petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage

Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage

Leak-Proof, easy to attach and remove, washable canvas bottomLock-in place doors double as rampsNo tools or connecting pieces required for set upPet cage conveniently folds flat for storage & travelGuinea pig cage can be expanded with an addition of a second Midwest Guinea Habitat Cage
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Review 1 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

guinea pig cage

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from franklin wis.
This is a awesome cage, my little boy loves it, he has so much room to play.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Has it's ups and downs

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
The cage had plenty of space for my two guinea pigs, though that was pretty much it's only redeeming feature. It was quite flimsy between joints of the wire panels. The fabric on the bottom is also not water proof, and for super erosive guinea pig urine it stained white and the odor stayed with it too. I ended up having to throw out the teal bottom fabric piece because of this and it not being chew proof! The white frame does however make a nice outdoor play pen if flipped upside down.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Guinea Pig Cage

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
I recently bought this cage for my two guinea pigs and I am very happy with it! So far it is great cage. I had a normal cage with a top that used wood chip bedding before and I wasn't liking it at all. The cage and the bedding were messy and a pain to clean. But I am now using this cage with fleece bedding and both me and pigs couldn't be happier! I think the only thing about the cage is that you need to make sure you have the room for it, but I live in a small apartment and made room just fine. And I am happy that my guinea pigs have so much more space now! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great house for my guinea pig!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Norwalk, CT
This cage give my guinea pig plenty of room to run. The canvas is easy to clean. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Midwest cages!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Irvine, CA
I have these for my guinea pigs and they are awesome! SO easy to keep clean and care for my piggies, and they look really nice. They have a lot of room (I have several cages connected to make extra space) and my pigs love them. thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is very spacious and cheaper than the C&C cages

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from massachussets
I love this cage because it has alot of space and you can also expand it. i love the fact that for the price is cheaper than the other cages, when the other cages are small.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Janesville, WI
This is a really great product. Durable and sturdy. Fairly easy to clean. I have 2 pigs and they like it. It is big enough for the both of them. We liked it so much we actually got 2 and connected them so the pigs would have even more room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NY
a nice, wild place for my G pigs, they play fun there
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Green Bay, WI
This cage is great! Worth every penny! I use it for my guineas, and also my hedgehogs. They all enjoy the space. The cage itself holds up very nicely and are easy to clean! I would personally recommend only having two cavies in one cage, at most three. Mine seem to enjoy having the company, yet they're not being too overcrowded. ;) I have four of these cages, and will be buying more in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

okay cage

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kitty hawk, North Carolina
It was a great cage at the beginning. But it gets very messy. Do not get this cage if your guinea pigs chew on everything. Though I did love the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the space

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Arizona
I have two guinea pigs a classroom pets and they desperately needed a bigger cage. Both me and my guys have been delighted with all the space. So far clean up has been a breeze and it has not leaked. I do use with fleece blankets rather than bedding though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Cage

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Katy, TX
This is a great cage for the money. No problems so far after two weeks. Easy to put together and easy to clean. Perfect for two piggies. We have it on a 4X2 folding table and is perfect for what we need.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive New Cage

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Dallas Texas
When I got my cage I can't explain how excited I was to see the quality and cuteness of the cage! Easy to wash and assemble and so comfortable for my piggies!
The only thing is that my guinea pigs weren't interested in sleeping on the half of the cage without bedding. The cage recommended only putting the bedding on half so they would use that as the restroom and the other half as sleeping area.... Yea not working !
No matter the cage is so awesome and works great and better than any other I've had so far!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWSOME :)

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines
My guinea piggies love it it has so much space bigger than it looks!! if your looking for a cage than buy this one!! i have two guinea pigs :) Zoe and Chloe and they love it :) over all it is an awsome cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cage ever

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rhode Island
I just got this in the mail and this is an excellent cage. Its easy to build and very high quality. Most of all, it will give my guinea pigs so much room to play and popcorn. If your getting a cage, get this one. Im not disappointed at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than most Guinea Pig habitats

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Northern Utah
The Midwest Guinea Pig Cage is larger and easier to clean than most commercial Guinea Pig cages. We purchased two Midwest cages (with plans to buy more) to increase the living space of our "piggies," but found the base offers very little flexibility in configuring a larger living area due to the way the corners are sewn. There is no way to join bases without dividing sides in the middle unless two bases are cut and resewn which will most likely compromise the "waterproof" feature of the base since there will be a seam.
Also, the rubberized canvas base sides are on the inside of the pen (versus outside the bars) which means the guinea pigs are chewing on the canvas base sides.
The wire "ramp" incorporated into one cage side requires a separate "ramp cover" purchase or home construction of a suitable ramp cover. The ramps take up a relatively large amount of space in the already cramped living quarters further inhibiting guinea pig exercise.
We are hoping to modify the base of the pen to create a larger and more guinea pig friendly home.
The pens are light-weight, portable, and easy to clean on the positive side. Although, not the ideal size for guinea pigs (too small), the cages are much larger than other commercially available pens. For these positive features, we do recommend the Midwest Guinea Pig cages.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you love your guinea give it the room it needs!

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Salem, Oregon
This is a nice big area I have now purchased two of these cages for my 3 guineas. A guinea pig can't climb out of a cage so you don't need a lid to one. Also it shouldnt be cramped in some of the small ones they sell. Do your guinea pig a favor give him/her room to run and play.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great, but...

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
This cage is fantastic, except the canvas bottom is... it. There's the fencing, that's what I call it, that goes around the bottom. The canvas has velcro straps to connect it to the fencing. That's it. One really good thing is that the inside of the canvas is almost rubberized, so that makes it better. I use litter in some parts, but my pig doesn't really care if he goes on litter or not so it makes a puddle, which is gross... All in all, it's a good cage despite the canvas
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Us

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Longmont CO
Rated it five paws because it was perfect for our situation. Due to an accidental pregnacy...we ended up with 2 girls and 2 boy guinea pigs. Cages can be expensive so we looked for something more affordable. The product description is accurate. We purchased two (one for boys and one for girls) and the guinea pigs love the space. Easy to clean. Great value for the $$$.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for kids!

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from ohio
This is easy to set up, the canvas bottom makes it easy to empty the bedding into the trash bag by just pouring it in and it makes it so much easier for my daughter to play with the guinea pigs even in the cage because it doesn't have the ceiling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>