petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals

Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals

All natural aspen wood shavingsNaturally absorbent small animal pet substrate that helps to control odorScent-free, with no aromatic oils for healthier pets and easier careDust-free to protect delicate small animal respiratory systemsBiodegradable animal bedding that can be recycled and used as compost
Average Customer Rating:
4.49 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
45 out of 51(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Review 1 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bedding

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Winter Park, FL
I've tried a bunch of different options for my rabbit's bedding and I like this option the best. It offers great coverage, absorbency, and odor control. I also have allergies, but the shavings don't bother me at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
I love this aspen so much! The price can't get any better for $12 for such a large amount! This is great aspen and has very little dust! I use this for all of my hamsters to make up the bulk of their substrate and then add carefresh or clean and kozy on top of it. It works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Islip NY
We have 2 guinea pigs and they like to eat. This bedding is very nice, absorb urine and odor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
Great price, fast shipping. Good packaging. Item just as advertised. Will order again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Wayne, IN
This is the best bedding we've found for our rabbits and guinea pigs. It is of consistently good quality and fairly priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good choice for my guinea pigs!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lakeport, Ca.
Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding is the only bedding I will use on my 4 guinea pigs. I know it is safe for them to use, and it stays dry for a longer time. It also retains a pleasant odor for more time than other bedding types.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Planet Petco Aspen Shavings

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bend, OR
I use these Aspen shavings for my pet rats and they are for the most part dust free and do the job well. I am quite happy with them and recommend them for any small animals for bedding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my Guinea Pigs

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maple Grove MN
I have a 5x2 c&c cage which I highly recommend. Although Fleece is ideal it requires allot of work. So instead I use Aspen Bedding. Its highly absorbent and last longer. I top it with paper bedding as well to create the softness they need for there feet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fabulous Delivery!

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, Wa
Purchased 3 bags of Aspen wood chips. Was fabulous to have the bags come right to my door step!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is pretty good

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
This Aspen bedding is cheaper than other paper bedding. I bought the big 56 liters one and it last me for more than 6 months! Some of the downside to this bedding is it do smell after a couple of days, I find it do a good job at absorbing the urine but still smell horrible. Also when it come to clean up time there is dust all over the bottom of the cage, I guess dust is inescapable when it come down to wood type bedding. Other than that this bedding is a good alternative to go to if youre in a tight budget.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous for CORN SNAKES!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
I've used this same product with all my Corn Snakes since 2010. It's a consistently good product which is relatively low in dust and long lasting, too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product works well.

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MTZ.,CA.
I use this product for my rabbit pens and they love it. I mix it with the care fresh paper products at (10 to 1 wood to paper) and it keeps the rabbits happy. It also absorbs the waste well and keeps the odor down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality bedding

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rhode Island
This works very well for our silkie chickens. No dust to affect their sensitive respiratory systems, and buying it on sale, online, with very reasonable shipping charges was the way to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE Experience

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fall River, MA
I purchased the largest bag of this bedding at a Petco near my house thinking it would be a better alternative to pine bedding. I filled a couple of cages with this and thought nothing of it until one day I noticed bugs in the cages. I grabbed the bag to do a cage cleaning and it was filled with tiny bloodsucking little bugs. I had to throw the entire bag out which was quite expensive and treat each animal with a mite killer. AFTER this happened I looked online and read that other people recommended freezing the entire bag for 24-48 hours before use to avoid that issue. The whole thing is ridiculous and I only use carefresh bedding now to avoid a repeat of that nightmare.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
Great price and delivered to my door. Product is just what was expected..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Planet Petco Aspen Bedding

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
This product works very well for my guinea pigs. It is almost dust-free and the fact that it is aspen wood, rather than pine, is perfect because pine and other wood can cause upper respiratory problems in animals. Also, it is so much less costly and economic than the other stuff and I like to change the litter at least twice week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great price for Aspen shavings

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Albany, NY
Very affordable. Reduces odor in the guinea pig cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product perfect for small animals

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
This product is very good for small animals, really controls odor and waste products. tried almost every Product on the market and they dont even come close to cotroling odor and waste. would not use anything else. keep making good products like this. when I ordered product it was proccessed very fast and delivered quickly. I only deal with petco. thank you and my little friends thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for large rabbits

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I have two larger bunnies and purchased this instead of the Petco Crumbled Paper bedding (wonderful product) because this was on sale and the other wasn't. I had used the pine before as well without an issue. This product does not absorb enough to be good for a rabbit litter box. The first day I went to clean the box and there was liquid urine on the bottom; it had not absorbed at all. I cleaned the box completely and added even more shavings (about 4 inches worth) and that evening again, liquid urine. I had to drive to my local Petsmart and buy other bedding.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mattawan, MI
I have always liked wood chips as bedding for rats, but know that many people say to steer clear of pine, so decided on this. It is low odor and keeps odor to a minimum after the rats have gone to the bathroom on it. I have heard that the paper products are not as good at odor control. Great product at a great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>