petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform

Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform

Access door allows UVB penetrationAccess ramp with maximum water level indicatorFeatures a basking platform and underwater resting platformAdjustable suction cup holders for secure positioning
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Review 1 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lots of room to bask

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from cushing, ok
This is so awesome looking I had to modify the ramp. Bowser was not liking how slick it was and the ramp itself is too short for a more shallow tank. I extended the ramp with the ramp from her old basking ramp and added hot glue line in between the built in grip on the new ramp. Maybe if she was bigger it would be no big deal, but she also has to go down sideways like a crab to avoid sliding down her ramp and her OCD kicked in and she wont bask in the box she eats up there but hangs out on the bottom resting place. She is a fussy yurtle and gets mad for days when I rearrange her tank. So I figure eventually she will get over it and go bask?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from St. Johns, Fl
My Turtle Topper arrived a lot sooner than expected which was a wonderful surprise! Easy assembly and easy removal from the aquarium makes the once a week cleaning easy. HVing the Topper allows for a hugher water level which the turtles love! They're still getting used to climbing up the ramp which seems a bit steep and slippery for them. My smaller "Map" loves the below water platform but my "Cooter" has some issues with it because of his size. Since the sides are solid plastic and not see through, the turtles get spooked when I walk by and they see the top of my head through the clear top. Hopefully they'll get used to that issue. I did find the ramp on the bottom of the aquarium one day.....not sure how that happened. All in all I'm very happy with this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great idea...but that's it

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Central Washington
I'm very disappointed in this, it has great potential but falls short in ways that matter. It's slick smooth plastic, so my turtle can't get up the ramp. She outgrew the largest of those floating docks, so I was really looking forward to this, if it had the same rubbery texture as the floating docks (at least on the ramp) it would be a HOMERUN!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really neat

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from sulphur la
It's really neat! Better than anything I could of built, definitely worth the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Cool

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Mexico
I have full size red eared turtles in 55 gallon tank and there floating pad broke so I looked into this above tank residence. This was easy decision for me need something that was durable and long lasting this is it. This is well made turtle didn't want anything to do with it for at least a week and then they started up the ramp it takes a few or several try's they will learn and go up and down the ramp like champs. Turtles are very nervous with new stuff but will learn to love it. I thought the ramp was to steep but no they learn to use it just fine and they love to slide down into the tank.. like kids...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely love :)

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Utah
My two turtles absolutely love this above tank basking area.. especially the under water chill zone. I love it because when they have an "accident", a cup of water is all it takes to clean it out. Great product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Idea Ever

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cedar Lake, IN
Our lil buddy loves his new home. Had no problem adapting. He loves hanging out & basking in the light while getting dry from his swim.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pricey but so far worth it..

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Crete,Il.
It was easy to put together. It stays where you put it. It took awhile for my turtles to get to the basking platform, ( 3 days). I left the heat lite on all nite the third nite and in the morning I found them on it. I like the fact that they have a lot more swimming space and I can keep the water level higher. So far so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Penn plex above tank bask

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Nj
Wanted to have a bask area that didn't take up tank space. I found this online ,read reviews, sounded good.. My two YBS are slowly using this they are still exploring it. They do love to hang out on the under water perch tho. I'm using this on a 55G tank . The only draw back if you can even call it that is the suction cups. They don't stick to well. To solve this issue just wet the area where the suction cup will go and it should stick no problem. Over all great item for your turtles, can bask and gives them the swimming room they need and love to have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Turtle Topper

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oceanside, CA
I got this for my year old RES turtle, the topper looks really nice, and it's well built..but my turtle "Squirt" has yet to get used to it, she goes up and scurries down the next sec. I'm sure she'll get used to it, but I think I'm going to cover up the see through part with an aquarium background.
P.S. she actually stayed up there for about 5 minutes..so far that's the longest.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This turtle topper is GREAT!!!!

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lees summit,MO
I have two turtle and the ledges they sell that suction to the side are OK,but this product is GREAT. It took no time for the turtles to climb into it and bask. It is so conventional the lights just clamp to the top. I have a 55 gallon long aquarium and it fits perfectly. If you have water turtles you definitely should have one of these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from chicago,il
The turtle topper is a good product although I do have some problems. 1. My tank is not enclosed on all sides ( I have the tank where the filter goes on the side) so the lower platform and the stairs did not reach down into the water and I couldnt put in more water because of the filter hole on the side. So I had to prop up the tank on the filter side. So now my tank is tilted. It worked for the lower platform ( which she loves) but the water still isnt high enough for her to climb up the stairs. She tried to get up stairs but she can pull herself up. So I pick her up everyday and place her inside the house. Now I have to buy a new tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The "penthouse" is great but ramp can be difficult

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
We tried the basking platform for my sister's red ear slider, he's about 2.5yrs old and 6inches long. Returned the platform and 3 weeks ago I bought this. Due to reviews online it fits our 55gal. tank but it won't fit breeder tanks because they're to wide.
I attached the light and he didn't use it for about the first week. I then started leaving a food trail of grapes and crickets, where he would climb, grab food and swim down. Took about 2/3 weeks for him to stay in it.
He loves that underneath swing and only problem is the ramp is too steep. I cut an old towel and super glued it to the ramp for more traction and also you have to keep the water level like 3 inches below top of tank or else it's too difficult for him to pull himself up. It's pricey but provides a nice basking area and area underneath that he lays on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Turtle Topper good idea but caution

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from wilkes barre pa
This turtle topper is a great idea. My turtles love it! A few complaints though. This only fits up to a 55 gallon long tank. Turtles need alot of room. I would like to eventually up size my 55 gallon tank but they love this topper so much. I feel this leaves me to decide what is more important room for them to swim or the topper. I feel the topper is important because they can dry off completely with this. Also be careful your heat lamp does not get too close to the topper it melted the plastic on my topper! The 2 plastic pieces that connect the resting part on to the platform are very flimsy. I was afraid of breaking them when putting the platform together. So if you are happy with a tank 55 gallon or under, and are aware the basking lamp/plastic combo. It is a very good idea. I think the melting of the plastic on my platform was my fault because my basking lamp was too close to the plastic just be careful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Turtle Topper

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, NY
The entrance is extremely difficult for the turtles to enter the angle is too steep.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Turtle product EVER!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Encinitas CA
I love the Turtle Topper. I've tried everything there is to allow my turtles to have an out of water basking area, and nothing really satisfied me. I tried floating docks, piling natural rocks, etc and nothing compares to this. It gives my turtles easy access to bask, while keeping the covered and secure. I recommend this to everyone with turtles!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Penn Plax Reptology Life Science Turtle-Topper Above-Tank Basking Platform
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Turtle seems to like it

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
We have a large red-eared slider and he is loving his new basking place. The only thing I don't like is the ramp is really slippery and he has a hard timing climbing up and crashes down out of it when he decides to get down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.