petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box

SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box

Automatic cat litter box that conveniently scoops waste for youRemoves odors with powerful activated carbon filtersEliminates need for daily contact with waste and dirty litter pansSelf-cleaning litter box with a powerful yet quiet motor unitWorks with your favorite clumping cat litter-- no need to buy special or costly cat litter
Average Customer Rating:
3.312 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
10 out of 16(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Review 1 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
BordeCollieGuy
from Wilbraham MA
In the past i had bought several different Litter maid automatic self cleaning litter boxes and was never completely satisfied. One time the box kept recycling so much it scared the car and he wouldn't use it anymore.
The SmartScoop has performed far better with no problems so far after several months. I am also much happier with the plastic waste bags. They are easy to use and less expensive then the containers on the LitterMaid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

unclean

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
crazycatlady11
from GA
i know cat litter boxes aren't expected to be "clean", since they are a litter box, but the container is hard to keep clean, hard to remove the moving parts from the box and just overall messy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Second One

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
HawaiianKittyOwner
from Kealakekua, Hawaii
This is a replacement for the same litter box purchased two years ago. It gets a pretty good workout as I have two large cats. The scooping mechanism does not always pick up everything but it gets most clumps. We scrap daily to be sure it is completely cleaned. My cats are finicky and both accepted the new one the day we set it up. Have tried other models including the super expensive ones but this model seems to work the best for the price. It would have gotten 5 paws if the scooping mechanism hadn't got caught under the motor. But after two years I guess it was time to get a new one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far so good

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
6237houck
from kansas
cat box is doing the job so far, I;ve not had much luck with auto scoop but hopefully this is it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much Better than the competition

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
CatLover24
from Virginia
Works as advertised. Easy to assemble. I've owned other automatic kitty litter boxes and this one is superior in every way. The cleaning of the litterbox is virtually hands-clean. Much easier to dispose of bags over other methods. We have 3 cats and all of them use this box over the manual box available. I will have more than one of these in my home in the future. Does require disposal of the filled bag every other day, but much easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reduce litter box cleaning time

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
KARMA61
from Othello, WA
I really like this auto cleaning litter box. Its not all that I had hoped for, but its great. I really wish this litter box had a proper enclosure. My cats seem to kick a lot of litter out onto the carpet. It does a pretty good job of picking up all the waste with its rake. I usually scoop the little leftover bits when I clean out my other litter box. It takes about 2 days for my 3 cats to fill the waste receptacle (this is not their only litter box). Overall I am happy with the product. I am spending a lot less time being a slave to my cats potty needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good product

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leigh22
from Baltimore
I have read the reviews for every self-cleaning litter box out there and have another one. This one seems to be the best option for an open unit.
Some people had complained about the pricier version of this one because the rake would scoop the clumps over the side, but this unit has a high attachable wall where the ramp goes on the pricier version, which prevents this problem.
I do wish it came with an enclosure, but I am going to get one of those tables made to house self-cleaning litter boxes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big disappointment!

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
2bigboyskitties
from MT
I bought this because I liked that the motor was on the outside but I wish I would have stayed with liter maid. I think the big problem with this one is the work on the motor. Instead of the rakes bringing the clumps back to the bin on this one the bin is attached to the rake so as it fills it puts more work on the motor. The entire unit would get stuck and block the whole box after less than a month. I had trouble the entire time I had it and now at just 1 year it has died. Way too expensive to only last a year.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the investment

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
CatMomNVA
from Alexandria, VA
Spent way too much money on a product that worked well for one week only. Rake gets caught on the bottom of the litter box, so litter and waste ends up every where other than where it should. also very loud because it's not working properly. Have to call the manufacturer now since store won't help me. Carbon filters do not control any odor. I have a kitten and the filter doesn't even work for the a pet that small.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the money

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
chantal1334587
from LA, CA
I have two large indoor cats who are picky about a clean box and this works great. I went from scooping everyday to emptying the disposal on this every three days. The cats were kind of scared of it at first... but they use it and it's clean every time. If they go under the rake it won't pick that up. And some times it will kick out a little bit of litter. But, it is still worth the money. If you hate scooping - I would recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesn't properly work

