petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black

Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black

Extra long retractable leashErgonomic handle designSmooth, reliable braking system
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Review 1 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

flexi

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Monticello FL
This flexi leash is far superior to other retractable leashes. I had one for years that finally wore out. I got a new puppy from the humane society and needed a new leash. I got a different brand that was broken in a week. Then I remembered the flexi and ordered it. Love it. It works great. No hang ups just smooth retracting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend Explore leash

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
My pug loves her new Flexi Explore Retractable Dog leash. The name literally speaks for itself "Explore." It allows my pug to explore on her own, yet I am able to control how much she is able to wonder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from mpls
23' length and dependability are great. case shood be able to not crack so easily!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very durable & long lasting

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas
I bought this as an extra, my last one is still working as good as new, and it gets a lot of use. Very durable, long lasting leash, very good quality. Plus my pup enjoys the 23ft it gives him to explore.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flexi Retractable Dog Leach

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rockville, Maryland
Love this dog leach. It is made in Germany. It
is so well made that I am now enjoying walking my beabull so much more that all other leaches I used to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product but not for me

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lake Charles, Louisiana
This product is very well made and sturdy, but I will not be using it again. I was walking my dog and had the lead fully extended so that he could explore an open area that we were in. All of a sudden, he took off after something and snatched the lead right out of my hand. I would have lost him but a lady was walking her dog down the street and mine stopped to get acquainted and I was able to catch up. My dog is a 7 month old boxer puppy and full of energy so who knows how far he would have got if he hadn't stopped for the other dog.
I know the instructions and other reviews tell us to be careful with this type of lead, but a moment of lost concentration on my part could have resulted in a lost dog. One review stated that your dog needs to return on command if you use this lead and that is so true. My dog is not at that point yet. He is 53 lbs right now and that is a lot of momentum once he starts moving.
When I first got this lead, I was so pleased with it because of the quality. The reason I am not recommending it is because of my own personal experience and has nothing to do with the quality of the product. I am not confident enough to use it any more and will revert to a regular leash. If you do purchase this lead, please be aware that when a dog decides to run, they have a lot of momentum and the lead can easily be snatched from your grasp, particularly if you have a large, heavy dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Highland, CA
This leash is wonderful. We have a small Pomerania who always is by my side when we walk. But there are times she likes to walk further. I have bad knees and it is hard to keep up with her sometimes, so I release the button on the leash and let her go further out from me if she wants. The beauty is, I can push down on a button and stop her from going any further then I am comfortable with.
Great Leash, Thank You PetCo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's Great, if you use it how it's supposed to be used

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northern VA
The biggest mistake people have is not reading the labels and the actual intended use of this product. This is not so that you dogs can have free roam and pull you where ever they want. As a dog trainer, I say that it's highly irresponsible to have a dog on a retractable leash without proper recall. A dog that is on this leash, or any other (mainly the 26 ft large line) should have perfect recall -otherwise you're going to have a nightmare. Used correctly it provides (I use the 26ft large line for my working Belgian Malinois and Dutch Shepherds) a nice retractable feel where the dog is, by law, made to wear a leash. Do not use as a drag leash (pull all the way out and lock that way), you will break the inside spring after so many uses. If you have a dog that does not have proper recall training, get ready for some dislocated shoulders because 26 ft of momentum is going to do it for you.
If your dog does not have perfect recall, I do not recommend getting this leash. If you're training for recall, I recommend getting a long drag line (15-30ft), but if not, Keep your dog on a 6ft lead. People who misuse the large retractable leashes are the ones' who's dogs start heated and stressful situations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

flexi explore leash

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from sstrongsville, oh
very heavy duty, bought a similiar leash at another store and there is no comparison. This is twice as heavy and very strong. If you have big dogs this is the one you want. Using mine for 100# golden retriever wiith no problems. The length is wonderful for wandering freedom, but insures safety
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Leash

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
I really like this retractable leash. Our first one bit the dust after 5 years of service, after just one too many unstoppable "SQUIRREL" lunges (it had seen several). I like the way it feels in my hand, and my dog likes the length.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great leash

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sahuarita AZ
This is just what we were looking for to give our doggie a little more freedom than the short leash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

flexi retractable leads

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bangor,Maine
I have 2 eighty pound boxers that I use a split lead with the flexi retractable lead.I walk them both together and this lead stands up to a lot of abuse from playing boxers.Best investment I have made for my boy an girl boxers
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing like a FLexi

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Wilmington, NC
There is just nothing like a flexi lead. We always purchase the tape ones because they are safer than the string and we deal with large dogs. Nothing else can compare to the durability and re tractability of a flexi.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flexi Leads teach your dog to pull

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Do not buy flexi leads if you don't want your dog to pull. These teach your dog that by pulling, they can move away from you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my dog

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from TX
My dog is a very high energy dog, he pulls a lot and likes to be far ahead of me when we go for walks. This leash has really helped with letting him roam more and helped me with training him not to pull. No complaints so far, great product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great leash

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from whitehall ny
this is the first retractable leash i bought. i'm very pleased how easy it is to walk our pom and i can tell you he enjoys his walks alot more. he has so much more freedom to walk ahead of me and not being as close as 2 feet next to me.THANKS FOR A GREAT PRODUCT!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

the only leash i like

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from SF
this is the only leash i like for my 80lbs pitbull. he's strong and so it the leash. only problem is this version doesn't have the foot or so of nylon lead that doesn't retract so if you are holding the dog close you have to wrap the nylon cord around your hand and that kind of digs and rubs into your skin.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Features

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Goodyear, AZ
I purchased this for our Jack Russell. She loves the freedom it gives her. I love the safety.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is durable

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rochester NY
Even though my silky terrier is only about 7 pounds, the leash seems to be very durable. I can get my 4 fingers into the grip so it is confortable to hold. The lock mechanism is good as well. It took some getting used to. Overall it is a good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Flexi Explore Retractable Dog Leash in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the Money.

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Pgh PA
Best leash in the business. My 25# Welsh Terrier is a bundle of energy. Unfortunately, due to COPD, I am not. She still needs her exercise or will tear the house apart. So I walk her 2x a day. Once on the Flexi and once on a 100 foot cotton leash I had made up. Flexi for yard and local work, 100 footer for field and woods. (Yes she knows what side of the tree to walk on.) I get the Tape style because the Cord style will burn you bad. I have the scars to prove it. I get the 110# rated because a 25# dog in a harness hitting the end of the leash at 100 MPH with a rabbit or ground hog in her sights will snap most other leashes. Or destroy the internals of the windup mechanism. I'm ordering a 4th leash not because there is a QA prob. Snookums is really hard on a leash, so they only last about a year. Then I retire them. More of an abrasion prob. Now if they would only make a flourescent orange tape for night walks. Stick with Flexi. Your canine friend's life may depend on it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.