petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel

Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel

Aids in propagation of beneficial bacteriaAdds depth and beauty to aquariums, water gardens, ponds and terrariumsMade of non-toxic fish safe materials and colorsSafe for use in freshwater and marine environmentsFor optimum results, use 2 lbs. of gravel per every one gallon of water
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Review 1 for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It is pretty but does not work for my Cory cats

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Syracuse NY
They are small to medium sized polished rocks. They look nice, and would have been fine for my Betta I think. But I decided to get him two Cory Catfish friends. They have difficulty getting their pellets and keep knocking them under the rocks where they cannot reach them. I am going to have to take the rocks out eventually, but will definitely need to clean the tank after just a week. or the water will foul. I cannot say that these rocks meet my needs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Chesterfield, VA
I originally started out last September with black gravel that was polluting my water, so it would never look clean. I went for the natural look instead and it paid off. Great look and easy to clean! No more dirty water!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

river rock

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
gravel is fine. thought it was all going to be larger stones but several smaller in them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

River Rock

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from East Durham NY
This river rock is the best. I ordered this because I like the description of the size and color of the stone. It arrived and I was not disappointed. It looks great in the tank too. If you are looking for a natural look in your aquarium, then definitely buy this stone. Best part is, it was on sale and I ordered enough for my 100 gallon tank. Poor delivery guy. Well worth it and the look is absolutely beautiful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Thought This Ruined My Tank, But I Was Wrong

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NE US
I had originally given this gravel a bad review because it had a reaction in my tank which caused the water to go very acidic. I had several sales associates at the store trying to help me figure out the problem and we had eliminated everything but the gravel. I pulled the gravel and the water went back alkaline where it should be.
We all drew the conclusion that it was the gravel. Then a few days later, the tank without the gravel went acidic again and I did extensive testing on the gravel itself and it turns out it was not this gravel.
I mention this to caution anyone else who might be facing a similar situation to really examine the situation thoroughly first.
Having said that, I LOVE this gravel. It is nice and light reflective and really sets off our half moon blue/aqua/purple betta fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This was great it accent my tank wonderful.

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from herminie,pa
Love what it did for my tank. Great product for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

River Rock gravel

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
I mixed this gravel with a bag of coffee aquarium gravel, and the effect was just stunning. The gravel alone would look just fine though for larger fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Gravel

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
I love the natural look this adds to my bettas 5 gallon!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great rock!

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
I got this rock when I got my 38 Gallon tank, and stand.
it was 7 dollars, because it was on sale of a sale! Great deal!
It looks beautiful in my river-themed tank. I got some bigger rock to mix in for some variety, and it works well.
The reason I didn't give it 5 stars, is because of the fact that there is a massive color variety, and it takes away from the aesthetic beauty of the tank. I want to focus on my fish, not my gravel.
It looks really natural, and would be GREAT in river tanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Gravel

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
This gravel has beautiful coloring. I just love it. The size is large, from 1/2-3/4 inch pieces, and has a multitude of colors from a creamy white to a darker charcoal. The overall color tends to be on the lighter side, though.
I also bought some of the Aztec Bronze gravel (which is considerably smaller, about 1/8 inch) and it's a beautiful blend of light and dark. The Aztec Bronze is the darker goldish gravel.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco River Rock Shallow Creek Aquarium Gravel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rocktastic.

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from California
These pebble rocks are great, includes a wide variety of textures and colors as well as sizes. The bag included enough for me to scatter on top of the smaller gravel + extra I am saving, I use it so that the debris aren't as compacted as they would be in the smaller gravel so when things get moved around the water will stay a little cleaner. Additionally the natural colors work well with aquarium lighting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.