petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness

Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness

Control dog harness makes walks more enjoyable for both you and your petCan work well as a training aid for dogs that pull on leadsUnique non-pull design draws back around chest to discourage pullingGentle yet powerful enough to deter pulling in most dogsAdjustable dog harness and variety of sizes lets you find the perfect for your dog
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Review 1 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
hijenk4
from Albuquerque, NM
I purchased this harness for my boxer that is always dragging me for a walk. He has even caused me to fall down several times because he is so hard to control! I purchased this non-pull harness after reading the reviews and thought "why not?". It wasn't very expensive and I was willing to try anything that would help. I must say that I am very impressed with the improvement this harness has made! He pulls some still, but not nearly as much as before. Also, I don't have to worry about the collar choking his neck. It was a great purchase for my boxer and me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as great as I thought

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
ShepherdMama243
I bought this harness for 4th of July crowd control for my 5 mo. old GSD. She chewed a hole through the neck part on the first day she wore it, and I was surprised that it wasn't more durable. Still, we won't use it that much, but hoping it stays in tact through her puppy years!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why Did This Get Great Reviews?

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
AriaAllen
from Miami Beach, FL
Don't get me wrong, this looks like a VERY comfy harness but it did absolutely nothing to get my large chihuahua to not pull and try to lead. It took me a minute to figure out how to put it on. if you are looking for a comfy harness and live in a cold area ( the sherpa part seems too hot for living here in miami ) then get this harness. if you want to get your dog to not pull get the " PetSafe Easy Walk Black Dog Harness " from Petco. of course the one that works great for my dog is also the most expensive one. you have nothing to loose, if it doesnt work for you simply return it. good luck
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best harness so far

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Yorkitude
from Nebraska
We have a smaller version of this harness for our other Yorkie, which my wife found used for a buck. Even though this one was more expensive, it was worth it. Not only do we seem to have more control of the dog (not a trained walker yet), but he does not choke the way he did in other more traditional harnesses. It is also much easier to slip him into and adjust. I'm normally a cheapskate, but this piece of equipment works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
tbscml4
This is a good quality harness, but I do not think it helps with the pulling. I like the harness because it has the softer cushioning over the straps for the armpits, therefore my dog does not chafe because of her sensitive skin. If you are looking for a non pull harness, do not get this though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great harness!

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
SophieP
from Summerfield, FL
I've tried several styles of harnesses, but this style seems to work the best for us. It seems to be the least annoying, thus avoiding my younger terrier chewing her way thru it. They aren't the most stylish design, but work so well that I'm on my second pair for 2 Cairn terriers & I'm not even going to try any others!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just okay

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
MandM214630
from Chicago, IL
The harness itself is a good harness. I like it better than the mesh ones with the buckles and such. this one is easy to slip on and go. But it does nothing to keep my dog from pulling on the leash. He pulls just as much, if not more with this harness. Overall, a good harness, but doesn't keep the dog from pulling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It WORKS!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
LeeaD
from Colorado Springs, CO
It works... it's as simple as that. I have a medium sized dog, but he is so strong that he was pulling me along (and I'm 200lbs!). Not to mention that my kids could never walk him because he would pull them over. As soon as I put the harness on, he stops pulling. He is now a joy to walk and is even learning to heal without pulling, choking himself, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

instant results

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
valaf87
from carver,ma
i've never wrote a review for anything I've ever bought. This product impressed me so much that I decided I would finally write a review. I was so sick of my 6 month old spaniel mix pulling even with constant training. Although skeptical I decided I would try a no pull harness. I went out and bought the first one I saw at the petco. I was so eager to try it we put in on as soon as I bought it while still in the store LOL. I felt like i had a new dog immediately! Once home we tested it out in my yard for 10 minutes or so and still no pulling, not even when he heard the neighbors dog across the street! I'm now looking forward tommorows walk and not dreading it like I have been the past few weeks! I've only had it 1 day so I will try to remember in a few weeks to update my experience with this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this harness!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
SouthernLady
from SC
This is the 3rd time that I have purchased this particular brand/style harness for my Pomeranian. He did manage to chew through the first one; he was a puppy and cutting teeth! The 2nd one; he simply outgrew. I love the ease of putting the harness on my pet; the harness is made of a pet friendly material - soft & on my Pom, it disappears because of his coat being so full. I have recommended this harness to friends & gave one to my daughter for her little Yorkie. I will definitely buy this product again if the need arises.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle Worker

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvBritishLabs
from Mississippi
This no-pull harness is truly a miracle worker when it comes to using it for walking our British Lab pups :) Our female was given to us when she was 2yrs old and we never had problems walking her with a standard collar. When we kept three pups from her liter to train for family members it was a nightmare trying to walk them...they pulled so badly it felt like your arm was being yanked out of its socket. This type collar was suggested to us and we have ordered 5 of them so far...3 for us and 2 for friends so they can experience the thrill of walking we now have. Our pups are 10mos. old now, and walking with them is a true joy - our son did not believe us until he was home and walked his pup with his harness. No more pulling - the chest panel and straps behind their front legs help control their forward movement; thank you for such an amazing product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

finally!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dutchsmom1
from Phila Pa
Finally found a harness that seems to work! My exuberant 10 month old lab pulls so hard, walking him was downright dangerous! This style made a world of difference for both of us! I saw an almost immediate improvement ...so now, we both can enjoy our walks! Thank you !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Once more around the park!

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
tuckeysmom
from Chicago, Illinois
I love this harness! I am sorry I waited so long to purchase it. For the first time walking my Lhasa Apso was finally enjoyable for the both of us. He usually drags me down the two blocks to the park, but after putting on the harness and connecting his leash, he walked with his head up so proud, And the best part was no tug of war going on. I could actually see the difference in my dog wearing this. Great product, made well, cushion strap for under the arm area. My dog didn't mind having this on at all, and he is fussy!
I would definitely recommend this to anyone for their dog, whether it's a new puppy or any age hard to walk dog. Buy it! You will be so relieved!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What A Relief!

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
LabradoodleMama
from Fishers, IN
This harness has helped relieve a lot of frustration for us and our puppy. She loves to walk and now without pulling us the entire walk it is now enjoyable for all of us! Great find! I was not sure if it would prevent her from pulling, but it does. She loves it and actually steps into putting it on all by herself.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Actually Works!!

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
RileysMomma
from Utah
I've tried everything to keep my schnauzer, (Riley), from pulling on the leash to the point of choking. This harness works great. Now we can actually take him for walks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Black Non-Pull Mesh Dog Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!!

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
beagleluv2
from Tampa, FL
I have two beagles and this harness works great!!! Comfortable on them and easy to handle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.