petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder

Large, 5 lb capacitySimple to programServes up to 3 meals per dayRemovable dishwasher-safe bowl for easy cleaningFeeds when you're away
Average Customer Rating:
3.682 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
16 out of 22(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Review 1 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Menu Minder

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvmycatsNdogs
from Saint Paul MN
I purchased one of these to feed two cats, but they couldn't "share." I bought another so there would be one for each. They need to be set exactly the same so they can both run for their food when they hear the food drop. I wish the portions could be smaller. However, I haven't mastered the time in between feedings yet. One cat is already overweight and the second one seems to also be looking plumper now.
Then there is the tiny cat who can't use this feeder--these feeders at all. She prefers wet food, which can't go into the feeder. She probably would eat the dry food, but the larger cats discourage her. She is becoming too thin, so I am feeding her in a separate room. Giving her wet food and sprinkling some dry food on top. I am toying with the idea of buying another feeder for her in case she learns to eat dry food. (Just put the feeder in a closed room at meal time.)
I like the idea of the TIMER for meals. All three cats really like to eat and pester me until I set out their food. Now the auto-serve is great for two of the cats...and allows me to prepare the 3rd meal for the too-thin cat at the same time.
I also have dogs and they too are being fed at the same timed schedule as the cats. (I don't have auto-feeders for them. The dogs need to eat in separate spaces. One dog would eat all the dog food and all the cat food if I fed all of them in the same room!)
I have had some trouble with the food dropping into the bowl, but I think it wasn't the machine...I just didn't put the bowl in properly so the food was somehow stuck and couldn't drop as it was supposed to. So...just check to make sure the bowl is correctly inserted after cleaning.
I like the idea of the scheduled feedings. However, my animals don't "live" in separate rooms. Still, having the two feeders has made life in a busy animal home more regulated even if I haven't mastered auto-feeding each pet!
These are still really new to me...I may re-review when I have mastered the time element.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love love love

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from St. Paul MN
We have only been using this for a week but so far there is nothing I don't love about our Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder. Being able to put five pounds of food in the hopper ensures that the cat is fed and the programmable size and times have stopped the accidental overfeeding and the her cuteness from waking us in a panic if she thinks her food bowl might be empty. Now she is fed at the typical times she was waking us (5 am argh!) so she is happy and we are sleeping. Extra bonus she has already slimmed down thanks to the portion control. It is easy to work with and the results are a healthier happy pet.
Ordering it online was a snap and it got here faster than I expected or the website led me to believe which was great. The product was exactly as described on the website and the reviews from other customers were extremely helpful when we were looking for this type of product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My cat is in hog heaven

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
OnCeAjRzGrL
from Richmond, VA
purchased this auto feeder prior to us leaving for vacation. Very easy to set up. I just wished portion size was a bit smaller for 1/4 cup. It took a few tries to determine correct portion sizing. My cat is smart- she knows there's a flap that dispenses food and will reach underneath to see if she can get more. This has definitely been handy if we're running late after work and not having to get up early in the am!
My only wish that an adapter be sold. It says you can purchase through manufacturer, but nothing on their website.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No complaints

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brocksowner
from Seattle
I've had this feeder for three years and it works great. It does overfeed. 1/4c is not enought and 1/2 cup is too much. But Brock doesn't complain. He gets a little chunky when we leave town. I would rather him be overfed then underfed when we are gone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

needs smaller increments of food

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
mamakitty574
from Ewa Beach, HI
We purchased this feeder in the hopes of getting some sleep in the mornings. IT WORKS LIKE A CHARM!
We had no problems programming, it drops when/how much it's supposed to... It's a little bulky to look at, but the convenience of the thing, and actually, being able to tell when the food is low, overrides it bulkiness.
Unfortunately, we are going to have to return this, as even on Light food, at 3/4c, it's too much, and a 1/2c is not enough. I was hoping Midnight wouldn't eat everything at 3/4c.
My only complaint is that you can't schedule a feeding smaller than 1/4c.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gatoviejo
from Chicago
Only had it for a couple weeks but it seems to work OK. The boys were wary of it at first but now they don't even jump when it dumps food in the bowl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reliable

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jamie100
from Neenah, WI
The feeder works very well. It's easy to program and feeds on time every time. The only negative comments are lack of battery indicator light and not enough feedings. This feeder will only work if I'm away from home for a couple of days. If I'm gone longer I need to leave extra food out which causes my cat to overeat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Zero Paws Was Not Possible

