petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters

Fluval 06 External Canister Filters

Multi-stage aquarium filter for healthy freshwater and saltwater tanksIncreased water filtration for cleaner, healthier water8-15% quieter than the Fluval 305Powerful fish tank filter is easy to install and maintain
Average Customer Rating:
4.68 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
41
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
48 out of 50(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Review 1 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works amazing!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brandon97
from Dallas,TX
I am currently using this canister filter on my 125gallon aquarium and is helping maintain my water crystal clear. I also have a fluval 70 and 110 hang on the back filters because they couldn't keep my water clear with my big fish I have. Inside there is a red tail catfish,silver arowana, clown knife, and a spotted gar. Thanks to this product water is so clear and fish are really happy with the water flow it has. Best part is it so quiet can't even hear it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible filter

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Flyguy1282
from Lansing Michigan
Excellent filter. Water clarity is second to none. After tank cleaning, water is clear in 15-20 minutes on my 75 gallon. Easy to clean. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great filter for smaller tanks, Priming pump flimsy

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
MEandYouPhoto
from Indianola, IA
I purchased this filter to work with my 55 gallon Red Ear Slider tank and found out it is just not strong enough for the job. This is not the fault of of the filter, RES are just dirty animals and the filter cant handle the bio-load. So I upgraded to the Fluval FX5 and move this filter to my 55 gallon African Cichlid tank. Within the first week I realized that this filter was perfect for a 55 gallon or smaller but I wouldn't recommend it for anything larger. It did a great job of keeping the water circulating and clean and provided enough current for the fish to enjoy.
I had read several concerns in reviews on here and other sites about the priming pump. Out of the box I realized just how fragile the design is for it. The head is very narrow and the shaft is very flimsy. I was extra careful every time to make sure I didn't break it but after about 4 months of use (5 cleanings) the priming mechanism broke. For the next 4 months I made sure the canister was full of water before plugging it back in. I eventually replaced the filter with another Fluval FX5.
I wanted to give this product 5 stars but with the fragile primer and the over-exaggeration of the filter capacity I gave it three stars
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Efficient filter

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
75gtank
from San Jose, CA
This was my first canister filter since I upgraded to a 75 gallon tank. Bought this after reading a lot of reviews and so far the experience has been very positive. Setup is very easy and I like the new aquastop assembly which makes it easier for maintenance and the priming mechanism. It is also super quiet. I had a couple of issues during assembly - it was spitting out bursts of air bubbles every few minutes which drove me crazy. After checking all hoses for leaks, found that the intake hose which connects to the filter was not secured tight enough. Once I fixed this, it stopped the bubbles. I wish they had a better connector to connect to the filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NICE PRODUCT

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
DANNHART
from COLORADO
I have had aquariums for 30+ years and this is by far the best filter I have ever used. Very easy to setup, zero noise, very little maintenance on the filter - monthly rinse on the foam block, ammonia remover and fine polishing pad - replace monthly. All other filtering media is 3+ months. My water is crystal clear and no issues with ammonia, nitrites or nitrates. Finally, a canister filter that does what it claims.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheHornet
from Chicago
I have two red ear slider turtles and this filter is amazing it keep the tank so clean. I only have to clean once every two weeks
It is really quiet does not make any noise I love how you can change the water pressure.
A+++++++
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best filter I've owned

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
WVSquirrel
from Florida
This filter has been the best one I've ever invested in. We have 2 yellow-belly sliders in a 55 gallon tank. It's been difficult maintaining a clean tank as they've gotten older (anyone with turtles knows how dirty they can be), and we've gone through multiple in-tank filters over the years including running 2 filters at the same time rated at 55 gallons each. Nothing has compared to the success we've seen with the Fluval 306! Easy to setup, use and maintain. Well worth the cost, and a necessity for any large freshwater aquarium!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for cichlid owners

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
pasha2001
from florida
I have the 206 on my 29 gallon fish tank and it is great.
I have about 11 fish and some are really big but this filter has kept this tank clean/clear for up to a month with out cleaning. It is also so quiet, I only hear my air pump but not the filter. And one other good thing about it is that the filter media is so cheap if you buy it somewhere else like petsmart but here on petco I cant even find the filter media that works for the 206.
Overall this is the best filter I have ever had!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leaking after 1 year

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tbone2
from Nj
Leaking after 1 year has 3 year warranty but you have to send back for service if you buy you better buy 2!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased with pump

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joefish
from Nebraska
I'm setting up my first salt water aquarium, 26 bowfront tank, and very pleased with Fluval filter. This was all new to me and the two sets of instructions (quick set up and expanded version) were a bit confusing, but with time it all made sense. After hooking everything up and starting pump, tried to adjust hoses a bit and it popped off the unit, leaking out about a quart before we got things stopped. I know not to do that anymore. Pump is very quiet, now waiting to add fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied, great product.

