petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel

Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel

Two-door dog kennel with easy pet accessSuperior ventilation and visibilityGreat tool for crate training and housetrainingSecure wing-nut and bolt designConstructed of sturdy yet stylish heavy-duty plasticPetmate kennels meet most international (IATA) and domestic (USDA) air travel regulationsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.951 / 5
5
 / 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 out of 41(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!!

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Antelope, CA
This carrier is the perfect size for our growing kitten. I love the ease of putting her in via the top opening. When I get her home I just open the front and she comes out on her own.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

God Value But Not All too Sturdy

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland Or
Assembly was blessedly short and for some reason the box had copious extra screws and nuts. The cage is a good value for light duty, but I have misgivings about using it for long trips because the plastic is none too thick.
I am a 16# large Siamese/non-domestic mix and getting me in through the top opening was difficult. The cage is not large enough to provide an advantage by top loading aggressive medium sized cats or dogs. ( My best friend (a 14# Korat) is not nearly as aggressive as I am and went in easily, so it depends on breed and disposition).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works good

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from AZ
It's easy to put together and really stable, we used it for our bunny and cats, it's nice and smooth and the colour is also okay
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Carrier

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Merced, CA
This is an excellent carrier for my cat, especially the top door. I couldn't get him in the door of his old carrier. For some reason he was afraid of it so after six attempts at putting him in the old carrier I gave up and bought this new one.
He still gave me a bit f trouble but on the advice of the veterinarian's nurse I wrapped him in a beach towel and dropped him in the top door on the first try!
He was fine once he was inside and I love the colors of the carrier.
My cat weighs 18 lbs so he is a handful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel case

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tampa, FL
Purchased this one to replace a 15 year old two door model with wire doors. Hopefully the plastic doors will last as long as the metal ones. Easy and quick to put together. Company even included three extra sets of bolts and nuts in case one comes loose and is lost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so roomy

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from long island, ny
I had to get a larger kennel for my small dog. This one is perfect! My dog sleeps in it and I use it for travel. He is a small dog, but he can stand upright in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Blountsville, AL
I was able to do what I wanted this product to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Central Massachusetts
This carrier is excellent for my large Norwegian Forest Cats. It has a solid feel and does not flex when I pick it up by the handle with kitty inside. Doors are easy to open and close. Smaller cat breeds may be comfortable in the XXS size, but for a large breed I recommend the XS, which is what I have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kennel

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
purchased x-small to big. exchanged at store for xx-small. easy assemble.. love the top opening easy to put kitty into.. room enough for her to move around in very important.. would say this is a nice carrier for travel..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dover, DE
This carrier is perfect for the 2 Birman kittens that we will be bringing home next week. It is very sturdy and well made. The door on the front and top of the carrier open and close with ease.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This carrier is great!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dover, DE
We have been looking for a new carrier for our 2 Birman babies coming to us in December. We bought 2 carriers previous to this one and took both back. This carrier is so strong and has 2 doors which makes loading them easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Crate Ever!

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Trudy, my 2 year old Yorkie mix, LOVES this crate. Roomy enough for her to stretch out & enjoy a good night's sleep. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Carrier

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hillsboro, OR
I originally was going to buy a soft-sided carrier but this one got such good reviews and the price was really good, so I bought this one instead. It was very easy to assemble. I haven't put my cat into yet, so I can't provide a review on that, but I'm pleased with the quality and price and ease of assembly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pet Carrier

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
Can't say enough about this pet carrier. My kitten just LOVES it. Bought this one because the MSPCA wouldn't allow me to use his carrier and he needed to be in a secure carrier. He's 4 months old and goes in there for naps and to sleep. He'll even go in just to sit in it and watch TV. I leave it in the living room and have to say if you're looking for a sturdy, easy to put together with no tools, this is the carrier for you and your pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice pet carrier

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lexington Park, MD
This pet carrier was very easy to put together. It is the perfect size for my two five month old kittens. The top door is good for "helping" them out at the vet's office.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top loading kitty carrier

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pacific Northwest
I've been waiting for a top loading carrier forever!!! Easiest carrier to load your pet into! Works great. I've purchased two for my cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly the crate I need!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Reading, PA
Easy to put together. I purchased two of these top load kennel crates for my cats for their trips to the vet. Makes it much less stressful with the top load. Sturdy too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cat Carrier

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sewell, NJ
I used to love the soft side carriers until transporting several cats and learned the hard side carriers are so much easier to clean when accidents happen. I have bought several(at least 8) different types of hard carriers to replace my soft ones. This is the first top opening carrier I purchased because all the others seemed so flimsy. This XS, made in the USA, carrier is so sturdy and roomy that even my 20 pound cat will have space to move around and be comfortable. One of my girls is so difficult to get out of a single door carrier but this one made it so much less stressful for both of us at the last vet visit. I am so happy with this carrier that I ordered 3 more which completes my quest for replacing my soft carriers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate 2 door top load kennel

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hartford,WI.
We just love the carrier and so do all three of our cats.It is so easy to put them into it ( especially after a vets visit )and easy to get them out. I recommend getting one for your cats and the vet likes them too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect carrier for cats!

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Appleton, WI
I have 2 cats that are average sized, around 10 lbs or so, and this carrier is the perfect size for them (I own the large model). They have plenty of room inside and we LOVE the top load feature. I can't tell you how much I dreaded vet visits before purchasing this carrier. Not only is the product great, but our experience with Petco.com was great, too! FAST shipping and no problems. I would definitely recommend this to friends and family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>