petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage

WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage

Includes two ladders, a wheel, water bottle and no-tip bowlConnects with other modular systems to expand your critter's living environmentEasy-to-clean large plastic pull-out trayEscape-proof locking door to keep your critter safe and secureIdeal for use as a dwarf hamster cage, mouse cage, and habitat for similarly sized small pets
Average Customer Rating:
2.903 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
12
17 out of 31(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Review 1 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for mice, awful for teddy bear hamster

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
smanimalver
I had a mouse in this cage and it worked perfect. The mouse loved it and it was easy to clean. He got around easily in the cage and the wheel was perfect size although the wheel was loud when being used and my mouse used it alot, especially at night. Didn't bother me to much though. My mouse passed awhile ago and I thought since I had a cage I would get a new small animal and decided on a teddy bear hamster. Well, she can barely get around in it. She falls down the steps and she can't use the wheel. The cage is to small to put in a larger wheel. I think the size of the cage was hazardous to her. Also she knocked the stairs out all the time. It's just to small for a teddy bear hamster sadly. So I recommend this cage to mice owners but not teddy bear hamster owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste the money!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
housemouse
from Wisconsin
This cage is an absolute PAIN. It was so difficult to set up, and the parts do not line up or fit correctly. The plastic is very soft plastic that could be chewed out of by anything (never even risk putting a gerbil in here!)
It's a waste of money, i'd say only buy it if it was like $10 which is what I paid.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

may look cool, but your hamster will be bored

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
chippyellab
from brockport,ny
I have had 2 different kinds of hamster try this cage and they were both bored after about 10 minutes and were not happy after 1 day. It doesn't give them enough room to play and they had trouble getting from level to level. Even with the ladder which they often kicked out, they struggled. It leaves them very little room for their food and hardly any room for them to nest. And the water bottle that comes with it doesn't work at all. Do not waste your money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lousy Product

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
mfgr
from Sparta,NJ
Cage not good for full sized hamster. Water bottle and wheel did not work. Too many soft plastic parts for hamster to chew. Not able to purchase a replacement rooftop (that hamster destroyed) that would have allowed for use with a smaller rodent. Ware Mfg. would not refund money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

this cage

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
ILoveMyHammyGinger
from mukilteo, wa
I hate this cage my hamster got out 4 times and chewed a hole in the bottom tray and my hamster will not use the wheel because it is to small but I like the lay out and the colors I am glad we did not have to pay full price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap Plastic.

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
MissAlyssia
from Manchester, NH
This product has a cool layout and at the time of purchase I got a great deal on it. But my gerbils chewed a hole right through the bottom tray. I'm just glad I didn't pay full price for it because I feel it certainly isn't worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Small Animal Cage Ever!!!!!

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
animallover980
This cage may look fun but it is NOT a good cage at all. I did not realize how many holes there are! On the very top level on the right hand side (facing it)
there is a hole the animal will not be able to grab anything and will just fall through to the bottom! My hamster almost killed himself! It looks way cooler than it really is in safety matters.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good cage

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
bamajack45
from alabama
we find this to be a very cage the only down side was the water bottle would link real bad---the wheel was abit small for larger hamsters
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Buy

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pkoo
from Grand Junction, CO
I have 3 small animals (1 teddy bear hamster and 2 Chinese dwarf hamsters). This cage is too small for my large teddy bear hamster, but perfect for my 2 dwarfs. They run all over the cage. The only flaw that I see is the actual building of the structure. It was a little difficult to get the cage sides together. A big plus is that it can attach to other cages. And, roomy enough for 2 small animals. I would say that this was a great buy for my 2 little sweethearts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage For Hamsters

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Valandra77
from Orlando, FL
I have bought and gone through every hamster/gerbil cage available at Petco and this one is the best! Its easy to put together, easy to clean and my son's hamster loves it. It's also easy enough to clean that he can now help. I highly recommend this product and I have tried them all!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Critter Universe Avatower

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
hamsterlover1111
from LHC,AZ
This cage is awesome I got today and set it up my hamster loves it. The reoson I had to give it 4 stars in stead of 5 is because the wheel was all lopsided and mine didnt come with a water bottle. Tommorow my dads calling customer service to complain
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great concept but cheaply made

