petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for API nexx Aquarium FILTER

API nexx Aquarium FILTER

Easy changesNo priming, no disconnectCrystal clear water that flows through the resin cartridges - not over the top bypassing the mediaEasy clip connect to add extensions for added filtration or larger aquariumsFiltration flexibility
Average Customer Rating:
2.059 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
11
5 out of 17(29%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Review 1 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My learning curve with API Nexx!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
qwarrior
from Durham, NC
!. I bought the filtering system on the merits of ease of filter change.
** My first filter changes were a disaster: This was my fault, I thought it was necessary to move the entire unit to access the individual canisters.
** Currently I have a main unit plus two extensions. I discovered if I secured the entire assembly ( usually with my left forearm ), I could twist the handle and gently rock the canister from the base. Small movements seemed to work the best.
2. OMG leaks: The first time I moved the entire assembly out from under the aquarium, the weight of the water in the canisters twisted the system slightly but enough to break the "o" ring seals in the base and I got leaks.
I had to drain the filter completely to reset it back up, in doing so I noticed that the plates that held the base together were not completely flush. After reconnecting the plates to the base I used a piece of plywood under the assembly to keep the base level and to uniformly support the entire system. So far no leaks.
The API Nexx runs in conjunction with an older Marine Land 400, and now with me performing the filter changes as designed, my 55 gal tank has finally settled down to a very clear and healthy tank.
When I got the API Nexx the instruction on how to set it up and get it going were concise, but I don't remember anything about how one changes the filter in an existing environment.
I've had the system a little bit over a year now and since working out the kinks I've come to appreciate the system.
Hope this helps...
qwarrior
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very upset

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kcox12
from Kansas
This is the first canister filter I've ever bought I was super excited got it home hooked up and it was leaking from the hoses finally got them to stop checking everything else out to find it's leaking from a seal on bottom literally out of the box so I took it all down took it apart and put it back together to make sure it was not just faulty set up again, same thing happened finally read reviews and found people are having the same problem and with this being my first canister I'm really nervous at getting any other canister in fear of the same problems...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy it

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Catsandfish
from Tulsa, OK
Bought the filter at the end of December. Initially thought it was great, quiet, easy, etc. Don't be fooled. First bag change, no real issues. Second bag change, could not get the filter to stop leaking from the base. Worked with it for several hours. Thought I had the leak stopped. I was wrong, lost about 10 gallons overnight from my aquarium. Poor design. Extremely frustrating. Out of warranty from both Nexx and Petco's standpoint. So I was stuck. Buy a different type of filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont let it fool you

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Oscarsforlife
from Illinois
This filter looks great and all and good price to. But after a month or two and it leaks cracks and drips everywhere. The pump is also terrible its olny like 300 gph and the whole thing is made very flimsy teriable product surprised api made this there a pretty good company. Dont buy this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible DO NOT BUY!

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
alexico73
from Orange County, CA
Terrible design of this filter. You would have to hook up about three in order to get enough filter media to adequately work. Started leaking after about a month. Threw it in the trash. Save your money and buy a nice canister filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Waste - Can I get a Refund???

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
KenaiGirl
from Kenai, Alaska
I really wanted these filters to work. Purchased 2 base units + 2 extensions for a 90 gallon tank. You would think with that overkill, my tank would be crystal clear. The tank is NOT overloaded with fish and houses 5 Cichlids (about 6"), 1 Oscar (about 8") and 1 Pacu (about 15"). I purposely doubled-up on the volume for GPH in hopes of achieving the same level of success that I have with FX5 installed on a 90 gal community tank. NOT EVEN CLOSE.
First, API states that these cartridges need only be replaced every 2 months. Well, within 4 weeks, I had severe problems with filthy water.
Second, I purchased the foam inserts, and the lids will not lock down and seal if you put the foam inserts in. End result, no foam media to catch the real gunk/fish waste so it cycles right back to your tank. A complete waste of money for product that is specifically designed and marketed for this filter, but doe not fit. I am out for the cost of 8 foam inserts.
Third, attempts to change out the expensive cartridges are not simple as indicated and you will end up with water and waster on your floors and cabinets. I highly recommend placing the entire unit inside a garbage bag to catch the water, etc and then remove the filter cartridges in a waste can.
I cannot say enough HORRIBLE things about this system. It is not cheap in comparison to the Fluval FX5/FX6 when you want to push the volume of water that I do. Filter media is high dollar and does not last the recommended time frame. By my estimates, this particular set-up on my tank will cost me $65/month for cartridges. With FX5, I replace media every 3-4 months and only have to wash out all of the compartments and biomedia 1X-month. I replace my Zeo-Carb 1Xmonth.
API NEXX IS GOING BACK FOR REFUND or IN THE TRASH. I will never be swayed from FX5 CANNISTERs again. No matter what the recommendations of PETCO staff are.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Simi Valley, CA
I have had my API Nexx filter for a year and a half now. Not once has it leaked, I only needed to change the media and pads every 5-6 weeks if not longer, and it has always kept my clean completely clear. Since getting it the only fish that have died are the ones I put in as food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible product.

