petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway

Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway

Provides your furry friend with a hideout, promotes nesting & satisfies chewing instinctsWooden peg construction, no nails or staples to harm your petConstructed from quality pine timber
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Review 1 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Can't be cleaned

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
halliecat
from Louisiana
My two guinea pigs love these houses. However, the wood really soaks up urine and is stained by poops as well. There is no good way to clean the wood. I am going to have to throw both of them away and buy washable houses for them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for little mice!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
xLynnBbyx
from Ranson, WV
I have two fancy male mice i bought this for them to sleep in. They love it one will sleep inside of it he keeps the other out by making a little door out of the bedding. The other one sleeps ontop of the house where i placed some bedding there for him to be comfortable. Both love it great for mice to have privacy and to sleep.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
misterdudebot
from LA
its the type of wood that guinea pigs can chew and has a reasonable price. awesome.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snug Mouse House

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
CubsCat
from Mesa, AZ
My four fancy mice love this little house and all pile into it to sleep. Sometimes for little naps, two will be in the house and two cuddled on top of it. In spite of mice loving to chew, this product has held up amazingly well. The girls have been using it for five months and it is still in very good condition. Doesn't absorb much odor either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so worth it!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
animalzrock4ever
from oregon
when we set this is my hammy's cage she just fell in love with it. only problem is that my hamster poops on top of it and I have to clean it up but she really likes it and its so cozy and she chews on it its a very nice product and I recommend it to all hamster owners
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Little House

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
UpAllNight
from Florida
I like these little wooden houses for my hamsters and my mice. The top can be used for placing their seed mix. I also build from them with popsickle sticks to make bridges and climbing towers. I use two and buiild from one to the next. Being wooden it is OK for them to chew all they want.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Hideaway for Guinea pigs

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
martymcfly
from The North Pole
My guinea pig, Marty (McFly) loves this hideout more than his others. First, he likes to chew on it and I don't think that is bad since it is wood. Another thing he likes doing is climbing on top of it and staying there for hours. He also loves sleeping inside it and eating inside it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features.

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
dell
from USA
This product has great features to it because it has a indentation on top where my rats can sleep or sit in on top. I also like this product because it has a nice wide door space where my rats can easily get in and out. This product also keeps my pets very warm and it doesn't get stinky or smell like urine as opposed to plastic hide a ways.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent buy

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
rmc7648
from Queens NY
I bought this house for my daughter's pet. The quality of this product is well worth the price paid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for guinea pigs

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
MicheleB05
from Delta, CO
My guinea pigs like this hideout. Since it is made of wood, they can chew on it to file their teeth and I don't have to add any other wooden toys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

multi-purpose home for gerbils

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
13thguards
from Wichita, KS
I bought the small or medium house (I dont remeber which exactly) when I got my gerbils, and they absolutely love it! Since they are tunneling animals, Quinn and Rio tend to half bury it in their bedding, and they always sleep inside of it. They also like to climb on top of it and stand on their back legs to look around. Within a couple days they had chewed some remarkably smooth side 'doors' on the two sides of the house, so they can get in and out from different locations. It is aesthetically pleasing as well, with its natural wood look, and serves the double purpose of providing a safe chewing object for the girls, since the more common plastic ones are unsafe for gerbils, who chew on everything. I will defintiely buy another one of these once this one is too far gone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not the best choice

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
taylornichole
As far as its purpose goes, this hut worked great for my rat. She loved to hide/sleep in it. The downside is that she peed on it from the level above and it got ruined because the wood readily soaked it up and it started to smell bad. In the end I had to toss it, so my money was wasted.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
starlollie
from Anaheim, Ca
My chinchilla loves to sleep in and chew on this little house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

chew and sleep

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
IheartAK
from holyoke, ma
in the old mouse cage(which broke), my 3 mice had to sleep in this. they loved to stand on top of it and sleep in it. as well as looking and sleeping, my cuties also chewed on it, so there was no need for chewing blocks. great chewer and sleeper!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great but

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
rabbitlover123456
from texas,tx
i got the biggest size for my baby rabbit moe he loves it but the down side is if he poops or pees in it it gets stained i still think this is great even my friend got it for her hamster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Planet Petco Small Animal Hideaway
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Hideaway and Chew for Gerbils

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sky11
from Massachusetts
My gerbils absolutely love this hut. It's the perfect size and they enjoying chewing on it. I like the fact that the hut is assembled with wooden pegs instead of nails. One of my gerbils broke a tooth on a nail once so I'll never use any other hut but his one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.