petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel

Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel

Two-door dog kennel with easy pet accessSuperior ventilation and visibilityGreat tool for crate training and housetrainingSecure wing-nut and bolt designConstructed of sturdy yet stylish heavy-duty plasticPetmate kennels meet most international (IATA) and domestic (USDA) air travel regulationsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.908 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
64 out of 65(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJune 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Syracuse, NY
This kennel is just what I needed to transport my kitten from point A to point B. Prior to ordering this I had purchased two Petco Hex Stitch Gray Cat Mat, 18" L X 18" W X 0.5" H (#1478575) and two Petco Ultra Soft Oval Donut Cat Bed in Grey, 17" L X 14" W (# 2291420). One set is for the house and one set is to use in the bottom of the carrier for my kitten's comfort and security. They work beautifully in it! In the kennel he will sometimes hide underneath the bed when he's unsure of the situation. This seems to be a very sturdy crate. I love both the front and top loading options. A nice bonus - the manufacturer has provided a few extra bolts/wingnuts that secure the top and bottom sections. I suppose this is just in case you misplace or break one. Overall I feel I made a wise purchase with this product ~ no regrets!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Load Kennel ROCKS!

PostedJune 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from WV
Easy to put together. Several spare wingnuts were included in case you lose some over its lifetime.
The top load feature is the best and easy to operate, especially when your cat grows "ten" additional legs which preclude you from putting them through the door of the traveling kennel. The door opens quite easily for a human, but a pet should not be able to open it. We had one that did that once.
The kennel is large enough to hold two small to regular sized cats, or even small beagle sized dog. It does not come with a cushion or pad for the bottom; we just used a disposable "chuck". We purchased two and expect them to last quite a long time, way longer than the fabric/netting type. Easy to clean and disinfect.
We are definitely pleased with our purchase. Best carrier we ever had and we have had pets in our home for over 40 years.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

all could ask for kitty kennel

PostedJune 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
purchased this as needed to transport kitty as needed and her old one only had the one front kennel door--which caused her and me a great deal of distress---
this is so much better--larger--she can sit and stand and loves to go inside just to relax--and love the top door opening--only way to go! also, great buy--great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

animal carrier

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from South amboy nj
I like how you can use the front and the top to get your animal out of cage. It's not heavy and is easy to handle, would diffently recommend to a friend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
Thoroughly pleased with the Top Load Kennel. I am moving and needed a larger 'carrier' for my very large cat. She is rather nervous which is why I was hoping the Top Load would work well, and I wouldn't have to shove her in. She loves it! Even goes in on her own and takes a nap. (I've left it out so she can get used to it prior to move) Perfect size, and I was happy how quickly I received it! Thanks so much for a great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item!

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Berlin, MD
The carrier is lightweight enough to carry with my larger cat firmly. The double doors is convenient if I just want to peek in from the top to check on my cat. Great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carrier

PostedMay 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Covington , Va.
Great help was able to get afraid kitty to vet been trying for weeks with one door carrier. Top load worked great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Purchase

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ephrata, WA
Needed a new cat carrier for a move to a new house. Just the right size for my cat to adopt it as a new sleeping space even though we haven't moved yet. Overall, the size and quality I was looking for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love 2 Door Top Load Kennel

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Oceanside, Ca
My rescue kitty hated the front load door of my cat carrier. I think she had bad memories...this meant
leaving! I ordered the 2 door top load kennel as a
good solution. It was easy to assemble, looks great,
and solves the cat panic...just pick her up and slide
her in before she knows what going on. Great solution! Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect

PostedApril 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
I had been looking for some time, as I am wanting to make a long distance move with 2 cats. This is perfect....well made, right size, top load option and great price. I am VERY happy! May get another for my rescue mini dachshund.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Upstate NY
This carrier is large, roomy, and the top opening feature will make vet visits easier on my kitty, the vet and me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two Entry Doors are Great

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, TX
I have one older Petmate carrier and when I purchased another carrier for my cats the double door was the only way to go. It is much easier to unload the cat from the top of the kennel than to pull it out from the side, plus I am able to check on the cat from above instead of leaning down to the door. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for Air Travel!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Anchorage, AK
Bought this specifically to fly my cat only i booked the ticket and then was told that all pet carriers HAVE to have a solid top. No exceptions. So now I have to get this thing back to Petco and hope they have something reasonably priced to exchange it for that meets airlline requirements. Other than it being useless for the intended purpose it is a nice carrier.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
Wonderful product. I used to have to struggle with my cat to get him in his old kennel when I needed to take him somewhere. Top load makes it much less stressful on me and my cat.
Construction is very sturdy. Metal screws are used to secure the top half and bottom half together. Carrying handle is attached to the metal top load gate.
Kitty loves his kennel and often is found nesting in his favorite blanket inside of it. Very happy with this purchase, highly recommended!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made and great feature

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wyandotte,Mi
Really like how solid this was made, not flimsy. And have been looking for one with the door on top making it easy to get the puppy out especially if a surgery was needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to assemble

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Haverhill
I have a 7 month old kitten and she has plenty of room inside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very simple!

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I'm only not giving it five stars because I JUST got it and have only used it once.
I ordered it online and had to put it together when it was delivered. Assembly was extremely easy and it seems sturdy enough to support my monster of a cat.
The top loading bit is great and I can't imagine having to put a cat into a crate without that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the top door.

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Huntington
What a great idea !!! A second door. This will help with my cat's hesitation for a carrier and the trips to the vet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great carrier!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Wethersfield, CT
I purchased 2 of these kennels to move our 2 cats from CT to Florida in November. They are well made, sturdy and very roomy. The disassembled kit came with an over-abundance of screws which was good. Easy to assemble. We love the "top loading" opening. Definitely easier to load the cats & less stressful for them.
Right now we are leaving them open in front so they can get used to them. One of our cats does use his occasionally to relax.We wholeheartedly recommend this kennel product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate 2 Door Top Load Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect carrier!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from iowa
I love the fact that it has the opening on the top of the carrier. The carrier itself is very sturdy and should last a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>