petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food

Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food

Made with one animal protein sourceContains easily digestible ingredientsGrain-free and gluten-free nutritionHealthy Omega 3 and Omega 6 fatty acids for skin and coat healthUnique green tea extract coating for great taste and aromaComplete and balanced for all life stages and all breeds
Average Customer Rating:
4.87 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
42
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Review 1 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent food

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
This food is fantastic! Sadly, I came to the grain-free party about 11 years too late, so my aging cats (both almost 13) are reaping the benefits, but I think they would be in much better health had they been on grain free from the get-go. Lesson learned--do your own nutritional research, because traditional veterinarians don't educate.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Puking Has Stopped!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Costa Mesa, CA
I never thought I would say this but the puking has stopped! I've had my two sisters for three years now and ever since they were kittens they have both vomited almost every day. I started them on healthy food and have tried several brands but none of them seemed to fix the issue. I recently took one of them to the vet and trying to fix the issue I asked him what else I can do. He told me to completely take them off chicken/beef foods. I already had them on fish but he said the rarer the meat the better for them and their digestive system. He also stated to check the labels because a lot of brands have chicken meal in them even if they state another meat, which mine did. So I tried this and mixed it with some of their old food and the first night was waiting to hear them vomit but nothing came out! And for the past week still nothing. Love this brand and will definitely be sticking to it, even my picky eater loves it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from dover,n.h
This high quality food has reduced vomiting if not eliminated it entirely(too early to be certain)The cats have shown immediate response in overall health and temperament after just 5 days.I've started off slowly with this introduction.They LOVE the flavor.The rabbit I tried months ago.They disliked it immensely,refusing to eat it.They now charge the bowls when I open the bag of this turkey.All my cats react to grains and starch and gluten.If you have a vomiting cat,eliminate these ingredients and you will see a difference.My oldest is 14 and has vomited since kittenhood.It took this long and dozens of foods and remedies for me to realize that the grains,gluten and starch were the culprits.This food has made the difference after these many years.Thank you Instinct lmtd diet turkey!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nutritious and good for sensitive stomachs and diabetics?!

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Norfolk, VA
This is the kind of food that can probably support most cats during most life stages and certain physical issues. I use this in addition to Avoderm. It does not aggravate those of my cats with sensitive stomachs, and has not brought back any glucose issues for my cat who has a diabetic history. It has not added on unnecessary weight, though my cats are fairly active. All four seem to like the taste. All around great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thrilled at the results.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from NC
Have 2 Siamese cats (sisters) 4 years old, one developed food allergies 2 years ago. Vet prescribed a prescription diet that both cats hated but it did clear up the allergy problem on the 1 cat. BUT... the allergic cat was not thriving on the prescription cat food, in 2 years on the food the cat has lost 20% of its body weight and both cats coats were ratty looking.
I decided to give the Instinct Limited Ingredient dry food a try and in just over a month of use both cats love the food and the 1 cat that had dropped 20% of its weight has rebounded in weight and both of their coats have returned to a beautiful soft luster that I had not seen in months. And so far the allergic cat has not shown any allergic reactions to the food, previous tries with other cat foods resulted in skin reactions in just a few days of feeding.
One other thing that I have observed is that in cleaning the cat boxes under the old prescription cat food, the cats stools were hard and tiny and dehydrated looking, now under the Instinct the stools are larger and firm and I would say normal looking like they were 2 years ago. So far I am thrilled with the results feeding both cats Instinct Limited ingredient Turkey cat food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Both of my cats seem to like this flavor

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
I have 2 older cats that I recently switched to the Nature's Instinct dry cat food as one of the cats has allergies and a sensitive stomach to foods with grains in them. Both of the cats seem to like this flavor and eat it fine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Stuff

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Olympia, Washington
After finding out that one of my five indoor cats has a food allergy, this food was recommended by our vet. Since the switch, his vomiting has stopped and his flaky coat issue is almost gone. I put all five of the cats on it and everyone seems to have benefitted from the very high quality food - according to the lable, its turkey, vitamins, and a little tapioca for binder, that's it. The huskier cats are losing weight, and everyone has gorgeous coats. They seem to like the taste a lot as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best food for allergies

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from malifornia
This is the best food we have found for allergy problems, It has clay in it which after researching is also beneficial. It has cleared up Hemi kitty's constant chin bumps and acne too. Very well tolerated, we will be buying more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Cat Can't Get Enough

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Forest Hills NY
She loves this food and it's been easier on her stomach to digest. Big improvement than what's been going on previous, stool is better (had chronic diarrhea and soft stool) and almost no vomiting unless she eats too fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Healthy ingredients

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from CINCINNATI,OHIO
My cat citrus would rather starve than eat this food. I wish she would give it a try because its seems like a really good food for cats with allergys and food sensitivities wich she has.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing food for a cat with food allergies!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
My cat, Buddy, has suffered from food allergies for a long time. When they're bad, he will vomit almost everyday. This can be a sad situation for both him and me (and my carpet!). Over the years we've tried many different foods, including the super expensive Prescription Diet varieties (even Z/D which is chemically hydrolyzed chicken). Through this process, I've come to learn that I think Buddy is allergic to chicken. This food has no chicken and instead, turkey is the protein. Buddy loves this food. The small, dark kibbles are easy for him to eat, and the food is always fresh. The price may seem high compared to other brands of cat food, but it is actually very reasonable when compared to prescription diets. If you have a barfy cat, I would highly recommend giving this product a shot. Buddy also does well with duck (I feed him Natural Balance Pea and Duck wet food, and am about to try the Instinct Duck wet food with duck and turkey). Be aware that the Instinct Dry "Duck" food also has turkey and chicken in it (wish they made a variety with just duck and turkey). Overall, this food has been great. Just remember it can take 3 months of strict feeding to see if a food is going to work for an allergic cat. If you give up and start feeding other food in less than 3 months, you'll never know for sure if a food would have worked. Good luck to all the cat moms and dads out there :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helps cat with sensitive stomach

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
I have a multiple cat household and my biggest challenges are hairballs, weight control, and sensitive stomach. I just started using this limited ingredient food for all of the cats in the house. This definitely seems to be helping the cat with the sensitive stomach; I've not seen her throw up recently, and her solid waste seems to have firmed up. Since this is a nice, high protein food (40%) I'm hoping it will help the cat with the weight problem; this remains to be seen. But I am quite satisfied with the results so far; all my cats are eating the food and are happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.