petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food

Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food

Grain-free and gluten-free nutritionFreeze dried raw coating for pure nutrition and great tasteProbiotics to support a healthy digestionHealthy Omega 3 and Omega 6 fatty acids for skin and coat healthContains antioxidants to help maintain a healthy immune systemComplete and balanced for all life stages and all breeds
Average Customer Rating:
4.574 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
5 stars
82
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
41 out of 45(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Review 1 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My cats won't eat new formula

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
mythreekitties
We've been buying this for years, now not one of my three cats will touch it. This was such a great food. Now I have to find something else. Very sad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New formula has higher carbs!

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
zzyzzx
from Baltimore, MD USA
The old version had carbs of around 8%, which is lower than any prescription cat food for a cat with diabetes. This new higher carb version is unacceptable and I will not be buying it! As per their email:
"The new Instinct Chicken Kibble for Cats carbohydrate level is 12.5%. "
Should still be OK for cats who do not have diabetes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New formula, new things to love

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
MabelsMomma
from Dallas, TX
I have a Maine Coon kitty who is about 3 years old now, and the poor angel has a horribly sensitive stomach. We tried all sorts of foods before we found Nature's Variety Instinct, and most of them resulted in yellow poo-puddles. When we switched to Nature's Variety Instinct (the old formula), there was an immediate change. She was happier, healthier, fur felt nicer, and she LOVED the taste of it. But unfortunately, her poo would stink to high heaven and be hard as rock. We stuck with it because we didn't want to put her through finding a food that didn't make her sick again. We've tried every flavor, but she likes the chicken one the best. When I ordered a bag online last time, I was surprised to see it had a new formula. At first, I was skeptical, she sniffed it and walked away. But now if I mix the two, she'll pick out and eat only the new formula pieces. She loves the new taste. And her poo doesn't stink so bad now, nor is it hard as a rock, so I know she is in less pain now, and that makes me a happy momma! Also, the food itself doesn't stink as bad now either--it used to be a bit overpowering when I opened the bag.
So my overall reaction is YES, there is a reason they went to a new formula. Give it a chance, my baby loves it. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

change in formula

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
cactusfeathers
from boston, ma
I had given this dry food 5 stars most likely in the past. My cat has been eating this religiously since he started on solids almost 2 years ago. Well, we just bought 2 12lb bags and will have to return. They have changed the formula. Most of the same ingredients, but a few new ones and my cat is just not giving in. Time to look for something else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High protein, low carb

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
LittleD
from Caribou, ME.
I have a diabetic cat which I feed a high protein, low carb canned cat food diet to. She needed a dry kibble to help keep her teeth clean and act as a treat too. This cat food was the best one I could find. It is high protein, low carb, and she likes it. She's happy, so I'm happy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good For Sensitive Stomachs

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
BonnieAndClyde
from Saint Paul, MN
When I got my little Bonnie as a kitten she was regurgitating just about everything I fed her. The Petco specialist suggested using this in the rabbit formula which I did. Poof no more little messes to clean up! Rabbit is a little pricy and the duck seems to work just as well. Now both Bonnie and Clyde have super shiny coats and are always complimented.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cat food

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mimijr
from Sierra vista,AZ
Tried this new food,my cat did not like it..don't know why...thought I was doing something right in changing his food,but this along with everything else I buy he doesn't like....don't know what to try now.....
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stinky Poo, Shiny Hair

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
mommakatts
from Little Rock, AR
I got this for my 7 month old Bombay. Her coat was beautiful and shiny with this product after 2 weeks of use, however her bowel movements were much larger and more foul smelling. I'm switching back to Blue Mountain Wilderness for kitty so I can get the same shiny coat with small poops and NO smells
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cats love it!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
bflosue
from Charleston SC
I buy this food because it is high protein (50%) and low carbs and is made with quality ingredients. And my cats love it! I was previously buying this at a specialty pet food store and was very happy to find that Petco sells it for less and has free shipping - very convenient!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natures Variety Instinct

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
RCSL
from Dallas, TX
I am fortunate to live with seven cats. Each of them loves Instinct dry cat food. I get the Chicken and mix it with the Rabbit and they love the combination. Also this product is good for them and has the nutrients they need for health. I would highly recommend both of these products.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good nutritious food

