petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food

Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food

Gluten-free, grain-free cat food - ideal for cats with grain sensitivitiesOmega fatty acids for healthy skin and coatComplete and balanced for all life stages and breedsProtein-rich canned cat food containing 95% meatSpecially formulated for rotation feeding
Average Customer Rating:
4.819 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(144 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 144 reviews
5 stars
128
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
78 out of 79(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Review 1 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Samus
from Chicago,IL
In a sadly unregulated pet food market it is refreshing to see a company that seems to truely care about what you feed your pets. Not only do my cats love this food but it is good for them. I had a 24 lb cat that since on this food has lost significant weight because of the lack of carbs in both the dry and wet foods. Highly recommend this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tajaja
From kitten to adult food the healthy choice is Instinct food. Grain free my babies love it
Worth buying
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality food

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tiere13
from Aurora, CO
This is very good quality food - very low carbs. It would be nicer if it didn't have the whole peas and carrot slices, but I guess that is for the benefit of the dogs, since the dog and cat foods are the same formula. I have fed a variety of foods/brands to my cats, and they are at their best when they are on instinct - nice coats, not as much yaking, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
AjJa
from Massachusetts
Both my senile senior and her kitty companion both love the Instinct line of cat food, both kibble and canned. It sure gets pricey, but the quality of the food is worth it. Made in the USA is always a plus too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for allergic cats

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
cauw
from Everett WA
I have a cat with an allergy to chicken and another with one to fish. It has been a really interesting journey to find a food that has neither fish or chicken and Instinct Rabbit filled the bill and wonders of wornders the cats love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

High quality but pricey

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
phunkychikk
from Jersey City, NJ
This is extremely high quality food. It is pricey though and I've read there are comparable foods on the market but at a much lower cost. My cats will only eat the duck flavor and the beef flavor, which is frustrating, because I had to give away the rabbit and chicken and I paid a lot for it!
I would recommend this to a friend with a lot of money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and tasty!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChemEC
from Orange, CA
This food is great for my kitty on chemotherapy because the less ingredients and the more novel to his system they are, the healthier he is. He loves the rabbit flavor. I don’t get the LID in the cans but I do in the dry. He loves both of them. I’ve tried the canned myself – not a big bowl full or anything, but a couple good bites just to see. I mean the price is 3x what I pay for some of my food! And it tasted great. It didn’t have any weird metallic after taste like lots of the cheap brands do. Oh, the other important – and maybe MOST important! – attribute is the consistency. This product has always been the same since the first can I opened and that is gooooooood! I’ve tried other brands (smaller brands) and the variation from lot to lot is crazy! I had gotten my kitties to eat this one Duck flavored kind and finally, they accepted it. But then the next lot came in and it was sooooo different than the first that my cats didn’t even want to be near it. So I called the number on the side of the can and it was directly to the president of that company! I told him my issues and he mentioned they were just starting up another facility to keep up with orders. I said, maybe that’s why the old cans were grey and the new ones are gold in color. He didn’t believe me, but oh well. Then he told me about changes they were making to the formula to change the consistency and I said thanks, by. The last thing he said struck me as a red flag ------ they’re making formula changes without telling customers AND there’s no changes on the packaging….. So they weren’t changing the ingredients as they should when the formula changes. He didn’t even offer any kind of coupon to make up for all the food that I had opened that would go to waste.
*********Summary – This is a great, consistant brand that you can count on, it’s wonderful for my healthy kitty and the one going through chemotherapy, and both kitties love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
cheekysweets
from nj
I have two cats, very finicky cats to be exact and they absolutely love this food! I have had both cats from kittens and have tried every brand of wet food on the market and they would not eat it. The only thing they would eat is tuna in water. Upon doing research, I found out that tuna is not good for cats at all and I was horrified! I thought I was feeding them good wholesome food and not the commercialized processed junk on the market I can't believe how wrong I was. I mixed some of the rabbit with their tuna to slowly transition them & they lapped it right up! I am so impressed with this food as this is the first canned wet food they have ever eaten & not turned their little noses up at.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
choclablvr
from Round Lake, IL
Momma and two kittens LOVE the beef flavor. The gravy helps make the food nice an moist.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
mhheather
from Elgin, IL
I think that this is a fantastic product! I switched my cat probably about 6 months or more ago. Before this he was using Iams. He was throwing up quite a bit and the vet didn't find anything wrong with him, so I decided it was time to switch to healthier food. Since switching he's been great! And his fur is even shinier and healthier than it was before. I also love the variety of flavors that the canned food comes in!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Entarsia
from Garland, TX
I spent weeks trying various flavors and brands of cat food for my finicky four. The 3 males would east most of them, but my baby girl wouldn't touch any of the soft foods I tried until this one. And the boys love it too!
Highly recommended for the pickiest eaters.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Canned Cat Food

