petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit

Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit

Etched glass and metal highlights for a sleek, modern designPerfect countertop or desktop fish tankIncludes ample lighting - 31 LED illuminate your fish and décorPump and filtration system are conveniently located in a separate chamberComes with all the necessary filter media2 gallon capacity - ideal for a spacious Betta fish tank
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Review 1 for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fluval Spec

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
EADN
from Wilmington, DE
I'd looked at numerous small aquariums but none would work in the small space or were acrylic, didn't have lighting or a filtration system.(try finding one for a small tank that really works)
The Fluval Spec is fast and easy to set up and nearly silent to run. Frosted glass ends the need to hide unsightly cords or the pump leaving just the view of your fish. Only suggestion to Fluval, is perhaps an insert if the black background is too dark for your preference or needs. Even as a special order or after market addition of prints, colours or scenes.
Would love to see Fluval do a deep half moon aquarium in this style.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far so good

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
fishfannubie
from San Diego
Lovely piece of equipment. Took some preparations to get the water ready for the fish, but that has to do with the fish's needs, not a problem with the tank.
Very quiet pump, LED very bright and tasteful. Small desktop footprint. Just put the Betta fish in today for the first time.
So far happy with the tank
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Tank Ever!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fluval101
I bought this tank for my son 5 weeks ago, and it has been nothing but amazing. The filtration system is amazing and keeps the tank crystal clear, while the lighting system is powerful enough to grow aquatic plants. The sleek design fits anywhere, and is really convenient and pleasing to the eye. We have added a bubblier and decorations and still have room to go! If your looking for a great nano tank, then buy this one! You will never regret it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome little Tank!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dezi09087
from Inglewood CA
It is super quiet. I have this little tank on my desk at work. I have my blue betta in it and he loves it!!! I have 5 plants (live) in there with him too because they love hinding spots. The low setting on the pump is a little strong but he likes getting in the current sometimes. I have a sticky heater on the back or you can submurge one near the pump. Filter and pump are totally hidden and it comes with a super bright LED lamp which is good with live plants. All you need for this tank is water, Rocks, decour and of course little fish or in my case one betta. Everyone at work wants one now!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little tank, pump a little strong

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
JulF
from Dripping Springs, TX
This is a great little tank for a desktop!! I have my beautiful white betta in it and he looks awesome with the black background and black rocks I have in it. The LED light is quite bright and illuminates the tank very well. My only issue is that the pump is a little too strong, even on the lowest setting. I get around that by just plugging in the pump for an hour a day. While it's circulating my betta has figured out a calm spot at the bottom he can hang out while it's running. The top intake vent is also pretty strong and little fish like neon tetras may get stuck to it. I've found my betta stuck to it when the pump is on, but he's strong enough to pull away when he wants. Still love it enough to overlook the pump issue though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small but efficient

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lapras
from Charlotte, nc
Very nice looking and compact little tank. Only bad thing us that the only fish you can really put in it is a betta fish. Had mine for 2 months and everythings running smoothly, super quiet filtration.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little tank

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Orchidfiend
from Waco, Texas
It's a well made small tank made for a desk top or a small counter space. It works beautifully. Pointers I would add to the instructions include that the pump is submersible, and that the flow rate can be varied using the little side switch with the + and - options. It's probably easier to set the flow prior to setting the unit up. The highest flow rate appears to be a little too rapid for my Betta fish. The top flow grid is open enough to suck up floating food, so consider that when thinking of feeding the fish. I like the tank and will purchase another for my office. It's the perfect size for small fish like ember tetras.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Samll but Great tank

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
dch75
from Richmond VA
Looks good. My fish love it and my java ferns are doing great. I would deff buy another if I got the chance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Small

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ogopogo
from Lancaster, Ohio
When I received this aquarium from my online order it was damaged. There was no indication of damage to the boxes so it was either a previous return or damaged before packing at the factory.
My first impression was how small the fish compartment was. It would do well for a desktop aquarium, but a 5 gallon tank complete with high quality heater and lamp were about the same price.
I drove to the PetCo store in Pickerington and they were very quick to offer a refund. Aquariums are not their focus so they only had a few to look at.
Altogether a positive result.
This was for a friend of mine who is terminally ill with cancer. Her new 5 gallon aquarium and betta make her very happy.
I just placed another online order with PetCo because my heater and her plants came from them, And she wanted the same heater that I bought, an ornament and more plants.
Yes I will buy here again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great looking kit tank

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
ASGLRain
from Hawaii
This is a very neat little tank and strong light.
Be careful with the pump on the highest setting. I have small fish and it was like looking at a underwater tornado. Even on lowest its still strong but the fish are getting used to no being in the direct current.
I also glued the small slit on the bottom closed as I don't know why you would want to by pass all the filter material. Dosn't even line up with the filter pad just the bio material but water will take the path of least resistance and pull mostly from the bottom where the powerhead is located, skipping all the wonderful filter material.
I still rate this good because its a surface filtering tank with a lot of filter space and a strong light. Seems to be growing hair grass well and that's med-high light.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fluval Spec Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fluval Spec

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
2ndknigt
from Fresno,CA
I currently own one of these in FW setup with Co2 injection and overall I like it. The light is strong enough to grow plants as is but won't be strong enough for coral. Water circulation is adequate on highest setting for saltwater requirements. Find a stronger light and this would make a excellent saltwater desktop tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.