petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence

PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence

Small, sleek and rechargeable wireless dog fence systemWaterproof receiver collar offers a tone-only mode for training as well as five levels of static correctionCircular adjustable boundary covers up to 3/4 an acre (up to 105 radial feet)Combine multiple wireless pet fence transmitters to create a greater play areaTransmitter sets up easily in 1-2 hours - receiver recharge can last up to 3 weeksCan be configured for additional pets with extra collars (sold separately)Model PIF00-12917
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Review 1 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked while it worked

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jrinmn
from MN
I went through 4 collars under warranty. Apparently there is a quality control issue. I finally got working collars, only to have the base unit stop working after 15 months. I liked the product- it worked perfectly while it was working. I tried to give PetSafe a chance to make it right and send me a new transmitter, but the best they did was offer a discount on a new one since it was out of warranty by 3 months. For any inquiring minds, Petsafe is owned by the company that also makes Invisible Fence and Sport Dog brands (none of which will get my business again).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works good, but needs a flat yard, no ups and downs

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
DesertChick
from Las Cruces, New Mexico
We live in a new home, built on 10 acres in the desert of southern NM..
We have a back yard that has many ups and downs with the arroyos and mesas..
This did not work when there were dips...my dog did not get the indication that this was off limits..
the level areas worked good, but we have too many of the other type and and go there
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Working well so far!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
IndyBeagle
from Indianapolis, IN
We have a 5 year old beagle and initially used the other petsafe electric fence. It worked very well for 4 years and then began to shock her at odd times when she was not close to the boundary (in the house). We were told it was something environmental causing it. After troubleshooting it every different direction we decided to replace it and since there was a new option went with it hoping it would have a different frequency. So far it has worked as well as the first one did before it went on the fritz. These fences changed our beagle's entire life as it gave her freedom to play in a neighborhood that doesn't allow fences. We also travel and take it with us so that is very convenient. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nice Concept, Poor Performance... Returning Product

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
LuvMyPetsinTx
from Southeast, Texas
Prior to purchasing we read another review where this product wasn't reliable if you didn't have a flat yard. We thought we would be fine but the signal doesn't transmit through heavy metal (washer/dryer, parked cars, A/C unit, etc), so we couldn't close the circuit which meant the system is useless. We figure this would be great if you're out camping and have a large open area where you want to restrain your pets, but we're returning it and going back to the underground wired fence to put around our home.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fence

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
ZoeGirl1
from South Carolina
After I set the flags out and started the training Zoe quickly learned not to go past the flags. When I removed the flags she tested it once and now stays inside the boundary.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase I've made for my dog!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
kmart2003
from Mountain Home, AR
When using a tie-out became a pain I decided to look for something more permanent. Enter the PetSafe Wireless Fence. It is AWESOME! Plug it in, adjust the setting to the size of your yard and put out the flags for about a week. I took my dog out the first day on a leash and walked up to all the boundary with collar on beep, then went through again on lowest shock setting. After getting shocked a couple times he never went close to boundary again. Now I don't even put the shock collar on and he still stays in the boundary. I also love the portability of this fence, I can take it to my in-laws or anywhere and plug it in and put the collar on and he knows once he hears the beep to not go any further.
Also, my yard is extremely sloped but have had no problems!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
thriftykim93
from Kodak, TN
AWESOME!! We have a 90 lb boxer/lab mix that is very stubbon & very strong. She has broken several tie out chains, cables & even the run that we purchased just trying to get to birds, bunnies, squirrels or my kids. within 1 week of setting up this fence, she was trained to know what the beeping noise was and what the flags meant. It has changed all of our relationships with her. Thank you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Must have a flat yard!

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
OwnedByLittleDogs
from NC
Purchased this item because we have 5lb and 21lb dogs and needed something that was rated for a smaller dog. Item was easy to set up out of the box, but when we went to set the flags we had a terrible time finding the line. Called Petsafe and they told us that this product does not work well with a sloped yard. Sent it back to Petco - waiting for refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+22points
34of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Missy33
from Wisconsin
We have a miniature dachsund...works great!!! She used to run off constantly. Now she stays out for hours on end with our two labs (who are not contained) and never runs away!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy set up, great for large dog

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
sewnquilt
from Norwich, VT
It was a great purchase in the middle of the winter in VT. No wires means no digging. All you have to do is plug it in, stick flags in the snow where you want the boundary to be, train you do dog what the flags mean and you are ready to let them run free. One thing we had not considered was where to place the transmitter. It can not be outside if temperatures fall below freezing. We put it in our basement and it works wonderfully. Additionally, the the boundary line is a large circle, the shape can not altered. So if you have a particular area you need to keep you pet out of, it may not be as easy to achieve as the wired system. It works great on our Akita/shepard mix. No more standing out in the cold waiting for him to do his business and we never worry about him running off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
taminnp
from GA
I had to purchase this because my small dog can easily dig out from under my privacy fence. I did not follow direction and keep it in training mode for 2 weeks. I set out the flags and walked the perimeter with my dog a few times. He is only 10 pounds so I placed it on the lowest shock setting. He is not the brightest of dogs, but he learned very quickly. Problem solved. He still gets out of the wooden fence but won't go near the flags! Easy to program; easy set up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
24of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Stay & Play Wireless Fence
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the answer to our prayers!!!

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
sondrarials1978
from ozark arkansas
We bought this wireless containment system for our siberian husky and got an extra collar for our black lab. 3 words..IT IS AMAZING!!!! It only took a few days and the best part is there is no permanent fence and hard work....my dogs know as soon as they hear the warning beep that they have gone too far....Seeing my husky stay in the yard is DEFINATELY worth the money we spent...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+39points
95of 151voted this as helpful.