petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food

Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food

Grain-free and gluten-free nutritionFreeze dried raw coating for pure nutrition and great tasteProbiotics to support a healthy digestionHealthy Omega 3 and Omega 6 fatty acids for skin and coat healthContains antioxidants to help maintain a healthy immune systemComplete and balanced for all life stages and all breeds
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Review 1 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A nice change

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
I had to introduce this food slowly to my cats as they have never had rabbit before. The Kibbles are much darker than they have experienced. But, happily a week or two into the transition, they are scarfing it down. I'll try to make this kibble a part of their rotation for some variety when I catch it on sale or have a good coupon. I would recommend this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for allergies

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oceano,CA
Great food for my cat with poultry , soy, corn, potato, etc. allergies. For some reason the pea does not bother her pea allergy. Food does cause stinky poo, though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best dry food ever

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Freeport, NY
my 4 cats came down with diarrhea and after numerous tests, the reasons for this could not be found. I went on the website to research foods and found numerous people highly recommending Nature's Variety. I purchased the food, the medallions, the frozen raw particles and the freezed dried dry food and after about one and a half months, the diarrhea is GONE !!! I thank you, my house thanks you and the litter boxes thank you. I don't think I will try any other brand, ever. The cats just love it and when they're happy I am happy. Thank you Nature's Variety for this great and healthy cat food. :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Ferrets Too!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Silver Spring, MD
As I mentioned on another review - I mix this with the turkey/duck meal and IAMS kitten to give my ferrets a good mix of protein and fat since I cannot give them the "raw" diet that they should be on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dry Cat food

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
My cat has irritable bowel syndrome and has been able to eat only canned food (Nature's Variety is her favorite). Recently I tried to use this product as a treat (she can't tolerate treats either, poor baby). Now she asks for it! I still don't use the dry as her meal, but she eats more than as "just treats". So far her tummy has cooperated. Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great choice

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Troy, ny
I bought this in a small bag to see if my kitties would like it. They went crazy for it! They refused to finish their other food! They gobble this up like they haven't been fed in weeks. This is well worth the price, besides it being really good for them- I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wholesome ingredients, great food!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
My ten-year-old cat was diagnosed with IBD (Irritable bowel disease) by a veterinarian who is a feline specialist. The vet stated that this condition could be caused by food allergies. It was recommended that I put her on a prescription food. This RX food is a limited protein diet produced in three flavors: Duck and Pea, Rabbit and Pea, and Venison and Pea.
This food switch meant I had to include my other four cats. Naturally they turned their collective noses up at this expensive (over $50 for an 8.5 lb. bag) food. I had to mix the new food into their favorite standby gradually. After about two weeks they ALL accepted the new food.
The good news was my little gal improved on the new food -- no more vomits, no more diarrhea. She even gained 2 pounds! BUT later, when I checked out the ingredient list on the back of the bag, I noted that pea protein is the FIRST ingredient listed. This ingredient is then followed by the ACTUAL meat protein named on the label (Rabbit, Venison, Duck) and this in turn is followed by at least TWO more types of pea ingredients (pea meal, ground peas). I decided that this was a lot of $$$ for a bag of dried peas!
I was therefore VERY pleased to find Nature's Variety brand. It contains premium ingredients and NO peas! I feel good about feeding it to ALL my cats. The primary difference between this and the RX diet is that the RX food only contains ONE protein source plus the peas. Nature's Variety Rabbit DOES contain multiple protein sources: rabbit, chicken, salmon and herring meal. If your cat IS allergic to any of these other proteins this product will not alleviate allergic symptoms. However, my girl has done very well on this brand, regardless of the additional proteins. So I am VERY pleased. I would recommend this brand to anyone seeking an alternative food from grain-filled kibbles. My little gal has reduced vomiting, no loose stools, she's gained weight, is energetic and has a lovely shiny coat. She is a fit, happy, energetic senior kitty and hopefully she'll remain that for a long, long time!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

older cat

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
My old cat with a VERY sensitive stomach that has been losing weight due to throwing up has gained at least a pound or two, he is no longer boney, and has only thrown up once(since I started him on this a week ago). His fur has also been growing beautifully. He is looking like he did when he was a couple years old again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the cats love this product

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
I live with seven cats of various ages and all of them enjoy this product. Most of them won't eat any other dry cat food. It is also very nutricious
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kitties LOVE Instinct Rabbit

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Baton Rouge, LA
I do not understand how others write bout their cats not liking this food. My cats love it. One older cat has really been able to eat this with little digestive problems. I have the chicken, but the younger cat gives me the "look" when I put it into her bowl. Their fur is wonderful to pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food and cats love it

