petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals

Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals

All natural aspen wood shavingsNaturally absorbent small animal pet substrate that helps to control odorScent-free, with no aromatic oils for healthier pets and easier careDust-free to protect delicate small animal respiratory systemsBiodegradable animal bedding that can be recycled and used as compost
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
33 out of 37(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Review 1 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
Great price and delivered to my door. Product is just what was expected..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Planet Petco Aspen Bedding

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Louis, MO
This product works very well for my guinea pigs. It is almost dust-free and the fact that it is aspen wood, rather than pine, is perfect because pine and other wood can cause upper respiratory problems in animals. Also, it is so much less costly and economic than the other stuff and I like to change the litter at least twice week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great price for Aspen shavings

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Albany, NY
Very affordable. Reduces odor in the guinea pig cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product perfect for small animals

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
This product is very good for small animals, really controls odor and waste products. tried almost every Product on the market and they dont even come close to cotroling odor and waste. would not use anything else. keep making good products like this. when I ordered product it was proccessed very fast and delivered quickly. I only deal with petco. thank you and my little friends thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for large rabbits

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I have two larger bunnies and purchased this instead of the Petco Crumbled Paper bedding (wonderful product) because this was on sale and the other wasn't. I had used the pine before as well without an issue. This product does not absorb enough to be good for a rabbit litter box. The first day I went to clean the box and there was liquid urine on the bottom; it had not absorbed at all. I cleaned the box completely and added even more shavings (about 4 inches worth) and that evening again, liquid urine. I had to drive to my local Petsmart and buy other bedding.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mattawan, MI
I have always liked wood chips as bedding for rats, but know that many people say to steer clear of pine, so decided on this. It is low odor and keeps odor to a minimum after the rats have gone to the bathroom on it. I have heard that the paper products are not as good at odor control. Great product at a great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aspen Bedding

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I love to use aspen bedding cause it is safe for My many pets and can be cheap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

aspen wood bedding small animals(large bag)

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from kemah tx
good price for online compared to driving to a store,cheaper than paper bedding if you have o watch your budget
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
I love the smell of the Aspen and the cheap price, especially for bulk! My winter white dwarf hamster Clover just loves it. And I know it's safe for his respiratory system. 2 big thumbs up!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Chillas

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oahu, Hi
My Chillas love this product! They eat the chunks and will urinate in the flakes. As I change these aspen flakes daily, and as these compressed flakes expand quite bit when I take it out of the bag, I will not have to buy more flakes for a few months! It was a great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent bedding for guinea pigs

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from jersey city, nj
Petco's aspen wood shaving are excellent! Hardly any dust,,keeps Oder down,absorbs well,big fluffy shaving.Great price so I buy in bulk..the 2 cubic sq ft bags.Most important it's healthy for guinea pigs will not give them repertory issues like cedar&pine. Plus my boar loves to lay in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best aspen so far i have bought

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
no odor...number 1 reason i bought this and will continue to do so!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Antioch
This bedding is really great and at a great price! I use it in my snake cages and it's a lot less than reptile shavings. Quantity in the big bales last a long time. If you have dry climate snakes, this stuff is perfect. It spot cleans really well. Save yourself some money and switch to this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Consistantly good product

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Gretna LA
We have used Planet Petco Aspen Wood for a couple of years now. A hard wood is recommended by bunny experts and this product is low in dust. We tried another brand once but this brand is better. The container bag holds up well, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Griffith, IN
This product comes in a large quantity, so it lasts for a while. You don't have to make frequent trips to the store. It is odor free which is great for our bunny!! The bedding shavings are a nice size, not too big and not too small. I love this product and will continue to buy it!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bedding

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lexington USA
I buy this Aspen wood bedding because there is no cedar mixed in which can cause respiratory problems
when wetted with your pet's urine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for allergy problems

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, WA
One of my gerbils seemed to have an allergic reaction to the normal paper bedding, so it was recommended I try the aspen shavings. No more red runny nose! But, the shavings must feel rough on her little feet because she doesn't seem to like it when I change her cage. The smell is clean but a little strong at first. I don't have to clean out the cage as often as the odors are absorbed well. With some nice soft tissues added, she makes a nice nest for herself and all is well. I would recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Bedding for Rats

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Maine
Quality aspen bedding is difficult to find locally. Most that I can find are very dusty and have some thick, hard wood pieces in them. This bedding has nice soft shavings that are larger so most of them stay within my rats' cage and I haven't found any hard chunks of wood. The cage smells pleasant and the shavings absorb the urine very well. All I have to do is spot clean (remove feces and any obviously wet spots) and this bedding will last about a week before I need to remove all of it from the cage and do a major cleaning (I use this bedding on the floor of my cage and the other levels are covered in polar fleece so the rats aren't in the shavings all the time which is why a spot cleaning will suffice in keeping the bedding relatively clean for a week). I like this bedding much better than any I have tried. I have no complaints and would highly recommend it to rat owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not Conceal Odor

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
Of all the pet bedding I have had for my hamster, this one did the poorest job of concealing the pet odor.
Also a lot easy for hamsters to kick out of the cage making a mess for you to have to clean up everyday.
Overall, wouldn't recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for chickens

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
We have a couple of urban chickens and the aspen shavings have been great. We used them in their box when they were chicks and now use them in their coop, which we built so that a large plastic Petco dog crate tray fits in the bottom for easy clean up. The shavings are very easy to clean up and absorb odor and liquid well. A 2 cu ft bag really does expand and go a long way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>