petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals

Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals

All natural aspen wood shavingsNaturally absorbent small animal pet substrate that helps to control odorScent-free, with no aromatic oils for healthier pets and easier careDust-free to protect delicate small animal respiratory systemsBiodegradable animal bedding that can be recycled and used as compost
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
28 out of 31(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Review 1 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aspen Bedding

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hamsterlover76
from Florida
I love to use aspen bedding cause it is safe for My many pets and can be cheap.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

aspen wood bedding small animals(large bag)

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
blue34
from kemah tx
good price for online compared to driving to a store,cheaper than paper bedding if you have o watch your budget
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
MyHamClover
from Illinois
I love the smell of the Aspen and the cheap price, especially for bulk! My winter white dwarf hamster Clover just loves it. And I know it's safe for his respiratory system. 2 big thumbs up!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Chillas

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tato
from Oahu, Hi
My Chillas love this product! They eat the chunks and will urinate in the flakes. As I change these aspen flakes daily, and as these compressed flakes expand quite bit when I take it out of the bag, I will not have to buy more flakes for a few months! It was a great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent bedding for guinea pigs

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
phathamster
from jersey city, nj
Petco's aspen wood shaving are excellent! Hardly any dust,,keeps Oder down,absorbs well,big fluffy shaving.Great price so I buy in bulk..the 2 cubic sq ft bags.Most important it's healthy for guinea pigs will not give them repertory issues like cedar&pine. Plus my boar loves to lay in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best aspen so far i have bought

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Meburps
from Maryland
no odor...number 1 reason i bought this and will continue to do so!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pawfam
from Antioch
This bedding is really great and at a great price! I use it in my snake cages and it's a lot less than reptile shavings. Quantity in the big bales last a long time. If you have dry climate snakes, this stuff is perfect. It spot cleans really well. Save yourself some money and switch to this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Consistantly good product

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
LuvaBunny
from Gretna LA
We have used Planet Petco Aspen Wood for a couple of years now. A hard wood is recommended by bunny experts and this product is low in dust. We tried another brand once but this brand is better. The container bag holds up well, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
HollyJean
from Griffith, IN
This product comes in a large quantity, so it lasts for a while. You don't have to make frequent trips to the store. It is odor free which is great for our bunny!! The bedding shavings are a nice size, not too big and not too small. I love this product and will continue to buy it!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bedding

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
lexpres
from Lexington USA
I buy this Aspen wood bedding because there is no cedar mixed in which can cause respiratory problems
when wetted with your pet's urine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for allergy problems

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
ChristiG
from Vancouver, WA
One of my gerbils seemed to have an allergic reaction to the normal paper bedding, so it was recommended I try the aspen shavings. No more red runny nose! But, the shavings must feel rough on her little feet because she doesn't seem to like it when I change her cage. The smell is clean but a little strong at first. I don't have to clean out the cage as often as the odors are absorbed well. With some nice soft tissues added, she makes a nice nest for herself and all is well. I would recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Bedding for Rats

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thomi
from Maine
Quality aspen bedding is difficult to find locally. Most that I can find are very dusty and have some thick, hard wood pieces in them. This bedding has nice soft shavings that are larger so most of them stay within my rats' cage and I haven't found any hard chunks of wood. The cage smells pleasant and the shavings absorb the urine very well. All I have to do is spot clean (remove feces and any obviously wet spots) and this bedding will last about a week before I need to remove all of it from the cage and do a major cleaning (I use this bedding on the floor of my cage and the other levels are covered in polar fleece so the rats aren't in the shavings all the time which is why a spot cleaning will suffice in keeping the bedding relatively clean for a week). I like this bedding much better than any I have tried. I have no complaints and would highly recommend it to rat owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not Conceal Odor

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Camdissa
from Kansas City, MO
Of all the pet bedding I have had for my hamster, this one did the poorest job of concealing the pet odor.
Also a lot easy for hamsters to kick out of the cage making a mess for you to have to clean up everyday.
Overall, wouldn't recommend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for chickens

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
MsDolittle
from Maryland
We have a couple of urban chickens and the aspen shavings have been great. We used them in their box when they were chicks and now use them in their coop, which we built so that a large plastic Petco dog crate tray fits in the bottom for easy clean up. The shavings are very easy to clean up and absorb odor and liquid well. A 2 cu ft bag really does expand and go a long way.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great as a bottom layer

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
JamiePappas
from Boston, MA
I use this aspen bedding in my pig cage as a layer under the Carefresh. It adds a nice smell and helps keep the wetness away from their toes. They don't like it as much as the Carefresh, so I put it under it. This is a great product and smells fresh. I also like that it's bigger chips instead of "wood fluff" like some products. It doesn't get in their sensitive areas nearly as much because of that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
guineapigwhisperer
from Beaverton
This is a wonderful bedding that, according to our veterinarian, is the best for guinea pigs. I rat it a two-thumbs up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff for small pets!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
zookeeper43
from Goodspring, TN
This stuff is soft and the chips are large not fine.There isn't a strong smell to it, but it absorbs great and it seems to help a lot with odor. We use it for two Guinea Pigs and they really popcorn when we add fresh aspen bedding to their cage. Good stuff!! I ordered the biggest bag and have it on automatic reorder every month. We never run out. I have tried the paper bedding but it just doesn't compare.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Aspen Bedding

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
bunnysmama
from Lisbon, CT
The value on this product is fantastic. I love the smell of Aspen, and it doesn't aggravate my allergies like Cedar. My bunnies really seem to like burrowing in the chips, and it's very easy to clean out of their hutches. I buy this bedding again and again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 Happy Guinea Pigs

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
GForceX2
This really helps keep oder down. My animals love this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Planet Petco Aspen Wood Bedding for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
loveschinchillas
from Middletown Nj
I found this product to absorb well and have better odor control. It is a great value and great quantity in each bag.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>