petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs

Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs

Training aid for dogs that pull on leadsGentle yet powerful enough to deter pullingQuickly converts to a collarPulls back at the withers and not around the face
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Vernal Utah
I've tried everything to reign in my over exuberant lab and this slows him down a lot. He still pulls but now I can enjoy walking him instead of dreading it every morning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This collar saves the day!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Concord, NC
I have a Great Dane puppy who is quite willful on walks and was beginning to be a problem for me, especially when I had to take her along with my other dog. This collar did the trick on the very first try! She's now a perfect little lady and is easy to handle, even for a smaller person like myself. This collar saved my walks! Give it a try, you won't regret it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my relationship with my GSD!

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Breckenridge, CO
My GSD is almost 2. He loves to be active, but his whole life, walks have been a nightmare. Prior to today, I have been injured by him pulling me around on walks. He has gotten free of his other collars and almost injured other dogs. For quite a while, I only took him out to use the bathroom and straight back in. But today was his first day using this head harness and we walked to town for the first time without issues. He hated the first 10 minutes, but was walking by me like a perfect gentleman once he gave up on getting the harness off. I can't wait to take him on his next walk later today and at least 2 a day from now on!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR BIG POWERFUL BREEDS!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seal Beach,CA
So, I have a 5 year old American Bulldog that weighs about 65 lbs and he is almost pure muscle. My dog never got walks until we moved when he was 4 and he was mostly a family friendly guard dog. Walking was a complete nightmare (start early)! Every person, dog and cat in his sight he would pull after, never pulling me off my feet but definetly scaring other people and myself because I would always worry if he would slip off his standard collar (which he has done) so when I heard about head collars I promptly picked up the cheapest one at Petco and I was not disappointed. This collar is a MIRACLE! The first time I put it on was a little difficult (but seems much easier than other models) but, my dogs whole demeanor changed. He walks calmy, at my side, not in front. He doesn't react to people or dogs anymore after a few walks and whenever we come across a hiding cat and he freaks out (which happens at least once a week) I am never worried about the collar breaking or anything. Have had it for a few months and hasn't snapped or frayed. Dog can pant, sniff and it doesn't look like a mussle. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR BIG POWERFUL BREEDS! I am a sixteen year old girl and it makes me feel safe in public knowing I have complete control over my dog and don't have to hurt him with choke chains. LOVE THIS PRODUCT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from norfolk, va
Before I purchased this collar for my 2 year old pit bull, taking her anywhere on a leash was an absolute nightmare. She gets so easily distracted by animals and people that she just wants to run and play. Today, for the first time ever, we had a pleasant and amazing walk. She tugged as usual at the beginning but then she quickly got the hang of it. After the first 15 minutes she was attentively trotting at my side! I have tried other gentle leaders and she has easily gotten out of them. I have even gone so far as trying a pinch collar which was an absolutely horrible experience for both of us. I am so happy I found this at Petco and at such a great price! I will definitely be recommending this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful product

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from racine wi
since getting this and using this my dog fought a little bit and then i never had anymore problems and i have a service dog and he started to pull and this corrected it i strongly recommend this to all high strong pulling dogs
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this collar

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
This is the first time I have reviewed a product and I'm not affiliated with Petco in any way. I've tried every type of collar for my Border Collie, from Gentle Leader to Halti. This is the first collar that really works and I don't worry about him wiggling out of it and getting away. From the minute I put this on him he was a different boy and now I don't dread our walks anymore. I think he is more comfortable as it doesn't get too close to his eyes. Its a steal for the $$ compared to the other brands and sooooo much better. Thanks Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loved it!

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from St. Charles, Mo
I bought this as a training tool for my dog because he is a 100 lb lab mix and pulls so hard on his leash that I have fallen a couple of times because he is so strong. I have tried Cesar Milan's correction techniques but he still pulls. This collar was very hard to adjust to the correct tightness and a little confusing to get on the dog, because there were no instructions included. My dog did not like it and tried to shake it off a couple of times but as soon as we started walking, it was like I was walking a different dog. He barely pulled at all because he didn't like the way it felt around his muzzle. I was afraid the muzzle part would be cruel, but it is very loose so we can pant and sniff as much as he wants and the leash pulls back on the neck not on the muzzle. I highly recommend this leash for anyone that has trouble with their dog pulling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
I got this and another leader for my 4 month old pit puppy, the other one you attach the leash under the head, he fought that one like crazy, with this one he has had a couple issues with trying to get out of it, but when in motion he reacts as if he's been on this for months instead of one day!! I'm so glad that I got this one, will be returning the other one since it wasn't much help. I'd recommend this one to anyone, as for dogs getting out of it, my suggestion is tightening it with the clamp, that keeps any slack out where they might try for an escape.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very bad product

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Manhattan, KS
I bought two of these for my dogs. I tried them on both but they both were very uncomfortable. The system is not setup right because the strap over their muzzle ends up on top of their eyes. I tried making several adjustments but it never got any better. It is also incredibly hard to adjust. Overall it was good try by petco to replicate the name brand product but they failed miserably this time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Difficult to use

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I bought this product a) because it's a collar and a head-collar and b) because it was less expensive than the Gentle Leader brand. I was very disappointed in this product - especially because I often use the PetCo brand and am quite happy with the result.
There are not adequate instructions for proper use of this head-collar and it is not self-evident. My dog was uncomfortable on the many attempts we made to use this as a head-collar, and it would easily slip off of her nose. After trying, trying again, and trying many more times I decided to try the name brand head-collar to see if it was an issue of type of device or just the PetCo brand.
After the first use of the name-brand head-collar my dog was comfortable wearing it, it's easy to use (and even if it wasn't, there are instructions and a DVD).
This is one case where I wish I had just spent a few extra dollars the first time around.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Black Non-Pull Head Halter for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not good for Houdini Dogs like mine.......

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from DSM, IA
When I first received this I was excited because it felt like it was well made and it looked like it would work really well.... you know just like Justin Silvers on the program "Dogs in the City"!
Well, my dog got out of it within the first minute after leaving the house.... I may try again before returning the product for a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.