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Genoo
from Muskegon, MI
This thing was JUNK. Of first three test feedings, only two worked...and it got worse. The cheap plastic fins bent immediately and the portion control did not work. I read many negetive reviews for this item and did not believe that it could be so poorly made. I was wrong. Heading back to store for refund now. Will spend the money to have someone feed my cat for the days that I cannot.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy Dispenser

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
TheMarshal
from Sunnyvale, CA
Unfortunately the paddles used to dispense food are so flimsy that when there is any amount of food in the hopper, a simple tap will drop dry food into the bowl. My cat figured this out in less than a day.
Everything else about the product was exactly what I was looking for. It's too bad it simply wasn't made cat-proof.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for gluttons

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
catowner123
from Massachusetts
If your cat is the type that will eat as much food as you put in front of it then don't buy this. My cat has very short front legs and can still reach up and tickle food out of this feeder. She eventually broke the hopper mechanism so badly that food would fall out whenever someone walked past the feeder. This machine could be half the price and I still wouldn't buy it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so programable!

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tyee
from Bandon, OR
I love how my human can so easily set the time and amount of what I eat. It keps me in good shape and I get fresh food regularly. My human has to leave for days at a time and now I do not have to endure the neighbor coming in and disturbing my peace so I get fed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Am enjoying being able to sleep past 4:30 a.m.!

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
catmomma12
from Portland, OR
After researching several other types of auto-pet feeders for our cat, I decided to give the Infinity a try because of the median price, features and reviews. Have used it for a week now and am very happy with it. It was easier to program than I anticipated and our smart cat adjusted to it by the second day. My husband and I have had a week of blissful mornings instead of being awakened by a demanding, hungry cat! Also it's nice to know that he will have his pre-measured food even if we aren't home at his dinner time or if we go away overnight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dies in one year,

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
DFEME
from Yakima,WA
The food is propelled down the chute with plastic paddles. They all broke off within one year. The company provided replacement paddles but refuses instructions on how to install. It appears that the whole mechanism needs to be taken apart and I am unwilling to try without instructions. I am throwing it out and looking for a more durable brand.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap inner wheel mechanism

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
FLZookeeper
from St Augustine, FL
This product was convenient at first, however after about three weeks the "teeth" that rotate the portions on the inner wheel broke off and it became a free feeder...an expensive one at that! I would purchase this product again if this defect could be corrected.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

High hopes

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
batnurse
from WV
All of my previous cats have been "nibblers". My current cat is a "gobbler". For obvious reasons I was trying to limit her food to small servings 2x/day. Especially when I was not home to feed her. This product advised cat food less than1/2". That is what I was using. It was dumping much more than the 1/4c that was programmed into the machine. I read some reviews on line that said that they found that the food had to slightly larger than 1/2". That is almost impossible to find when you are buying cat food.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE this feeder!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luvmyfeeder
from Denver, CO
I don't know how I survived without this feeder. Its very easy to set up, I didn't need the instructions. It shoots out the exact amount of food that I set it for (I measured) and the noise isn't very loud at all. I have it set to feed my cats twice a day and they love it. My cats have already lost a couple of pounds because the food is portioned perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

helpful, but a little noisy

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phoebesdad
from New York, NY
The product itself is good. You can set up to three different feeding times and can control the amounts dispensed. The only drawback is that when the food is dispensed, the noise that accompanies it scares the cats. I'm sure over time they'll get used to it, but in the meantime, they run away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest feline invention yet

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
jeffnheather
from Presque Isle, ME
Cats jumped at first, but now that they are use to it, they sit by their auto feeder awaiting their next meal. They will no longer have to wait for us to get home from work to eat, nor will they have to wake us up on the weekends for food neither!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Feeder

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janh
from Meadville, PA
So far it feeds the correct amount at the set time. Otherwise, our cat would constantly eat if we fill his dish. We would definately recommend this feeder.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Cat Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy and Reliable

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
DebraDC
from Washington, DC
My cat enjoys crunching her kibble and does not mind when I am running late from work because she is fed on time. The instructions and set up were fairly simple. I plan to buy the power cord which comes separately so I do not have to worry about the batteries running low.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>