petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard

Clear Seed Guard wraps around the base of your bird's cageHelps contain seed and debrisTransparent guard has adhesive Velcro closures that you position for a custom fitFits any cage up to 79" in diameter
Average Customer Rating:
1.733 / 5
1.7
 / 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
11
4 out of 15(27%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Review 1 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bird cage seed guard

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from branford,ct
I have never had issues with products i purchased before but this Bird csge seed guard really dont work . wish I returned it when i found out. the velcro dont stick and as others said it blocks the areas you need to open to feed and clean and it dont fit the cage right. Great idea but needs improvements.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
the tiny velcro pieces do not hold anything in place. The sheet comes rolled so trying to get it to stay flat is futile.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bird cage seed guard

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from by O'hare, Il
The seed guard does stop all seeds, and doesn't fit properly on the cage. This product is designed for cages, that have no openings for dishes or main pull up door. And if you buy the cages, where the dish are fitted to the front threw pull up openings on the cage, it leave a gap for the seeds to fall out. Plus the glue on the velcro holder has fallen off the plastic, so now I have tape holding it on. I have 3 bird cages and still have seeds laying around the cages. Not as much, but really didn't solve the problem of seeds coming out of the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the hassle

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Surprise, az
This product does help keep the floor clean but it is not worth the hassle. The sticky stuff on the back side of the Velcro comes off. Glueing it back on doesn't help either. For now I have scotch tape holding it together but am sure I will have to replace it often.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from sterling va
nice product, ease to use,look good,last long very nice porduct
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good Concept, Poor Execution

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Idaho
Purchased this item this past week to keep our Austrailian Dove from throwing so much seed onto the floor. The plastic has been rolled tightly and now is curled. The sticky on the Velcro tabs is VERY weak. Used super glue to secure them down. Works well enough now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good Idea but not effective

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from rochester, wa
I purchased these a while ago in order to contain some of the seed in the cages of my seven birds, the plastic was extremely curly so I cut it to size attached the velco and then used a blowdryer to make it form to my cage and this worked lovely... for about a day, until my lovebird chewed through his and the others just fell off one after another as the velco buttons were torn off from pressure which took about 2 days. Overall, although it seems like a cheap fix it's better just to spend the extra money on something that will actually work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a great product

PostedMay 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
This bird seed guard is ok, but despite the description would not fit around the cage. I ended up purchasing something else and wish I could return this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Seed Guard

PostedApril 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Corpus Christi, TX
Do not waste your money. Bought one and the Velcro would not even stay on. They are not worth it at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

stops the seed!

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from MN
Does help contain the seed in the cage, may buy more and go one level higher up the cage. I have a big bird aviary, not a bird cage, but this seed guard wrapped easily around the cage and I cut it to fit around door openings and such. Used double stick tape to hold it on...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You have to know how to use it

PostedFebruary 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
If you use a heat gun or blow dryer, you can make the plastic soft and maliable. I have formed it to the shape of my cage and it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would NOT Recommend

PostedDecember 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
This item is very difficult to use because you have to take it off for feeding and cage cleaning...and it retracts into a small circle. Then you have to get it back around the cage again...really more trouble than it's worth. Also, it doesn't seem to do much in the way of keeping seed IN the cage. I personally prefer the older nylon ones that sort of "scrunchied" around the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

piece of garbage

PostedMarch 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
from PA
This doesn't go high enough on taller cages to do any good. Also the velcro pieces kept falling off the plastic, I ended up having to tape the thing shut. After a few days I couldn't take the mess anymore and went back to using the mesh seed guard I had on the cage before.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Clear Seed Guard NOT

PostedDecember 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
from Columbia, SC
This piece of paper and a couple of useless adhesive dots that don't work aren't worth five cents, much worth two dollars. Save your money! I threw mine away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Bird Cage Seed Guard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ultimate Seed Guard Adventure

PostedJuly 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, MI
I bought two Avian Select Clear Guards because my cage is 30X18X36. The product is actually quite nice because it's clear and you can see if there are any seeds on it etc. The only problem is that I've only had it for two days and the adhesive has came off of it a couple of times. I understand it's because of the fact that you're putting a circular adhesive on two sides of the plastic guard. But at the same time, the plastic is trying to pull back on itself because of the way it was packaged. The package is rolled up like a tube of wall paper. You just cut the piece you want, wrap it around your cage, and attach it to the other side. I'm still using it since I paid for them but now, alongside with the little sticky things, I've used clear tape. 8) The attached side is towards the back. No one will ever know the difference. It does work better than some of the other seed guards that I've seen out there. Especially since I have two very active finches.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.