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tonyy
from NY
As a person who has never used canister style filters until now, I can say I'm very happy with this filter. I'm currently using it on a 45 gallon freshwater setup with various Rainbowfish and a Firemouth Cichlid.
It was easy to put together, instructions are clear for those like myself who need to read them. I've had the filter running for a few weeks now and it is very, very quiet, almost dead silent. No leaks or any issues whatsoever.
Fluval filters are not cheap, but you do get what you pay for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Beginner Canister

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ventris
from Rockland MA
I have been in the fish keeping hobby for over 15 years. I have gone through many filters. The Fluval 106 is a wonderful unit for a beginner. Just rinse the media, set it up, seal the lid and thats it! It has a priming device to make starting extreamly easy. Cleaning is just as easy. Shut it off, turn off the flow vaulves and change the media. Easy! My friend just got a tank for his new home and I am going to buy one as a house warming gift for his new tank! Intigrating other units such as a U.V steralizer is also hassle free. I can not recomend this for beginners enough!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

FLUVAL 206

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
kingsy1st
from Honolulu, HI
Only had ths for a couple of weeks but it is easy to setup. Seems to have a strong flow.
Noticed the priming mechanism is kind of flimsy uses a plastic rod would have preferred stainless steel. The lever for the input/output valves is made of plastic, again they should have used stainless steel.
I wouldn't mind paying a little more for finishing touches like stainless steel.
Let's see how time treats this filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the latest fluval

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenly
from New Jersey
I've been using fluvals for over 10 years on all sorts of different tanks. I've tried Eheim, but went right back to fluval. This new one seems a little flimsy, not as heavy duty as the last version. Seems to be working just fine as always.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brittie
I use the 206 for my Goldfish and it is fantastic. The water is crystal clear, always. Easy start up, easy clean. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really great filter

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
LanaW
from San Diego,CA
Just perfect for my very messy African side neck turtle
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheWoodsmith
from Buffalo Grove, IL
This filter was easy to setup and get running. Water was clear in a few hours. I purchased the 306 for a 26 Gal. bow tank. It creates a bit of a current but by aiming the output at the front bow glass the current can be reduced. I also adjusted the valve flow lever and the tank was quite calm.
The filter is very quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluval 306

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
gr8ape1
from Spring,TX
This is a excellent canister filter.I have had a great deal of experience with Eheim an Fluvals.Eheims are a lot more expensive than Fluval to start.With this filter you get all of the same basic features.You can set it up with different loads(carbon,resins,sponges,substrate) in the trays provided.I have 32 African cichlids as well as 2 Tin Foils,2 gold severums,2 Clown loaches.My water is crystal clear.I also run a Aqua Clear 70 on the other end on my tank.I can change out the carbon every 30 days on the Aqua Clear.Where as the canister,I can clean it about every 4 months.Make sure you only leave your lights on a max.of 6-8 hours to not get green water(algae).Super easy to set up,everything is in the box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I wish....

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Niesia
I just wish I felt like I've got the product I've paid for... It's my third and the most expensive canister filter. To my biggest surprise it is the most complicated, most flimsy and the most difficult one to set up yet. I just cannot believe that I won't break those flimsy plastic fittings during regular maintenance, especially that there is not enough hose to pull out the filter from the cabinet, so every time I will want to clean it, I will need to dismantle and re-assemble the whole set up. Very disappointed. The filter is going back to the store. Maybe it is an overall well performing filter, but I won't risk breaking the fittings and I don't need frustration of re-assembly every month.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
6of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fluval 06 External Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome!

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
chriscjn
from Moriches, NY
This filter is all around great. It has so many different media options and is really quite. A bit of a low hum but not much. My refrigerator is louder in the other room when it cycles. I have a 75 gal Cichlid setup using this filter and a Fluval U3. The flow is powerful and keeps everything (fish poo) suspended until it is filter by either filter.
Cons: I did have to order another hose hit as this one wasnt long enough for me to neatly but the unit under my cabinet. I also ordered the older style intake, out flow and hose adapters as I prefer the black color as opposed to the clear. The clear really stood out in my tank and the black is hard to see. I do wish there was some other out flow options such as a spray bar.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>