petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs

Reflective trim provides safety & visibility at nightHigh quality, slip resistant, rubber sole designed to keep paws protected from all-terrainPolar fleece lining for extra insulation and comfortSecure easily with adjustable velcro closuresFashionable, yet durable
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
10 out of 16(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent boot - need instructions? Read review.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bath, NY
Adopted a dog that would not go out in bitter cold because of feet sensitivity. Researched a bit, then went to Petco to buy a set. Ended up buying their brand because of size selection. I am very happy that I did.
The boot is high, so snow does not get into the shoe. The 2 velcro enclosures keep the boot securely on the dogs foot. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because I had to figure out how to get the darn things on myself. No instructions. I can see how people would get frustrated trying to figure this out when attempting to put on their dog for the first time. Most would give up and take back, but do not because I figured it out. Keep reading...
First make sure the fit is correct. This is very important! Have dog stand on piece of paper and mark where the tip of the nails and the back of the paw land. Then of course measure. Depending on the brand my schnauzer could have been an XXsmall, Xsmall or a small, so read the sizing on the packaging carefully.
The top part is like a nylon sock material, roll it down like you would if putting socks on a baby. Place the dogs foot pointed down into the shoe, (no need to push the paw in yet). Roll the sock up. As you are rolling, pull up and the paw will slide right in. You may have to do some minor adjustments. Hook the top velcro so that it encircles above the hock (back leg) and wrist (front leg). The bottom velcro should encircle the bottom of the pastern at the back of the paw. The velcro should be tight just don't cut off the blood flow! One more word of caution: If your dog still has their dewclaws watch that they do not get caught. Hope this helps!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

All weather boots

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Rochester MN
I could not get my Lab's foot down in there. It needs to be open. I will have to send them back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super Boots but still not Secure

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
I got these for my dog in expectation of the cold freeze that we are now in. My dog had a broken leg several years ago and had a metal rod placed in his leg to help him heal because he was too hyper. Now he is 10 yrs. old and still hyper but loved just as much. That rod causes him to wince in pain when he walks on snow so these boots prevent that from happening as the impact from the cold is reduced. They are well made with a solid rubber sole on the bottom and two Velcro straps that wrap fairly snug on the upper sock. The problem is that on occasion he will shake one off and I have to go hunt it down. The sock should have been better made with a waterproof, insulated material but for now these work fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bought wrong size

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
After unsuccessfully attempting to put one on my dog in the store, I bought one size up thinking the size was the issue. When I got home and put them on my puppy, they ended up being too big. Initially I struggled even getting the larger size on. Here's the trick: Fold the sock portion all the way down to the foot opening, slide the paw in, roll the sock back up, fasten the velcro and your dog will be good to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these boots!!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fayetteville, AR
I have a rambunctious, furry, 85 pound, 4-year old Old English Sheepdog. When an inch of freezing rain fell and a foot of snow was predicted for Northwest Arkansas the first week of December I drove to Petco between raindrops and snowflakes and bought these boots...the last package in his size. It was so slippery I had to park my car at the bottom of the hill and walk the last mile home. We have no sidewalks near our home and past experience said our daily walks would be uncomfortable with ice balls stuck between the pads on the feet; ice, sand and grit abrading the skin; and road chemicals/brine burning or drying out the skin. If you put the boots on and make sure the paws are all the way in and the velcro straps are TIGHT, not only do the boots stay on, the dog doesn't drag his feet. If you hear a boot dragging the velcro needs to be tightened. After a couple minute learning curve, the zip was back in my pup's step! He wore the boots (twice a day for over a week) on mile-long walks...both flat surface and some steep up and down hills. We (old retired) humans had a hard time not slipping on the slick road, and our guy did slip a couple times when he was on glare ice, but in the past he slipped with his "bare feet" on ice. That said, these boots are a most coveted prize!! Good job, Petco.
Bonus: NO ROAD DEBRIS TRACKED INTO THE HOUSE for the first time in 4 years for this dog and 11 years for the last one!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really works for what I needed

