petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Hay Rack

Petco Hay Rack

Hay rack is a great way to offer healthy hayThis sanitary hay holder easily fits on most horizontal wire habitatsKeeps hay clean and habitats tidyPerfect for rabbits, guinea pigs, and other small furry friends
Average Customer Rating:
3.733 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
10 out of 15(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Hay Rack
Review 1 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Better to just feed off the ground

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
AnimalKingdom
from Oregon
Comes off ALL the time, and bunny can't get to the bottom of it. Feed off the ground instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hay rack

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Am4Pets
from Seminole, OK
It is a great product to have, for your pets cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good to have

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
CalvyBabyBunny
from Boston, MA
He eats his hay eat. it gets knocked off occasionally but hes too presh when he eats from it. lots of hay falls outside the cage as well but hey what can u do..
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Such a mess

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
BunnyMom91
from York, PA
This hay rack is such a pain. If you don't mind cleaning up multiple times a day and wasting hay, then sure go with this. If not, choose a more expensive one that goes inside the cage. I guess you really do get what you pay for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work for me

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cherie2n
from Madeira, Ohio
I bought this to get the hay off the floor of the cage. It placed it on the outside of the cage and noticed that most of is slid down either on the floor or on the pan under the wire bottom of the cage.Not so good because I use long as well as short hays. I just place a pile of hay in her litter box and on her mat now. I am sending the hay rack back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fair, not that great

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jess32247
This hay holder isn't the best, though it holds a decent amount of hay. I bought this when I resued my chinchilla, used it for about a year. I never liked how my chin had to push her nose through the bars to get it, especially when it got half full because she had a hard time reaching the rest of the hay.
Keep in mind, this does not hold hay very well. It'll just fall out through the bottom, leaving a mess inside and outside of the cage.
Another thing I don't like about this hay holder is that it is plastic. Animals should have as little plastic as possible in there cages. After a while, my chin took to chewing the little hooks that attached it to the cage. I took it out right away, but she still managed to almost break off a hook completely.
And if anyone is confused about the picture displaying it, you are looking at the back side of it, with the sticker on the back/outside of it. The hooks are on the other side.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for not wasting hay

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bunnies6
from Seattle
My rabbit eats hay out of her potty tray but I was wasting so much each time I emptied it. I still put a bit of hay on her litter but I hang this in the cage next to the tray so she has as mush clean hay as she wants without being wasteful. It attaches very easily to cage. Lightweight and nothing too intricate. Best value I have found so far. I do wish it stayed in the cage better. My rabbit is able to easily knock it off from outside the cage. It's nice it's accessible from both sides so she can eat when she's not in the cage as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product/ Easy solution

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
GuineaBelle
I love this hay rack. It is an easy fix to having the hay accessible for small animals. It helps avoid messes. My guinea pig tips over any bowls I have in her cage with hay in it so this works perfectly. Hay does sometime fall out from below but it is okay and better than it all over the cage bedding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Guinea pigs love it!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
kona12345
from Oregon
My guinea pigs love getting their hay through the bars to get their hay. It looks neater in the cage to. It looks so much neater then just a pile of hay. My guinea pigs figured out fast how to use it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are great and they work

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
snoopyflopsey143
from New York, NY
I found out that Hay is a staple for bunnies and I am taking care of bunnies for the winter. So I was putting the Hay on the floor next to the soft wood/paper bedding that they bunnies were supposed to use for litter. Well it got very messy and confusing for my very young bunnies. Now they eat the straw they want. It attaches to the outside of the cage so the straw basically is on the inside. No issues with the slats being to close together like other products so they can get the straw out . It's a great solution
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hay rack

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
fran2759
from adams mass
I like this product it is much easier for my chinchilla to eat the hay and its not all over the bottom of the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well and functions as designed

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
ladyneeva
from Colorado Springs, CO
Picked one of these up because we've been wanting something that keeps the hay up off the floor and that could also be reached from two different sides of a divided Midwest Habitat plus cage so as to avoid having to get two hay holders while our guinea pigs get used to each other.
Other than not being able to place the bottom flap between the base and the cage bars because our base is on the inside, this works perfectly and I'm not concerned about the little bit of lost hay from the bottom since I need to vacuum shavings that get kicked out regularly anyway.
Product is wide enough to offer good access to both halves of a divided cage and both guinea pigs figured out how to pull hay through the bars very quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good for some...

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
hihihi
When I first looked at this product, I did not understand how it worked. I imagined putting it on the inside, but later I understood where it goes. I have a Midwest Guinea Habitat, so the base is on the inside, but in most pet store cages, the base ends on the outside. You're supposed to tuck the little flap into the base, but I couldn't do that with my cage. As a result, little pieces of hay ended up on my floor. Since I knew I was returning my guinea pig in a week because of a defect, I took my already-owned litter box and put hay in it (I wasn't going to bother litter training her). My guinea pig was small, so I used the hay rack as a hidey-house. Because shelters sometimes drop animals off at petco, I traded my baby guinea pig for an older, adoptable one. He was too big for the hay rack as a hidey-house. I now keep the hay rack on the outside, and I store extra chews and cleaning supplies in it. I can't totally blame petco; this is one of the best hay racks out there, and they do say in the instructions that you need to tuck in the flap. It does make great storage, though, even though it seems too small for it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product, Works For Purpose

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
CritterMomma08
from Jerseyville, IL
We have bought 4 of these for our cages. The only problem we have is hay falling out the bottom. We used a zip tie and a small hole in the bottom and now they work fine. Our animals can use them well and it doesn't take up any room inside the cages which we love also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Hay Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
deboraheb
from San Diego, CA
I've tried other hay racks but this is the best one. It stays in place outside of the cage, holds a good amount of hay, allows my guinea pig easy access to hay, easy to remove and put back on, and doesn't cause a mess of hay everywhere. I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.