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
LilD2U
from Yonkers, NY
This item worked like a charm for 2 days. On the night of the 3rd day, the scoop would get stuck and then throw the litter out of the box. After taking it part and resetting it up, the problem continued. I had to ultimately return this item.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The best among flawed choices

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
nstarlight
from Hartford CT
Let's begin by saying that almost no automatic litter box is truly automatic. This one is no exception, but it beats the others by a long shot.
This is my second SmartScoop box. The first one had some problems, and was immediately replaced within two days from the corporation. It has worked perfectly since, so when i t was time to replace my broken PetSafe one, I decided that the SmartScoop had given me the least trouble, so I'd get another. When I first got the second one, the rake kept hanging up on the bottom of the box. True to form, I was immediately helped by Customer Service at SmartScoop, and a replacement rake has been installed. No problems so far. So you can't beat the customer support.
Now, as for the actual operation of the litter box, the rake does occasionally scoop up the waste and somehow miss getting it into the bin. Maybe the chunk is too large to be tossed back into the bin? Maybe it's hanging off the edge to begin with. If the rake successfully gets the waste into the bin, you virtually can't smell it unless you open the lid on the bin. It's a decent system - definitely much more reliable than Litter Maid, and more cat-friendly than the PetSafe.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke in 2 months

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scooped
from DC
One box still working of 2 in 2 months - part of the plastic broke for no reason in the motor
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grewt product

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
RonC
from Glendale, CA
I have owned *ever* single automated litter box ever made. My number 1 fav is the Litter Robot - easiest to empty hands down - but it is soooo big, I don't have room for it anymore. My second fav is the Pet Safe Simply Clean liter box. It keep the litter the cleanest and was the easiest to empty the waste but the rim was so low my two "boys" empty out most of the litter onto the floor when they were covering. I researched several new automated litter boxes and chose the SmartScoop and I like it. I have it in an enclosed litter cabinet and left off the front short wall attachment to allow my "boys" easier entry, but too much litter and clumps ended up in front of the box. I put it on and it solves that problem. Now my only problem is making sure I empty it every other day. It's the cleanest box int he house and my boys prefer it now so it gets the most use!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Had high hopes

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
TxJane
from Houston, TX
I really wanted this to be THE automatic litter box that I would invest in for my two female cats. Setting up is very easy and the materials feel good and heavy. Nice that the motor runs on the outside.
I used the Blue buffalo walnut quick clumping multi cat litter.
However, when I kept the recommended level of clumping litter in the box, and the cat used it and starts to cover up, the litter gets too shallow in some parts, and the auto scooping doesn't level it back. Also if the cat urinates too close to the rake,that's a mess and as someone else said, sometimes clumps remain, and i have had to pick up pieces of clumps in the box and also from the floor which was pushed out by the rake. Maybe the extender part needs more of a curve so things won't fall out of the box. The rake starting position occupies almost two inches of litter so less space avaiable for cats use. This model in my opinion needs just a couple of tweaks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SmartScoop Basic Green Self-Scooping Cat Litter Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A CLEAN SWEEP..!!

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
DearOleDad
from West Saint Paul, MN
I am disabled... and
I had been an owner of another cat box for over
17 years. Their prices became way too much...
and difficult for me to continue emptying.
Then I found 'SMARTSCOOP Basic...
It is 'SIMPLE' to put together...
It is 'QUIET" when it does run...
It is 'SIMPLE' to CLEAN UP..!!
IT is SO MUCH EASIER .. it is AMAZING..!!
My 'only complaint' is that the wiring is on the
outside of the box, and I have an 'Attack Kat' that
luvs (for some reason) to chew on wires.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this litter box...
and there is / has been NO SMELL...
You won't regret your purchase...
You'll be saying... ''WHY DIDN'T I BUY ONE SOONER..!!
<:o)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.