petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black

Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black

Sealed glass top provides spectacular high-definition viewingEfficient LED lighting system with 7600K high luminosity – suitable for aquatic plants3-position On/Off switch: Bright Daytime, Deep Blue Nighttime and OffLow voltage power supply increases safetyPowerful easy-to-use 3-stage filtration with CycleGuard keeps water clear and healthyIdeal desktop fish tank for homes or officesThe Fluval Edge fish tank comes with a 2-year warrantyThis item ships via freight carrier. Free shipping, if applicable, includes curbside delivery only.
Average Customer Rating:
4.387 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
28 out of 31(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Review 1 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Small Aquarium

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas
This is nice small aquarium that has a unique look to it. As other reviews have stated the opening at the top is small. Air bubbles can get trapped under the top glass, however they are easy to remove. The shipping on my item was first class and handled by FedEx Freight. The item was on its own pallet and the exterior box suffered no damage. The aquarium box and aquarium was in perfect condition .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Returning so disappointed i was unaware the 6 gal holds only 1 fish "or "3 tiny guppie size fish

PostedApril 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Tucson AZ
Uaware 6 gl holds only 1-2 fish "or" 3-4 guppie sz
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Tank

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Port Orchard, WA
The first tank that was delivered was cracked on the top, but I had no problem with customer service sending a new one. I researched for a while before deciding on this tank. The pros are it's sleek modern look, and how it hides your filter so you don't see a bunch of wires. The filter is not very loud, and the tank was not hard to set up. The cons are the opening on top is not very big, so a little hard to get in and clean. With the perk of not seeing a visible water line and you get a great view on top of tank also comes with the fact that you can't simply reach into your tank whenever you want to. You have to empty out some water or it will overflow when you reach inside. Air bubbles will also appear on top of tank, but no problem with a magnet aquarium cleaner. Lots of great tips on YouTube for set up and maintenance. Overall happy with purchase and am thinking of getting the larger 12 gallon tank too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product overall

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
This was without a doubt, the most well packaged product I've ever bought...
Great Product
Very sleek design
Only Complaint would be the difficulty of working with a tank with such a small opening but that's expected and easy to deal with when you just take a cup of water out before puting your hand in the tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Broken filter

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Carson,ca
The product looks great that's why the 4 stars. But it cane with a broken filter now my daughter can't have it set up for Christmas. But I'll get it up. I'll just have to go spend 30-40 and a filter that will fit the set up. I've contacted fluval (Hagen) direct but I won't get a response until after Xmas I'm sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so good

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from durham nc
After obsessing over which tank to purchase, I ended up choosing the fluval edge12 for a planted aquarium. Living in a modern house, I was drawn to the clean lines of the tank. Though the access opening is a bit small, it is large enough to do what you might have to do. Even though the LED lighting is improved, I have upgraded to the 27 watt system with dimmer which actually costs more than the Fluval Edge12 setup itself. but for a planted aquarium I wanted to grow plants that required more light.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I have had this tank for about 6 months now and I love it since it isn't the typical ugly tank with the filter and other gadgets piled on top. Everyone who sees the tank comments on how nice it looks. If you get the Fluval gravel vacuum cleaning isn't a big deal. Since I have a goldfish in the tank so I do weekly 25-50% water changes since the ammonia seems to build up very quickly in this tank. Overall I'm very happy with this product and would recommend it to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great tank!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from East Patchogue, NY
I had an Eclipse tank which gave me about 8 years of enjoyment. Recently I went to feed my fish and realized the filter died. I went directly to Petco.com and looked for a new tank. As soon as I spotted this tank I knew it was the one I wanted. I looked at all the tanks but ordered this one. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition. I took everything out of the box, read the instructions and had it running and ready with water & conditioners (included) in an hour. I put my fish in the tank and they loved it too! It has a clear day & blue night light which are great. I love how the whole tank is glass, even the top. I can look down into it, no lid to block my view. My three kids are drawn to it too. I find myself just looking at the fish more often with this tank. You will not be disappointed at all if you purchase. I have it on my kitchen peninsula and it's a great fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BAD INVESTMENT !

