petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food

Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food

Gluten-free, grain-free cat food - ideal for cats with grain sensitivitiesOmega fatty acids for healthy skin and coatComplete and balanced for all life stages and breedsProtein-rich canned cat food containing 95% meatSpecially formulated for rotation feeding
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(155 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 155 reviews
5 stars
135
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
86 out of 90(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Review 1 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Chicago,IL
In a sadly unregulated pet food market it is refreshing to see a company that seems to truely care about what you feed your pets. Not only do my cats love this food but it is good for them. I had a 24 lb cat that since on this food has lost significant weight because of the lack of carbs in both the dry and wet foods. Highly recommend this food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a hit with our cats

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Walnut Creek, CA
I was hoping our cats would love this food, but they have not taken to it. We have 4 cats ages 1 to 13 years. I wanted to go grain free, so we slowly tried to introduce the food. It's been a month but none of them have taken to it. Fortunately, Petco will take back food that pets won't eat. I am sure it is a fine food, but it just hasnt worked for us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Food; Manufacturing & Shipping - not so much

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
Great food. Our two 9-month old cats love it. No complaints there.
Big complaint about the manufacturing & shipping, however. Almost every can in our most recent shipment of 3 cases of the 5oz cans was dented and dinged-up. The external box the cases were shipped in was just fine. So this is not the fault of the shipping company. The cans were dented and dinged inside each plastic wrapped case. The tops of many of the cans in each case were also dirty. Food did not appear to be leaking from any dented can, however. I checked to make sure of this. It was more as if the cans had not been cleaned properly during manufacturing. Still, dented cans with dirty tops gives one pause. All three cases (one each of pork, beef and chicken variety) had these problems. I am reluctant to order this product again. I will buy them from the store where I can inspect each can.
We think the food is one of the best available. We rate the food "5 paws." But it's a shame that neither Nature's Variety nor PetCo does not insist on better manufacturing and shipping procedures.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome canned food

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Mount Clemens, MI
This canned food is by far the best canned quality food I tried, and I tried almost all of them. My cat likes NV the best and her coat looks luxurious and super soft/shiny. I also love the variety the company offers. My cat prefers the rabbit and duck so far.
She had digestive issues in the past and they seem all cured due to the new food. Thank you NV and Petco!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I wish they sold more in stores

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
My cat only likes the pork and lamb flavors. Unfortunetly its expensive & the stores dont carry these flavors as much making me have to order online. Other than that great for her coat and allergies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's good, but expensive

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SLC, UT
My cat has allergies so my vet recommended "alternate protein" for her. The rabbit and duck seem to help, but it's expensive. The things we do for our pets! <3
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Montclair, NJ
I have 4 cats - 3 males, 1 female. I tried feeding them the above. They hate it! I bought this formula mainly for the female who is obese. Mixed half and half with another brand, she accepts it but does not love it. Too soon to tell if she is losing any weight.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats finally find their purrrrfect meal!

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orange County, California
Mimi and Mia, our dear indoor cats, are now savoring the switch from dry food to wet. It took awhile because their owner, me, kept switching the brands and flavors to find the one they liked the best...causing them to become very picky. When the vet recommended that we stick with the one flavor we thought they liked the best, we started feeding Instinct Rabbit and saw excellent results...no more fussy cats, no more flaky skin instead beautiful, silky fur. Now if they would only like Instinct Raw...that's next.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the best

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Farmington Hills, MI
There is no other cat food on the market that tops this one. No fillers, no byproducts, gluten and grain free. It is worth every penny. If you truly care about your cat, feed them this! I also love the variety. Quality cat food, Thanks, Nature's Variety!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I KNOW IT'S HIGH QUALITY FOOD BUT

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cooper City, FL
ONE OF MY CATS, WHO EATS ANYTHING, WILL NOT HAVE THE CHICKEN AND GRUDGINGLY EATS THE LAMB AND TURKEY. THE OTHER CAT EATS THEM ALL.. TRY BUYING A CAN OR TWO AT LOCAL STORE AND SEEING YOUR CATS' REACTION AS YOU MIX IT INTO THEIR FOOD BEFORE BUYING CASES. IT MUST HAVE A VERY PECULIAR TASTE FOR OUR NORMALLY RAVENOUS FELIX (WHO EATS NV FROZEN) TO REFUSE IT!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more scratching