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from WI
I grabbed this because I have a couple of cats that need to maintain or even gain a little weight and I wanted to offer them a couple different kinds to make sure they were eating. One just had a scary incident with hepatic lipidosis and it really drove into me how important it is to have food that they'll eat because not eating for just a day can have extreme consequences.
I offer them Natural Balance Duck & Green Pea, as well as Evo Chicken & Turkey (very high in calories which is great when you need to add weight), but wanted something with calorie content inbetween the two of those foods. This food met my criteria with the ingredients, so I just needed a taste approval from them. Out of all of the foods I tried, including Acana and Orijen, they picked this one hands down. I don't know if it's the novelty fact that it has rabbit and they haven't had that before or what, but they really really like it, which is what counts for me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

my cat wouldn't eat it

PostedMay 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
The ingredients in this product are good, so it could be worth a try, but my cat would not eat this at all. He LOVES raw rabbit, so I thought that giving him a rabbit kibble would give him the same flavor he loves in a dry food. I was wrong. Maybe he is just spoiled by the pure rabbit and felt like the other flavors in this food were tainting that, or maybe it just doesn't really taste good at all. I recommend getting the small size to test it out first because I made the mistake of buying the huge bag without knowing he wouldn't like it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats Love It

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I have three cats (approx. 9 months), and they all absolutely love this food. They only eat this brand (open feed on the dry mix and then they share half a can of the wet food every night as a treat), and they devour it. They are all extremely healthy, excellent weight, and very active.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cat Food

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Gardena, California
This the best food for cats that I have tried and I'm pretty OCD about what I feed. I'm always reading ingredients. I have always raised my cats on a grain-free diet l like they should be. I wanted to give them one with good quality ingredients and with a protien source that they would naturally would be able to get in the wild. They are too small to hunt deer/venison, turkey, and cows. The rabbit and chicken are perfect. the salmon ok. Not crazy about the herring. (cats don't go deep water fishing in the wild) I like the freeze dried raw added too. It helps with food allergies and weight. All and all a great nutritious food. My house cats and the ferals love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent food for cats

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
I am a veterinary technician whose cat was recently diagnosed with small cell lymphoma. Diet plays a huge part in managing her disease and this food has helped tremendously. Not is it high in calories and protein to help her maintain her weight, it is a novel protein (also helpful) and she LOVES it! Her bowl is constantly being refilled and she is well on her second big bag, STILL loves it. She was previously on Innova Evo which has more calories but she wasn't eating as much of it anymore and was losing weight. I am very happy and grateful that we tried this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product from a dependable store

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City, MO
My vet suggested we take my female Maine Coon off any food that had grain in it and to avoid poultry as well. For the last few years she would get sick many times a week and we treated it with medicine but it never got any better. We tried the Natures Variety Grain Free and it is literally like a miracle. Other than a hairball three weeks after the change in food ... no upset tummy. She is ten years old and I can't remember a time when it wasn't at least every other day. We are thrilled and Petco's service was wonderful as usual!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Some cats loathed it, the others merely hated it.

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Shawnee, OK
I have 5 indoor cats that I rotate their foods around each time, this was my first and last using the rabbit Instinct. I've used other rabbit protein sources in the past, though it has been a while. They are fine with everything from duck to venison, eel and kangaroo. I suppose it's just the way it's made to taste so horribly. Had one cat nearly starve herself and even my bottomless pit of a cat Buddy, which eats anything I put in front of him, gives me nasty looks when I put this in their bowl. So get the small size and and make certain before you commit to the large. Oh, even the feral cats left it in the bottom of the bowl until one of them came along that didn't mind it. I can't tell as to the health of my cats while on it. Mostly because they've eaten as little of this food, as is possible for them to do, and still stay alive. I should add, that the loathing continued even with me putting every type of their favorite toppings on it as I could in order to get them to eat it. I didn't return because it would have been 2 hours in the car.
I had thought there was a review on here already about how their cats hated the taste. I don't see that review. I was going to commiserate with them. Hmmmm.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
I got this a few weeks ago just to give my three cats some variety with their other high quality chicken of another brand. I thought it great for them to have something they'd actually eat in the wild. One liked it, one nibbled, one refused & kept trying to bury it. I had a thought a few days ago to put some lukewarm water on it, now all three of them eat a good portion throughout the day. I just leave a bowl of that out & they keep going back to it until it's devoured in a few hours. They've been on a high grade diet for a few years, so not really seeing any changes except a bit more hopping, haha. Great healthy food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Rabbit Meal Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
After suffering through several cats dealing with diabetes, kidney failure, and UTIs, I did a lot of research into feline nutrition, and I realized that most of these problems, especially diabetes, are completely preventable with a proper diet. Cats can't handle carbs...their natural diet (mice, birds,) provides 5% carbs, yet most dry foods contain upwards of 35%! This leads to burning out the pancreas...and diabetes. Dry foods also contribute to kidney and urinary problems.
I have since fed ONLY grain-free foods, a combination of wet and dry. I used to feed EVO (at 8% carbs, one of the best dry foods available), but my cat really didn't like it. I've switched to Nature's Variety (7% carbs), and she can't get enough! I feed the minimum amount listed on the package, and supplement with wet food (as much as she wants.) The combination has turned out stunning results. No dandruff, she's fit, her coat is shiny, and she's in incredible health. I save money over the cheaper brands because there are no fillers, so she needs less food, and trust me, after you've spend hundreds on vet bills because of diabetes or UTI infections, feeding a decent diet is worth it.
I HIGHLY recommend this food. Just make sure to switch over slowly. It's rich! Also, because you feed so little, you REALLY should feed wet as well. It'll provide extra moisture, which your cat needs, and she's less likely to gain weight, since most wet food is low in carbs (just avoid the gravy varieties.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.