petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat

Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat

Fun and colorful home for dwarf hamsters, hamsters, and mice - also serves as gerbil cageComes complete with food dish, water bottle, exercise wheel and a hanging nestFront and top wire doors allow you to easily access your pet at any timeIncludes food, treat sticks & soft granule beddingIdeal mouse cage for beginners
Average Customer Rating:
4.219 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
27 out of 32(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Review 1 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT THE BEST CAGE!

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
beanso
from Rhode Island
This cage was easy to put together and easy to clean, but has not held up well at all. We have had to duct tape the attachment openings because the hamster learned to open them, the attachment tubes do not stay on well and fall off. We have had to secure the top of the cage with duct tape and binder clips, as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
cheeksandathena
from Oceanside,Ny
I had bought this cage last year and it is HORRIBLE. I purchased it for my first Syrian hamster. Then I went on and bought the CritterTrail tubes. I thought my hamster was doing pretty good, until a few months ago. My hamster had CHEWED THROUGH THE CAGE'S CHEEP PLASTIC AND ESCAPED. This cage was the work experience of my life.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NEVER BUY CRITTERTRAIL CAGES

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
13peyton13
from Texas
Crtittertrail cages are WAY TOO SMALL for ANY furry friend. It is poor quality. It is WAY BELOW the minimum cage size. They tell you it is okay to sell this HORRIBLE cage to uninformed buyers. PLEASE DO RESEARCH BEFORE buying/adopting pet(s). I would NEVER buy a cage like this and torture my furry friend because he/she has too small of a cage. Furry friends need room to run around and play. Also the wheel the cage comes with is horrible, it is a very low quality. If you want lots of correct information go subscribe to ChocolateColors26 on Youtube, she's amazing. Also for people looking for a wheel, NEVER buy wire or mesh wheels, it causes furry friend to get bumble foot, which is EXTREMELY painful. Also NEVER bathe your furry friend(s) in water, it is bad for them. Furry friends need lot of space to run around and play, they need chews to wear down their continuously growing teeth, and toys to keep them entertained. If you get them a friend make sure it is ONLY a female-female or a male-male pair, you should NEVER breed furry friend at home, it is extremely dangerous and it can possibly kill/harm the mother, and the babies could be low quality, when you try to sell them, no one would take them leaving them homeless. :( Anyways, please do research for your fuzzy friend insuring them a long/happy life. :)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage for small animals!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
LittleBlackMouse
from Jacksonville, FL
I own 1 male fancy mouse that I also got from Petco, and I got this with him. He was very skittish at first, but now that he has settled in after about 3-4 months. He loves this home and the accessories that come with it! The treat sticks were a bit too messy and stuck to the bedding, so I stored them away. The bedding included is only enough for about 1 week before cleaning the cage. The wheel is a bit noisy, but I fixed that with a tiny rubber band to cover the space that the wheel had to move around. The food that comes with this is pretty good, but after it ran out, I switched. Overall, I think this is a pretty good deal if you are getting your first small animal. I would recommend this to anyone planning on getting 1 mouse, hamster or gerbil.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product has great fetures

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
luv2spend
from washington
this product has left my hamster very happy. he loves the food it came with. he also loves the hamster wheel so much. I am also happy with it because the food and water is easier to change
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect starter kit!

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pooh565
from Jacksonville, FL
We seemed to acquire 2 hamsters and had to separate them immediately. Thanks to all the positive reviews on this product I ended up getting it and the one hamster enjoys his new home. I ended up taking the hanging bed out and putting another Petco home in it. Now we are going to purchase this same starter kit for the other hamster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So wonderful!

