petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food

Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food

Wholesome and breed-specific dog food designed exclusively for adult German Shepherds over 15 months of ageSpecially formulated adult dog food supports digestive balanceConcentrated vitamins and antioxidants for immune healthOmega 3 and 6 fatty acids to promote supple skin and shiny coatAll ingredients carefully selected for maximum nutrition
Average Customer Rating:
4.694 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
58 out of 62(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Review 21 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Royal Canin MAXI Canine Health Nutrition German Shepherd 24

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lainy
from Ocala, FL
Great Nutritional value. My dog has happily been eating this food since she was picked up by the rescue team and adopted by me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doctor Recommended

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shanshine
from Chicago
My doctor recommended Royal Canin for my Shepard mix because she was having problems with her digestive system, and wasn't eating the other premium dog food I was giving her.
It has been two years now, and no one believes that she will be 13yrs old. She loves the food, and for her age, she has more energy than expected. This is great dog food, and I will never change!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
GermanShepardLover
from Dallas, TX
I buy this food for one reason and one reason only. Our dog loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dog Food

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trusky
from Sandy, UT
This dog food was recommended by our vet and it has worked wonders on our 9 year old German Shepherd. She is very trim and fit now!! She use to have a problem with loose bowels but her poppies are solid and smaller since she has been on this food. Having the free delivery from Petco.com was wonderful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not have good luck with this food

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lucky8
from Albuquerque, NM
Unfortunately, I did not have the good luck with this food that everyone else did. I have a 4 month old GSD puppy with a sensitive stomach. As long as I cook home cooked meals, he does fine. But I haven't been able to find a commercial dog food he can eat that doesn't give him the uncontrollable runs. I had high hopes for this food after reading all the positive reviews, but was woken up again in the wee hours of the morning, with my puppy whining to go outside, and then he had the terrible runs again! Smell of dog kibble was good. Dog seemed to enjoy eating. I didn't like the GIANT size of kibble which he chewed a few, but he gulped most of them down whole! Will be returning the unused portion for a refund. Back to the drawing board!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Royal Canine Dog Food

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
vs47
from charlotte,NC
I have used the german Shepherd Royal Canine Food for several years and am very satisfied with it. When I got the email with a percent off and free shipping online I ordered the product on line. The only disappointment that I had regarding the order was that Pals coupons for ordering was not granted. The dog food ended up costing me the same as if I had purchased it in the local store but without the Pals coupons. I will continue to use this food and Petco, but will buy the product in the local store
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food for many reasons!

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
eyedoc
My German Shepherd is 9 yrs old. He has always been a picky eater, but loves the Royal Canin. The only food we have fed him since he was 2 yrs. old. People are always surprised he is 9 as he looks no older than 5 yrs and often acts like a 3 yrs old dog. We have never had to worry about weight management with this food either.
Great product. Would never switch to anything different even for lower cost!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
luvgsds
from Green Bay, WI.
My german shepherd Marcus has been on German Shepherd 24 for almost three years now. He is doing excellent on it! He used to have loose stools but within one time of eating Royal Canin his stools firmed up! Also has a good source of glucosamine, chondroitin and fish oil for his joints!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

German shepherd MANA

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mahrudsmenagerie
from Durham, Maine
The only food my shepherd will eat consistently. It is filling without packing on the pounds. Worth the extra cost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT PRODUCT WORTH THE MONEY!!!

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
DoggiezRule
from Brownsville, TX
I have a 2yr full breed German Shepard and after about a year of feeding her Pedigree I noticed that she was having difficulty digesting it. She would slowing start eatting less and less by each day until eventually she wouldn't eat a single bite. Then she would be unable to pass stool. She would afterward devlop diarrea and then start all over the eatting cycle. I switched her to Royal Cannine after hearing great things about it. Now my Maya is happy-go-lucky thanks to this food! She's even put on some much need weight!! Thanks Royal Canine for an excellent product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob551
from Steeler Country,Pittsburgh
I started my German Shepherd with Royal Canin food at 8 weeks old,he is now 3 1/2 yrs. old..He is in excellant health.I've had other German Shepherds in the past,always had hip problems at about 6 yrs.I hope that does not happen again.I've heard good things about this food,so I'm trying it.So far so good!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good value, excellent results

