petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals

All natural aspen wood shavingsNaturally absorbent small animal pet substrate that helps to control odorScent-free, with no aromatic oils for healthier pets and easier careDust-free to protect delicate small animal respiratory systemsBiodegradable animal bedding that can be recycled and used as compost
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
51 out of 58(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Review 1 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product at a good price

PostedMay 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Alexandria, VA
We've been using aspen bedding in our rabbits' litter boxes for many years. We've bought it from different retailers (brick and mortar and online), but have found petco.com to be the most convenient, reliable, and economical place to buy aspen shavings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product for guinea pig!

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San jose, CA
I've been trying all different kind of bedding for my guinea pig. Planet petco aspen is way better than Great choice aspen shaving which has a horrible smell when it gets wet, it actually causes the odor. Planet petco aspen has no sharp pieces, less dust, a lot softer, and it has the woodzy smell that makes you feel really clean and fresh. The only cons is it's kind of light so the pigs kick it all over the place, otherwise it's a great product for a great price!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This litter changed!

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
We have purchased this same litter many times before and we're always very happy with it. This time it arrived and the entire bag is like dust and the tiniest of pieces. This is not good for our rabbits, & is very messy. Very disappointed. :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fremont, NE
This product is an exceptional value, I use it for mice and for snakes and it is perfect for them both I have it shipped to my door as I live in a town with no Petco, so it is extremely convenient as well..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bedding Ever!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wilmington DE
I recently purchased Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals. It is an excellent choice if you have a small animal. It is dust free and scent free. My chinchillas are very sensitive to dust and harsh chemical odors so I am always looking to find products that adhere to my high standards of keeping them happy and healthy. I have been using Aspen Wood Bedding for 10 years and really love it. I won't buy my bedding from anyone else but Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Litter for Rabbits

PostedApril 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Brandon, FL
This is, in my opinion, the best and most cost effective rabbit litter. First off, it's safe for rabbits, unlike other wood shaving litters like cedar and pine - those can actually kill bunnies. It's definitely a non-dusty litter, and it smells great. Absorbency is great, too.
One bag lasts at least 3 months, but usually a lot longer (anywhere from 4-6 months). I empty my rabbit's litter box just about every day, but at least every other day, so that's a lot of litter!
Aside from newspaper shreds (which I don't like, no absorbency/odor control and bunny could eat them and have GI issues), this is probably the cheapest litter option. I would recommend all bunny owners giving it a try.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Hammies love it!

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from El Paso , Texas
As you may have figured out Hamsters aren't the cheapest pets. Many are fooled by their tiny size. But Hammies require not just our love and attention but special foods, toys, and beddings!
This was a problem for me... I did a lot of research and finally I can say that I'm delighted to have purchased Planet Petco Aspen for my Hamsters. It's safe! None dusty! Eliminates odors and has a clean woodsy smell.
I'd give this product 10/10 stars if it were possible. I highly recommend this to Hamster owners because its also very affordable.
Thanks Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bedding

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Winter Park, FL
I've tried a bunch of different options for my rabbit's bedding and I like this option the best. It offers great coverage, absorbency, and odor control. I also have allergies, but the shavings don't bother me at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
I love this aspen so much! The price can't get any better for $12 for such a large amount! This is great aspen and has very little dust! I use this for all of my hamsters to make up the bulk of their substrate and then add carefresh or clean and kozy on top of it. It works great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Islip NY
We have 2 guinea pigs and they like to eat. This bedding is very nice, absorb urine and odor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
Great price, fast shipping. Good packaging. Item just as advertised. Will order again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Wayne, IN
This is the best bedding we've found for our rabbits and guinea pigs. It is of consistently good quality and fairly priced.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good choice for my guinea pigs!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lakeport, Ca.
Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding is the only bedding I will use on my 4 guinea pigs. I know it is safe for them to use, and it stays dry for a longer time. It also retains a pleasant odor for more time than other bedding types.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Planet Petco Aspen Shavings

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bend, OR
I use these Aspen shavings for my pet rats and they are for the most part dust free and do the job well. I am quite happy with them and recommend them for any small animals for bedding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my Guinea Pigs

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maple Grove MN
I have a 5x2 c&c cage which I highly recommend. Although Fleece is ideal it requires allot of work. So instead I use Aspen Bedding. Its highly absorbent and last longer. I top it with paper bedding as well to create the softness they need for there feet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fabulous Delivery!

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, Wa
Purchased 3 bags of Aspen wood chips. Was fabulous to have the bags come right to my door step!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is pretty good

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
This Aspen bedding is cheaper than other paper bedding. I bought the big 56 liters one and it last me for more than 6 months! Some of the downside to this bedding is it do smell after a couple of days, I find it do a good job at absorbing the urine but still smell horrible. Also when it come to clean up time there is dust all over the bottom of the cage, I guess dust is inescapable when it come down to wood type bedding. Other than that this bedding is a good alternative to go to if youre in a tight budget.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous for CORN SNAKES!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
I've used this same product with all my Corn Snakes since 2010. It's a consistently good product which is relatively low in dust and long lasting, too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The product works well.

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MTZ.,CA.
I use this product for my rabbit pens and they love it. I mix it with the care fresh paper products at (10 to 1 wood to paper) and it keeps the rabbits happy. It also absorbs the waste well and keeps the odor down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality bedding

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rhode Island
This works very well for our silkie chickens. No dust to affect their sensitive respiratory systems, and buying it on sale, online, with very reasonable shipping charges was the way to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>