petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy

Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy

Creates mental stimulation & a unique challenge every timeCones & sliders must be moved to reveal treatsRubber feet to prevent slidingInstruction booklet included for tips & tricks for training
Average Customer Rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy
Review 1 for Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product - makes your dog really think

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Duluth, MN
I've purchased several other dog puzzles of a different brand and they worked all right for my 6 year old Goldendoodle. But he typically figured them out within a few seconds to a few minutes.
This puzzle is a different story. Because the orange towers are movable, we placed them in different slots so they acted as hindrances to the other slots where treats were hidden. He moved things around with his snout, then realized he had to pick the orange pieces up with his mouth (and moved them several feet away from the toy so they wouldn't get in the way). I'm not going to lie, it's very humorous watching him get the treats out of this thing.
Overall, our dog took probably 5-10 minutes to get all of the treats out of this toy. I could see his gears grinding as he tried to figure it out and it was quite an amusing show. I'm very happy with this purchase because I feel it's finally a good toy my dog can use to work his brain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

loads of fun

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
my corgis love this game. They go back to it throughout the day when they get bored. keeps attention of smart inquisitive dogs
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doggie Chess Rocks!

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Poughkeepsie NY
My Sheltie is smart and needs mental stimulation. With the bad winter still lingering I thought it would be great to make him find his food in an entertaining way. I only had to show him once or twice how the pieces move. After that he was able to figure it out after trying for a short time. He gets excited when I get the game out, and I would recommend this to anyone who has an inquisitive dog. The pieces move easily and they are built very well. The materials are not flimsy at all. It was well worth the money. It is a great game!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase!

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
My 5 months old Westie loves it! In 1 week she was playing like a pro. She wants to play it daily even with her regular food. Terriers need to exercise physically and mentally.
Great game for a rainy day!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best game

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from TX
We have 3 of these treat puzzle toys. This is the sturdiest of them-the plastic seems thick and tough but easy to clean (vs the wooden one we can't really disinfect and the cheaper plastic one).
The sliding part of the puzzle is easy but lifting the yellow things is challenging. With all the moving parts we can vary where to hide the treats and keep it interesting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant product

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New England
This game is durable and well thought out. It didn't take long for my dogs to "get" it but I don't foresee it getting dusty on the shelf. There are plenty of ways to switch things up for them - to make it more interesting, more difficult, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome toy!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Minneapolis, MN
I have a mini Australian Shepherd and he loves the toy! We started out with using just the sliding blocks and added the other pieces a few tries later. He gets faster at it every time. I would highly recommend this toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great Challenge

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ann Arbor, MI
We bought this for a Bull Terrier. He is very challenged by this toy so far. He has another puzzle that became easy for him quickly but this toy has so many different possible combinations he loves it! We're very happy with this buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Trixie Activity Chess Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A learning experience

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, Tx
I followed the directions on how to use it and it worked out just fine for my dog which is a husky/german shephard. Except I just use it a few times a week.
I suggest repeating the same trick twice to make sure he remembers it if he has a problem figuring it out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.