg, IL
If you are looking for a non-clumping, safe litter for kitties after surgeries, this item is great. My cats did not like Yesterday's News, but love this.
Urine turns the pellets to a fine powder and "other" excrements stay right on top for easy cleaning. Doesn't track like clay litter, virtually no dust.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
CatFurniture
from Hampton, VA
My cats took to this litter immediately. I've had trouble in the past with them accepting different types of pellets or clumping litter. Not only do my cats like this litter, I love it! It's easy to clean out the solids and the pellets break down into a powder that repels odors and doesn't track everywhere. This is the only cat litter I'll use from now on. You can spend a lot of money on some of the hard pellets that scatter everywhere and do not help much with the odor. This is the best of the pelletized litter, in fact, it's the best litter I have every used in my 40 years of being a cat staffer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't track...but didn't like

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MissKay
from Orlando, FL
I was looking for a litter that didn't track all over but would lessen odor since I live in a smaller apartment. I could not stand the smell after my cats defecated. They weren't able to cover it like that would with the non pellet kind so when I walked in the house the smell was enough to knock me out. It was also kinda hard to clean out with grab a lot of the access pellets, which seemed wasteful to me.
I was pleased that I would only find a few little pellets near the litter box I I did like the way the pellets absorbed the urine but overall I wouldn't buy the pellets again. I may try the other options by Blue Mountain since I love the company but not the pellets.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>