petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat

Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat

Perfect home for gerbils, hamsters or miceUnique clear view habitatExpandable design & removable petting zoneIncludes exercise wheel, water bottle & food dishNarrow wire spacing
Average Customer Rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
5 out of 10(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat
Review 1 for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME CAGE!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
TaylorB
from Dayton, TX
I love this cage so much especially cuz its clear. the colorful ones are cool and all but make it hard to see your hamster. it's the perfect size for my hamster he loves it so much. GREAT BUY totally recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Animalmother
from Corpus Christi. TX
I've taken care of hamsters and rodents my whole life, and I have to say, this is the best cage I have gotten. Usually when I get cages, i have to get everything seprate but I didn't have to replace anything on this one. Only thing that bothered me was that the wheel makes noises, but that was easy to fix by puting a pit of olive oil and the plastic piece inside the wheel :3 And its the perfect size for my Russian buddy c:
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

He likes it

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
smartypants135
from Dallas,TX
My hamster likes it. He got a little bored, so we just put in some tubes. He loves climbing in the tubes. Sometimes the bubble tube parts are hard to get off/on. But otherwise it's a great cage for him. I wouldn't recommend it for teddy bear hamster. The wheel it came with squeaked, so we got him another one.
I THINK IT'S A PRETTY GOOD PRODUCT
:-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not too bad, just a faulty waterbottle.

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
ZeldaTheYorkie
from Pennsylvania
My 16 year old daughter will only buy from WARE for their cages, because they're so quick to clean. They're not plastic like Super Pet ones she had, that can crack easy and are noisy to move and such a nuisance to clean; it literally took hours to clean her three hamsters' cages. These cages are flexible and quiet, and take literally less than 2 minutes to dis/assemble. For anyone that is having issues with the lid, if you flip it over, there's two little rectangular pieces that jut out to pop under the wire on the front and back of the cage. It should only be able to come off with the force of pulling the lid out from under the snap.
For the 2 level cages, I wish there was a way to flip over the second floor, so that the step-like design came inward, so bedding would hold, but the area where the bottle is placed, kind of restricts that.
Also, the waterbottle is way too long. I had to stick a chunky bracelet around the bottle's top where it meets the lid so her syrian hamsters wouldn't snap their neck trying to get it!
LONG review, but overall, fantastic cage. Way less messy than other brands we've had; coming from a family that has lived with hamsters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
xxANNOYEDxx
I purchased this product for my gerbils because it came as a starter kit. However, I might as well have just bought everything separately because I ended up having to replace everything within a month. The water bottle's verticle design makes it impossible for any critter to drink out of it as the ball has too much pressure on it to allow it to rotate and let out any liquid. Furthermore, the wheel and bowl are extremely cheaply made and their plastic construction is hardly a challenge for small animals to chew through. The roof of the cage is a disaster as well. Since the worthless water bottle is supposed to come through the top of the cage, removing it leaves a gaping hole for escape and I have had an impossible time finding another bottle that fits in its place. There is nothing really latching the roof onto the walls of the cage, and I have a hard time thinking that it would take much effort for the gerbils to knock it off if they found a way to reach it. This cage is the biggest rip off I have ever discovered in the pet market. Do not waste money on this joke of a habitat.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
heyjoon
from Across the sound, WA
Should you decide on this habitat, BUY A DIFFERENT WATER BOTTLE! The one that was with mine wasn't working properly, no water was being dispensed. One or both of my hamsters messed with it so much that it fell through the ceiling, leaving a uncovered hole. Bet you can guess what happened next. I woke up the next morning to find that one of them had gone AWOL. Petco would only take a buck off of a new bottle because 'it didn't come with the kit'.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
hammieluver100
from Woodbridge VA
i love it it is the perfect size its easy to clean and my Chinese Dwarf hamster, Cinnamon loves it too. but i dont think non dwarf hamsters should live in the cage get a little bit bigger cage for non dwarf hamsters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nothing Special, but good with the starter kit

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jazzy78
from Avondale, AZ
My son received 2 Robo Dwarf Hampsters along with this cage and starter kit (included food, bedding and treats) at a White Elephant Christmas party. We have never had tiny pets like these, so weren't sure what to do, but were happy after researching that all of the basics were included in this kit! Now that we have had these little guys for about a month & have been to the pet store to see the other options I think we will upgrade soon.
The lid to this cage does not snap on properly, I'm afraid that our hampster that likes to climb the sides will be able to somehow squirm out or pop the top off to escape! I was so nervous one night when he was especially rowdy, that I put a book on top! The wheel kind of hangs weird as well, we got a new wheel that sits sooo much nicer that this one...the one that comes with the cage sits lopsided and I'd have to readjust it every day.
For a start kit it works, the hamsters haven't gotten out and the wires are fine, they don't fit through them or anything like that. The bowl & water thing are fine as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Design & Cheaply Made

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
HMS406
from Lexington, KY
The design of this cage is very poor. Their are 2 designated holes, one for water bottle & one for food dish. The water bottle hangs directly over the food bowl, so low that the hamster can't access it & his food gets wet. There is literally a hole underneath the food bowl (I guess in case you add extra tunnels) so when my hamster unattaches his food bowl, there is just a giant opening in the 2nd story floor, so he has to lean over the hole to get water. The 2nd story floor is not a flat service, so it's hard to put anything extra up there without it sitting lop-sided. AND finally, the latches for both doors are thin pieces of wire that I can't see holding up too much longer, athough we haven't had any issues with escape yet. This was a long review :) , bottom line: Go with something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee CritterTrail Clear Small Animal Habitat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

2 mice on the loose

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
alsdjf
from Midland, TX
We bought this cage for three mice for a science fair project. Two of the mice have escaped from the cage. The wires are too far apart, they were able to slip in between and get out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.