petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage

HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage

High quality bird cage is a perfect home for your feathered friendSpacious and sturdy solid wrought iron constructionAssembles in as little as 15 minutesIncludes three stainless steel cups, seed guard, two perches and easy-rolling cart standAvailable in a variety of colors to suit your style of décorIdeal for use as a cockatiel bird cage or conure bird cage
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Review 1 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Melle18
from Triangle, VA
I bought this cage for my son's parakeet. It is very well made and beautiful; I have the platinum color. I really like the cart as well. It is perfect to store the bird's food and supplies. The instructions were not the best but it was still pretty easy to assemble. I am very pleased with this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality lifetime cage

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Petpatent2
from Chicago
Purchased 2 parakeets and a cage I was told would be a good home for them. Unfortunately one got too excited and hit the cage too hard and he was gone. I searched for a better cage and after many disappointments I ordered this cage. It's perfect. Heavy duty, very roomy, quality with style. I got another bird and now the two of them have plenty of room to fly and play! The colors are great. I have the beige and was very pleased at how it blends in with my neutral decor! Excellent cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Safe Sturdy Product

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Miarasa
from Ohio
This cage looks great and wasn't too difficult to assemble.
There aren't very good instructions but I was able to figure out what screws to use where based on their size.
You definitely need tools to assemble it.
I had to steady some of the larger bolts with a wrench while tightening the screws with screwdriver.
I think the design could be improved if some washers were included.
Some parts were a little bent, but nothing that made the cage nonfunctional.
I would definitely recommend this cage to a friend, especially since the price is really good for the size and quality of the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HQ victorian Conure bird cage

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Fangtasia
from Delaware
When I got this cage it was on sale at Petco. I love this cage, it is for my Pineapple green cheek Conure. Plenty of room, I love the size of the doors, 3 in total. Easy to move around on it's stand because of the wheels and easy to clean. All in all a very well made cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really nice cage

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
hecklebird
from CT
I bought this on sale and it's a really nice cage for the price (still expensive but worth it). I bought it for my parakeet to be able to have more room for exercise. I love the 3 doors (front, top, and porch)- my bird has already been sitting on the porch after not even a week. The cage does not have to be on the stand. You can have it sit on a table and use the rolling base as you wish. I keep it on the stand and roll the cage around my house as I like to have the bird in whatever room I am working. The cage itself is heavy so you wouldn't want to carry it around.
The cage was fairly easy to set up when it arrived. It had a couple of nicks in the finish of some bars, but not in places where the bird could access, so I did not return the cage. There were sharp edges on those nicks, which I filed down.
It only has the one perch to go across inside cage (and one for the top when opened) and it is thick for my parakeet's feet so I bought others - it was fun to do a whole cage decor for him! This cage is probably made for larger birds as the food dishes are quite large for a parakeet, but I made inserts for them so they're not so deep.
My parakeet took to the cage right away and did not want to go back into his smaller cage. He is now about 5 years old. He loves climbing around the walls of his new cage and hopping and flying from perch to perch, and he can have more toys and things to hang and chew on because of all the space. I think he really is loving it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Cage is Quality

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doberman33
from Dallas, Tx
This cage is really very nice. It looks great, and built very well. It is very easy to setup and assemble. I love all the openings on it, as well as the three stainless steel feeding slots and bowls. Great buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bird cage

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from olympia wa
nice sturdy cage but the instructions stunk. only pictures with no advice whatsoever on screw placement. needs better instructions. the cage is nice and sturdy and you could wash it and not worry about it rusting. you could fit two conures or cockatiels in it and be fine. nice basket underneath to hold all of your bird supplies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bird cage

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
mommyjoy
from middlebury center pa
I love this cage. It is solid, nice storage under it. It was a bit difficult to put together I had to look at the picture of it on line and use the vague instructions. It is quite big. I have 2 parakeets in it and there is room for more. It is easy to change water and to feed without irritating the birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Birds Love This Cage!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cape Coral, Fl
This is an absolutely beautiful bird cage to look at it! It is not cheaply made. We were very impressed with the sturdiness of it. No flimsy parts, easy to assemble.
It is very easy to clean and to get to our birds.
It only came with two wooden perches, one long one and one for the top opening. The dishes are a little deep for their food, but they have adjusted nicely.
This is an excellent cage and reasonably priced.
If you want your birds to live in "style" this is the cage for you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bird cage ever

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
KimbMc
I love everything about this cage, and my parrotlet loves it too. There is plenty of space for him to flutter around, and the 1/2" bar spacing is safe for a small bird. The large front door plus the platform door above it and the playtop opening all give me very good access to all parts of the cage. The bird especially likes to come out of the platform door and sit on it. I also like the design of the food dish doors that swing open and close securely (instead of the slide-up doors that most birds learn to open). The latches are secure...there will be no escaping from this cage. It is very sturdy and easy to move around on the rolling stand. The pullout tray and grille make it easy to clean. And the stainless steel food dishes are dishwasher safe and chew proof (I just wish I could order an extra set of them!).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AAAAAWESOME!

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
kaylenepeanut
from Washington
Got this cage the other day for my two parakeets and they absolutely love it! Its huge and the space is exactly what they like. My only negative about this cage is that platinum is more of a grey than a white like i was expecting. This cage is sturdy and has tons of ways my parakeets can play around in it. Definitely a must for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice Bird Cage

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
bigblue177
from Hagerstown, Maryland
We purchased this birdcage approximately 2 weeks ago and are very happy with it. We have two 3 year old parakeets that needed some more room and we wanted a more stylish look to the cage which is in our family room. This cage met both of those criteria. We really like how easy it is to change the birds water and food with the swing out doors. Our children can do so without really disturbing the birds at all. The other feature we really appreciate is the two openings at the top of the cage. We are able to leave these open during the day for the most part. The birds have a safe secure place to rest in their cage, but are also able to enjoy quick laps around the room for exercise and a change of pace by using the perch mounted on the outside of the cage. It is a well built and sturdy cage that is sure to last a long time. I would have given it a 5 paw print rating, but there were absolutely no assembly directions that came with the cage and for a person that is not inclined to put things together by looking at them, this cage could take a while.
I would, however, definitely recommend the cage to other bird owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cage!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
JnBinCA
from So. Cal
Excellent features. Very well constructed. Plastic bottom of cage is not nearly as good as the rest of the cage, low-cost plastic, should be thicker. The instructions are sufficient. It's good they give extra screws cuz some are badly threaded.
Do not be fooled by A&E brand that has the look-alike cages as they are trash compared to HQ.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice, and sturdy too

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
AbbyKnows
from Palm Springs, CA
I love this cage. Beautiful design and sturdy. Take my advice and always buy a cage that you screw together, and not the so called snap ones. You will love this too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Cage :)

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
musicangel5650
from Titusville, Fl
I bought this cage a few months back and it was well worth what i paid for it. Other than having to put all the pieces together with poorly written instructions. It fits my two cockatiels very nicely they both have room to stretch their wings out and hop around. Although the perch I got with it was not so nice. The perch i received with this cage was splintered and I could not put my birds in their new home right away because of it. Customer service was very helpful I called them and they asked for pictures of the perch and sent me a new perch. Overall I am very pleased with this cage :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.