petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black

Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black

Sealed glass top provides spectacular high-definition viewingEfficient LED lighting system with 7600K high luminosity – suitable for aquatic plants3-position On/Off switch: Bright Daytime, Deep Blue Nighttime and OffLow voltage power supply increases safetyPowerful easy-to-use 3-stage filtration with CycleGuard keeps water clear and healthyIdeal desktop fish tank for homes or officesThe Fluval Edge fish tank comes with a 2-year warranty
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
21 out of 24(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Review 1 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great tank!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Disneymama3
from East Patchogue, NY
I had an Eclipse tank which gave me about 8 years of enjoyment. Recently I went to feed my fish and realized the filter died. I went directly to Petco.com and looked for a new tank. As soon as I spotted this tank I knew it was the one I wanted. I looked at all the tanks but ordered this one. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition. I took everything out of the box, read the instructions and had it running and ready with water & conditioners (included) in an hour. I put my fish in the tank and they loved it too! It has a clear day & blue night light which are great. I love how the whole tank is glass, even the top. I can look down into it, no lid to block my view. My three kids are drawn to it too. I find myself just looking at the fish more often with this tank. You will not be disappointed at all if you purchase. I have it on my kitchen peninsula and it's a great fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BAD INVESTMENT !

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
k6neq
from Granada Hills, Ca
I purchased the Fluval Edge several months ago, and was not happy from the start! The assembly was poor and seemed cheap when compared to my 306 Fluval filter.
A week ago I noticed that half of the LEDs were out.
THis morning the filter stopped working.
The Edge costs too much, and delivers too little!
Save your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mcur00
from Temple, Tx
Love it. Matches the colors of the room that I have the fish tank in. More than a fish tank but a item of conversation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
pllwft
from Atlanta
My review is based simply on appearance and quality of the equipment, as the tank is setup but missing fish. I've never seen a better looking aquarium, this one takes the cake on looks. It's extremely easy to setup and the filter takes just a quick moment to start pumping. With some minimal decor, this tank really does look great and will make a very suitable location for 2 dwarf puffers in the near future. The small footprint of the aquarium allows storage on a small table in an apartment or small space. Great buy, thanks Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This tank is awesome, it looks amazing

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mobk969
from Chicago, IL
Tank itself looks really nice, has that modern kind of sophisticated look I was looking for to show for in my office. I have had it for 4 weeks now and water is still crystal clear. Fish are all lively and happy and seem to love their new home. I wish the opening would be a little better or engineered so that feeding time and the way food goes in works better than it does. Over all just amazing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

poorly designed light switch

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
tetra1
Just set up a Fluval Ege 6 gallon. Beautiful, quality product, with a serious design flaw. The light switch is very diffucult to operate, even for a strong person. So if you don't have strong fingers, avoid this model. Hopefully Fluval will source a better switch to use... Otherwise a great aquarium !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluval Edge Aquarium

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aviary
Absolutely beautiful aquarium. Very aesthetic and original design. Great if you are looking for a mid-sized tank. Good filtration system. Love the blue light "night" option-- really makes the tank look neat.
Only flaw is that the opening to the aquarium at the top is relatively small (it does not span the entire top of the tank), so take note of that before you buy any large rocks/decorations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tank

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
fengshuipro
from buffalo ny
This was my first aquarium which I purchased for my Betta fish and dwarf african frog. I loved the look of the smaller Fluval tank, but after reading the not so great reviews and researching what could live together in a tank, opted for this tank in december. Both are very happy in this tank. I have it set on the low flow and my betta loves playing in the bubbles, easy to clean and have had no issues. Also bought the mag float cleaner magnet for the top as I leave a little air at the top for both of them and it gets condensation bubbles at the top which you can push right into the middle. Also used the Jager-elhiem thermometer with this unit
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
ShanLynn
from Pittsburgh, PA
I bought this tank for my husband for Christmas. It's been some time since he's had fish, so I wanted to him to start small, then grow later. We've had a great experience thus far with the tank, but I'd recommend not getting small fish for this tank. My husband bought three cardinal tetras, and we had no issues at all. When we went to buy three more, these three were much smaller and they kept ending up in the filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Modern looking tank

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASHC91
from Arcadia, CA
I ordered this tank online as a gift for someone and it came cracked! It was no problem though just a little bit of a hassle to go exchange it but we went to a nearby Petco store and exchanged it for a new one. It looks amazing although it is a bit small. Very modern looking!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

FRUSTRATING

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
MIMIWI
from PHILA., PA
MY FIRST TANK WAS 2 YEARS OLD NO PROBLEMS. REPLACED WITH 3 BRAND NEW TANKS TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE NEW LIGHTING. THE FIRST 2 TANKS THE LIGHTS FLOODED THE 3RD THE TRANSFORMER BLEW AFTER 4 HOURS. HAGEN WAS WONDERFUL REPLACING PARTS HOWEVER REPLACING THE LIGHT IS DIFFICULT ( MICROSURGERY). REMOVING THE WIRING FOR THE TRANSFORMER WITH A 12 GAL FULL TANK WAS THE WORST. WATER EVERYWHERE! MY LAST ATTEMPT TO SALVAGE NEXT BREAKDOWN I WILL REPLACE.. TANKS ARE BEAUTIFUL BUT NOT WORTH THE TROUBLE
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Elegant Looking Tank