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
cheepgeek
from Redding, CT
Fish tank owners: DO NOT BUY THE API NEXX CANISTER FILTER!!! It leaks from every seal after only a few months.
This is one of the only things I have bought without doing much research and I wish I had. Every review I read says the same thing: it leaks. I will be filing a complaint tomorrow with API.
I was impressed with the features, simplicity and the fancy videos. I bought it around Christmas 2012. Just a couple days ago I noticed that the tank was really low (which is typically from evaporation), so I added more water. The next morning I noticed that my 40-gallon tank was down about 8 - 10 gallons and there was water on the floor. After looking, I saw the filter gushing water from the bottom. I tried to clean and re-seat the seals and put it back into place and it immediately began gushing, now from the bottom AND the top. At that point I gave up and I'm putting my old filter back into use.
There is a section of beautiful hardwood floor in my living room about 15 feet long that is damaged (discolored, bowed) from the water, and it soaked through to the finished basement. The basement ceiling in my theater room has water marks. Water was dripping from a light fixture, which soaked an area on my brand new rug. There has to be at least $1000 in water damage. Hopefully there isn't more water that kills my entire AV system.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ez4u2cy
from Michigan
I would give this zero paws but i cant.
My first impressions where how innovative the filter looked but that soon was forgotten after I hooked it up.
The unit leaked right out of the box, I thought no big deal its just the seals need to adjust. It leaked from the base for 2 days then stopped. Then I thought that is was hooked up wrong because the water flow was very slow, nope that was how its designed. I purchased the extension for it also and that was leaking from the same spot too.
I emailed API tech support and they said and I quote "it just seems like it is leaking and it is normal" are you kidding me! So the 20 gal of water on my floor is just my imagination?
This would be a great filter IF they redesign the seals and get a bigger power head.
This is not a random problem with the seals, I have read many forums complaining about this same problem and I wish I would have done more research before I purchased it.
I have purchased many API products in the past and found there stuff very satisfying and that is why I am shocked that they would put out a product like this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so much

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hartric
from Birmingham, AL
It seemed like a great idea. The sales guy said everyone loved it or hated it. I suppose that should have been a hint. From the first filter exchange it was difficult to separate from the base. It also leaked when I put it back together..lithe first try, second and third. Then it magically worked. This has been the ongoing routine for the last 9 months. Now it is leaking from the top and the bottom seal. It seems to decide when it chooses to leak with no warning. It is also rusting on the inside.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Starts great, All down hill from there!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Prouro
from Palm Beach FL
I was excited to get me first cannister filter. It sounded easy to use and it was east to setup. UNTIL IT WAS TIME FOR THE FIRST WATER CHANGE. The twist handle and lift off, wasn't as easy as it seems. The bottom would separate, it was easy to clean out but when replacing the cannister to the filter it isn't easy to get a good seal. By the second water change parts were rustinfg already and couldn't get it to seal at all. I now have a Penn plax canister filter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing filter

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
jaxdad1
from TX
I've had this filter since Petco launched it in July and I have 5 total tanks and this is the best filter I have ever used. The in tank pump, which took some work to hide ensures easy start up and the simple maintenance has been even easier than advertised. I find the flow rate more than sufficient and would highly recommend this filter to anyone. I am in the process of converting my 75G cichlid tank to the nexx platform now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs Improving

