petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Floating Turtle-Pier Basking Platform

Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Floating Turtle-Pier Basking Platform

Floats at water levelFeatures a basking platform and textured E-Z slide rampSuction cup holders for secure positioning
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 8(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Floating Turtle-Pier Basking Platform
Review 1 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Floating Turtle-Pier Basking Platform
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product looks great, but...

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
turtlemeister
from Kansas
Okay, I like the product design and it looks great in my tank. It functions well, with the exception of the suction cups at the bottom of the legs, so you just have to put some weight on the lower platform to keep it in place. The problem with the product...my turtles (2 RES) hate it! It has been in the tank a week now, and they will not get on the thing! I have tried gently coaxing them, and they still will not have anything to do with it. It makes me sad, because I think the product is really cool, but if they don't use it, or almost seem to be afraid of it, I might as well remove it and go back to my good old hollow log (from ZooMed)...which they loved! If it was up only to me, I would give the product a rating of 4 paws, but since my turtles only give it a 1 paw rating, I have to go with 3 paws and a non-recommendation.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Floating Turtle-Pier Basking Platform
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tasha26
from New York, ny
I have a 20 gallon tank and it wouldn't even fit inside. Guess it's kind of my fault for not reading the size clearly. That being said the product was well put together and seemed as if it would had fit I might of been happy.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Floating Turtle-Pier Basking Platform
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not good for large turtles

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
koki33
from NY,NY
I have two turtles, a 5" female & a 10" male.
My male turtle pops the ramp off every time he try's to climb up. If I place him on the dock myself it does support his weight. I would recommend this for people who have smaller turtles or are creative enough to improvise using an alternative ramp method.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Floating Turtle-Pier Basking Platform
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

turtle platform

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
babygirlalabama
from alabama
We really like the platform. We have noticed that if he sits closer to the edge sometimes a little water comes on to the platform. but overall, it's great. we had bought the set up that sits on top of the tank and they could climb up into it, but our turtle would have nothing to do with it, we even tried several days. But with this one, he was on it that night!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Floating Turtle-Pier Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good produt !!!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
joka
from kissimmee, fl
this dock works well because it supports the weight of my two turtles at the same time
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Floating Turtle-Pier Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our 2 turtles LOVE this! It keeps them dry.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Puyallup, Washington
We ordered this basking platform to use in our 40 gallon breeder tank which houses our 2 Red-Eared Slider turtles. We had another platform that used suction cups to adhere itself to the side of the tank and when our turtle or turtles climbed on it they would not be out of the water all of the way and they could not get completely dry. This platform does float and both turtles can climb aboard and keep totally dry and they both fit! They both LOVE this. They are on it for most of the day, every day. Great product!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Floating Turtle-Pier Basking Platform
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't work for our turtles.

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
007100
We bought the larger of the basking platforms for our two juvenile eastern painted turtles. The description says it's a good fit for tanks that are 20+ gallons, but it was a bit big even for our 30 gallon tank. Our turtles also both seemed to have issues with the ramp. Not sure if it was the texture or the angle of it, but neither would climb up it to bask or eat, so we had to take the whole platform out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Floating Turtle-Pier Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
OHCEGJA
from Lincoln, NE
Looks/ works great my baby Mississippi map turtle loves it (Tommy)! Plus you can buy a filter to go in the precut slot for extra filtration because I've noticed stuff settling under the dock, so definitely going to get. But other wise I love it!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.