petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter

Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter

100% natural walnut-based cat litterProvides superior odor controlVirtually no dust and low tracking
Average Customer Rating:
3.69 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
5
19 out of 29(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Review 1 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

smells good but...

PostedJune 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from alabama
Smells good fresh scent when you pour in but feces stay moist in pellets. With two days smell of feces filled room and cleaning litter pan was difficult even with larger scoop. Not for faint of heart or those with multie cats
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Non-clumping Litter

PostedMay 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Watervliet, NY
I'v tried every kind of non-clumping litter out there. I foster kittens and my dog gets into the litter boxes so I have to have a non-clumping litter. This is the only one I've ever used that doesn't leave the room/house with a weird smell. Non-clumping pellets do take some time getting used to, you basically have to search for the solid waste and scoop it out but thats about it. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the color of the pellets and the color of the solid waste are the same color so you do have to pay a little more attention when scooping. If you need a non-clumping litter this is your best bet and the price is awesome!
Non-clumping litter is a must for kittens and dogs that like to get into the litter. Clumping litter can cause obstructions which can do a lot of harm (and possibly result in surgery). These pellets are also better on the environment and on your cats lungs compared to the dusty clay based litters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Litter Pellets

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Delray Beach, FL
I ordered these pellets hoping I could use them in my Breeze litter system. I switched from the Breeze pellets to Nyantomo pellets (large size) which I purchased on Amazon - they were very expensive, but they worked the best since they don't scatter or get caught in the bottom grid. After using the Blue pellets which cost about 1/4 as much and are almost as effective as far as scatter and not getting caught in the grid, I will never use anything else. Also, they are much more effective for masking odors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked great for me

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
It took me a bit to figure out how to use this litter but I'm very pleased with it. Petco has an inexpensive scoop with wide slots for $3 and change. It works great for solid waste. Scoop up the solid ware and shake the scoop and the pellets will fall through into the box. For wet waste, use a non slotted scoop. I tilt the box and gently scrape the unwetted pelts away from the wet stuff and then scoop as much of the wetted pellets as I can get and dump it into my plastic bag lined waste bucket and discard it every few days. I clean the box every day and ad more pellets when it gets low. I empty the entire box every month or so and wash with hot soapy water
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really hard to scoop

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I tried a bag of this after Unleashed had it for $3 a bag. Holy cow is this really hard to scoop with the pellets. I don't recommend this product to anyone who is used to scooping quickly - they need to make their own scooper for this liter - I don't see it working with any type of scooper currently on the market.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Colchester, CT
I thought I would give this product a try since it seemed a much healthier alternative than some other litters out there. At first I was some what pleased because it doesn't track as much as other litters I have used, Then in approx 2 weeks I could smell cat urine which I have NEVER smelled before with my usually litter. I also feel that when you clean out the feces you end up taking a bunch of the still good pellets out too, which I feel is a waste. So here it's been a little over 2 weeks & I have to change the whole box out. So off to Petco for different litter. I just hope that this Blue litter will work for traction in the snow for I still have a half a bag. I hate waste, but don't like this litter so much that I decide to totally replace it NOW instead of waiting to use the whole bag.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston
The rescue that we got our 1 yr old from had pellet litter so I wanted to keep the same type. This brand is cheap and it does its job. We live in a small apt and you can't smell cat at all with the help of a litter genie for #2. Yes , the pellets do disintegrate when wet. I will probably change it every 3 weeks or when needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-clumping

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Missouri City, TX
I don't like the ltter above. Itried for the first time, its fresh, but like clumping litter better. This item was expensive and everytime I clean litter box I just throw away. Wasting money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wet pellets grow mold

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
The dark brown pellets turn light brown after a while. So when I also noticed gray pellets, I thought these were just older pellets. What I realized after close inspection was that the gray pellets were actually furry moldy pellets.
We were loyal to the Feline Pine pellets for years until they added baking soda. Now it doesn't absorb.
Back to the hunt for another pellet litter. I heard that standard animal pellets work just as well and are cheaper.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Litter

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hemet, CA
I have always perfered litter like the Blue Buffalo Pellet litter. Its easier to clean up and isn't so easily tracked outside the llitter box. This litter does disinegrate when it gets wet.. Blue's litter definitely kept the cat odor down. I'd buy it again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good clay litter alternative

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from East SF Bay, CA
Absorbs odor and moisture better than other natural litters I have tried. Pellets stay firmer than pine litter and is less messy. Easy to clean with a once-a-day scoop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It Stains

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, Missouri
It looks like sawdust when the cats use the litter box. I don't know if the urine goes through the plastic, but with the pellet cat litter, I've been seeing puddles of urine underneath the litter box. This walnut based litter, seems more absorbent than the Scented Yesterday's News brand, which is my favorite so far. There does seem to be a reduction of a cat urine odor with the walnut based brand, but it has a very serious flaw. It makes a dark stain on my floor that doesn't leave with soap and water. I'm not sure what people's idea of tracking is, because I sweep the floor everyday from the scattered pellets. If it were not for the stain problem, I would give it a 4 or 5 paw rating.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AWEFUL!!!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Concord Ca.,
This litter is absolutely awful! I could smell the urine in the box and so could my cats. They would walk up to the box to use it and smell the urine and turn and walk away. Cleaning the box was a terrible! All the wet stuff on the bottom was stuck to the box and I had to scrape it off and there was MILDEW which really made me mad! I'm going back to the pine pellets that I buy from the feed store. They're easy to clean and never smell like urine or have mildew. I will NEVER buy this stuff again!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Winchester, VA
I have never encountered a litter that works so well in controlling odor. I have been a cat owner my entire life, and am so impressed with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smelly

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I bought this to try since my local store was out of feline pine, and this is one of the worst litter i've tried. I scoop out his poo and shake the litter daily, but it hasn't been a week and I can smell the ammonia. It was good for the first few days, but I don't plan on buying litter every week!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Buffalo non-clumping walnut litter pellets

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Warrenton Oregon
This product is my favorite. I run a small cat rescue and have tried all there is out there for odor control practicality, cost effectiveness, and low allergen effect.This one has it all. It is the ONLY litter to use in small spaces as there is almost no tracking and no dust when pouring. It has long lasting odor control with an earthy aroma.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rabbit litter

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter is the best litter I've found for rabbits. Since it is made of walnuts it is heavier and doesn't go all over the place when my rabbit jumps out of the litter box. I change his litter only once every other week and sometimes every 3 weeks. It does not create the dust that other pet covers make (pine chips, for example) and, therefore, is healthier for my rabbit. It is not carried in the stores in my area and Petco has the best price I've found on the internet. I wish it came in larger bags though so I wouldn't have to order so often. I would definitely recommend it for rabbit owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Litter

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Maine
This is the best litter I have ever used. There is no smell of cat urine at all. I change the whole box every 2 to 3 weeks it says once a month but I like fresh litter for my kitty. He had no problem with the transition at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
this litter is amazing. I used to use other litter and it smelled a lot, but with this litter you don't smell a thing! The litter does not make anything smell at all
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Naturally Fresh Pellet Non-Clumping Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cat Litter

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Hands down...THE best cat litter ever made! I have to hunt for it a little, so it was great to order from Petco!!! It came quickly to my door. Thanks so much!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>