petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage

HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage

High quality bird cage is a perfect home for your feathered friendSpacious and sturdy solid wrought iron constructionAssembles in as little as 15 minutesIncludes three stainless steel cups, seed guard, two perches and easy-rolling cart standAvailable in a variety of colors to suit your style of decorIdeal for use as a cockatiel bird cage or conure bird cage
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Review 1 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My cockatiel loves this cage!

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ocean City, NJ
Ordered this for my two year old cockatiel. It was so easy to put together. He loves climbing up and down. He had to get used to the larger food/water dishes since the dishes in his previous cage were smaller. But after he fell in the food dish the first time he figured it out. I only wish there was one more large perch but I've purchased a few different kind of perches and he seems to really like them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great... But...

PostedMay 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York
This cage is a decent size for my Quaker. I do unfortunately have a few issues.
For one- the cage is HEAVY. I can already tell that cleaning it will be a hassle.
Secondly, the screws were a bit short. The top part of the cage opens- but for whatever reason, the screws provided (for this area) are too short. When I attach the shorter perch to the top, the whole door has the potential to fall- with your bird on it.
Third, the instructions weren't great. I know this is typically the case with things of this sort but really?
Also, and probably most important to note, is the fact that the back and front cage "walls" have vertical (up and down) bars- making it hard for my bird to climb. When coming down from the drop down porch, my bird has to slide down the vertical poles to get back inside.
Finally, the longer perch just would not fit straight in the cage. I attempted to put it in at a slant but naturally it wasn't steady.
Although I ran into a few issues, the cage was good overall. It is well made, spacious, I personally love the food doors (and the fact that the construction prevents the bowls from being flipped over), the porch, and the locking mechanisms. The stand with the cart was also a nice touch.
This is a great cage when bought on sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Change is good

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Cambridge, MA
The cage is heavy but it's a good size and sturdy. I have two Cockatiels. They're not used to it yet. The openings make it easy to change food and the paper. I don't know how hard it was to put together. Someone else did it. I have the cage on a counter and using the stand for something else. I love the whole set up and it wasn't pricey for me.This cage and stand was certainly worth getting. I love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great!!!

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from erie, PA
I got this cage in the tan color super easy to build and my greencheek conure absolutely loves it. Box was a bit heavy but I carried it in alone and it was manageable. Came packaged great not a dent on it. Plenty of room for multiple perches,toys, and my birds bed and still loads of cage room for my bird to roam. Highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great cage

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from indiana
I really like this cage and it was easy to put together. I looks great and it is very sturdy. The only issue I have with it is that seed shells get every where. You can't put a seed skirt on this because the door is so low.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CARy, nc
Paid 127 on sale including shipping! The wheels dont lock but for that price! Looks expensive. Very sturdy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very solid cage

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lincoln, NE
This cage is very heavy and very solid! It was easy to put together. My conure really likes the little "landing pad" door toward the top of the cage. My only complaints are, I wish the water and food dishes were accessible from the front of the cage. As it is, the cage must be positioned such that the sides are accessible in order to change out the dishes. Also, the color was listed as "platinum" and it's a little more grey than I like. Otherwise, it is a good cage and a good value for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HQ Victorian Top w/CartStand Bird cage

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Richmond, VA
Have an African Grey parrot who had a larger cage but it is in storage in another state and needed a quick remedy from the small transport cage he was staying in. My baby is happy and back to himself and our family is very happy for him.
The cage was easy to put together and it is wonderful that when it was delivered that the box had reinforced sides so the cage box did not come in pieces like his previous cage did.
EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR Medium and some Larger birds
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cage

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Triangle, VA
I bought this cage for my son's parakeet. It is very well made and beautiful; I have the platinum color. I really like the cart as well. It is perfect to store the bird's food and supplies. The instructions were not the best but it was still pretty easy to assemble. I am very pleased with this cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality lifetime cage

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
Purchased 2 parakeets and a cage I was told would be a good home for them. Unfortunately one got too excited and hit the cage too hard and he was gone. I searched for a better cage and after many disappointments I ordered this cage. It's perfect. Heavy duty, very roomy, quality with style. I got another bird and now the two of them have plenty of room to fly and play! The colors are great. I have the beige and was very pleased at how it blends in with my neutral decor! Excellent cage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Safe Sturdy Product

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
This cage looks great and wasn't too difficult to assemble.
There aren't very good instructions but I was able to figure out what screws to use where based on their size.
You definitely need tools to assemble it.
I had to steady some of the larger bolts with a wrench while tightening the screws with screwdriver.
I think the design could be improved if some washers were included.
Some parts were a little bent, but nothing that made the cage nonfunctional.
I would definitely recommend this cage to a friend, especially since the price is really good for the size and quality of the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HQ victorian Conure bird cage

