petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition

Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition

Cage has hideaway, food dish, water bottle and trainer wheelExpandable so you may add on to your critter's living environmentDeep base with no corners makes this cage easy to cleanEscape proof to keep your critter safe & secure, easy access so you can enjoy your pet
Average Customer Rating:
3.706 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
12 out of 17(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Review 1 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ovo hamster cage

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
hmasterlover235
from omaha ne
the hamster cage is great. Its really cool and fun to look at. my hamster really enjoys it. the only issue WAS the leaky water bottle but if you watch the youtube video to fix it its really easy and great. some people say the that there hamster chews on the cage , but thats because they probably don't have a hamster chewing toy in the cage. I really do recommend this cage. just be careful putting it together make sure nothing is lose and you will be all good. thumbs up to this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Okay i guess

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
love4dathamster
from Council Bluffs, IA
This cage, was okay. The water bottle did drip, the connecter for the weel broke (the wheel was real quiet), and the latch popped off. I do not reccamend this to anybody, even if your carefull with it. This was a cheap cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angel650
from Griffith, IN
I was sold by the look of it and the sales pitch the guy gave me but it wasn't as great as I expected. If you look closely at the picture, the wheel is located outside the cage and has an open fissure. That opening is not fun because the hamsters bring the bedding in there and it falls through the opening and makes a complete mess of bedding and poops. Yes, it has a white catcher at the bottom but it fills fast and overflows onto whatever you have the cage sitting on, in my case, a dresser. Also, my cage is leaking water. It is dripping out of the water bottle into the white tunnel below and out the blue cover to the right. I came home to a puddle sitting on the dresser where the cage was. This was all in one day. Right niw i have a bowl to catch the water all day and i just keep cleanning up the bedding and poops that have fallen out. I'm personally not satisfied and hoping to find something better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

awesome

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
awesomegirl2013
from nanticoke
it is good but the water bottle drip and the wheel makes noises.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cage!

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
HamsterLover124
from Williamstown, VT
I have a Sunfire Hamster and I got this cage for her and she loves it! Right when I put her in, she started exploring the cage. I love it too because it is easy to clean and the wheel is silent. I would recommend this cage to anyone who owns a species of Dwarf Hamster.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect all around!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
PetHoarder13
from Carrollton,TX
This cage has a great design and functionality. Its perfect for dwarfs and you can always purchase add-on packs for bigger hamsters. The wheel is easier to take apart than people give it credit for. It an all around good cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's fine

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deeba
from Bronx, NY
got it for my two dwarf hamsters and first they were scared of the wheel but now they love it. theyre not used to the water bottle though and it leaks so im giving a star less.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Cage, Especially for Dwarf Hamsters

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Jonesboro, AR
I own two Russian Dwarf Hamsters, and they absolutely love this cage. They are my first hamsters, so I didn't want them escaping through bars or pathetic latches. The cage is deep, allowing for a lot of bedding to be placed in the cage for burrowing. Mine came with a food bowl, house, wheel, and water bottle. My hamsters have had no problems with the cage. The regularly enjoy re-digging their burrows to change things up. I have since bought additions to the cage (it is now HUGE), but unfortunately, my local Petco does NOT carry the additional tubes, and I was forced to sift through many sites just to find them (which is the reason that this is not a 5-paw review). The cage is super simple to clean and maintain, being able to be completely dismantled and easily reconstructed. The wheel, when properly put together, is relatively silent. I have no issues with noise. There is enough room in the main compartment for toys and the like, and I have since added a small ceramic bowl of dust bath (which they adore, by the way). I highly recommend that those with dwarf hamsters check this cage out. I am not sure how a larger hamster would do in this habitat, though.
In the picture that I have attached, I have connected Critter Trail items to my cage, which easily latch onto the Habitrail cage. However, be careful to balance your cage, as the tubes may sway or fall. I placed a book underneath the cage to all me to make the tunnels go down without pushing the cage up and unstablising it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good cage except for wheel

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pixiegirl81
from Palatine, IL
This cage has really great space inside, probably because the wheel is designed to be outside the cage. However the problem with this cage IS the wheel. It is VERY hard to clean. It does not come apart easily AT ALL. If it wasn't for this hassle, this would be a great cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome cage PS.Huge and easy clean!!!!