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvrodents9785
from Denver,Colorado
I have the same cage only its a bit different.I love it and I'm sure my hamster does to!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dangerous

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cloverrpet
from Holyoke
My pet hamster got tangled up in the nesting that can hang from top of cage If we were not home she could have been cut apart from the string that had unraveled from nesting. It was wrapped tightly around her body..
Also the wheel is noisy and does not connect nicely to cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
18of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Habitat for Teddy Bear Hamster

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
LAMom1Boy
from Natchitoches, LA
We just put this habitat together for our new teddy bear hamster. It was easy to assemble, and we added the expansion kit 2 to it. Our hamster immediately loved it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
18of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cute cage

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hamsterluver2012
from Greencove, FL
This cage is a very good starting cage for a first hamster. I love that it already comes with everything you need for your hamster. It is very easy to clean and put together. I have had it a year and it still looks new!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i love it !

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
ilovemyhamsteroreo
from plainfield, IL
this a fantastic cage !! it was a very good price for what came in it i would recremend it to anyone except for someone with a guinea pig because it is too little for them my fancy teddy bear hamster LOVES it and so do i
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Cage I've Ever Had!!

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
DJhammy
This cage is great! It comes with everything that a hamster needs. I put my Djungarian hamster in this cage and it's been great. It's so easy to clean because you simply unclip the top of the cage from the bottom. This cage has bars that are close together so my hamster can't get out and the door is very secure and there's no way a hamster could open it. I also love this cage because you can get extensions to add to the sides of the cage.(There are two extension holes on either side of the cage) This cage is very safe, easy to clean, secure, and good quality.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ok but...

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
HamsterLover33155
from Miami, Fl
Overall the product was good but there was some problems. The wheel that came with the cage is WAY to big for my hamster. She cant even move it! Its a fair size and I like that it came with many other thing such as bedding and food. But the treats caused ants to come and invade the room that the treats were in. My hamster was unharmed. It was a good price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love The Cage !

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Titalovesyouhamster
from Syracuse
I love this cage, not only me but my hamster. I bought this for my Teddy Bear. It came with Food, bedding, 2 treats, wheel, waterbottle and a nest . I bought tubes and he goes all the way around and thinks he actually goes into a new world. But he's getting to big so I have to buy another cage so i can connet them together. He is spoiled ! I DO recommend this cage ! ETC. It comes with EVERYTHING a begginer needs :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage, I recommend it.

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
HelloImJoey
from New York, NY
This was my first cage for my Teddy Bear hamster and it was great! The cage is bigger in person just look at my pics.. The waterbottle was good and the food/bedding it came was also good. I never got to try out the wheel it comes with because I already a silent one. It snaps on securely so your small animal wont escape. If you have a Teddy Bear hamster for this cage after a while you might want to expand it with tubes and what not. Overall this cage was an excellent buy, and affordable to!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great space

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
harry5678
my hamster loves it and she loves to run around it has more then anogh space
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
4TheLuvofAnimals
from Pensacola, FL
I bought this product for my dwarf hamster, Cali. The cage is the PERFECT size for her, and it fits nicely on the bookshelf in my bedroom (do not worry, the cage isnt that small at all). The cage came with two treat sticks, which she did not like very much, but she LOVED the seed mix. The cage also came with a food bowl, wheel, and a little hangable nest. She also loves the bedding that it came with, and I will try to purchase that kind from now on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful first cage!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
GerbilsandBettas
i got this for my first gerbil and he loved it. only the wheel didnt work very well so i got him a new one.he ate the treats like they were the best thing in the world.the waterbottle was great only if you have an animal that likes to chew make sure to keep another one on hand. he also loved the little toy. he would chew on it and use the material as a nest.he grew out of it though so i had to get a new one.this is a great product but should really be just a first cage only.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good addition

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
animallover3329
from maryland
this cage is too small for a single syrian hamster, but i added it onto my other cage and my hamster loves his mansion!!!!!! definitly worth the 30$
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet CritterTrail Complete Kit Starter Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really cool!

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hamsterwithastripe
from Richmond, VA
This is a great starter kit!It includes all the NECESSARY needs.I would also get him hide-under toy because that is where my hammy likes to sleep.Also,if you want everything in one cage, this may be a bit small for teddies.I reccommend for any small rodent that you buy two of these cages with a connector tube.That way, you could do one cage for food,water, and excersize, and another cage for leisure and toys.Really awesome for beginners!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>