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Delaware
When I got this cage it was on sale at Petco. I love this cage, it is for my Pineapple green cheek Conure. Plenty of room, I love the size of the doors, 3 in total. Easy to move around on it's stand because of the wheels and easy to clean. All in all a very well made cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really nice cage

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CT
I bought this on sale and it's a really nice cage for the price (still expensive but worth it). I bought it for my parakeet to be able to have more room for exercise. I love the 3 doors (front, top, and porch)- my bird has already been sitting on the porch after not even a week. The cage does not have to be on the stand. You can have it sit on a table and use the rolling base as you wish. I keep it on the stand and roll the cage around my house as I like to have the bird in whatever room I am working. The cage itself is heavy so you wouldn't want to carry it around.
The cage was fairly easy to set up when it arrived. It had a couple of nicks in the finish of some bars, but not in places where the bird could access, so I did not return the cage. There were sharp edges on those nicks, which I filed down.
It only has the one perch to go across inside cage (and one for the top when opened) and it is thick for my parakeet's feet so I bought others - it was fun to do a whole cage decor for him! This cage is probably made for larger birds as the food dishes are quite large for a parakeet, but I made inserts for them so they're not so deep.
My parakeet took to the cage right away and did not want to go back into his smaller cage. He is now about 5 years old. He loves climbing around the walls of his new cage and hopping and flying from perch to perch, and he can have more toys and things to hang and chew on because of all the space. I think he really is loving it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Cage is Quality

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, Tx
This cage is really very nice. It looks great, and built very well. It is very easy to setup and assemble. I love all the openings on it, as well as the three stainless steel feeding slots and bowls. Great buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bird cage

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from olympia wa
nice sturdy cage but the instructions stunk. only pictures with no advice whatsoever on screw placement. needs better instructions. the cage is nice and sturdy and you could wash it and not worry about it rusting. you could fit two conures or cockatiels in it and be fine. nice basket underneath to hold all of your bird supplies
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bird cage

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from middlebury center pa
I love this cage. It is solid, nice storage under it. It was a bit difficult to put together I had to look at the picture of it on line and use the vague instructions. It is quite big. I have 2 parakeets in it and there is room for more. It is easy to change water and to feed without irritating the birds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Birds Love This Cage!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cape Coral, Fl
This is an absolutely beautiful bird cage to look at it! It is not cheaply made. We were very impressed with the sturdiness of it. No flimsy parts, easy to assemble.
It is very easy to clean and to get to our birds.
It only came with two wooden perches, one long one and one for the top opening. The dishes are a little deep for their food, but they have adjusted nicely.
This is an excellent cage and reasonably priced.
If you want your birds to live in "style" this is the cage for you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bird cage ever

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
I love everything about this cage, and my parrotlet loves it too. There is plenty of space for him to flutter around, and the 1/2" bar spacing is safe for a small bird. The large front door plus the platform door above it and the playtop opening all give me very good access to all parts of the cage. The bird especially likes to come out of the platform door and sit on it. I also like the design of the food dish doors that swing open and close securely (instead of the slide-up doors that most birds learn to open). The latches are secure...there will be no escaping from this cage. It is very sturdy and easy to move around on the rolling stand. The pullout tray and grille make it easy to clean. And the stainless steel food dishes are dishwasher safe and chew proof (I just wish I could order an extra set of them!).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AAAAAWESOME!

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Washington
Got this cage the other day for my two parakeets and they absolutely love it! Its huge and the space is exactly what they like. My only negative about this cage is that platinum is more of a grey than a white like i was expecting. This cage is sturdy and has tons of ways my parakeets can play around in it. Definitely a must for the price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HQ Opening Victorian Top with Cart Stand Bird Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice Bird Cage

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hagerstown, Maryland
We purchased this birdcage approximately 2 weeks ago and are very happy with it. We have two 3 year old parakeets that needed some more room and we wanted a more stylish look to the cage which is in our family room. This cage met both of those criteria. We really like how easy it is to change the birds water and food with the swing out doors. Our children can do so without really disturbing the birds at all. The other feature we really appreciate is the two openings at the top of the cage. We are able to leave these open during the day for the most part. The birds have a safe secure place to rest in their cage, but are also able to enjoy quick laps around the room for exercise and a change of pace by using the perch mounted on the outside of the cage. It is a well built and sturdy cage that is sure to last a long time. I would have given it a 5 paw print rating, but there were absolutely no assembly directions that came with the cage and for a person that is not inclined to put things together by looking at them, this cage could take a while.
I would, however, definitely recommend the cage to other bird owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>