petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs

Reflective trim provides safety & visibility at nightHigh quality materials & design keeps paws protected from all-terrainSecure easily with adjustable velcro closuresNon-skid bottoms
Average Customer Rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
5 out of 11(45%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Review 1 for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor design!

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Colorado Springs
I bought two sets for my two dogs (8 shoes total)
They walked around in them just fine. One dog walks, the other runs.
After 10 minutes of walking in a field of ankle high shurbs / snow, the walking dog still had her shoes. The running dog only had two shoes.
For shoes that fall off in 10 minutes, these are crapola. No way to secure them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Protects knuckles on older dogs!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Scottsdale, AZ
These are excellent for older dogs that drag their rear paws and scrape their knuckles.
My 16 year old border collie was damaging the tops of his rear paws, causing them to bleed and making him reluctant to go on walks. I researched different booties to protect him.
These are really nice, as they slide on easily, have excellent velcro ties, and provide protection on both the bottom AND the top of the foot. Other booties just had a sole on the bottom and a sock on the top, but these have a thin dimpled rubber cover for both the top and bottom.
Now he looks forward to the walks and has improved both his walking speed and distance.
I would definitely recommend these booties for older dogs. (note: the velcro straps are a little long, but you can easily trim the excess with a scissor)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The material on the soles is very poor quality

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Santa Rosa, CA
The bottoms of all four shoes were through in 2 weeks. One completely ripped. Our dog is only 45 pounds and they were used on grass, not rockie sharp surfaces.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

petco all-weather outdoor paw protection for dogs

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from texas
I have tried all kinds of shoes for my cocker spaniels and these are the BEST ones I have ever found to use on their paws. One is an american cocker spaniel and the other is a multi spaniel. They both weigh between 28 and 31 pounds. I bought the size MD/LG. They have a velcro strap at the paw and another velcro strap at the stretch top legging. They also have a rubber pad on the paw and they seem comfortable and stay on very well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
After back sugery my 11 yr old Puggle did not get full use of his back legs again- he drags then a little. These boots protect his toes from scrapping which causes bleeding and continues to allow him to enjoy our daily walks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Boots work well

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Saint Paul MN
I have a 16 lb rescue dog that came from the south. This is his first MN winter and he is a real wimp. I'v tried a number of different boots and had trouble keeping them on his feet. These stay on. Unlike other reviewers, I find the velcro straps on the foot part ridiculously long but the straps on the upper part to be the perfect length. I have not had any issues with the velcro coming loose. I needed foot protection/warmth for walks on city sidewalks. Although he is wearing the tips on the front ones from rasping the sidewalk, and I do have to provide support when we walk on ice, he tolerates them well and will walk and run easily with them on. I will be buying additional pairs. I only gave 4 paws because of the quick wear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not what it says it is

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
I have had these for a week and already they are tearing on the bottom. they are also very slippery on snow and ice. and the strap at the top is right on my dog's little pad on her leg. which is irritating to her. she also licks her paws tons after i take them off.
the only good thing is that they do keep dry snow out. but they are not moisture/water resistant at all. and if snow gets in the Velcro, the straps come off and then they fall off her feet.
not high quality, not all weather, not slip resistant.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Only ones that have worked for me

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
These booties are the only product I have found that will stay on my golden retriever while he races around in the snow. Thanks to the velcro at the top, these stayed secure during a several hour snowshoe trip. I have tried three other kinds of booties, and they either fell off, snow (and ice) got in, or they became ripped during our adventures. I am now buying these for my other two dogs as well!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Runs smaller than other dog boots

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from PA
My dog takes a medium in other boots, but I couldn't even put these over her toenails.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A little mixed

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Similar to the first review I sort of have an "oodle" - he's a 3 year old Cavapoo, (King Charles Cavalier Spaniel/Poodle mix) who is about 25lbs. He absolutely loves the snow (I think he misses the Boston blizzards).
I'll preface the rest of the review that I realize dog booties come and go with my pooch. The first and only other pair of booties he had were nice! I can't remember where I got them from, otherwise I would have quickly replaced them. Those booties lasted for about 2 years when we were living in Boston through all of those horrific blizzards. Unfortunately, when he leaped through the piles of snow during one of our walks through about 2-3 feet of snow, two of the booties went missing and were never found.
Fast forward to this morning - We were out at the dog park for our first snow"storm" in New York City, which was about 2-4 inches of snow.
The good: His paws were dry when we came back in and he didn't slip at any point (even though he ran around like a mad dog!).
The bad: The velcro strap closest to the paw came undone several times and at one point, three of the booties came off (despite the fact that I tightened the straps as much as possible based on my past experience). Once snow packs into the velcro strap closest to the paw, it's pretty much a done deal. Either you'll have to keep putting the boot back on (like I did) or you can let the dream of your pooch returning home dry go.
On my final "replace the boot and tighten the strap" sequence, I reeled my pooch in and we had no issues getting back to the apartment without the booties coming off. Part of the reason the boot may have stayed on was because he had to walk rather than run home, which I'm sure he would have preferred to do. =c/
Overall, not a bad purchase. If Petco fixes the design in some way, this would be a great purchase!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco All-Weather Outdoor Paw Protection for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

good idea, poor design

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from montana
Before I start, I must say that much more expensive boots also have poor reviews....not sure if dogs were meant to wear shoes. I have a 100lb goldendoodle who loves to bound around as fast as he can, especially in the snow. Here are the problems I have found:
-Velcro around foot is WAY too short. Won't stay on
-Boots easily get twisted
-Hard to get on my dog's giant feet
-NO traction on bottoms....easily slips around on wintery ground
Maybe if you have a smaller, older, slower dog, there will work. Otherwise, don't waste your time.
However, I am pleased with Petco's service. Fast shipment and I am sure they will no problem taking these back when I return them to store, as they have been great with returns in the past.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.