petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System

Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System

Stunning LED lighting system for your aquariumEquivalent light output to a typical single tube fluorescent lightEnergy-saving Aquarium LED light fixtures emit low heat output for low energy consumptionLasts up to six years without having to replace the bulbSleek, slim and modern design LED light aquarium fixture available in various sizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Review 1 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as Bright

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
Got this light thinking it would make a great light for the big tank. "48"Long. Great as far as a fit to the top of tank. The shipping was great. No broken parts. Just not enough light for my tank, I have everything in a saltwater tank. It works great if you have more lighting, but not alone. The blue led at night are almost enough if you are looking for soft light, not real bright. But you can see in.So I'm running this along with reef sun lamps and it works great. I do like the LED. I do have 2 LED sets in a 30 gallon and they are great, the day and night are plenty. So I guess here is the bottom line. If you are growing coral or whatever else you need more than just this one. Its is a great add on. I have had no problems out of this light. No I would not run this only on my tank. Yes I do like this Marineland item. Will be going bigger in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
Bought it for my 29 g,and 40g tank,and this light gives you a sunlight look,and the nighttime depended on you decorations ,and background it'll look so amazing .RECOMMEND THIS LIGHT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks like sunlight

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Northwest NJ
I have been looking for a lighting system other than fluorescent bulbs for some time, and this system is it. The light is pure and, as is stated in the description, it shimmers with the movement of the fish and with the bubbles produced by the wand I have in the rear of the tank. It sits on the glass portion of the aquarium cover and looks sleek compared with the clunky old light fixture. The fish seem quite happy and I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Might Have Been Nice

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Florida
if it didnt arrive broken. And the return was NOT easy. Still waiting for the replacement. Maybe this one will be intact?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
I have this on a 13 gallon Bowfront BioCube. Had to make a few modifications like rip out the old light and put in a piece of acrylic (fish have been splashing a lot) but the light makes the tank look great and it puts off much less heat than the fluorescent used to.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

light

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from oh
great light hope it lasts I used it for a coffee table set up
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product! Wish I got it earlier!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Honolulu, HI
I bought a Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium light last month. I dilly dallied because I had "too much to do." I finally got to it and it was FAST! It's now about 1 week and it works just fine.
It's a great product and I wish I got it a long time ago.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice light but a bit pricey

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mesa, AZ
I got the 18"-24" one and replaced a defective fluorescent on a 6.6 gallon tank kit that only lasted about 2 months. While the tank is actually 24 inches wide, it had a bow front and just any hooded light would not fit. I'm thinking the LED light will last longer too.
LEDs are the new fad and they do offer a few benefits over fluorescent. (Although fluorescent lighting still has some uses LED lighting does not handle well.)
The main advantage to LED is that if it falls into the water you and your fish are unlikely to be electrocuted. The electronics will just get ruined in most cases. LED lighting uses a few DC volts instead of the much more dangerous 120VAC fluorescents. All the high voltage in an LED light is in the black converter box you plug into the wall socket instead of in the hood like in fluorescents.
Fluorescent lighting gives you more color of light choices by what bulb you install. The LEDs produce almost the same amount of white light at lower wattage and therefore produces a lot less heat. The fluorescent that came with my 6.6 gallon kit actually was melting the plastic top over time and changing the tank temperature if left on too long. Since my tank is a non-standard size (because of the bow front and length), this light worked better for me than a hood. It just rests over either side of the tank. So whatever shape of tank you have, as long as you have two flat sides and are within the size of the unit, you should be able to get this to work. Just be sure you know the width of your tank.
Also having a 2-way toggle switch is so must better than the fluorescents that you have to hold the button in till the starter kicks in, often failing to startup right. This one is immediately on when you flip the switch. The single brightness of this is OK for my size of tank. However it's not as bright as the fluorescent it replaced. If you are wanting the same brightness level as same size fluorescent hood, you might want a double light level model (has more LEDs). But in my small tank I always felt the fluorescent was so bright that the fish weren't happy. The bottom dwellers would spend a good deal of their time under caves and rocks when that light was on. This Single level LED one is not as harsh and the fish seem to like it better.
In addition to a normal white daytime type light, there is also a dark blue mode. It is supposed to simulate moon light. I doubt that a single aquarium fish today has seen the moonlight as they are almost all raised in captivity from birth. So not sure if this is real useful. It's also advertised as supposedly shimmering. I can't see that it varies the light to shimmer at all. But it is a nice transition from well lit to dark blue before turning out the lights entirely for the night. It gives the fish a chance to settle into their sleeping places before a radical lights out. They seem to take this cue well after a few days of using the blue light just before the lights are turned completely out. Probably less tramatic for them.
Be sure you only use this light over a glass or good plastic topped tank. You'll ruin it if you put it directly over the water as the staining of the water will eventually stop the light from shining through properly. Also if the slightest amount of humidity gets in the electronics it will all go bad and have to be replaced as there are no tubes or ballasts you can replace like with fluorescent. So use only with a cover (preferably glass). Of course the good news here is that if you keep it clean and dry, it should last longer than a fluorescent.
Also the 18-24" unit actually could have gone out to fit a 30" wide top if necessary. Or you can completely pull the hanger mechanisms off and just set it on your glass or plastic top (although nothing would then hold it in place and might move around.. So that could be a good cheap replacement option for a non-standard sized tank like mine.
I would have given this light 5 paws if only it wasn't so overly expensive. There is only about $10 worth of parts in them. The plastic probably was the most expensive parts. But because LEDs are the new fad they figure they can charge more. These should actually sell for less than fluorescents.
Other than the for price, I would recommend this light as a fluorescent replacement. Large tanks might want to use the double brightness LED lights instead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from corte madera, ca
very good led lighting system fish go up and down side to side very good
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Lakewood, CO
It functions exactly as stated. Just remember... This is essentially an equivalent to a nice single bulb setup. The pros are: less energy used, very crisp, penetrating light, sleek design, and I read an article that says having the moonlight setting (included) on during the night promotes fish spawning (with other criteria met of course.
Cons: wasn't a big deal.. But had to shimmy the metal brackets to fit my 24" tank properly.
Overall, great product from a great company!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Annandale, VA
It's all the good things everyone is saying about it. I wish it were brighter, however,. It gives about the same liumination as the florescent counterpart. That's not a complaint, but reflects my ignorance about this format. I am replacing it with a double bright. That should be even more awesome!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these lights

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas
I have 2 single bright lights on my 6 foot long tank and they are bright and crisp. The night time lights are fantastic. Everyone who comes into the house loves them. Great Product. It wold be nice if you could put the timer on for day and night use. But I still love these lights.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland LED Single Bright Aquarium Lighting System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good lighting

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
does everything that I need it to do. Accomplishes great lighting for the nightime
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.