petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel

Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel

Two-door dog kennel with easy pet accessSuperior ventilation and visibilityGreat tool for crate training and housetrainingSecure wing-nut and bolt designConstructed of sturdy yet stylish heavy-duty plasticPetmate kennels meet most international (IATA) and domestic (USDA) air travel regulations
Average Customer Rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 34(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
AJcat
from Central Massachusetts
This carrier is excellent for my large Norwegian Forest Cats. It has a solid feel and does not flex when I pick it up by the handle with kitty inside. Doors are easy to open and close. Smaller cat breeds may be comfortable in the XXS size, but for a large breed I recommend the XS, which is what I have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kennel

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
tarheel21
from Virginia
purchased x-small to big. exchanged at store for xx-small. easy assemble.. love the top opening easy to put kitty into.. room enough for her to move around in very important.. would say this is a nice carrier for travel..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
BSPS
from Dover, DE
This carrier is perfect for the 2 Birman kittens that we will be bringing home next week. It is very sturdy and well made. The door on the front and top of the carrier open and close with ease.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This carrier is great!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
AZ2013
from Dover, DE
We have been looking for a new carrier for our 2 Birman babies coming to us in December. We bought 2 carriers previous to this one and took both back. This carrier is so strong and has 2 doors which makes loading them easier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Crate Ever!

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
StBerdoodle
from Los Angeles, CA
Trudy, my 2 year old Yorkie mix, LOVES this crate. Roomy enough for her to stretch out & enjoy a good night's sleep. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat Carrier

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
luckypatty
from Hillsboro, OR
I originally was going to buy a soft-sided carrier but this one got such good reviews and the price was really good, so I bought this one instead. It was very easy to assemble. I haven't put my cat into yet, so I can't provide a review on that, but I'm pleased with the quality and price and ease of assembly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pet Carrier

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Syd1
from Boston, MA
Can't say enough about this pet carrier. My kitten just LOVES it. Bought this one because the MSPCA wouldn't allow me to use his carrier and he needed to be in a secure carrier. He's 4 months old and goes in there for naps and to sleep. He'll even go in just to sit in it and watch TV. I leave it in the living room and have to say if you're looking for a sturdy, easy to put together with no tools, this is the carrier for you and your pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice pet carrier

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
bcjs84
from Lexington Park, MD
This pet carrier was very easy to put together. It is the perfect size for my two five month old kittens. The top door is good for "helping" them out at the vet's office.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top loading kitty carrier

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Camare
from Pacific Northwest
I've been waiting for a top loading carrier forever!!! Easiest carrier to load your pet into! Works great. I've purchased two for my cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly the crate I need!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvmyblackcats
from Reading, PA
Easy to put together. I purchased two of these top load kennel crates for my cats for their trips to the vet. Makes it much less stressful with the top load. Sturdy too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cat Carrier

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Miekokila
from Sewell, NJ
I used to love the soft side carriers until transporting several cats and learned the hard side carriers are so much easier to clean when accidents happen. I have bought several(at least 8) different types of hard carriers to replace my soft ones. This is the first top opening carrier I purchased because all the others seemed so flimsy. This XS, made in the USA, carrier is so sturdy and roomy that even my 20 pound cat will have space to move around and be comfortable. One of my girls is so difficult to get out of a single door carrier but this one made it so much less stressful for both of us at the last vet visit. I am so happy with this carrier that I ordered 3 more which completes my quest for replacing my soft carriers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petmate 2 door top load kennel

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
PeppyCoco
from Hartford,WI.
We just love the carrier and so do all three of our cats.It is so easy to put them into it ( especially after a vets visit )and easy to get them out. I recommend getting one for your cats and the vet likes them too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect carrier for cats!

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
PiperGonzo
from Appleton, WI
I have 2 cats that are average sized, around 10 lbs or so, and this carrier is the perfect size for them (I own the large model). They have plenty of room inside and we LOVE the top load feature. I can't tell you how much I dreaded vet visits before purchasing this carrier. Not only is the product great, but our experience with Petco.com was great, too! FAST shipping and no problems. I would definitely recommend this to friends and family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great features

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
adpted1
from california
I recommend this product to anyone who is concerned how their new furry friend will react to being put in a cage. our pal Charlie is now good with being placed in his carrier because of the top door. I also have placed a petco small round bed in it with the house scents so he feels more secure. very pleased I bought this. my cat is around 13-16mos and around 11lbs so I bought the larger one thinking he will grow bigger. wasn't necessary. could have gone with the smaller one. lots of room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vet and vet tech both liked it, cat safely home

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Soundsquirrel
from Tacoma, WA
We got this to bring home a rescue cat from the Humane Society. We wanted something that would fit a standard seat belt around it, work as a cat bed at home, and most importantly would be escape-proof on the freeway.
The vet tech and vet shook their heads when they offered us a cardboard box since the cat we chose is an escape artist. I brought in the carrier and they both said "Excellent." They were right, thus the rating. Towel inside, blanket over the outside, belted it in the backseat. Cat went to sleep. Couple of yowls on speed bumps, but when clawing at the sides didn't work kitty gave up and went back to sleep.
When you put this together, the holes to attach the door hinge are up inside two recessed areas, not the large holes you think they would go into.
Takes a bit of putting together, don't expect to juggle the cat while putting it together the first time; there are multiple bolts and nuts to screw in to set it up. After that the top door and side door are both one-hand operations. Shake the door to make sure the pins caught to latch it, and kitty is safe inside.
Kitty is home safely and didn't get to do the crazy zoom-cat across the dash thing. Vet liked that there's a top opening, too. We got a second for the second cat so they can use them as beds at home. Really like this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

East to open top & front

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
pjr3
from Las Vegas, NV
My kitties love their new carriers, I keep them in the house open for them to go in and out of and take ownership and it makes it easier to get them ready for the vet or nail clips. Love these carriers worth every the money
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

trip to the vet

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
felix6339
from Chicago, IL
we have a large cat 17.5 lbs our old carrier was very cramped for him.With this carrier it was easier to get him in at home and out at the vet. could use the top or side door. made for an easier visit to the vet. was easy to put together and sturdy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Door makes this one worth buying!

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
divakitty
from Los Angeles, CA
It's built sturdy and is attractive and comes in nice colors. My favorite thing is the top-loading door which makes it much easier to load our kittie into it, plus kittie can see out the top and see her parents are there. You can console her if necessary more conveniently through the top gate (even when she's in the car). Got this great deal on-line when it was on sale! My cat seemed very protected in the carrier and she didn't seem to mind being in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leeena
from Hawaii
As the owner of a skittish formerly homeless cat, I needed a case in which I can lure my kitty when she needs a trip to the vet. I routinely feed my cat in this case and when needed, can just close the door on her. It is very convenient to have the top opening for cleaning and for placing the dish of food inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the top loading

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kyrstellaine
from MN
The top-loading door makes trips to the vet less traumatic for my cats. One in particular doesn't want anything to do with an sort of carrier, but this one works well when its needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>