petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals

Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals

Heavy duty, high capacity water bottle with no-drip valve for rabbits, ferrets, guinea pigs, and small animalsAttaches to any wire cageRemovable top with wide opening for easy cleaningNo need to remove bottle from cage to refill
Average Customer Rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
8
4 out of 13(31%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Review 1 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The cage isn't wet anymore

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from California
So far this has worked great for me. I didn't realize it was so big, which is a definite plus for me as I don't have to refill all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hard to use

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, ny
Bought this when I got 2 new rats think g the flip top lid would be nice so my daughter could help with taking care of them. But the mechanism to get the water out seems to be too hard to use for my ratties. Maybe it's because they're still babies, im not sure. Going to return this and get something else tomorrow since my girls have to drink from a bowl for now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It leaks

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from massachussets
I am not very satisfied with this product because it leaks even though it says it doesnt.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My rabbits could not use this

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nj
I got this water bottle to try so my two rabbits would not go through water bottles so quickly. Before they were using double ball type mechanisms. When I tried the new water bottle with the valve they could not get any water out of it. I tried it with both of them and neither could get it to work. I had to go back to the original bottles.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gillette, WY
This water bottle looked lie it was not supposed to leak but it did terribly it soaked the bottom of my cage and I could never figure out why. My guinea pigs didn't have a problem using it though. I was hoping to find a water bottle at doesn't leak.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No good for guinea pigs

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
This has a very odd spout, it's hard for many animals to get water from. The top also broke off and it's hard to attach.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice watering bottle

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Big Lake, MN
This works great with our new Precision Pet Kitty Condo!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Never Leaks!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
I have rarely had a ball bearing based water bottle that didn't leak at some time or another. I think the way this one works is a great invention. I was worried at first that my pigs couldn't figure it out, but honestly, if they get thirsty enough they will eventually get it. You have to show them by manipulating the nubby thing and letting water drip out so they can smell the water in there and keep trying things until they get it. I kept both bottles in each cage and removed the old one for longer and longer periods each day to sort of wean them off it.
The difference is they have to grab the thing with their teeth, instead of just bumping their noses into it.
This bottle didn't solve my problem though. I have a female in each cage that likes to play with the bottles ... they don't drink that much, they just like to mess with them and let the water flow out into the cage. So I have wet cages and I have to change the bedding constantly! Unfortunately, they make just as much of a mess with this type of bottle as they do with the ball bearing kind. :(
One more thing that's good about this bottle is the way it attaches to the cage is BRILLIANT. And very versatile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Water Bottle - Possible good one

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
I am still trying to decide if this is a good bottle. It is easy to fill and clean. And it doesn't drip on its own. However, of the two Cavy's we have first seems to figured it out although I have always thought he the dimmest. But the second spills so much water each time he drinks that the litter is always soaked around the bottle. And to think I always thought him the smart one. Their previous bottle, which broke, had a ball at the bottom, so how they drink must be a bit different.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

thirsty bunny and litter

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from ohio
I got this water bottle so the young and mom didn't have to drink from just one water bottle. With this bottle non of the rabbits can figure out how to use it. They try drinking but I guess they don't have enough force for water to come out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ferrets Couldn't Drink

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
I bought this water bottle in the hopes that it would perform better than the previous two I had for my two ferrets. The pin, which it has in place of a ball, is fairly sticky and takes quite a bit of force to move. My ferrets were unable to move the pin with enough force needed to release water.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Bad Product

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cedar Rapids, IA
My bunny Tinkerbell was already trained to use a water bottle instead of a bowl but this didn't have one of the balls in it, it has a stick that you push on instead and my bunny couldn't figure out how to use it. I would now recommend it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Flip Top Water Bottle for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ferrt Couldn't Figure it Out

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Great Falls, MT
I bought this for my ferret to replace an older water bottle. While the fact that this water bottle fastens to the side tightly, my ferret could not figure out how to use it. Instead of having the ball at the end of the tip it has a sort of stick you have to move around to get water. MY ferret is a pretty crafty creature, but for whatever reason could not figure this one out. Luckily I noticed she wasn't drinking out of it before we went on a trip or something.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.