petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage

Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage

Easy no-tools assemblyEasily maneuverable stand with locking casterFull width double doors, making it perfect for use as a ferret cageWide shelf & full width plastic pan floorMultiple attaching points for accessoriesHorizontal bar spacing allows your critter to easily climb aroundIdeal for use as a rat cage
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Review 1 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome cage, bad box

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
This cage is absolutely amazing, with tons of space and no place where there's only plastic keeping your critters in (because any rat-owner knows that's a laugh). I really like that you can separate the two levels, because I have both male and female rats, and don't want unplanned litters, but also don't want to figure out how to stack two cages atop one another or give up more space than is necessary. That the entire front of the cage opens is super handy.
My one beef is that it wasn't well packaged, so the doors got bent, and I had to use a mallet to put it together because everything was at just slightly the wrong angle. As I put it together it straightened out for the most part, but now the top latch on the right doors won't catch unless I shove a little extra as I'm closing it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product will do what I need it to do

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I received this quickly; however, a part was missing. I've requested it be sent to me, but it's been a week and I haven't heard if it's been shipped or not. I'M VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THAT - IT WAS A SMALL PART, BUT PART OF THE BASE SO I CAN'T PUT IT TOGETHER. THIS PART SHOULD HAVE BEEN OVERNIGHTED TO ME....I'M READY TO PACK IT UP AND SHIP IT BACK.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great rat cage but terrible assembly instructions

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Columbia, Missouri
My Grandson's 4 rats LOVE this cage! It is BIG and very easy to clean because of the wide opening doors.
Be sure to have 2 people ready to put this cage together and also have a padded hammer (we put a washcloth on ours). The directions are absolutely horrible and we had to take ours apart when we thought we were done and start over. One of the connecting pieces was bent but thankfully we were able to straighten it up without breaking it. I sure wish they made a litter guard for this cage because the shelves are not deep and litter falls out all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Olympia, WA
This cage is amazing. It is perfect for my chinchillas. They got so excited when I put them in there. It was obviously designed by someone who is a small animal expert. I can't think of anything it is missing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage! Tons of space!

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jacksonville, Florida
Overall great cage, lots of space.
Takes up a lot of room, a lot more than what i expected, and the cage was a lot bigger than I though I only ended up using one of the cage pieces because it was a bit TOO BIG.
It works really well with dwarf hamsters as well, the wires are close enough so that my little dwarf hamsters don't slip out!
Only cons is that it was a bit difficult to put together, and quite heavy, the wheels kept popping out when I was trying to put it together, that went away after the whole thing was put together. The weight of the cage pushed and left them in place afterwards.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best rat cage out there!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Northern, California
This cage is HUGE, much larger than expected, and over 100 pounds. Very substantial! Take it in pieces, if you have to put it together upstairs. Buy a rubber mallet before you begin, if you don't have one!!! I could not have put it together without the rubber mallet. Some of the parts don't line up perfectly and you have to pound them together. A hammer would dent the metal, so a rubber mallet works great! Took me approx. 2 hours to put it all together. Well worth the time to put together, though! Shavings DO fall through the front bars, I will have to use less shavings or try to find a urine guard to put around the sides. I did notice my girls are beginning to chew the plastic shelving covers, but you don't really have to have the plastic inserts. My 6 girls love it and they have so much room to run and play and climb. Looks like a $500. cage...well worth the price! Love!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing chinchilla cage

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh,Pa
Purchased this cage for my chinchilla and I could not be happier. So much room for her to play. It's worth the money for sure, it's a very sturdy cage with easy instructions. If your buying a new cage, you seriously cannot go wrong with this one!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT CAGE

PostedJune 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NEW ORLEANS, LA
This is my second critter nation cage and I LOVE them. The are so easy to clean which makes my life easy. When I received this one, the door was broken. I contacted MIDWEST and all they needed was a picture and they were to send out another door. I haven't received the new door yet, but it has only been 6 days. I was told it could take up to 10 days to receive. Customer services was great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to clean and get to your pet

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from South Carolina
I purchased this for my rabbit. I had him in a one level cage but as he grew I needed something larger for him. It is perfect for him he gets exercise and has room to roam and play while we are at work. He loves running up the different levels and it is large enough for his little house, litter box and his toys. He is very happy in his new home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plenty of jumping space for chinchillas

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
We have four chinchillas - two girls and two boys - and each pair has one of these cages. The cage gives them plenty of room to run around. They love it!
The reason why I can't give it five stars is because it is heavy (~120lbs) and somewhat awkward if you have to move it to another room/down stairs/etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rats love it, but building it was awful