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Willywonka
from Peoria, IL
After adopting a kitten, he started having loose, bloody stools. I spent a lot of money at the vet & decided to do my own research before having any more costly testing done. I chose this brand after reading Dr. Pierson's info online. It was a miracle and stools returned to normal. I then started making my own cat food, but found this too time consuming and for convenience tried the dry version of Nature's Variety. After a several weeks, the problem stools returned. Needless to say he is now back on the canned and back to normal. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
SweeneyCat86
from Chicago, IL
I have one cat with IBD, and this is the only food that does not upset her digestive system. Because it's a high quality food overall, I also feed it to my other cat. Whereas they've "burned out" on other foods in the past, Nature's Instinct has staying power. They both primarily eat the canned formula, but I also feed a small amount of the dry as a treat. Its high quality ingredients and lack of grain fillers gives me confidence they're getting top notch nutrition.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome food

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
gatosfeliz
from Baltimore, MD
Our three cats love this food. They eat a mix of the venison and nature's variety raw chicken medallion. The venison is has been the only canned food that all three like. I love that they are eating grain free food. Their coats are beautiful, clear eyes and happy bellies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cats Like It

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bob18
from Maryland
We started buying this food partly on our vet's recommendation. Our cat was suffering from what she believes is inflammatory bowel disease which she believes might be attributable to an allergy to some protein, probably chicken. She suggested that rabbit would be a protein that cats probably have not been exposed to in the past. I don't know whether the food is actually helping. The cat is also on some drugs, but he really likes the food. It is also very had to find a cat food without chicken in some form. So we are happy with this food overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whisker Licking Good and Nutritious Too

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
MiniMouser
from International Falls, MN
Our rescue kittens were malnourished and had sparse coats when they came to live with us. We started them on Nature's Variety when they were old enough to eat solid food. They have beautiful coats now and are very healthy and active. In fact they love this food so much they demand their dinner at mealtime. They especially like the Venison. I have one picky eater and one who eats everything she can and they both love this cat food. With so many varieties of flavors you should find a flavor your cat loves.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cat's Favorite Choices

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Chicago, IL
All Three of my Cats love the Chicken, Lamb and especially the Duck. Will only take a couple of bites of the Venison and Rabbit leaving most of it on the plate with the exception of one Cat, he will eat anything lol. I will keep the Duck, Lamb and Chicken in stock. Not to sure about trying the Beef, but maybe I will pick up one can just to see how it goes. It is a bit expensive but one of my cats seems to have a slight food allergy to the Friskies I was feeding them, will definately stay with the Nature's Variety.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good food choice

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
RedJP
My cat suffers from irritable bowel syndrome, therefore, she cannot eat dry food. This food satisfies her finicky appetite.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutrient packed canned cat food!

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pauliana
from Delphi, IN
Great cat food and the chicken version used to be one my 3 cat's favorite foods but for some reason they are rejecting it now. No reflection on the food itself these characters are finicky..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for kitty's with allergies

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Wayzata, MN
This is the one and only product i have found that works for my cat. A long and drawn out process has lead to my cat having food allergies to Chicken and Fish. This product has neither of those and she loves the taste and has been doing 100% better. This food is perfect for any cat with a sensitive stomach! My other cats love it also so it's a WIN-WIN!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>