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
luvmyGSD
from Louisville, KY
I have a German Shep mix who has such severe intestinal problems that I had been feeding him a Royal Canin prescription food. I decided to try mixing some of this in (since it claims to be hightly digestible) to see if I could at least decrease the amount of the prescription food I feed him (the prescription food is significantly more expensive). He is eating half this and half prescription, and so far, his stool is still normal. Very pleased with the results.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent delivery idea

PostedMay 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
MikitasMomLuvsAZ
from Tucson, AZ
I took advantage of Petco's shipping special for dog food and it's a WINNER! I'm on disability and it's hard to get a 40lb bag of dog food home. So anything offering a discount or free delivery or flat rate is going to get my business. Royal Canin Maxi German Shepherd dog food is the ONLY kind my girl can use to keep from having diahrea; she has solid stools now. I can't afford it, but gotta have it...it's worth the money in other words.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for sensitive stomachs!

PostedApril 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
NKJK627
I dog had an EXTREMELY sensitive stomach. This was the only food she could eat. My dog was allergic to chicken but this food did not cause her allergies to flare up at all. Her coat improved dramatically while eating this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect German Shepherd Dog Food!

PostedApril 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Aleasha89
I feed this formula to my German Shepherd Dog, Rebel. He has always had digestive problems and constantly suffers from diarrhea. This is the only food that has firmed up his stools and is sensetive on his stomach.
To the person who said dogs need a vitamin c supplement: a dog's liver makes its own vitamin c and dogs need no outside source of vitamin c. This is the exact opposite of a human's liver, which makes cholesterol and needs no outside source of cholesterol, but needs vitamin c. Dogs need no outside source of vitamin c, but need cholesterol.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

better, cheaper alternative for your GSD

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Ultimately you can purchase a cheaper dog food with the same nutritional values, excluding Soy and wheat (Use of corn, wheat, or soy which cause skin irritation, hair loss, fever, ear infections, kidney failure, liver failure. dental disease, obesity, chronic digestive problems, bloat, heart disease, IBD, Cushings Syndrome, and hyperthyroidism.) which royal canin has.
If you dont have the time to purchase a vitamin C supplement(ester C) in the side (which included is still cheaper then this), then spend that extra 20 bucks. Which is still not giving the right amount of vitamin C needed, which is 500mg daily. Vitamin C is vital to strengthen the cartilage.
I love my german shepherds, and i feed my dogs diamond large breed dog food.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Food for GSD's!

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
squitle
This is the only food I will ever feed my German Shepherd. He has been on it his whole adult life (he was fed Royal Canin Large Breed Puppy when he was young). It keeps his coat beautiful, it is easy on his stomach, he has great muscle mass and strong bones and it has really kept his teeth clean. I love it! It is well worth the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I will never feed my GSD anything else!

PostedJuly 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
GDSmom
from Texas!!
This dog food is not expensive, it is priceless! My GSD's appetite has vastly improved, as well as his coat, energy, and stool consistancy. Once he had his front leg scraped for a vet test and the resulting bare patch never filled back in; after one month on this food I can no longer locate it. After I switched him to this food he no longer has issues with loose stool or gas. Also, now he NEVER refuses to eat. He anxiously and impatiently waits for his food, so his weight has picked back up. Now he just looks so beautiful and much healthier! I am so glad I found this product, and I recommend it to everyone that has a German Shepherd.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for GSD

PostedJune 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Renee09
Royal Canin is the best dog food. Every time we go to the vet, he tells us that she is in perfect shape. She doesn't overeat and takes her time to chew. Ever since she's been on this food, our dog doesn't have stomach issues or soft stool. This really is the best dog food to feed a GSD.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedMay 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
GSDsShouldRuleTheWorld
from SoCal
I am sooo pleased with this product! It has done wonders for my beloved Rocky, a 2 year old GSD. Not only does he love the taste, but I have noticed the following improvements: 1) More energy 2) His once troublesome paw seems to be better thanks to the high levels of glucosamine and chondroitin 3) His coat is more vital. It makes total sense that a diet should be individualized to a specific breed's health concerns. Yes, the food is expensive, but having a healthy and happy dog is PRICELESS!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>