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
JackandTrev
from Florida
Runs really quiet - looks stunning - fish more than happy. Great for a beginner in fish keeping. Everything included in the set up except of course accessories.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tank

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
FishiesAreFriendsNotFood
from Arizona
After maintaining a 1 gallon tank for about a year, my guppies had multiplied beyond the capacity of my current tank, so I decided I should upgrade to a bigger model. My first attraction to the Fluval Edge was the style. It is very streamlined and beautiful on display. I liked the 12 gallon option better because it is taller than most tanks and allows for a greater viewing area than shorter tanks. I also love the “Night Lighting” LED option as well. My tank lights up almost like a Glowlight tank at night. Be aware that even at night the lights are still too bright to be used in a bedroom, but it works perfectly in my living room. It lights my way to the kitchen at night without hurting my eyes. I couldn’t be more pleased with my purchase. I rated this tank at 4.5 pet paws so I rounded it up to 5. I only took a half point off for two reasons. First, the instructions illustrate how to remove the bubbles that form at the top of the tank when filling. I spent a lot of time removing bubbles only to find out that the filter kicks bubbles underneath the rim anyway. Don’t waste your time on bubble extraction. Lastly, I think the opening at the top could have been a little bigger. However, both reasons are petty compared to the awesomeness of this tank. Great Job Fluval!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Creates a GREAT show tank!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChengKo
from Saint Paul, MN
I bought one of these, used, a while ago & it is an AMAZING show tank! EVERY visitor would take hours just watching the fish swim around in the Iwagumi aquascape we had done in there. Great tank to start out with if you want a nice show tank!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT TANK!!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Richimpact
BROUGHT THIS TANK FOR MY KIDS THEY LOVE IT!!!!! THE MAINTENANCE ON THE TANK IS EASY AND IT'S BASICALLY LIKE A SELF-INSTALL JUST ADD WATER AND FISH!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Now I want the 12 gallon too!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
EnoLovesFish
from Houston, TX
i love my new fluval 6 gallon! I have a 50 gallon planted tank but wanted something unobtrusive and stylish in the bedroom. I set it up with glittery black sand and white river stones. The light really sets it off. I put my half moon betta in it and he is possibly the most spoiled and happiest betta (not to mention one of the most beautiful...I don't care for bettas, and I bought this one, he was so unique) on the planet. I also purchased the heating element that went with it. I don't love the fact that the heater isn't adjustable, but it fits the tank and keeps the water sufficiently warm as my boyfriend likes the bought air to be sufficiently cold. I didn't fill the tank completely to the top so the betta could come up for air. I had it that way at first and every time he came up to the surface, he was hitting glass and seemed to be getting panicky. I realize sooner or later he would have figured out that near the filter was "surfaceable" but I took a liitle water out instead. It doesn't detract from the tanks beauty. Filter works great, almost too great. I had to turn it down some, it was pushing the sand around in the tank. The blue light is wonderful and I have to force myself to turn it off so I don't lay awake staring at it all night and to give the fish a break. Getting detritus out of the tank can be a challenge given the way the tank is designed. I just use my hands as it is easier than a net. There is a fluval net designed for this type of tank. It does work better than a regular net, so I would recommend purchasing it. The only thing I can say negative about the tank is it needs level floors or you may have to put something under the base of the tank to level it if you want the water all the way to the top. Other than that, i am so happy I bought this tank. It is exactly what I wanted and possibly my most favorite tank I have owned to date.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't be fooled!

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
JustinK
from West Haven, CT
Don’t be lured in by this tanks good looks. It’s actually a seriously flawed design. If you overfill you run the risk of ”upsplash” from the filter getting inside the light bar and damaging the LEDs. I’ve had mine for about six months and only 8 of the 21 LEDs are still functional, and most of the 8 are only about half as bright as they should be. My fish live by the light of a lamp I’ve had to place next to the tank. Also the tank must be placed on a PERFECTLY level surface or you will get an air bubble in one corner. I leveled mine as best I could with a digital level and I still get a bubble in the back corner that I have to take care of everyday. Maybe that’s not a huge deal but it does kind of defeat the whole purpose of the edgeless design. I’m going to be tearing this tank down, donating the fish, and starting all over again with something a little more traditional. I would suggest you go this route too, unless you want something that’s going to require pretty much daily maintenance .
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
21of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice aquarium

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
CesarV
Really well built, very nice appearance. The filter starts noisy but quiets down after a few days, it will also push air into the top of the aquarium unless you have it on low which is annoying but overall a really nice setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ludwig
from Brandon, FL
This is a beautiful aquarium. Although I would prefer a larger one I don't have the space so the size is perfect as well as the configuration, tall and narrow. Also the look of this one goes really well with my living room as my decor is very modern. I am very happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love It

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
jillyj
from Boston
Just set this up on my desk. It looks great! After reading the reviews, I made sure that my arm could reach the top of the inside of the glass everywhere, gravel vac could reach all of the corners, and the net as well. Because this sits on my desk (and maybe having short arms/small hands), everything reached! Used to own a BiOrb, so am used to sticking my arm into an aquarium... that being said I intend to use the algae magnet on the top and waterline once a week to avoid the water-stainy buildup the sponge-on-a-stick can't reach.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>