petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage

Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage

Care area divider with ramp covers for safetyFolding, multi access removable wire mesh topLeak-Proof, easy to attach and remove, washable canvas bottomLock-in-place doors double as rampsNo tools or connecting pieces required for set up of this pet cageGuinea pig cage conveniently folds flat for storage & travel
Average Customer Rating:
4.148 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
21 out of 27(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Review 1 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not what I thought

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
montanasteele02
from manhattan , mt
I bought this cage because but was going to be big and roomy for my daughters Guinea pig, however, its very flimsy and won't stay together. Plus if your pig like to chew.. She was able yo chew the bottom and the sides, so now there are he uge holes in her cage..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good cage

PostedMay 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Daphnado
from Kentucky
The cage is sort of flimsy, I'm going to use zipties to help keep it together, but other than that, my gunieas love it! They love the ramp and have adequate room to run and jump around. When i find a place to put it, I plan on buying another one to connect to this one
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Huge!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
WookieNature
from OKC, OK
Have a dwarf bun and this is perfect for her. Lots of room for her litter pan, food and water, boxes and various toys and still space to run around. Having lids and doors on both ends is very convenient as well.
The only downsides are the velcro straps that attach the liner to the cage are inside and she's already chewed her way through some of them, so we're going to have to replace them with zip ties once she's conquered them all.
The other is how loose the top is toward the center, we had to reinforce it since she could stand on her hind legs and push it up. Obviously this wouldn't be a problem with say a guinea pig. A few more zip ties and that's all taken care of, though, so overall, fabulous cage. I would definitely buy this model again if the need for another cage arose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good cage but not solid

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
deadvenusblue72
from pinckneyville il
was under the impression cage had solid bottom with removable liner. the liner is the bottom so we now have to build a case for it to prevent seepage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLEBT CAGE FOR THEM TO POPCORN

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
APiggiesLove
from Chelsea,MA
This cage is the best so far that I ever had I love how it give my guinea pigs enough room to move around.The bottom is washable and cage give the option to add a extension for even more room. It stretches almost as wide as a queen size bed
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money!

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pigglywiggly
from San Antonio Tx
This thing is a waste of money...yes it is spacious but my piggies chewed large holes in the canvas and it was not easy to clean as was stated. I'm very dissatisfied and if I could get my money back I would!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nercul2200
After a lot of researching,my sister and I purchased this habitat a few months ago for my two female guinea pigs! They love it! They are always running around and popcorning. The door is perfect so when we are having play time they can go back in whenever they want. I don't use the divider though, because my guinea pigs don't like climbing up it. But, I would definitely recommend this product :):):):)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I would really recommend this product

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Guineapiglovee12345
from MA
This cage is amazing, also it has a lot of space and it has a great price as well but the only problem is if you have a guinea pig that loves to nibble on things. Because if you do then your guinea pig might chew a hole through it but you can always cover it so fix it as well too. So I would really recommend you this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money!

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hershel
from Seattle
Perfect size. Easy to access for feeding and cleaning. Put together in a snap. Exceeded my expectations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'd never buy another kind of cage!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
CavyKeeper3
from Bowdoinham, ME
I have had this cage now for over 6 months, with 3 guinea pigs calling it home. There is a small hole, but since I discovered using puppy pads and fleece, instead of Carefresh, there hasn't been another hole since. My pigs love their cage and I am ordering another one to attach onto it. Another great use for this cage, I use the top as a barrier during floor time. Where I have three pigs in the cage, I do not use the ramp, but I will when I get a second cage.
For cleaning, I throw it in the washing machine if it can hang out all day to dry, but for quick cleaning I use vinegar and water, along with some baking soda. I love this cage and I can tell my pigs do too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Guineapigmom21
from Indianapolis, IN
Ordered this off-line. Much larger than I thought it would be. Have some place with a lot of room if you're going to get this. Probably good if you have 2 or more pets.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
lotsoflilcritters
from SC
When I ordered this for my son's two new guinea pigs, I didn't realize that the bottom was a canvas fabric. I can't imagine that's a good thing for little critters who like to chew. Trying to put it together, the whole thing was flimsy and wouldn't stay together. We ended up returning it and buying a much sturdier rabbit habitat. Very disappointed since the price and size were good, but guess you get what you pay for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
scs5z6
from Kent, OH
I got this for my piggie, and she absolutely loves it. She is always running around in it and popcorning. I would definitely recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is perfect for piggies!