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
I chose the Critter Nation cage for it's storage space, size, mobility, and levels. It also looked easy to clean and access all parts of the cage. I do not regret my decision.
The Critter Nation cage is perfect for my three rats. It's practically a mansion for them! I could probably use it as a crate for a small dog or cat if I took out the extra levels. The way the doors open makes it easy to clean and access my girls, and the spacing between the bars is small enough for baby rats to adults. They love to climb on them too! I only worry about them chewing on the plastic bottoms, but I'll have to wait to see if that happens.
The biggest problem I've had so far was with building it. The box came fairly damaged, but regardless, some of the pieces were just built misaligned. The plastic trays don't lay flat enough because some of the pieces are bent. It took me and my boyfriend hammering and removing a few pieces to get it to fit together properly. I definitely would suggest using fleece, not loose bedding in this cage. It will be all over your floor if you do.
Overall, just be aware that it will take you (and at least one friend) a while to build it, but I think it was worth the investment. The important thing is that my girls are happy. Definitely a rat friendly space!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Critter Nation Double Cage.

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
This cage is perfect for Sugar Gliders! The bottom of the top cage is removable so you can have one large cage. I will recommend this to everyone for Sugar Gliders. The additional plus is you can add one more cage to the top and have a ton more room! I will be getting my third level by July! The only problem we had was that some of the peaces were bent. It didn't compromise the structure at all but made it a little harder to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage..ok packaging

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
This is a great cage..super easy to assemble.(I did it by myself) without extra tools..
I have our Guinea pig Angus in the bottom and my 2 male rats` Zues and Apollo in the top.
Angus loves the room to run around...he zip`s all over at top speed..
I looked at alot of cages before buying and none came close to the design and quality of the Critter Nation setup.
P.S. - the door latch dual catch design is way better than the swing latch that come on most cages
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy duty, well designed

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from SC
This cage is wonderful. There were some ups and downs at first, such as damaged parts. But customer service has been great, and everything is fixed and working. This cage is an exchange for the ferret habitat with the larger wire spacing. After assembling it, I found it wouldn't suit my needs. I rescue, raise, and release orphan/injured Virginia Opossums. The bar spacing on the ferret cage is too far apart at 1 5/8, and runs vertical. The spacing on this cage runs horizontal, and is 1/2 inch. Close enough to keep little noses from finding an escape. Being horizontal, it gives them a better climbing surface.
This is a sturdy, well put together item, with a nice powder coated finish. There is plenty of room, and it's very easy to block off one section, if you have to separate litters. It rolls easily, and the trays lift out making cleaning easier. The only thing I would change is to add a smaller access door on the side. But this is a definite improvement over the wood and hardware cloth cage I was using. Sanitizing will be much easier, too. I'm very happy with this, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a sturdy, portable cage setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Huge Cage - About Time!

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Palm Desert
The cage was pretty easy to put together overall - I wish the parts had been better labeled. A couple of the trys came cracked already received the replacements. I purchased 5 baby rats from Petco to call this place home-they are still only exploring the first and 2nd level have not ventured to the top levels yet. I wish the trays were deeper - I went to Home Depot and got some twin wall plastic sheets and cut them to make a scatter guard. A large sheet is only about $12 and will for upto 3 to 4 sets depending on if the rats chew it or not. I love this cage and would recommend to any one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the Price

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
I was hesitant to spend this much on a cage, but it was well worth the price. I had been slowly spending a collective fortune in the past, what with upgrading cages; larger, easier to clean, etc.
This cage is super-easier to clean and extract rats from thanks to its large doors. It's large enough to house all their accessories, yet still gives them room to romp around. I do wish a "litter guard" came with it rather than being sold separately, but oh well.
When putting it together, remember this: when putting in the shorter side panels, ensure the ones with the tiny holes (facing into the cage) at the top are saved for the uppermost unit. The instructions don't indicate to do so.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houma, La
We have 6 ferrets & we had trouble sleeping at night because they would climb all over us. The cage is big enough to hold all of them, along with some hanging beds & hammocks. They love the multi-layers, and it's definitely worth the extra money to get the cage with doors that open at each level. It makes cleaning so much easier! Worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best cage ever

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
As soon as i received my cage i open the packaging and got to work. after setting it up and putting everything in there i added my two chinchillas.......successssssss! they were 100% satisfied and so am I. I love the fact that i can close the ramp to separate the cages. I love the fancy doors that open all the way allowing me to clean it easier and to chase my chins around the cage trying to catch them. everything was great and i give this product 5 paws up!:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST CAGE EVERRRR

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from ct
BEST CAGE EVER! IT'S SOOOO EASY TO CLEAN !!!! MY RATS LOVEEEE ITTT!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I JUST LOVE IT!!!! SO MUCH SPACEEE!!!! I only have 1 but I am going to get another one!! I have male and female rats ;D my females live in this cage my males live in another cage!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
16of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much Room!

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
I have a rabbit and 2 guinea pigs, who have previously had to live in separate cages. But now i have the rabbit on the lower level, and my guineas on the top. The ramp to the second section can be closed to create 2 cages.This is a PERFECT set-up for me! And cleaning has never been easier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
27of 30voted this as helpful.