petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel

Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel

Two-door dog kennel with easy pet accessSuperior ventilation and visibilityGreat tool for crate training and housetrainingSecure wing-nut and bolt designConstructed of sturdy yet stylish heavy-duty plasticPetmate kennels meet most international (IATA) and domestic (USDA) air travel regulationsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.897 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
57 out of 58(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Purchase

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ephrata, WA
Needed a new cat carrier for a move to a new house. Just the right size for my cat to adopt it as a new sleeping space even though we haven't moved yet. Overall, the size and quality I was looking for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love 2 Door Top Load Kennel

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oceanside, Ca
My rescue kitty hated the front load door of my cat carrier. I think she had bad memories...this meant
leaving! I ordered the 2 door top load kennel as a
good solution. It was easy to assemble, looks great,
and solves the cat panic...just pick her up and slide
her in before she knows what going on. Great solution! Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedApril 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I had been looking for some time, as I am wanting to make a long distance move with 2 cats. This is perfect....well made, right size, top load option and great price. I am VERY happy! May get another for my rescue mini dachshund.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Upstate NY
This carrier is large, roomy, and the top opening feature will make vet visits easier on my kitty, the vet and me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two Entry Doors are Great

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, TX
I have one older Petmate carrier and when I purchased another carrier for my cats the double door was the only way to go. It is much easier to unload the cat from the top of the kennel than to pull it out from the side, plus I am able to check on the cat from above instead of leaning down to the door. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for Air Travel!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Anchorage, AK
Bought this specifically to fly my cat only i booked the ticket and then was told that all pet carriers HAVE to have a solid top. No exceptions. So now I have to get this thing back to Petco and hope they have something reasonably priced to exchange it for that meets airlline requirements. Other than it being useless for the intended purpose it is a nice carrier.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
Wonderful product. I used to have to struggle with my cat to get him in his old kennel when I needed to take him somewhere. Top load makes it much less stressful on me and my cat.
Construction is very sturdy. Metal screws are used to secure the top half and bottom half together. Carrying handle is attached to the metal top load gate.
Kitty loves his kennel and often is found nesting in his favorite blanket inside of it. Very happy with this purchase, highly recommended!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made and great feature

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wyandotte,Mi
Really like how solid this was made, not flimsy. And have been looking for one with the door on top making it easy to get the puppy out especially if a surgery was needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to assemble

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Haverhill
I have a 7 month old kitten and she has plenty of room inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very simple!

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I'm only not giving it five stars because I JUST got it and have only used it once.
I ordered it online and had to put it together when it was delivered. Assembly was extremely easy and it seems sturdy enough to support my monster of a cat.
The top loading bit is great and I can't imagine having to put a cat into a crate without that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the top door.

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Huntington
What a great idea !!! A second door. This will help with my cat's hesitation for a carrier and the trips to the vet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great carrier!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wethersfield, CT
I purchased 2 of these kennels to move our 2 cats from CT to Florida in November. They are well made, sturdy and very roomy. The disassembled kit came with an over-abundance of screws which was good. Easy to assemble. We love the "top loading" opening. Definitely easier to load the cats & less stressful for them.
Right now we are leaving them open in front so they can get used to them. One of our cats does use his occasionally to relax.We wholeheartedly recommend this kennel product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect carrier!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from iowa
I love the fact that it has the opening on the top of the carrier. The carrier itself is very sturdy and should last a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mrs

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
They look really good but have not had time to put them together as yet
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the construction

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Orleans
I love the new 2 door kennel it is roomy and it is all plastic no metal doors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, OH
It is well built and designed. It allows me to have my cat removed from the kennel at the vets with little to no stress for the cat. I am pleased with both the design and the construction. I recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Product!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ponce Inlet, Florida
This is my second top loading Petmate carrier. Absolutely love it! So much easier to drop my cat in from the top than to try and put her feet first in the front door. Great value for the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!!

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Antelope, CA
This carrier is the perfect size for our growing kitten. I love the ease of putting her in via the top opening. When I get her home I just open the front and she comes out on her own.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

God Value But Not All too Sturdy

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland Or
Assembly was blessedly short and for some reason the box had copious extra screws and nuts. The cage is a good value for light duty, but I have misgivings about using it for long trips because the plastic is none too thick.
I am a 16# large Siamese/non-domestic mix and getting me in through the top opening was difficult. The cage is not large enough to provide an advantage by top loading aggressive medium sized cats or dogs. ( My best friend (a 14# Korat) is not nearly as aggressive as I am and went in easily, so it depends on breed and disposition).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works good

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from AZ
It's easy to put together and really stable, we used it for our bunny and cats, it's nice and smooth and the colour is also okay
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>