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suprvulcan
from Woodland, Wa.
I bought this filter because of the price and it was a new product. It seemed like a good deal until I had a chance to see it work for a while. The pump that comes with it does not move the water enough. I do not get the circulation needed to clean my 30 gal tank affectively, also there is not enough surface action to prevent a film from forming on top. I also noticed build up inside the hoses that come with it before and after the filter after a it had been running a while. I do like that you can change the filters without shutting off the pump but the lids and base seals don't always work properly. On several occassions I have had water shoot out of the top of the filter. Then take it all apart again to see why only to find nothing wrong, eventually it seals. The base has on occassion been tipped over by our other pets, at that point water started leaking out between the filter housing and the base assembly. As soon as it was upright it stopped leaking. It is a good start to a product but needs to be improved a bit. There are better options on the market, but for the price it is a good start.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

One mangled and bleeding paw, maybe.

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
thunderloon
from florida
The pump and the filter packs are very good, the rest of it is "meh" to fail. I looked through this on the shelf as I do everything I see that is new and while they are being shipped with the sponge pre-filters now, the unit is pointless compared to the cheaper Marineland HOT Magnum 250 hang-on canister. Even the iffy Penn Plax Cascade canister is 4x the product.
My primary problem is, like many, with the bio-media trays. They're not big enough nor is the flow slow enough NOR is the flow directed completely over the media. On top of that I noticed the manufacturer decided to alter the design to make the cartridge rigs interchangeable and made two dents in the side, bypass will follow the less restrictive route, I'd say about 70% of the flow is going to bypass the bio-media cup.
These filters are not worth it, even with heavy modification they won't perform close to less expensive canisters. This system has less bio-media surface than a hydro-sponge for a 5 gallon tank.
If you seriously are considering this unit I have advice... stop keeping fish and sell your tank.
*Policies mention not to list competitors so I didn't. I listed better units that Petco carries for less.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
9of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Idea Fails

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
CichlidNoob
from Omaha, NE
I've had this filter for 2 1/2 weeks and had to take it down today. First thing I didn't like about this filter was the internal pump. It was smaller then the old waterfall filter so I got over it. Second thing I didn't like is I just dont think it moved the water very well. I had to put my hand in front of the diffuser to check it and I baely felt any pressure. Finally yesterday I noticed algae spots lining the inside of the gray clear hoses. I didn't think this was right so I asked and sure enough I was right. According to the sales person this shouldn't happen. She said it just wasn't pushing enough water through fast enough. So I'm returning the filter to try something else. DON'T BUY THIS FILTER!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Big and kinda ugly.

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
steveeb
from So. Cal.
I purchased this filter mainly due to the price. I had been researching external filters to replace a HOB filter that we had purchased with the tank. Since this is such a new product, not much info can be found on the internet. I even contacted API thru their FaceBook page and they could not give me more info. I purchased it because at the time an equivalent FluVal was about $40 more.
The filter itself is bigger than I expected, but what I didn't like most about it was the intake & exhaust tubes. The tubes are solid clear vinyl with 1/2" inner diameter. The tubes came kinked in multiple places from being curled in the package because they are extremely iinflexible. The internal part that held the filter media seemed to be made of cheap plastic. The last thing I didn't like was the fact that it has a rather obtrusive pump/motor assembly that sits inside the water. The whole reason I was switching to an external was to get the filter out of sight. This thing is just too beastly for my taste. I returned it and bought a FluVal 205 which is a very nice unit in comparison.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
13of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for API nexx Aquarium FILTER
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome filter!!

PostedJune 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
MattHix63
from San Diego, CA
I was in PETCO this week and needed a new filter for my 75g cichlid. I've been using a Fluval FX5, but the motor stopped and I haven't been able to fix it. I needed a filter with high capacity, and found the API nexx Filter that apparently is just being launched with PETCO. I bought one Filter, and one Extension. It was really easy to set up, and best of all I didn't have to prime the filter to get it started because it has an internal pump!
I LOVE that I can customize the media mix in the filter. In 2 chambers I have the Bio Chem Zorb cartridges, and I put loose media in the other chambers.
Another thing I find incredible about this is the ability to lift the filter off the base. This will make water changes and media changes a piece of cake. And you don't have to turn the filter off because of the way they designed it, the water continues to flow even while the filter isn't on the base unit.
I highly recommend this filter!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
28of 29voted this as helpful.