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
catsloveme
from Paducah, KY
This is a good nutritious food without the harsh grains that irritate the bowels. My cat loves this food, and I am thankful to have found it at Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really a Quality Food

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
5CatsAreEnough
from Grants Pass, OR
I have been feeding this food now to my 5 cats for several months. One of my cats is elderly and she had been losing weight. The vet wants her on a high protein, low carb diet and she is doing very well. Her last vet check was very good. Everyone likes it too, so that is also important! I think this is one of the best dry foods on the market!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jasminegirl
from Upper Marlboro, Maryland
On my last visit to the vets, I was told that my little darling had lost 10% of her body weight and needed more protein. I thought the ---- diet was adequate for her needs as it is considered a premimum food. I searched the internet for days looking for a food that had 50% protein nutritional content. I fortunately found Nature's Variety Chicken Meal Formula. She was raised on ---- food and I was concerned that she would not eat the new food. Well, much to my susrprise she took to it readily. Although she is a nibbler, she now eats more often and is actually showing signs of weight gain. Thank you Nature's Instinct.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
LoveRagdolls5211
from Birmingham, AL
Wonderful food. I used to feed my 5 year old ragdoll royal canin & purina pro plan tuna wet food (his previous owner had him on it). He was throwing up food quite regularly (once every one to two weeks), had recurring diahrrea and was very thin for his size. It took a while to get him used to this food but now that he is, he LOVES it. He has never eaten so well before. He is now a healthy weight, and hardly throws up. No more diahrrea but his poos still smell awful..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful food

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
xxikayixx
from OP, KS
My cat has had issues with urinary problems, but also horrible allergies. I ended up switching her to the chicken wet food and she loved it! So I've been weening her off the urinary food and onto this. She couldn't happier with the flavor and that it's grain free. Her allergies pretty much vanished.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chicken Meal Formula

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
AnimalsRTops
from Birmingham, MI
Both cats had been with another brand forever, and while they love the that brand's Tuna and Premium Protection Cat Food, I had heard good things about this brand. I transitioned one bowl to the Rabbit Formula first. OK, but still liked other brand better. Then went to this Chicken Formula and both cats like it. I'm buying another bag today. This will be the third bag.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Healthy Food and not expensive

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
JJPP
from chicago suburbs
I always used everyday types of cat foods until my vet recommended I use this. It seemed expensive, but it actually lasts much much longer because it fills the cats with healthy ingredients! They seem to need much less to fill them--probably because of all the fillers in the junkier food. My cats love it...and I have 4.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely buy this

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momofduo
from Boston, MA
Definitely buy this. Your cat(s) will love you for it. I have two 1-1/2 year olds and they LOVE this dry kibble. I leave it out all day and supplement it with a can of whatever wet food of the day for variety in the evening. I like the fact that it is high in protein (highest out there, I think) same as EVO without costing as much. We settle on this choice and I am glad we did. Their fur coats are gorgeous and they are so happy as well. Others in the run up were: Wellness Core and Solid Gold Indigo Moon. I wouldn't look any further than these three products and the cat(s) always have the final word as to which one they will like. As for us, this is the keeper!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Dry Food

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dee12
from NC
I have switched my cat over to a grain-free diet, and she really likes the Nature's Variety Grain-Free Chicken Meal Dry food. I am also feeding her the Nature's Variety Instinct Chicken wet food, and she likes that as well. She did not like the beef or duck flavors, though. Previously she was only eating dry, and I am trying to incorporate wet food into her daily diet. She seems to have lost a little weight while on this food, and her fur is so shiny and healthy looking. I will try again to incorporate other Nature's Variety flavors for some variety in her diet.
I would definitely recommend this food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Chicken Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE this food!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
hez05
from Lincoln, NE
I love Nature's Variety! It works great and my cats love it! They have been eating it for about 2 months now and their energy has increased and my overweight cat has appeared to lose weight. The only downside is that my overweight cat throws up occasionally after eating but I think it's because he eats too fast. I also love that for me, its a local product made right in the town that I live in. I would def. recommend this and I do all the time since I am a Petco employee!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>