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Charlottesville, VA
My cat had a problem with allergies where he was scratching himself raw. After three days on the Rabbit and Duck formula, the scratching stopped.
The ingredients are wonderful and limited to meat and veggies. It is well worth the extra cost to pay for food with no fillers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent source of protein

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Cincinnati
It's the only food my 15 year old cat will eat! It has enhanced her health. She runs, jumps and plays like a kitten.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great food

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
From kitten to adult food the healthy choice is Instinct food. Grain free my babies love it
Worth buying
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality food

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Aurora, CO
This is very good quality food - very low carbs. It would be nicer if it didn't have the whole peas and carrot slices, but I guess that is for the benefit of the dogs, since the dog and cat foods are the same formula. I have fed a variety of foods/brands to my cats, and they are at their best when they are on instinct - nice coats, not as much yaking, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cats love it

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
Both my senile senior and her kitty companion both love the Instinct line of cat food, both kibble and canned. It sure gets pricey, but the quality of the food is worth it. Made in the USA is always a plus too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for allergic cats

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Everett WA
I have a cat with an allergy to chicken and another with one to fish. It has been a really interesting journey to find a food that has neither fish or chicken and Instinct Rabbit filled the bill and wonders of wornders the cats love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

High quality but pricey

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Jersey City, NJ
This is extremely high quality food. It is pricey though and I've read there are comparable foods on the market but at a much lower cost. My cats will only eat the duck flavor and the beef flavor, which is frustrating, because I had to give away the rabbit and chicken and I paid a lot for it!
I would recommend this to a friend with a lot of money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and tasty!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orange, CA
This food is great for my kitty on chemotherapy because the less ingredients and the more novel to his system they are, the healthier he is. He loves the rabbit flavor. I don’t get the LID in the cans but I do in the dry. He loves both of them. I’ve tried the canned myself – not a big bowl full or anything, but a couple good bites just to see. I mean the price is 3x what I pay for some of my food! And it tasted great. It didn’t have any weird metallic after taste like lots of the cheap brands do. Oh, the other important – and maybe MOST important! – attribute is the consistency. This product has always been the same since the first can I opened and that is gooooooood! I’ve tried other brands (smaller brands) and the variation from lot to lot is crazy! I had gotten my kitties to eat this one Duck flavored kind and finally, they accepted it. But then the next lot came in and it was sooooo different than the first that my cats didn’t even want to be near it. So I called the number on the side of the can and it was directly to the president of that company! I told him my issues and he mentioned they were just starting up another facility to keep up with orders. I said, maybe that’s why the old cans were grey and the new ones are gold in color. He didn’t believe me, but oh well. Then he told me about changes they were making to the formula to change the consistency and I said thanks, by. The last thing he said struck me as a red flag ------ they’re making formula changes without telling customers AND there’s no changes on the packaging….. So they weren’t changing the ingredients as they should when the formula changes. He didn’t even offer any kind of coupon to make up for all the food that I had opened that would go to waste.
*********Summary – This is a great, consistant brand that you can count on, it’s wonderful for my healthy kitty and the one going through chemotherapy, and both kitties love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from nj
I have two cats, very finicky cats to be exact and they absolutely love this food! I have had both cats from kittens and have tried every brand of wet food on the market and they would not eat it. The only thing they would eat is tuna in water. Upon doing research, I found out that tuna is not good for cats at all and I was horrified! I thought I was feeding them good wholesome food and not the commercialized processed junk on the market I can't believe how wrong I was. I mixed some of the rabbit with their tuna to slowly transition them & they lapped it right up! I am so impressed with this food as this is the first canned wet food they have ever eaten & not turned their little noses up at.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nature's Variety Instinct Grain-Free Canned Cat Food

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Round Lake, IL
Momma and two kittens LOVE the beef flavor. The gravy helps make the food nice an moist.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>