petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage

Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage

Easy no-tools assemblyEasily maneuverable stand with locking casterFull width double doors, making it perfect for use as a ferret cageWide shelf & full width plastic pan floorMultiple attaching points for accessoriesHorizontal bar spacing allows your critter to easily climb aroundIdeal for use as a rat cage
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Review 1 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plenty of jumping space for chinchillas

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
WEB87
from Texas
We have four chinchillas - two girls and two boys - and each pair has one of these cages. The cage gives them plenty of room to run around. They love it!
The reason why I can't give it five stars is because it is heavy (~120lbs) and somewhat awkward if you have to move it to another room/down stairs/etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rats love it, but building it was awful

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
SamHutch
from Brooklyn, NY
I chose the Critter Nation cage for it's storage space, size, mobility, and levels. It also looked easy to clean and access all parts of the cage. I do not regret my decision.
The Critter Nation cage is perfect for my three rats. It's practically a mansion for them! I could probably use it as a crate for a small dog or cat if I took out the extra levels. The way the doors open makes it easy to clean and access my girls, and the spacing between the bars is small enough for baby rats to adults. They love to climb on them too! I only worry about them chewing on the plastic bottoms, but I'll have to wait to see if that happens.
The biggest problem I've had so far was with building it. The box came fairly damaged, but regardless, some of the pieces were just built misaligned. The plastic trays don't lay flat enough because some of the pieces are bent. It took me and my boyfriend hammering and removing a few pieces to get it to fit together properly. I definitely would suggest using fleece, not loose bedding in this cage. It will be all over your floor if you do.
Overall, just be aware that it will take you (and at least one friend) a while to build it, but I think it was worth the investment. The important thing is that my girls are happy. Definitely a rat friendly space!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Critter Nation Double Cage.

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
LindyE
from Illinois
This cage is perfect for Sugar Gliders! The bottom of the top cage is removable so you can have one large cage. I will recommend this to everyone for Sugar Gliders. The additional plus is you can add one more cage to the top and have a ton more room! I will be getting my third level by July! The only problem we had was that some of the peaces were bent. It didn't compromise the structure at all but made it a little harder to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage..ok packaging

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
dodgem
from New Hampshire
This is a great cage..super easy to assemble.(I did it by myself) without extra tools..
I have our Guinea pig Angus in the bottom and my 2 male rats` Zues and Apollo in the top.
Angus loves the room to run around...he zip`s all over at top speed..
I looked at alot of cages before buying and none came close to the design and quality of the Critter Nation setup.
P.S. - the door latch dual catch design is way better than the swing latch that come on most cages
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy duty, well designed

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
PossumLover
from SC
This cage is wonderful. There were some ups and downs at first, such as damaged parts. But customer service has been great, and everything is fixed and working. This cage is an exchange for the ferret habitat with the larger wire spacing. After assembling it, I found it wouldn't suit my needs. I rescue, raise, and release orphan/injured Virginia Opossums. The bar spacing on the ferret cage is too far apart at 1 5/8, and runs vertical. The spacing on this cage runs horizontal, and is 1/2 inch. Close enough to keep little noses from finding an escape. Being horizontal, it gives them a better climbing surface.
This is a sturdy, well put together item, with a nice powder coated finish. There is plenty of room, and it's very easy to block off one section, if you have to separate litters. It rolls easily, and the trays lift out making cleaning easier. The only thing I would change is to add a smaller access door on the side. But this is a definite improvement over the wood and hardware cloth cage I was using. Sanitizing will be much easier, too. I'm very happy with this, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a sturdy, portable cage setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Huge Cage - About Time!

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ourbabies11
from Palm Desert
The cage was pretty easy to put together overall - I wish the parts had been better labeled. A couple of the trys came cracked already received the replacements. I purchased 5 baby rats from Petco to call this place home-they are still only exploring the first and 2nd level have not ventured to the top levels yet. I wish the trays were deeper - I went to Home Depot and got some twin wall plastic sheets and cut them to make a scatter guard. A large sheet is only about $12 and will for upto 3 to 4 sets depending on if the rats chew it or not. I love this cage and would recommend to any one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the Price

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
SquishyRats
from Portland, OR
I was hesitant to spend this much on a cage, but it was well worth the price. I had been slowly spending a collective fortune in the past, what with upgrading cages; larger, easier to clean, etc.
This cage is super-easier to clean and extract rats from thanks to its large doors. It's large enough to house all their accessories, yet still gives them room to romp around. I do wish a "litter guard" came with it rather than being sold separately, but oh well.
When putting it together, remember this: when putting in the shorter side panels, ensure the ones with the tiny holes (facing into the cage) at the top are saved for the uppermost unit. The instructions don't indicate to do so.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Farrell
from Houma, La
We have 6 ferrets & we had trouble sleeping at night because they would climb all over us. The cage is big enough to hold all of them, along with some hanging beds & hammocks. They love the multi-layers, and it's definitely worth the extra money to get the cage with doors that open at each level. It makes cleaning so much easier! Worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best cage ever

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mkeyz
from Iowa
As soon as i received my cage i open the packaging and got to work. after setting it up and putting everything in there i added my two chinchillas.......successssssss! they were 100% satisfied and so am I. I love the fact that i can close the ramp to separate the cages. I love the fancy doors that open all the way allowing me to clean it easier and to chase my chins around the cage trying to catch them. everything was great and i give this product 5 paws up!:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST CAGE EVERRRR

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
luvpets336
from ct
BEST CAGE EVER! IT'S SOOOO EASY TO CLEAN !!!! MY RATS LOVEEEE ITTT!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I JUST LOVE IT!!!! SO MUCH SPACEEE!!!! I only have 1 but I am going to get another one!! I have male and female rats ;D my females live in this cage my males live in another cage!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
16of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Critter Nation Double Unit with Stand Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much Room!

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
CallMeBrittany
I have a rabbit and 2 guinea pigs, who have previously had to live in separate cages. But now i have the rabbit on the lower level, and my guineas on the top. The ramp to the second section can be closed to create 2 cages.This is a PERFECT set-up for me! And cleaning has never been easier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.