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
bootsiewootsie
from findlay,ohio
Thought this cage was great at first, I love the design of it and was excited to not deal with plastic tubing but within 2 weeks we have begun to have issues. Our hamster has chewed threw the bottom plastic tray and now the cage may no longer be useable. Thought also that the parts inside to assemble the cage couldve been made with better quality. The trays to separate levels only have a few snaps to hold in place and my hamster can remove them easily. Think I may have wasted my money with this purchase.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute & roomy, but needs work

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dogluvrrr
from Utah
I got this for my 2 female mice & like the fact that I can add tubes to connect my other cages & change up the configuration, so they don't get bored. I haven't had any issues with them chewing thru any parts of the cage & I've had it almost a year. There is also enough room that I added another wheel as they both love to run! Also enough room to add a mini igloo for their sleeping area. A couple of things I really don't like about it is it creates a mess as there are no guards on each of the shelves, & the shelves aren't deep at all, so bedding, food & droppings get pushed out thru the wires on the sides & front. I'm going to make something that will keep this from happening. It's kind of hard to take apart to clean everything, & 1 of the clips on the bottom doesn't hold correctly, so I had to tape it shut. Cute idea for a cage, but it definately needs re-vamping! Especially if pets are falling thru the holes as stated in other reviews!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst designed hamster cage ever

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
hamjug
from philadelphia, pa
This cage has stairs which pitch so acutely into a hole at the top which is so steep in the box that the hamster can't climb up them and the hole is so large in the middle of the stairs that he just keeps falling through the hole. I have 2 hamsters and they both had this problem. The floors are wire mesh, so their feet keep falling through. The plastic boxes inside cover the wire mesh, but again the holes are so large and the space around the holes so little, that, again, the hamsters fall through. It is utterly useless. I can't even give it 1 star, but the review won't go through without at least 1 star!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING CAGE FOR LITTLE HAMSTERS/MICE!!!

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
TabyStec
from Trevor, WI
I love this cage! I originally got it for my Syrian but she is to big for it so instead I bought two fancy mice and they love it! I definitely love the water bottle it comes with!
I honestly say this is a fantastic purchase! Good pricing great quality! Where can you go wrong there?! :D
I say if your looking into this cage for a dwarf hamster or fancy mice or any rodent that stays small and you aren't sure how others like it, I say buy this without second guessing it! Low raters don't know what they are talking about this product is amazing!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
xbabygurlx33060
from pompano beach, FL
I bought this for the 4 female mice i had purchased so far not one issue they love it its roomy and they love the wheel. It has two holes on top where you can add tubes which i have added tubes leading to a small plastic tank next to the cage which they designated as there nest and sleep in... My cat loves watching them in the cage too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is amazing!

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lalaboy
from Wilmington, CA
This is a really nice cage for a hamster to be in. It has enough space for the hamster to do its own thing . & to top it off it comes with the food dish, wheel and etc. My hamster has a home that looks enjoyable for him, but I guarantee this one looks better and more comfortable for it . Think about it , I know you'll end up buying it :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so good

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
momx2
from New Hampshire
We got this for my son as part of an expansion for his birthday. So far the hamster likes it and immediately explored it. My son is ejoying watching him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

better now

PostedJune 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
animallover3329
from maryland
as a single cage it is terrible, but as an addition to another cage... it is a great little mansion expansion
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for WARE Critter Universe AvaTower Small Animal Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth The Money

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Synfully
from Raleigh, NC
While this cage appears to be a playground fit for a hamster, I assure you it is not. My hamster was able to chew a hole through the tray of the cage large enough to fit through inside of a few days. I say it only took a few days, because I routinely clean the tray every 2-3 days. I would have noticed that she had started a hole in it fairly quickly. Before you ask, she had plenty of things to chew besides the cage. Cleaning this thing is also fairly difficult without tearing the entire thing apart.
Yes, you can buy a replacement tray as I was told by the manufacturer's customer service rep. But for the original price, this should be a chew proof haven for your baby for at least a year. Unfortunately, it is just another inferior product that costs a fortune.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>