PostedJune 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Granada Hills, Ca
I purchased the Fluval Edge several months ago, and was not happy from the start! The assembly was poor and seemed cheap when compared to my 306 Fluval filter.
A week ago I noticed that half of the LEDs were out.
THis morning the filter stopped working.
The Edge costs too much, and delivers too little!
Save your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
19of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Temple, Tx
Love it. Matches the colors of the room that I have the fish tank in. More than a fish tank but a item of conversation.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
My review is based simply on appearance and quality of the equipment, as the tank is setup but missing fish. I've never seen a better looking aquarium, this one takes the cake on looks. It's extremely easy to setup and the filter takes just a quick moment to start pumping. With some minimal decor, this tank really does look great and will make a very suitable location for 2 dwarf puffers in the near future. The small footprint of the aquarium allows storage on a small table in an apartment or small space. Great buy, thanks Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This tank is awesome, it looks amazing

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
Tank itself looks really nice, has that modern kind of sophisticated look I was looking for to show for in my office. I have had it for 4 weeks now and water is still crystal clear. Fish are all lively and happy and seem to love their new home. I wish the opening would be a little better or engineered so that feeding time and the way food goes in works better than it does. Over all just amazing
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

poorly designed light switch

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Just set up a Fluval Ege 6 gallon. Beautiful, quality product, with a serious design flaw. The light switch is very diffucult to operate, even for a strong person. So if you don't have strong fingers, avoid this model. Hopefully Fluval will source a better switch to use... Otherwise a great aquarium !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluval Edge Aquarium

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Absolutely beautiful aquarium. Very aesthetic and original design. Great if you are looking for a mid-sized tank. Good filtration system. Love the blue light "night" option-- really makes the tank look neat.
Only flaw is that the opening to the aquarium at the top is relatively small (it does not span the entire top of the tank), so take note of that before you buy any large rocks/decorations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tank

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from buffalo ny
This was my first aquarium which I purchased for my Betta fish and dwarf african frog. I loved the look of the smaller Fluval tank, but after reading the not so great reviews and researching what could live together in a tank, opted for this tank in december. Both are very happy in this tank. I have it set on the low flow and my betta loves playing in the bubbles, easy to clean and have had no issues. Also bought the mag float cleaner magnet for the top as I leave a little air at the top for both of them and it gets condensation bubbles at the top which you can push right into the middle. Also used the Jager-elhiem thermometer with this unit
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
I bought this tank for my husband for Christmas. It's been some time since he's had fish, so I wanted to him to start small, then grow later. We've had a great experience thus far with the tank, but I'd recommend not getting small fish for this tank. My husband bought three cardinal tetras, and we had no issues at all. When we went to buy three more, these three were much smaller and they kept ending up in the filter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Modern looking tank

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Arcadia, CA
I ordered this tank online as a gift for someone and it came cracked! It was no problem though just a little bit of a hassle to go exchange it but we went to a nearby Petco store and exchanged it for a new one. It looks amazing although it is a bit small. Very modern looking!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

FRUSTRATING

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from PHILA., PA
MY FIRST TANK WAS 2 YEARS OLD NO PROBLEMS. REPLACED WITH 3 BRAND NEW TANKS TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE NEW LIGHTING. THE FIRST 2 TANKS THE LIGHTS FLOODED THE 3RD THE TRANSFORMER BLEW AFTER 4 HOURS. HAGEN WAS WONDERFUL REPLACING PARTS HOWEVER REPLACING THE LIGHT IS DIFFICULT ( MICROSURGERY). REMOVING THE WIRING FOR THE TRANSFORMER WITH A 12 GAL FULL TANK WAS THE WORST. WATER EVERYWHERE! MY LAST ATTEMPT TO SALVAGE NEXT BREAKDOWN I WILL REPLACE.. TANKS ARE BEAUTIFUL BUT NOT WORTH THE TROUBLE
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Elegant Looking Tank

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Runs really quiet - looks stunning - fish more than happy. Great for a beginner in fish keeping. Everything included in the set up except of course accessories.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fluval Edge Aquarium Kit in Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tank

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
After maintaining a 1 gallon tank for about a year, my guppies had multiplied beyond the capacity of my current tank, so I decided I should upgrade to a bigger model. My first attraction to the Fluval Edge was the style. It is very streamlined and beautiful on display. I liked the 12 gallon option better because it is taller than most tanks and allows for a greater viewing area than shorter tanks. I also love the “Night Lighting” LED option as well. My tank lights up almost like a Glowlight tank at night. Be aware that even at night the lights are still too bright to be used in a bedroom, but it works perfectly in my living room. It lights my way to the kitchen at night without hurting my eyes. I couldn’t be more pleased with my purchase. I rated this tank at 4.5 pet paws so I rounded it up to 5. I only took a half point off for two reasons. First, the instructions illustrate how to remove the bubbles that form at the top of the tank when filling. I spent a lot of time removing bubbles only to find out that the filter kicks bubbles underneath the rim anyway. Don’t waste your time on bubble extraction. Lastly, I think the opening at the top could have been a little bigger. However, both reasons are petty compared to the awesomeness of this tank. Great Job Fluval!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>