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Riverside,CA
My shepherd just had some major paw surgery to remove a very large mass bewteen his toes. The bottom of his paw is very raw and needs his bandages changed every 48 hours. One major issue I needed a way to protect the bottom of his paw when he went outside to go the bathroom etc...so the bottom of his paw would not get wet. I had bought a pretty expensive recovery boot online and he has since mangled it trying to take it off. I found these and put it on his paw over his bandages and it fits perfectly (well almost -the sock part is too high so I cut it off as it made it too difficult to get over his injured paw). It is now the perfect recovery boot (looks like a doggie UGG boot now). It does not bother him at all and he has the freedom to walk around and still go outside without risk of injury to his paw. I like that it has velcro so I can make it a little more snug & it is breathable so his paw does not get too hot. Best part is that is he destroys one I have 3 left and they were about half of what I paid for one boot online!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shoes I found

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Curtis, MI
I was vey happy with the quality and style of these shoes. The 2 bands worked great to keep the shoes on, much better than others I tried. My only problem was I ordered them too big, follow the sizing chart and you should be fine--I allowed for extra room and it was not necessary, I had to re-order correct size(easy return though!)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for an active pooch...

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Erie, PA
I bought these for my 7 mo. golden-doodle to play in the snow... Snow clumps in her toes and on her legs. I am returning these boots, because they kept on falling off. They were also difficult to put on her feet.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldn't recommend

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
Very difficult to get the paw into this boot because the sock/leg part is so long. Other similar shoes with a long sock have have an opening all the way down the front which makes it easy to get the foot into the shoe part, and the opening closes with a Velcro strap. I had to return these to Petco and buy a shoe elsewhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boots

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
I have a Jack Russell and she hates things on her feet but she loved these once she realized they keep her paws from freezing. Going to get another pair for my lab! You do need to make sure the straps are tightened on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best paw protectors I have found

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
We have a 75lb Australian Shepard who is a "licker" but started to gnaw at his paw and created wounds. We first used men's polo socks with good ribbing to help stay up on his leg along with Velcro above the lower foot. This worked OK, but gets wet outside and you have to change the sock. I have bought about every boot imaginable and this one is the best. It has a rubber soul that keeps from slipping on floors. Also, the two Velcro straps help secure it on the leg. Note: just get it tight enough but don't cut off the dogs circulation. Then the material is flexible enough so that when he stands the boot flex's. So many expensive boots have no flex ability at the dogs paw joint, so it is not good when the dog stands, but not a problem with this one. Also, waterproof so you are not constantly changing it. I will add that he has chewed a couple so that is a possibility, but again this one is the best I have found to protect his paw and again we are using it to keep him from licking and gnawing at his paw. Last, every now and then the boot can turn a little, so keep an eye on it, but seriously, all of the other boots were a disaster when it came to the boot remaining straight on the dogs paw. THIS ONE IS THE BEST.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Boots

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee Wi
I think the boots look great and would probably be wonderful if I could have gotten them on my Chihuahuas little paws. Since you can't tell a dog to "push" as you can with a child, I and a petco store employee found it quite an impossible task. I returned them and bought a pair "or a set" with a zipper allowing easy placement of the paws into the boot.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth it

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
I have a 65 lb. pitbull/terrier mix. While the boots LOOK nice on her, they are difficult to put on, are rather small (even though I purchased the largest size), and they do not stay on, especially when walking...which is the reason why I bought it in the first place. Don't waste your money on these boots. it's such a hassle to put on, and they immediately fall off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ice and Snow Shoes

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Sterling Heights, MI
I have to return the shoes for a larger size. I used the available guidelines for determining size before ordering. I could have gone either way (my Austrailian Sheperd mix's pauses measured at the upper end of medium, so I ordered Medium figuring a snug fit is better than a loose one. Unfortunately, the shoes are too small to install. The shoes appear to be sturdy and well-made.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Looks great but.....

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Duluth
These boots seemed like they would be great for our Min Pin but unfortunately we could not get them on her after several tries because they were so long & she has long skinny legs so had to return them
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco All-Weather Extreme Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps my Juicy's paws so warm !!!!

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Fountain, CO
This is the best pair of booties I have gotten Juicy . What I love about them is how high up the legs they go on her. She is a minpin and in CO we get lots of snow 4 inches and it to her belly. The old ones would still get snow in the booties cause the didnt go up the leg.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.