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
emmie23
from boerne,texas
It is a large cage and sooooooooooooooo easy to clean! The hamter loves it and is a nice and toatly cute habitat!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Kinda small

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
animallover35
from Las Vegas, NV
I got this cage for my hamster Pam it is really small, the waterbottle is horrible she would hit her back on it and she was drenched. Luckily I got her a different waterbottle. I connected this cage with some superpet funnels to a 10 gallon glass aquarium for extra room.Save your money for something larger ovo products are too small for any hamster.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
19of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cage, but sceptical about the water bottle.

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
MousenDogMom
from Kentucky
I have two of these cages, the pink one for my pair of female mice, and a blue one for my male mouse. I got them this morning and they're spacious and very attractive for mice. They're very engaged in this cage, the house has many holes in it and ledges, they love to climb all over it. There's room to add your own toys, I used toys made of cardboard. My only issue is I'm sceptical of the water bottle, the mice are constantly trying to lick it but I can't tell if they are getting water, I squeezed the bottle a bit to put out a drip and they drank it up with great enthusiasm. I'm going to see if they can use it appropriately alone or if I'll have to get something else. Overall, I love it though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+13points
21of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great cage, but NOT chewproof

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Peoria,IL
We have a large amount of different pieces from this OVO series and while the cage is easy to clean and it is fun to create different cages by attaching the pieces in different configurations, the cage is easily chewed through. We recent had our hamster pass away after escaping from the cage when she chewed through one of the connectors and escaped into the house (with two cats). She also chewed through the bottom of the cage and chewed a hole in the carpeting and started on the subfloor before we discover what she was hiding under her chips. She could also chew in the area where it latches closed and get the lid to pop open. So even though we enjoyed having this cage, if you have a hamster who is a chewer, they are able to chew through rather quickly. If you have only this piece, the cage would be very small. We have 3 of these along with about 7 other compartment pieces and endless amount of tubes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Only Good for Dwarfs

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
OliveOyltheHamster
from Dallas, TX
I just bought this cage for my little winter white hamster Olive Oyl. I got her on Tuesday and I bought this cage which I thought was the very best. When I got it home I set it up in 5 minutes and was super excited to test out the "silent" wheel. I put my hamster in the cage and put her in my room. That night her wheel woke me up 5 times and I'm a heavy sleeper. I think I'm going to just take the wheel off and put a silent spinner inside the large cage and buy her a small igloo. Overall this is a fairly good cage with a good design
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
10of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a very good cage

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
hamsterluver259922
from New York, NY
i got this for my teddy bear hamster
he loves it but sometimes he gets stuck in the tube that leads to the wheel and he does not understand tht the water bottle is a water bottle but overall this is a great cage
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
29of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Dwarf Hamsters

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovemyshihtzu
from Andover, MN
Growing up I had pet hamsters we did not have cages like this. I was going to get a hamster any way so when petco had a return past the return period they could not place her with the other hamsters I decided to take her home with me I did not even have a cage looking around this was the best cage they had I love the colors and how easy it was to change the bedding assembly was easy too. I would not purchase this cage for a larger hamster because their is not enough space but a small hamster or mouse would be fine. The wheel is silent too I have had the hamster in my bedroom I was able to sleep.They also have tons of tubes and attachments for this cage I with they made more pink or purple ones to match the cage. Over all its a great cage.If you decied to purchase it for a larger hamster you will need to purchase a additional cage and tubes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+38points
43of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Habitrail Ovo Home Small Animal Cage Pink Addition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS CAGE I HIGHLY RECCOMEND

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
TwizzlersGirl
from Louisville,KY
OMG this is probably the best cage in the world! its extremely easy to clean and very easy to put together. My dog could've put it together! It is also pretty cheap! Especially for a habitat like this. And the best part is the really quiet wheel! My little twizzler loves his cage and loves the little extentions that you can conect to it. and the design is sooooo cool. I highly reccomend this producy especially for hamsters! Im sure that anybodys hamster would love this cage and then everybody would be happy so buy this product for your hamster and soon im gonna try it out on a dwarf hamster so ill fill you in soon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
31of 49voted this as helpful.