petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage

Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage

Care area divider with ramp covers for safetyFolding, multi access removable wire mesh topLeak-Proof, easy to attach and remove, washable canvas bottomLock-in-place doors double as rampsNo tools or connecting pieces required for set up of this pet cageGuinea pig cage conveniently folds flat for storage & travel
Average Customer Rating:
4.243 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
30 out of 37(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Review 1 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing cage for guinea pigs!

PostedApril 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wichita,KS
I love this cage and my guinea pigs love it! They third popcorn when I first set them in there I like the size of the cage is a great size for for two guinea pigs but you could probably fit more in there if you wanted to order it offline and it came faster than we anticipated which is a great plus we really recommend this cage because the part on the bottom is so easy to clean and it's so big so they have a lot more room to run around in I hope you're getting pics like this case much as mine do and I really hope you buy it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Elyria, oh
I bought this cage for my 2 guinea pigs and they loved it. The cage is big and gives plenty of room to run around. The only small issue is the cage is a little flimsy. But that's it. I would definitely recommend this cage to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Midwest guinea habitat plus

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Batavia,NY
I was looking for a bigger home for my guinea pig. The Midwest habitat is the perfect home for him he loves it. He has plenty of room to run around and play. It assembled very easy and in no time at all. The bottom is very easy to clean and non-slip design makes it easier for him to run around. He is able to run up and down the ramps with ease. I have had no problem at all with him trying to chew through the canvas. I am very happy with his new home and would definitely recommend this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Guinea Pig Cage

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Longmont,, CO
I've had one of these cages in the past and this was the only one that I wanted now.
Perfect size for two guinea pigs.
Easy to clean.
The divided sides do not totally keep the pigs from elimanting in both sides. But it does keep total cage cleaning to a minimum.
Also handy if your two guinea pigs end up fighting and not able to live together you can use the divider to keep them seperate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is pretty good

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Longmont,CO
I was looking for a larger cage for my 2 pigs. This one seemed to be a good choice. Reasonable price compared to many other products. There is more room for them to run, easy to clean. You can add on to it if you want more additions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not what I expected

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from ri
Very cheap metal and extremely hard to clean. I w as hoping for more room but it's not what I expected
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!! :D

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from South Carolina
I was a little hesitant about buying this product at first but I heard nothing but positive things about it from friends. I finally bought it and I love it! My guinea pigs love having the extra room and no longer fight with each other. I love the design of the cage. It makes cleaning day a lot easier. You can keep them closed in one section while you clean the other!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great habitat

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ventura, CA
This cage is easy to assemble. My Guinea Pig loves the space it gives her. it is somewhat flimsy as suggested by other reviews however it doesn't need to be super sturdy to do it's job. I keep the top of the cage on because I have dogs who would love to get a taste of her. It's easy to open and reach her any time I want. And it gives her so much more room to roam. I gave it a 4 because I'd like to see a plastic bottom option added to it. It works great for us because we have it on tile. I haven't had it long enough to trust it on a carpet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Nor Cal
My piggies and I LOVE this cage! It's very spacious and was simple to assemble. the divider panel can be placed wherever you like. I put made a "kitchen" with it, and my guys had no problem finding their food and water by using the ramp. Since they have been in their new home I haven't heard any fighting or scuffling besides running/playing. They have become more friendly and relaxed, coming to the door to be petted or given treats. I would say if you have small children or pets to keep this cage off the floor, as it is pretty easy to open/won't support a lot of weight on the roof. Piggies have not chewed the liner, I provided lots of stuff to chew on and no issues so far. Buy it and you won't regret it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing cage

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
from colorado
This cage is big enough for my 2 guniea pigs they have room to play and room to eat on the separate sides! It was easy to put together & and even easier to clean!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not what I thought

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from manhattan , mt
I bought this cage because but was going to be big and roomy for my daughters Guinea pig, however, its very flimsy and won't stay together. Plus if your pig like to chew.. She was able yo chew the bottom and the sides, so now there are he uge holes in her cage..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good cage

PostedMay 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Kentucky
The cage is sort of flimsy, I'm going to use zipties to help keep it together, but other than that, my gunieas love it! They love the ramp and have adequate room to run and jump around. When i find a place to put it, I plan on buying another one to connect to this one
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Huge!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from OKC, OK
Have a dwarf bun and this is perfect for her. Lots of room for her litter pan, food and water, boxes and various toys and still space to run around. Having lids and doors on both ends is very convenient as well.
The only downsides are the velcro straps that attach the liner to the cage are inside and she's already chewed her way through some of them, so we're going to have to replace them with zip ties once she's conquered them all.
The other is how loose the top is toward the center, we had to reinforce it since she could stand on her hind legs and push it up. Obviously this wouldn't be a problem with say a guinea pig. A few more zip ties and that's all taken care of, though, so overall, fabulous cage. I would definitely buy this model again if the need for another cage arose.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good cage but not solid

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from pinckneyville il
was under the impression cage had solid bottom with removable liner. the liner is the bottom so we now have to build a case for it to prevent seepage
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLEBT CAGE FOR THEM TO POPCORN

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chelsea,MA
This cage is the best so far that I ever had I love how it give my guinea pigs enough room to move around.The bottom is washable and cage give the option to add a extension for even more room. It stretches almost as wide as a queen size bed
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money!

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio Tx
This thing is a waste of money...yes it is spacious but my piggies chewed large holes in the canvas and it was not easy to clean as was stated. I'm very dissatisfied and if I could get my money back I would!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
After a lot of researching,my sister and I purchased this habitat a few months ago for my two female guinea pigs! They love it! They are always running around and popcorning. The door is perfect so when we are having play time they can go back in whenever they want. I don't use the divider though, because my guinea pigs don't like climbing up it. But, I would definitely recommend this product :):):):)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I would really recommend this product

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MA
This cage is amazing, also it has a lot of space and it has a great price as well but the only problem is if you have a guinea pig that loves to nibble on things. Because if you do then your guinea pig might chew a hole through it but you can always cover it so fix it as well too. So I would really recommend you this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money!

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle
Perfect size. Easy to access for feeding and cleaning. Put together in a snap. Exceeded my expectations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Guinea Habitat Plus Guinea Pig Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'd never buy another kind of cage!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Bowdoinham, ME
I have had this cage now for over 6 months, with 3 guinea pigs calling it home. There is a small hole, but since I discovered using puppy pads and fleece, instead of Carefresh, there hasn't been another hole since. My pigs love their cage and I am ordering another one to attach onto it. Another great use for this cage, I use the top as a barrier during floor time. Where I have three pigs in the cage, I do not use the ramp, but I will when I get a second cage.
For cleaning, I throw it in the washing machine if it can hang out all day to dry, but for quick cleaning I use vinegar and water, along with some baking soda. I love this cage and I can tell my pigs do too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>