petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage

Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage

Easy assembly with no additional tools requiredEasily maneuverable ferret cage and stand with locking casterFull width double doors for easy access to your petWide shelf & full width plastic pan floorSpacious rodent or rat cage with multiple attaching points for accessoriesReversible happy feet ramp covers for added safety
Average Customer Rating:
4.704 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Review 1 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage!

PostedJune 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Coupeville, WA
Wonderful cage, I highly recommend it for your ferret/chinchilla. But, Petco.com's price for this cage is ridiculous! You can get it somewhere else for less. Anyway, you should get this cage. It's really good, easy to clean, and has lots of space!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cage Ever

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
This is hands down the best cage for ferrets. It is large (everyone calls it her ferret mansion) but attractive and not out of place in a home. The multiple levels for climbing and hanging hammocks are great and but they are short enough that if your ferret falls- like my klutzy girl sometimes does- she won't get hurt. The doors open WIDE for easy cleaning and the pans are easily removed and cleaned. Also easy to roll outside to hose off occasionally. Storage shelf on the bottom fits all her supplies and if you are worried about the look you can easily put baskets that slide on and off the shelf to hold everything. (see picture) Now for the cons: expensive- but totally worth it. I wouldn't consider buying a different cage after having this one. Also, I have had it for 8 months and it still looks brand new. It is HARD to put together. I got very frustrated but eventually got it. So also worth it in the end I guess.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mansion

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Riverside, CA
Great size and easy for cleaning. Had some difficulties at first putting it together, but here's the trick...take the black caps off!!! lol would have saved a lot of time and is something not mentioned on instructions. With that said, it's not too difficult to put together and offers plenty of room for my 2 fur babies to roam around plus the option to close the cages off if you want them separated for any reason.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best money I've ever spent!

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wappingers falls, NY
I bought this cage for my four ferrets. Assembly was easy but definitely a two person job. A rubber mallet is needed to bang sides in but over all I could do it alone with a bad back with only minor mishaps. The cage is sturdy and well made and easy to clean because of the double door opening. To my surprise it came with three ramp covers which was a pleasant surprise. There's plenty of room for my ferrets to play in cage and tons of places for beds. There are places to clip hammocks under the shelves and on the top of each floor. They stand provides storage areas for extra blankets toys etc. My only complaint is that the cage is not packaged well for its weight. The heavy metal prices crack one of my trays nothing major and it's still usable but the company cod package them better for the 107lb cage. Overall I love this cage and would never go back
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Toledo, OH
This is the best ferret cage ever! Super easy to clean and more than enough room for my three ferrets! Very happy with this purchase! Wasn't even too hard to put together!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spacious and Cozy

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cedar Rapids
This is an excellent ferret cage and I would recommend it to any owner. It is huge. It's like a ferret mansion and definitely worth the money. I'm glad I read the previous reviews before buying it because it was nice to know I would need a rubber mallet. If you don't have one, pick one up. Assembly was not terribly difficult though. My daughter and I did it in 20-30 min. The double doors make cleaning so much easier. I can't imagine trying to reach through a little door to try to clean the back of a cage. It's wonderful and my ferret loves it as well as my family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ferret cage

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Easy to put together, bars do not bend like the first cage I had. My ferrets were able to bend the bars by biting on them and pushing their head through them. This cage is very well built and I like the fact that the shelves are big and sturdy. I also love the fact that it is so easy to clean due to the large double doors on both levels. Wonderful cage and I would definitely recommend to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cage EVER

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Provo, Utah
I will never be buying another cage again. Unless my current one breaks. I LOVE this cage. The double doors makes cleaning a breeze. What used to be an hour job, has turned into ten minutes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love this product

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Spring Tx
Love the product - spacious, easy to assemble, well-built
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Size For My Chinchilla, She Loves It!!!

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
I ordered this cage for my chinchilla not only for the size (for her) but for the looks (for me). It doesn't "stick out" as much as her previous white cage, it looks great with the other furniture in our front room. The size is great for her! The huge front doors opening completely for a super easy cleaning. The quality is really nice too. I'm so glad that I finally ordered this cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome ferret cage

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from eugene, or
easy to assemble cage. my ferrets love all room and three levels to play in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid cage

