petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food

Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food

Wholesome and breed-specific dog food designed exclusively for adult German Shepherds over 15 months of ageSpecially formulated adult dog food supports digestive balanceConcentrated vitamins and antioxidants for immune healthOmega 3 and 6 fatty acids to promote supple skin and shiny coatAll ingredients carefully selected for maximum nutrition
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
50
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
54 out of 57(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Review 1 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Food Ever

PostedFebruary 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
k9partner
from CA
I'm currently working with a police k-9(2 yr old shep)--before this brand my k-9 had trouble with his digestive system-his stool would be soft all the time--we tried low diet, low fat, different brands--nothing seem to work.
A friend who own a retired k-9 recommended Royal Canin dog food. after a month.. WOW what a difference....gaining weight, his fur more manageable(Less hair in the patrol car), has more energy and no more soft stool.
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!ROYAL CANIN-- THEY SEEM TO KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING....THEY KNOW WHAT ANIMALS NEED IN THEIR SYSTEM.. AND I'M PROOF OF IT........
try it!!!
lov my k-9 partner:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
GSDLover357
from Arizona
Probably the best kibble for the GSD. Too many GI problems with others. 6 months on this kibble and no GI problems at all. This is food made for my GSD. And PetCo has the best price anywhere. Also love the convenient automatic re-order.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My GSD loves this food

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
BristolJim
from Bristol, RI
I have been feeding this to my GSD for his entire life. He is healthy and happy, and has no medical or other issues. In addition, he loves this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

vet recommended

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
flowerluver
from Virginia
My 75# female GSD luvs this food. She never has GI upset and her coat is beautiful. She maintains a good weight with 5 cups/day. And this brand has never been recalled.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tilly2013
from Sonoma, CA
We adopted a bonded pair of GSDs 7 months ago. They were not well, and could not keep most foods down. After a lot of vet care, and with Royal Canin GSD food, they are thriving and happy.
The kibble shape is brilliant; the irregular shape of it increases the time it takes for them to finish their meals. The formula has brought out the sheen and silky fullness of their coats, their eyes are bright too.
People who pet our dogs always remark how amazing and plush their coats are.
What I like is that they are always exicted to eat, and that their lives have been improved by this formula. They will be long-lived, active, and gorgeous for it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the shipping direct to my home

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
mountain4dogs
from Crestline, CA
My groomer says my shepherd has not looked better. The large chunks make it easy for me to also use as a treat for both my pit bull and shepherd and they love it. I have tried several brands of food and this one seems to be the best.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Food had a smell

PostedApril 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
GSDGAL
from Fremont, CA
This package delivered had a very strong fishy kind of smell which we know is not the case whenever we have bought it locally. Not sure if this food was stale that the smell was present. or because it was kept in the sun during delivery?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Royal Canin MAXI Canine Health Nutrition German Shepherd 24

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
valcorp
from houston,tx
the best dog food for my German Shepherd, the price is high but my dog loves it & the contents the best I have researched
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs loves it

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaxiAndLilysMom
from Vermont
This is the one dog food I can get my dogs to eat consistently. Their coats are better and shed less.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Royal canin is a miracle!

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
JessicanSophia
from Houston,TX
I have a 4yr old silver sable gsd
-She finally started eating dogfood, she hates other brands and doesnt like to eat beneful/pedigree all that messed up food.
-the kibble was in big unique shape pieces
-and she had less poo (which is great because i hate her pooping in front of people)
-After 4 days i saw a dramatic improvement in skin and coat!
she had a bald spot on her back and her butt was loosing fur but after eating this it was shiny and a bit thicker! She was beautifull. If you have a gsd buy this food!!! they know what theyre doing its over-all GREAT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Sensitive Tummies

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cmatthews80
We picked up our German Shepherd puppy at 4 months old. He came to us with soft stool. The vet recommended Purina Pro. We settled on Purina One. He went from soft stool to constant diarrhea. We were beginning to worry and I was sick of googling "diarrhea". Thankfully I found this brand and read that it was for sensitive stomachs. We went ahead and skipped the puppy food since I didn't want to have to change him again down the road. After a few days of chicken and rice we introduced this food a little at a time. We noticed an immediate improvement. What a relief!!! We use this for treats also since his tummy is so sensitive. He loves it! I would recommend this if your GSD is having tummy troubles.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I tried it sooner!

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
GSDdog
from Commack, NY
My 5 yr old GSD has always been a picky eater and getting her to eat any food other than treats has been a chore. I was looking for a reputable brand that also had large kibbles and saw this one, read the reviews (which were all positive), so I decided to try it. She loves it! She's now been eating it for about a month and I don't have to encourage/urge her to eat - she doesn't even lift her head from the bowl now. I know GSD's can be finicky so I highly recommend this food if you're having the same issues with your dog. I had also read someone's comment about it causing less feces and that's also true. A lot of times she was going twice a day but now she's only going once. Supposedly it's because more of the nutrients are getting absorbed so it creates less waste. If you have a GSD - buy this food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Royal Canin & Petco

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
GSDguy
from Indy, IN
Royal Canin seems to solve all gastro issues with my 70lb female 7.5yr GSD. I've had her for 2.5-3 years now. She was a rescue. It was a very messy beginning, but when I put her on RC everything turned okay. I've thought about switching food, but usually run into issues and I end up going back to RC.
Ordering from Petco online is cheaper than going to the Petco store. So it saves me time and money and gas by online ordering.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product can be shipped Directly to your door

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shepherd1Lover
from Woodbridge, VA
It was wonderful to not have to go into the store to purchase the dog food; it is very heavy, time consuming, and with the price of gas having it placed right at my door step is a plus, plus. I did not have to pay for shipping and the price was cheaper than going into the store. Thank You PETCO!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent dog food

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chosuke2
from Arcadia CA
We purchased and gave it to our German Shephered for more than five years. This is an excellent dog food so far. Our dog have been healthy and never had diarrhea.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Royal Canin MAXI Canine Health Nutrition German Shepherd 24

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lainy
from Ocala, FL
Great Nutritional value. My dog has happily been eating this food since she was picked up by the rescue team and adopted by me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doctor Recommended

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shanshine
from Chicago
My doctor recommended Royal Canin for my Shepard mix because she was having problems with her digestive system, and wasn't eating the other premium dog food I was giving her.
It has been two years now, and no one believes that she will be 13yrs old. She loves the food, and for her age, she has more energy than expected. This is great dog food, and I will never change!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
GermanShepardLover
from Dallas, TX
I buy this food for one reason and one reason only. Our dog loves it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Dog Food

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trusky
from Sandy, UT
This dog food was recommended by our vet and it has worked wonders on our 9 year old German Shepherd. She is very trim and fit now!! She use to have a problem with loose bowels but her poppies are solid and smaller since she has been on this food. Having the free delivery from Petco.com was wonderful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Royal Canin Breed Health Nutrition German Shepherd Dog Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not have good luck with this food

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lucky8
from Albuquerque, NM
Unfortunately, I did not have the good luck with this food that everyone else did. I have a 4 month old GSD puppy with a sensitive stomach. As long as I cook home cooked meals, he does fine. But I haven't been able to find a commercial dog food he can eat that doesn't give him the uncontrollable runs. I had high hopes for this food after reading all the positive reviews, but was woken up again in the wee hours of the morning, with my puppy whining to go outside, and then he had the terrible runs again! Smell of dog kibble was good. Dog seemed to enjoy eating. I didn't like the GIANT size of kibble which he chewed a few, but he gulped most of them down whole! Will be returning the unused portion for a refund. Back to the drawing board!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>