petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Dog Feeder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Dog Feeder

Large, 10 lb capacitySimple to programServes up to 3 meals per dayRemovable dishwasher-safe bowl for easy cleaningFeeds when you're away
Average Customer Rating:
1.5 / 5
1.5
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
1 out of 8(12%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Dog Feeder
Review 1 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Dog Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
SammamishCatLover
from Sammamish, WA
Like the other reviews on here, I have just returned my third Petmate Portion Control Infinity feeder. The first one was the 5 lb version and the motor burned out. The second was also a 5 lb version. It was inconsistent, with it only dispensing 60% of the time. We just tried the 10 lb version, hoping it would work better, but exact same problem as second one. Don't waste your time. Product is very poor quality and not dependable...which defeats the entire purpose of an automatic feeder.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Dog Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Infinity Programable Dog Feeder

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
rogerb
from Utah
It took three feeders before I got one that worked and then, in less than a year, the paddles that drop the proportion of food all came apart and disintegrated and fell into the dish not it feeds food ALL THE TIME.
The store would not replace it so I am out $100.00
To me, this is a piece of junk that should be taken off the market.
I had to go back to manually feeding my dog.
Sorry Infinity - I will not buy another of your products.
Roger
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Dog Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petmate Infinity Feeder 10 Lbs

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
DLR2263
from Des Moines, Iowa
Do NOT Buy this product. I Had similar problems as others. Motor would bog down during operations. I bought the power cord to help with the motor need for current. I am an electrician with a degree in electronics. This helped slightly, but even with the added power after 7 months the fins of the rotary valve started to fall off. now there is only one vain left. No metering. Again DO NOT BUY THIS ITEM.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Dog Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is bad

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sheldonthelab
from California, CA
I bought this autofeeder for my 4-month old labrador puppy. I am gone about half the week and set his meals to the time I was gone. After a couple days after I had bought it, I come home to a smashed machine with food all over the floor. My puppy had tipped over the item and ate 5 pounds of food! I know it is a lab's nature to be always hungry but this item was reccomended by one the petco guys. I am dissapointed and wasted a lot of money! Totally not worth it. Probably good for only chiuauas.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Dog Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Maybe I got the only good one??

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rockhound87
from Idaho Falls, ID
I don''t know why this has such bad reviews. I read them and decided to take the risk anyway.
I have a great dane and the breed is prone to bloat, so they require several small meals throughout the day, which I won't be able to accommodate anymore since I will be gone for a good portion of the weekdays now.
I needed something that would limit the portion size rather than just have a continuous flow of food, and the only other ones I found looked like my dog could just sniff it out, knock it over, and clean it out.
So far, this one has worked great! It's very durable, lid stays secure, my dog can't knock it over, and is reliable as far as portion and timing.
The only thing I would change about this is that the bowl does detach pretty easily unless you put something (like a thin book) under the front lip of the bowl. If you can manage that, this is a really good buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Dog Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Highly unreliable

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
BilliesDad
from Oregon
I wish I'd seen the other review on this product, as I have had exactly the same experience with this piece of junk.
For about the first week, it worked fine. Then, it got "stuck" when filled all the way, and the motor would just whirr at mealtime. I could only fill it about halfway. Now, less than a month after I bought it, it won't even discharge when 1/3 full.
I'll be looking for my money back, and never buy a product from this company again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Dog Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wranglerthedog
from North port, FL
The plastic fins on the inside that portion out the food break after about a month. This does 2 things. It sends the fins into the food dish which my dog ate. He got sick from it. The second is the feeder dumps more food out then you have programed since there is no way to control it once the fins are gone. I would give this a zero if I could. Don't spend your money on this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Portion Control Infinity Programmable Dog Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shelly3
from Lake Balboa, CA
When we first found this product it was great. Our dog could eat at the same time every day, whether we were late from work or not. Within a month, we found it kept getting jammed, so we would only fill it half-way. Within 6 months, it just stopped working completely. So we bought another one. Same thing, couldn't fill it all the way, and here we are 6 months later, it gets jammed no matter how much food is in there. I saved my receipt this time, as Petco told me they'd honor the manufacturer warranty. I really don't want another Petmate product.....our dog lost weight and had was getting sick - that's when I realized she wasn't eating for god knows how long. I definitely can't rely on Petmate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.