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Southern, Maine
We bought this for our 4 ferrets. There is plenty of room in this cage for 4 ferrets, it could probably accomodate around 8 (since they pretty much just huddle up together anyways).
The cage is good quality, nice and solid and the doors (top and bottom which is nice) all lock down securely, yet are easy to open.
Pretty easy to clean, all the shelves and levels are trays that easily pop in and out to get scrubbed down. You don't have to disconnect any of the ramps to get the trays out.
My only gripe about the cage is that some of the parts were bent pretty badly when we put it together. So, despite it being "tool free" you'll need a phillips screwdriver and a small hammer to get things back into shape. That was a minor issue and all in all, I'm very happy with the cage. Hopefully it lasts a good long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the size, but questionable quality

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Maryland
The cages size is great and is sturdy once assembled...but getting it assembled was quite a pain. The instructions were fairly easy to follow however a lot of the pieces took a good amount of force to get into place. The doors also do not line up so they are practically un-useable. Luckily my brother can weld and is going to fix them but not many people have that luxury. For someone who can't simply reweld them this is a huge problem. However over all I'm glad I got the cage. Gives my pet mice (I always think you can never have a cage "too big") plenty of space . However if you plan on using a ferret cage for mice you do need to cover the sides with wire mesh so they can't escape.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing cage!

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Homestead, FL
I've been looking for a Ferret Nation for a bit and when Petco.com had the sale I pounced! The cage arrived within 3 days in perfect condition. Set up was easy but timely since it is a HUGE cage. Once built the cage is slightly taller than me (I'm 5'4) and VERY spacious. I only have one ferret but it could comfortably house 4-5 ferrets! Oh and it is very sturdy and escape proof!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This cage is ok

PostedApril 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cary, NC
The Cage is decent, but I only bought it because it was 50% off. The full price is crazy, I would have never bought it at full price. The cage is really big, which I love, and my 2 ferrets love. If you have more than 2 ferrets I would suggest getting the add on unit that goes with this cage.
I'd recommend getting someone to help you put it together if you buy this, it took me 3 hours to put together by myself. I also had to use a hammer to make the pieces fit together. But the instructions were simple and besides it being time consuming, it was very easy to put together.
I was really worried because I read a bunch of reviews that said it came in bad condition, but I got my cage 3 days early, and it was in perfect condition.
I would give it a 4 or even 5 out of 5 stars, but I just can't. I'm not too crazy about the doors, I've added locks to make sure my ferrets can't get out. I also had to basically make my own shelves, because the ones it comes with are terrible and my ferrets aren't litter box trained, so I bought a full size litter pan for the bottom of the cage. I'm surprised that it has such terrible shelves and ramps for a cage that is so expensive, especially since the size is so amazing and the outside of the cage is really sturdy.
I also don't like that the wires go up and down instead of side to side, my ferrets love climbing on the sides of their cage, and they really can't do that in this one.
But if you don't mind making a few adjustments and the cage is on sale, then I highly recommend this cage. My babies are happy, and now I can fit 3 hammocks, a load of toys and blankets and tunnels, they absolutely love it! I also love, love, love that is has a little shelf for storage and wheels!!! It's very convenient and makes it so easy to move.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

spaciouse ferret home

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from lewis county washington
the cage is massively big :) our ferrets are loving all the extra room .and the pans in the bottoms are so easy to clean . especially since u can fully open the front and get them and any other items moved around or taken out
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Chinchilla Loves It!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
I got this for my chinchilla and it was a little tricky to get together, but he loves it. He's so happy every day!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome cage

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Norwalk,OH
Looked at several different cages before I chose this one. I love the size ,plenty of room for my 2 chinchillas. Easy access to the inside with the double full front doors on each section. Very well constructed. Easy to put together. I ordered this on a Sunday and had it by Tuesday was totally surprised they shipped that fast. I've owned a lot of cages over the years and for the money this is your best bet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This cage is well-built

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Santa Clarita, CA
Since I don't own a ferret you may wonder why I purchased a ferret cage. I work with Pink Paws rescue group and foster kittens and mothers with kittens. I needed a larger more substantial cage to house my little ones, especially the larger litters of five and six. The two full floors and wider perches provide a lot more area for exercise, playtime and naptime. My previous cage was called The Kitty Hilton. This new one is The Hyatt Regency (aka kittenland).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Midwest Ferret Nation Double Unit with Stand Ferret Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this cage and so does my chin!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
This is a very spacious cage with enough room to comfortably house 2-3 chinchillas if desired! I bought this after my flimsy starter cage fell to pieces and my chin has never been happier. he used to be so anxious and be a bit hostile but this sudden ability to run and jump around calmed him down completely! A few ledges to this cage make it complete!
In the future, I plan to remove the plastic shelves and replace them with multiple wooden ledges and shelves like I've heard is recommended but for now he has all he needs!
Id very much recommend this product! worth EVERY PENNY!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>