petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.

Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.

Balanced nutrition that is complete for dogs of all breeds, sizes and agesHighly digestible and nutritionally denseHelps with weight maintenancePromotes healthy muscles and strong bones
Average Customer Rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.
Review 1 for Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT Product!

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lindsey55
from Los Angeles
As a ew dog owner i wanted best for my puppy. i went to petco and bought him some iams but he wasnt to happy with it after doing alot of research i decided to try tis product and he absolutly loves it! great natural ingredients and he is healthy and growing with alot of energy! thank you NV! My puppy absolutely loves NV he goes crazy for his canned food and his raw bites. :) THnk you Natures Variety for making my puppy a very healthy and active dog <3
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the better puppy foods, PUPPY LOVES IT!

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
rocket29
from Toledo, OH
I transitioned my puppy from the breeders brand to wellness puppy first. He seemed to eat enough to keep energized, but he really did not like the food. I tried adding water to it, even adding flavoring after a week. He still just did not like it. I went to the store and tried Innova with their 100% satisfaction guarantee, he wouldn't even touch it. Went on a hunger strike (lol) for a day and a half! He is picky about everything, treats at the vet he wont touch because he only likes certain kinds. I went to petco BEGGING them for some help. They recommended the puppy prairie with the freeze dried raw coating. At first he really liked it, but I figured out if you moisten the food the food a little HE LOVES IT. Quality ingredients, great reviews and your puppy will love it. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
LuvsMyDexMan
from Montana
Wouldn't use any other food - My little guy has never had an issue with his stomach while eating this - Tried the solid gold prior and he wouldn't touch it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Ingredients

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yogamomma
from Goodyear,AZ
After doing A LOT of research of different foods, made the choice for Nature's Variety. They use quality ingredients - my dogs transitioned to it well and they seem to like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This brand of food is filled with the basic nutrients for your puppy/dog

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
eborg
from ct
Being my first time puppy owner and not having knowledge of what brand of food to choose, the highly knowledgeable staff at my local petco store suggested in trying the Instict brand because it contains the basic core ingridients of nutrtion for my puppy starting out . Instinct comes in a wide variety of flavors and the raw boost is definitley the most popular with my puppy . It contains both hard and soft .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!!!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Himi
I have a 3 month old puppy that was eating gross puppy chow before I brought him home from the breeder's place. I tried to put him on Wellness puppy mix and that was a fail. He was vomiting and had diarrhea! It was gross. I immediately returned the Wellness and went back to pc. After a week, I came across Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy. The ingredients looked awesome and so did the price. I wasn't able to find any feedback regarding the food (I guess it's new?) and I took a chance with it. Well, its been a while now and my puppy is completely off of puppy chow. It's great food!! Be sure to use the manufacture's coupon from Nature's Variety site for $3 off your kibble purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tried it and love it

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
muddness
from colorado springs, co
i love this brand for my adult dog. when i found they had a puppy formula i switched my puppies food to this. for the first month he went through quite a bit of it and he had cow pie stool. he also was having leg joint issues before he started the food and seemed lethargic. a month after being on the food he is loud and bouncy and back to being a puppy. his coat is bright and his legs stopped popping out of joint.
i do not limit his food right now, so he still has a cow pie type stool, but as he gets older and i start to limit his food intake that should become solid. (according to my vet)
even though it is not perfectly solid, the stool is not very much and has almost no odor. and even though i do not limit his food, as time goes on, my puppy is eating less and less. i am refilling his bowl less often. which means he is staying fuller, longer.
it took about a month for him to get used to the new food, but it was worth it. he goes through so much less of this than his other food, he looks great on this, and his stool is much less.
also, i love that when i open his bag of food it actually smells like chicken. thats a good sign when feeding your pet i think.
i would recommend this to other puppy owners, but if they get cow pie stools and that bothers you, try mixing your current puppy food with this so they still get the benefits.
i recommended this to someone with a bull dog pup and its tummy could not handle this brand by itself. so they mix it..and the pup looks fantastic. even has lots of muscle already at such a young age. and it is so soft too.
as long as they dont change their dog food formulas, i will only feed their brands and recommend this. love it!! good luck with your puppy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great kibble

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
hearthwench
from Northern Idaho
My Pomeranian puppy loves the kibble. It does not have soy or corn. She likes it softened in a little warm water sometimes, with a sprinkle of steamed veggie mixture on top to mix up the flavor a bit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Variety Prairie Puppy Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Medley Dry Dog Food, 5 lbs.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My picky pom loves this!

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChelsandBelle
from San Diego
I had read a lot of reviews for other brands of natural dog food that made peoples pet sick. So I decided to try this with my little pomeranian puppy Belle. When I brought it home she was jumping all over the bag because she wanted into it so badly! I never saw her do that with her old brand of food. I liked that on the back of the bag were ingredients that you actually know what they are. Belle has been completely on this food for the last week now and loves it. So glad that I switched her to something that doesn't have all kinds of bad fillers in it. Plus, I was told that its made in the USA.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.