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
BrigetteK
from Dallas, TX
I bought this at an "oops" price which means that someone ordered it and decided that they didn't want it so they took it back to Petco. I think this cage is worth EVERY penny! I absolutely love it.
FINALLY, a pet company finally took into consideration that a piggie needs much more space than the average pet cage that you get once you buy a new pig. They need plenty of room and inside of the owner's manual of this cage, it is explained that guinea pigs need a certain amount of square footage to be comfortable.
This cage can also be expanded by buying another one with or without the ramp. I plan on doing this in the future.
To start off, this cage is PLENTY big enough. My piggie is so happy with its size and I love that you can change the amount of room each section gets. It is very easy to assemble and will probably take you only 15 minutes.
My pig had a bit of trouble climbing the ramp at first, but, I removed the canvas covering and he seemed to be able to climb it better. It really depends on your pig and what they're comfortable with. Some can climb ramps straight away, others need bribing with veggies. I intend to cover the ramp with fleece eventually so his paws don't get stuck in between the gaps.
I also enjoy the fact that you can choose to put the top on the cage or not. I like to leave mine off for easier access.
My only complaint about this product is that when I put the water bottle on for my pig, it's a little bit too low for him and he has to bend down for a drink. I think I may make some sort of wire apparatus to hold it up higher.
Overall, this product really does have the piggie in mind! I can tell that it was carefully innovated and I would recommend this to everyone with a pig or two. I plan on buying another pig next week and this size is good enough for two!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The size is great!

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoveMyPets77
from Alexnandria, MN
I knew what to expect after reading all the information about the product, so I wasn't disappointed or surprised about anything. I haven't put any cavies in it yet, but I set it up and was glad it was so easy to put together, I didn't need my husband's help.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
georgialg
from Bowie, MD
Worked out great for my 2 Guinea Pigs and they love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

large, inexpensive, and easy to clean

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
lovelygrits
from Texas
This cage is so easy to clean my seven year old takes on the chore. I love how the top comes right off and how the vinyl bottom is so easy to clean. Also you can adjust the plays side area vs food area. I first purchased a smaller more expensive cage in the store. This one is without a doubt the best out there for guinea pig owners. We have two small females in the cage now, but plan to buy an extension cage for when they get larger. I'm very happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Investment for Guineas!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephipoo
from Newark, DE
When we first bought our guinea pig, Dizzee, he came in the generic pet-store-sized cage and he just didn't seem very happy. We got him a playpen, but even that seemed small and he couldn't stay in it all the time, so he would always have to go back to the small cage at the end of the evening. Then I saw this cage online and I thought it would be a nice improvement for him....and wow, has his little personality really come out! Now he wheeks all the time, he popcorns, he runs laps and kicks his bedding up....he's such a joy! We loved him before, but now he's such a little character and it's caused us to fall in love with the little guy even more :) I would recommend this pen to ANYONE who owns a guinea pig. Not only do you owe it to them to give them enough space to run and play and show you who they really are, but the ramp is fun for them and it is SO MUCH easier to clean than a standard cage. Two thumbs WAY up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+25points
29of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy with purchase

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
rere0707
from Boston Ma
Not sure how this is getting rave reviews. My experience:
1. Is not leakproof. I have to put a towel under the cage to keep from getting my wood floor all wet.
2. The guinea pigs are eating through the material on the ramp.
3. It is a PAIN to clean. Yes it is easy with the 2 sections. You can lock them in one section while you clean the other.
4. Too easy for my 2 year old to get into. Doesn't help that its on the floor either. I had to buy child locks and attach them all over the cage.
5. There are stains from urine all over the cage bottom and have tried everything to get them up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-17points
19of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this cage.

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Resaboo
from Ypsilanti Michigan
My two male guinea pigs Romeo and Hamlet call this cage home. It has plenty of room and is super easy to clean. I love this cage. Just wish it had a stand to get it off of the ground.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>