petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light

Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light

Gives you control and allows your pet freedomDurable, push button brake system lets you control the distanceComfortable soft grip handlesLightweight, compact design with LED light for safety at night
Average Customer Rating:
3.1 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
4 out of 10(40%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light
Review 1 for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Average to poor

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Allen, TX
This leash has a moderate spring, so the retraction is slower than I have been used to. The LED light is nice to have, bit it's location is in the under side of the leash, so you need both hands to use it while holding the leash. Finally, the 'stop' button is difficult to maneuver with my thumb. I can stop it with one thumb, but releasing it often needs additional leverage.
I bought it as a back-up and that's really all it would be good for. It's overall poor quality spring and lack of one-handed ease of use made that decision easy for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't last long

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Utah
The light on this leash didn't work for more than about 2 weeks and it wasn't just a dead battery. Even when it did work it wasn't reliable. I wanted it so I could locate my dogs excrement on our night walks and most of the time it wasn't even bright enough to help with that.
Now, just over 4 months after I bought it, the leash won't retract at all. It was a little sluggish for about a day and then my dog pulled it out all the way and it won't go back in. 4 lousy months!
I'm going to return it but I'm just so disgusted!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Cord Leash for Dogs with LED Light

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Milford, CT
I'm not used to the button placement on this, so it takes some getting used to. Being that it's on top, your natural tendency is to push the button a little forward while pushing it down to lock the leash temporarily. However, by pushing it a little forward, you can unknowingly put the leash in the lock position. This is not perfect. The noise others have complained about...who cares? It's due to the leash being a ribbon rather than a cable, but that's to keep your larger dog from ripping it in half I suppose. And the light...it's bright enough to find that little "gift" that your dog leaves on your evening walk, which is all I wanted. It isn't bright enough to light the walkway if that's what you're looking for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leash broke within first 2 months of use

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Gaithersburg, MD
I bought this leash for my 45lb dog who occasionally likes to bolt after squirrels, hence I bought the large leash intended for 110lb dogs (also because I liked the longer length.) I loved the the LED light and the arm that pulls out to hold pick-up bags. Unlike other retractable leashes, this one continues to let out just another cm or so after you push the stop button, but I never minded that so much. However all of a sudden on our walk last night the button completely stopped working, my dog was able to pick up speed and she nearly ripped my feet out from under me. So I had to replace the leash today because the stop button no longer stops the leash from pulling out whatsoever. Also, the description of the leash is completely wrong, it is not a cord leash at all, it is a ribbon leash.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

weak light

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
I was really looking for a good retractable leash with light since I often take my dog out at night by myself. I wanted a good light on the leash and that is NOT what I got. The light is like a pen light...doesn't light up anything when I am outside at night. The leash itself is fine but I should have saved my money by getting one with no light.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retractable tape-style leash with led light

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Newton, NJ
I just love this leash!!! Rectractable tape leash with led light!!! One button ease and nice pewter color!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lighted leash

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Marion,Indiana
I love this!!! Thank you! I will but from Petco again!!! I have another on but this one is what I have been looking for!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Retractable

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
I love this retractable leash! It is well constructed. I've used it daily for 5 months now and there's no fraying to the tape. It has some sound to it when retracting, but is much quieter than the corded leash I tried. We have a sensitive Basenji and he adjusted quickly to the sound and prefers it to the cord. The tape is much gentler on my hands too, if I have to grab it. It doesn't rope burn like a cord. The built in light is essential for when we go out at night and I have to pick up his "business". The tape has reflective thread stitched into it which also helps drivers see us at night (haven't found that feature in any other leash.) Lastly, the color is very sophisticated. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I liked it for the short time I had it!

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from PA
My first one I exchanged because the spring on the latch didn't work well. The second one worked great but my puppy used to occasionally carry the cord in her mouth and within two weeks the cord ripped. It was not like she really chewed on it, she just carried it in her mouth, but after it ripped she freaked out and started chewing on the hook which made it look like it was chewed on so they wouldn't take back. It retracted into the case so couldn't reattach it. I don't think it was my puppy's fault.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Premium Pewter Retractable Belt Leash for Dogs with LED Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not corded

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from denver
THIS LEASH IS NOT CORDED IT HAS THE 1/2" STRAP. The leash is fine but their description is not correct. The problem with the strap is it is noisy when it retracts. The strap gets smelly and very dirty after you use it for awhile. Once the strap gets a nick in it, it does not retract all that well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.